reviews for: listing #14048 - La Jolla, California House rental

La Jolla Beach Charmer Wind n Sea House & Cottage 1blk beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $98 - $395 /nt
    $700 - $2,500 /wk
    $4,500 - $9,800 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful La Jolla Home!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

This vacation home was a wonderful treat! The home has such a beautiful southwestern, as well as a tropical vacation feel to it. The house and grounds were clean and uncluttered, with roomy bedrooms, lots of windows to let the California sunshine in and a kitchen which was stocked with everything we needed to cook a few meals at home, as well as abundant linens and towels, and other amenities.

We particularly enjoyed the back patio, deck and roomy backyard, especially with all the gorgeous plants and trees, not to mention grill, large patio table, and comfy lounging furniture. We saw many hummingbirds flying about, also apparently enjoying the landscape.

The beach and many shops and restaurants were less than a 10 minute walk away, with other shops and restaurants in downtown La Jolla just a little beyond that. We rarely had to travel by car; everything we needed was a much enjoyed brief walk down the street. One evening, we watched the sunset at the ocean horizon from the front entrance of the home. That was beautiful!

We hope to visit again someday! Thank you for everything, Liza!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great family reunion at a great place

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

My family rented this home for a family reunion and we all loved it! The location is great, just a couple of blocks from the beach that has breath taking views. The home and cottage had everything we needed, we cooked there most of the meals. The weber grill was very popular! We spent hours out on the patio talking and playing with the kids. We made memories in this house and would recommend it for any family event!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

La Jolla Vacation

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

This was the perfect place for us to spend our daughters spring break.We loved the fenced backyard for our dogs. The outdoor patio with the fireplace and couch was lovely. It was so quiet and peaceful sitting outside. We had perfect weather while we were there. The house had everything we needed. I cooked dinner most nights because we didn't want to leave our dogs alone so I can't speak about many of the local restaurants but the house was close to many and also close to downtown La Jolla. We did do take out one night from the Thai restaurant and it was very good.The location was great because we could get everywhere we wanted to go in a short car ride. I ran and walked our dogs everyday and there were plenty of nice areas to do that without having to be on busy roads. It was also a short walk down to Wind n Sea beach. The house was clean which is always a concern for me. It also had a long driveway for parking which was nice. I would absolutely rent this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Magical House!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

This house is just that -- magical! We met family for a nice beach get-away and we found the house to be nothing less than perfect for our group. The proximity to the beach AND market; on-site parking, nice roomy bedrooms and a fantastic porch/deck/yard ... everything about this charming house was wonderful for us. It is updated yet retains that southern California charm. We spent a LOT of time in the outdoor space when we weren't down at the beach. It is a quiet neighborhood (which is important to us). How delightful to walk out to the patio in the morning with our coffee and be able to sit very comfortably and hear the waves. We did not want to leave and definitely will return. The owner is a jewel; I will definitely recommend this property to my friends and relatives as a very good value and magical experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

PerfectWeekLaJollaWindnSeaBeach

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We come after the kids go back to school for our vacation. We go to LaJolla regularly. This home had more charm than any we have stayed at. Many many windows with bright light yet not too much. The ambiance and art work made it so pleasant. It was clean and the feeling of a decorative, beach home.
We could walk to the beach and not have to take a car to any where if we didnt want to. The home had leather high end couches , and beach type nice furnishings, marble tables and remodeled bathrooms.
The second guest house had such charm and more and more plants everywhere and tons of flowers.
Both had tropical foliage making it private for this close to all. It had a large patio with a huge couch sectional and fireplace with cute lights making the home even larger as we can hang outside or inside.
We found the staff and owners very kind and ammenable to our needs. We asked for things and were responded to down to where are the lawn chairs and or extra washcloths. The kitchen was very well stocked and remodeled with a gas range. We will be back this time next year and come to this same place if we can get it. We have stayed on other streets maybe slightly closer that were way too noisy and no parking. This has parking on the lot and in front of the house making it very conveinient.
We rate this a no fuss property and as cute as can be with a fantastic location if you want not only a beach but park and shops and restaruants yet a big yard .. all rolled into one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice House, Great location

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Our family rented this house this past summer for mini-family reunion, and had an excellent time. The house has everything you need to make the stay very nice. Renting the cottage made the experience great, as it provided a little extra room. Kitchen, linens, beach stuff all are provided. Location is great, but it should be noted that it is a decent walk to the beach, it is not as close as the description says as it is almost exactly 0.41 miles. Easy walk for most all. Still close, and real close to some nice restaurants and shops. The cleaning staff and owners are very nice and accommodating. The street the house is on is quiet, and there is onsite parking which is a huge plus for most La Jolla rentals.

