reviews for: listing #14010 - Williamsburg, Virginia Condo rental

Best $$$ and Resorts for Williamsburg & Busch Gardens
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Diamond Resorts
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $50 - $150 /nt
    $390 - $990 /wk

sort by:

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We rented a 2 BR 2 bath unit on the second floor at The Historic Powhatan Resort. When checking in I was told to come to the back room and get some refreshments, after a 6 1/2 hour trip (longer than expected due to traffic) I was exhausted and skeptical of the timeshare thing and declined. The lady did try to persuade me to attend a session to receive a free gift, but I declined again and she promptly retrieved my keys and got me checked in. No hassles. Upon arrival to our unit, we discovered that there was a double bed in the second bedroom, not twin beds as we had expected. Also, our unit had not been vacuumed. I could not find a vacuum to vacuum it myself, So I went to the front desk, explained the situation, and asked if our unit could be vacuumed. They were polite and arranged to have it vacuumed right away. When housekeeping arrived, they too found that there was not a vacuum in our unit so they went to get one, vacuumed, and left the vacuum in the closet with the broom & dust pan. The housekeeping lady was very nice and asked if the unit was to our satisfaction. The only other thing I requested were some washcloths as we did not have any. We received plenty of washcloths and were set. I was pleased that the unit provided linens, towels, toilet paper, paper towels, tissue boxes, dish soap & sponge, dishwasher detergent (3), and laundry detergent (1). The unit was spacious and had a full kitchen that included Refrigerator, Oven, Microwave, Dishwasher, Coffeemaker (w/ filters), Dishes, Cookware & Utensils. The living area included a couch, two chairs, & a fireplace. There was also a small washer/dryer and the unit had a deck off the back with table & chairs. It was much more spacious than a hotel room and since it included a full kitchen, saved the money we would have spent eating out. I brought my crock pot so that when we returned from being at a park all day, I would not have to fix dinner. Behind the unit there was a common area with a charcoal grill & picnic table. The outdoor pools which were nice, but crowded. Our children enjoyed the swing set that was close to our unit and the bigger playground that was close to the outdoor pools. Colonial Williamsburg was 10 minutes away, Busch Gardens/Water Country USA were 15 minutes away. We really enjoyed staying at The Historic Powhatan Resort! I felt it was a great deal for the money a we were happy to have found such a reasonable priced place that was perfect for our family of 5. Thanks Dave & Sandy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad everything worked out well for you. Sorry that there were not two twins in the 2nd BR. Only a few units have the double bed and those are the newest renovated! Looking forward to having you back again soon!!! Dave & Sandy

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Nice condo but customer service was awful

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My family and I were so excited for our vacation this year, unfortunately our arrival at the resort was less than pleasant. The condo was nice and for what we paid, it was great. When we arrived we were taken out of the registration line and taken to a back area where we were asked to take a seat and someone would be right with us. We were approached by a man who wanted to schedule us to sit thru a "time share" presentation. We gracefully declined and the gentleman continued to push us. I tried to explain that our 18 yr. son was leaving for the US Air Force the day after our return from vacation and we were there to do nothing but spend quality time with our 3 children. He stated we could bring them along, ok, they are 13, 16, and 18, yeah, ok. We finally had to get firm and say NO, we aren't buying and we aren't interested, Period! He was obviously offended but we tried to be nice about it. The worst part was the fact that we were told that we would have two twin beds in the second bedroom, and I did double check this with the owner and via email, I was assured that we would have the twins. Much to our surprise, we were given a unit with 1 King and 1 full size bed. My husband went back to the office area and explained our situation, he was told that there is nothing they can do. In fact one of the managers stated that since we rented thru an owner and not the resort, it is not the resort's problem. My husband went back a second time and the other manager on duty also stated that there was nothing they could do but offered us a roll away bed. We got the bed while we were out shopping and when we returned we realized we had no sheets for the roll away nor the Queen sleeper sofa. We called and told them that they brought the bed but we had no sheets for either bed. They said they would bring them right up. When we returned back again after a late dinner, we had sheets for the roll away but not the sleeper. My husband once again went down to complain, it took until 11:30 pm until my children had sheets but the resort claimed to be out of pillows, they arrived at 8:30 am the next day. There were marks all over the walls and the trim in the bathroom looked like it was just slapped up and wasn't painted. Like I said for the price we paid, the quality of the room was sufficient, however the resort and the staff were fair to poor at best. I have never written a negative review before, but I think people need to know some of this prior to renting.

Owners response: As we said in our email to this guest, we are truly sorry things didn't work out. In many years ourselves and many guests, there has never been an issue or a poor review of the resort. Indeed, our experience has always been that the resort staff goes well out of their way to assist all guests and to assure that all needs are met. This guest's experience is a total exception to the general rule.

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Girls Time Off

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

Property was very clean and very well maintained. We had a great vacation and would definetly rent here again. We had a little trouble finding administration as the sign was hidden by a tree but once we found it we were treated very nicely and everyone was attentive to us and our needs. The owner that I rented from was very good at explaining what was there and the cost and what to expect, however it was more than we expected and were very very satisfied with all aspects of our stay. The information we got at check in about area shopping, restaurants,grocery stores and local attractions were very helpful and the directions were precise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Great stay. Can't wait to return!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Our family found this resort and stay to be absolutely perfect. This was our first experience renting a condo and we will definitely be looking to do it again. The condo was clean and comfortable as were all the extras (pools, exercise room, etc.). All staff were professional and friendly. Thanks, Bill, for all your help and answering of our questions. We will definitely recommend you to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfortable place

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We liked the place...clean and comfortable. I think it was a good deal and the place had everything necessary. It was near the highway and easy to get to the attractions and great shopping.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good Vacation Stay!

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

Let me first say that the owner of this rental was a DREAM to work with! They were top notch, organized and helpful. The only problem we had was the condo we were given was not an updated one and lacked in cleanliness. Our hot tub had not been maintained well and was consequently dirty upon arrival. The dryer in the original condo also malfuctioned. We made a call to the concierge and were moved to an updated, clean and fully functional condo in less than two hours without any problems at all. The staff was great. The resort has multiple buildings,so we are sure that maintenance is an overwhelming task. We didn't feel in anyway that the original problems were the norm and especially appreciated the way the problem was dealt with. The remaining six days of our stay was fabulous. The kitchen was sufficiently stocked for family use and the property contains an awesome Colonial period home that you can tour. We also saw a few activities scheduled on the property that seemed interesting. Overall we rested in great accomodations for a wonderful price....we would recommend this property and the property owner highly!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Williamsburg

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Great person to work with... the best! The place was very nice, we had a great time. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rental

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Review is not user friendly, you can't use all capital letters!!!
Rental was good size, kitchen could have used more items like, kitchen towels.
We had to call for a can opener and a vacuum. The ice maker leaked so that did not help us on the 100 degree weather.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review