One thing to note is that the owners are not the most responsive or organized. They would go on long periods of not responding to emails, and their voicemail is "full". They never confirmed our initial deposit or sent us the correct information for the balance, making us incur a wire fee due to their mistake. Also they have not returned our deposit yet (it only just outside of 30 days), even though they have stated they would (and I do believe I will)

Overall I would recommend the place for families as the outside living area makes every evening splendid. While the owners are a little "free spirits" they are extremely nice and I believe well intended, this gives the overall atmosphere to the place, as it is not corporate and it feels that you are in someones own home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Renters, this family was real nice. From our end, I am a psychology counselor, Dental Hygienist, Naturopath Doc and Real Estate Creative person and So is my partner a Health Practitioner. I have run medical clinices and owned yoga centers and am very punctual. I answer emails every 2 hours 7 days a week 365 days a year even when traveling, of which I do since we own 6 properties. I also have staff and a partner on call. At the least we answer every 24 hours. We also return deposits within 21 to 30 days max, but now only do the property damage insurance for $49. The party below, the check did not arrive back so we feel the need to express we are very responsible. I worked on our hawaii bed and breakfast mailing some checks from there which may have delayed that one. We even have staff per property and do our best while also being muliti dimensional
practitioners. The beach on google is 1500 feet if you take Bonair our street and a few more hundred feet as indicated by renter if you take the next street over. First 23 properties are condos, motels and no yards. We are the next section, with peace, quiet and yards by scenic trail and 11 houses to shops and restaurants and 1500 feet to Bonair Shack entrance to wind n sea beach, voted top ten in US. Thanks for coming to see us! you wont be disappointed and both my partner and I are reachable by text, cell and email daily. Kind regards

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great family beach house!

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Our family (four adults and four grandchildren) very much enjoyed our stay at your unique beach home. We were pleasantly surprised at how large, spacious and clean it was. The sofa, loveseat and futon provided ample seating for our large group. But our favorite area was your lovely outdoor patio. Our 2 little poodles just loved the backyard. Perfect for pet lovers and children. Lots of space to play and relax. The generous supply of towels and kitchen supplies were much appreciated. The beach was about a 10 minute walk for our grandchildren and they loved visiting the neighbor's pot belly pig along the way. Great location for shopping, restaurants and we also enjoyed the bike/walking path. If you are looking for a quiet neighborhood, this is the place. Unfortunately, we had to cut our vacationj short due to car trouble. But much enjoyed our time here. Thank you, Liza, for answering all our our questions prior to our arrival. You have been great to work with. We have already recommended your property to several of our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful location and beautiful back yard

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Such a wonderful location. We walked to the beach and shops and restaurants. And the back yard is magical as it has citrus trees. My son loved climbing the trees and we drank fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning. The owners were wonderful to work with. Very pleasant and wanted to make sure all of our needs were met. They let us use their bikes and we went bike-riding and to parks. They also let us bring our small dog who is very well behaved. We really enjoyed having a fire at night and sitting on the comfortable sofa outside by the fire.

It truly was a perfect home for what we were looking for and we are so grateful for the hospitality and for our wonderful vacation.

I recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantasic Location, beach, trails, shops by foot

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

We were asked to share our experience and review. WE stayed May 6. We found the location superb as we could walk to shops in just houses in beach barber tract and only 10 minutes to downtown by foot, 1/2 mile. The beach is awesome and we are on the quite side of the block of Bonair, 3 houses from the park and scenic trail. We were able to walk either direction to downtown La Jolla and farmers market north or bird rock dining and shopping going south.We are astounded a renter said the trail doesnt go through La jolla as its several miles long and
absolutely enjoyable and right by the house. To have that and only have to go 23 houses or 1500 feet to the best part of the top ten beach, at the world famous shake location and world famous surf point, wind n sea and bird rock is totally contradictory to a tenant saying it was too far and not there and you can't walk it. It has thick white lush sand but on low tide the tide pools are rocky but not that you can't walk all the way downtown. We have been to this property three times from the midwest and found the location perfect as we didn't have excess beach noise, actually had a real yard and parking on the property, where if you go to first 10 properties it is so congested and noisy , no yards and parking that you don't want to be closer but in a nice close section, called the beach barber tract. My mom had a house two blocks over and its the best part of La Jolla, as you can walk everywhere. My thumbs up to this property and the ease of worker with the owners. Surf your brains out too, any surfer knows this is the number one location for the beach and for the only white sand in san diego!!, read about it online. no one feels this area isn't the gem and quick walk to all, not just the beach.ps the hot water heater is great, instant not water and the dishwasher is nicer than other rentals, its stainless tell bausch brand. BJM

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Less than delighted

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

Booked this place for a family reunion. It was fine and I guess the lower price reflects the problems I would like to report. I should start by saying that I'm a frequent vacation rental home user. We're up to about 25 at this point.We always stay in private homes, flats or condos when we travel.

Pros:

Dog was permitted and there is a nice grassy outdoor area that's fenced in between the cottage and the main house.

Attractive outdoor area with large seating area and big table for large group dining provided the weather is agreeing.

Sufficient bedrooms for 4 couples. I simply cannot imagine cramming 16 people in here as the landlord suggests, however. 10 would have been crowding it. Quite small place.

Attractive and comfortable furnishings.

Cons:

Bathtub/shower combo tips back and forth when you get in it

Shower wall in walk in shower has serious soap scum problems on the wall

Shower curtain in the tub shower combo of the cottage was black with mildew at the bottom

Didwasher was old and needs replacing. It broke during our stay. A repairman was able to get to it the same day but the owner told me on the phone that this might not happen and added "Well, I guess you'll just have to wash your own dishes." This for a group of 8 and not an attitude I appreciated.A little sympathy at least might have better served the situation.

Outdoor fireplace hasnt been cleaned out in a long time and smoked and stank with the permalogs we were required to use as we were told the fireplace wasn't safe for a hot fire with real wood.

Indoor living area has comfortable seating for 4-5 at the most. provided they like sitting close together. Very small

Location is not as hoped. It is NOT one block from Wind and Sea beach. It's one long block to a busy city street. Then you negotiate across that and walk another long block to the beach. Also no attractive shops or restaurants in the area and a good long hike into the town of LaJolla necessitating a car to reach good places for dinner.

Hiking trail mentioned in the literature was very pleasant. But it was also quite short and didn't connect up with the downtown LaJolla cliff paths as hoped.

Owner refused to allow early check in on a Sunday -- as in 10 AM -- even though the place wasn't rented. I had to pay for an additional day so that my 86 year old mother could get into the house early and have access to a bathroom.

Internet worked fine in the main house but they never got it working in the cottage.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: I am just amazed at the totally opposite from a professional vacation review renter, than ones that have traveled all over on vrbo and post our home as
one to return to and so well loved in the huffington post. I think our experiences as renters is sometimes colored by many factors including misperceptions due to lack of communication or interpretations without talking to us. For one, we are definitely one of the rare properties with a yard this close to wind n sea beach, 1500 feet from the main entrance. Yes Bonair street, our street connects to the world famous shack and yes you cross a street, but so does the elementary school and the high school, parallel to us with thousands of kids a day and home families, with no complaint, just happy to be by the beach. Properties are small here and start at 1.2 million for a 1800 sq foot home, and the big ones are on the cliffs.
Also we are 11 houses to excellent family owned restaurants, well known to La Jolla and visitors, that you can walk to from our house in no time, such as Su Casa and the Mandarin house , the gym, the spa, yoga, and various shops. The downtown cove of course is 1/2 mile but we are the village of wind n sea beach clearly marked on the listing headings, and is not downtown. We also as most homeowners, do have a post maid cleaning option but they do not do dishes in the pricing but do clean thoroughly and fully. We also have three fireplaces, not one and the outdoor one is a historic brick one that you can put dura flame logs in and sit around and is also well loved, You can not build a big wood fire, and we ask not to as it is historic, but definitely provides outside warmth if needed and ambiance. Also we regularly sleep 6 to 10 in the house and clearly give our bed layout. This close to the beach we are the average size home and you won't find any bigger in the beach barber tract. In fact ours is the biggest lot, a double lot, r 2 with a cottage you can rent with the house creating a lot of space and charm. The main house 1800, the covered patio with fireplace and deck and second living room, 500 and the cottage 600, plus a 7000 square foot lot. If you come to La Jolla you come to the historic area, its all built in 1930 and homes are all decorated in themes of its time and homes. That is what we are about, not about large track homes, although the bedrooms are bigger than my track homes. WE allow 10 in the house and 5 in the cottage and this is the first complaint in 15 years.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Adorable house, wonderful location

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We had a terrific 1 week stay at Liza's charming La Jolla home. Prior to signing a contract, Liza emailed additional photos and we worked out the terms. The house was very clean and the backyard and patio were well maintained. Our 3 1/2 year old had a great time running around in the backyard and enjoyed picking up oranges that had fallen from one of Liza's trees. The bedrooms were a good size, not cramped. The living room was a bit tight for us only because we had baby equipment. The bathrooms were fine but I would caution that the charming clawfoot tub might be difficult for anyone with a mobility or balance problem. The beds were really comfortable! Wi-Fi worked beautifully. The room with 2 full beds (that would be for kids) gets a touch of street noise and bit of noise from the neighbors--nothing really loud, but it might be difficult if you have light sleepers. The studio was occupied but never heard a peep from the studio guest. Overall, a great expereince, cute beachy cottage in a great location. Supermarkets, drugstores, gas, coffee shops near and pretty much within a 1/2 drive to most tourist destinations. I would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This guest was very communicative and a gracious renter as well as people. They had a crib delivered. We have hardwood floors and new bamboo ones in our bedrooms. They were conscientious and had the crib on the living room rug. The living room is good size but with crib that can cut down on space. We have added rugs to the side bedrooms so cribs can also be placed there. The front room is good size for an extra bed and we do supply two extra fold out double size futons as well as three bedrooms plus living room convertible futon and
new italian leather full size couch, love seat and ottoman, that were very nice and expensive yet as renters note very comfortable. We have two living rooms with the house and three with the cottage. One living rooms is a 10 piece sectional off the back dining room and yard under a covered patio with fireplace and second dining area. Makes the house so much larger with indoor outdoor and we have a good size tropically landscaped yard with maturel tall plants and bamboo making it private and peaceful. WE also have a new added on deck for second patio extension into the yard. Lots of room for outdoor dining and family. The front room was converted to a third bedroom and we provided two double beds in there so it could hold a couple or two people or several kids or even two couples if you need to save money. We haven't had complaints on it in 12 years being noisy and we lived there 10 years prior so we will check that out. Its a quite end of the beach barber tract , although beach areas have more folks going by to the beach. Lastly we added new marble travertine shower with a lip to fill as a tub for kids and sand and even pets after the beach. The bathroom with the claw tub is the original antique and baths stay very hot as it is cast iron and attractive and better for bathing. It is not ideal for showering but we have added a shower head for convenience and the new marble shower is sturdy for even handicapped, as we made it accessible to get into. WE would love to host you and find our location , which I first picked to live here more quite than any homes in this area as we are 3 houses to the scenic trail and park yet can access the beach straight down our street and have parking on our property which is also rare at the beach. Lots of perks , yet walk to all. Join us soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We Loved your Lovely Home" Great News Article

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Hi Liza. See article I wrote below about our stay in your lovely La Jolla house. HuffPost took out your web address. Next time I will be sure to mention the name of your company in the post. I will also be writing a Positive blog for AARP "Renting A "Home Away From Home"" For some reason they took the link out. Oh well, we did really enjoy our stay

Article: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/regina-fraser-and-pat-johnson/renting-your-next-home-aw_b_1100874.html

A few weeks ago, we rented a charming home in La Jolla, California. The house was only a block from the beach and walking distance to shopping, quaint stores and great restaurants. The three-bedroom house had two baths, a fireplace, an outside barbeque grill, a deck, laundry facilities and rooms furnished with really comfortable furniture...the kind that you aren't afraid to sit on. I found out later that the owner gave her place a personal touch...she had created the bright and colorful paintings found hanging throughout the home. In the rear of the house was a separate cottage that was also beautiful and intimate and that could be rented -- perfect for the in-law scenario!

In talking with the owners, I found out they had other homes in Yosemite and Hawaii for rent, and you can bet that I will be calling them for our next vacation.

Bottom line; if you too get tired of hotels, consider rentals with condo owners. You'll save money, gain space and have a more meaningful experience when traveling. Regina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kids and parents Fun at The Wind n Sea Beach Home

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We stayed here the week before Memorial week. We love coming to san diego and thought we would try out La Jolla instead of Mission Beach or Pacific Beach, which we visit when we vacation here every year. My husband grew up in san diego and misses it so we come regularly.
The house was absolutely adorable historic home. Most houses at the beach have no yard and
not a lot of quiet. This house provided peace and quiet and great colorful art by the owner/artist with a family feeling. We have three kids, a baby one year old, and a three and five year old. The kids were safe in the yard and we could let them hang out while we relaxed, where as most places we have no enclosed area this close to the beach. I am still nursing and we were able to stay in, but if I felt like getting out take my back pack and stroller down to the park next door or to shops in just a few houses, get a bit to eat, walk to the beach and get outside without having to pack up the car. THe owners were very helpful at providing information and places to go and helped us with our crib delivery and
set up before we got there. My parents came down from LA and stayed three nights and we had nights on the patio with a fire and the cute lights outside, maid it very festive. THe kitchen was great , stocked really well and lots of kids stuff. We look forward to coming back regularly to La Jolla and this colorful wonderful historic home by the beach. .. M and R

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

Review submitted: April 28, 2011 Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We had so much fun! What a beautiful home with TONS of character. Thank you for renting to us at the last minute. We had our dream vacation....

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Review submitted: March 30, 2011 Date of arrival: March 18, 2011
Sunshine Filled Girls Only Weekend in La Jolla
It was great. We had a wonderful time there - the rain never came :)

I was going to email you regarding some feedback for the house.
- I love the fresh flowers, definitely a plus.
- Love the outside fireplace, we spent time out there on Friday night and it's really nice.
- Another plus to your property that it has a long drive way. We had 3 cars and did not have to park any of them on the street!

Everything was great.

Thanks for opening your home to us.

Ng

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

A Great Graduation Party in Sunny La Jolla
Review submitted: February 23, 2011 Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Dear Mike & Liza,

Wonderful memories were created this past weekend at your La Jolla home. We celebrated a graduation with family and friends.

Thank-you for sharing your home with us. It was perfect!!

Also, I appreciate your cooperation to retrieve the suitcase left behind and to meet my daughter.

With respect,

Emily

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

Wintering in sunny San Diego from Illinois Snow
Review submitted: February 22, 2011 Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

Good Morning,
wintering in sunny San Diego from Illinois Snow
We had a very nice time in La Jolla. Everthing was well within reach including the beaches and especially our grandchildren who live in Scripps Ranch.
I trust that you found everything in order at the cottage.
Thank you once again.
Gerald and Gail

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

A wonderful place to stay in La Jolla
lechatsage (Tucson, AZ)
Review submitted: January 19, 2011 Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the house this January for a romantic getaway. From the start the owners were gracious, flexible and friendly. The house is charming and well-kept, with lovely furnishings, plenty of room, and wonderful amenities. The claw foot tub is wonderful for soaking, and the kitchen is perfect for vacation meals.

We were taken with the backyard patio, which included a large sitting area and a wonderful outdoor fireplace. Perfect for those chilly nights! The wood burning stove inside kept us nice and warm and added a romantic tone to our stay. The house is well stocked with linens and cookware, and there are a number of great grocery stores within easy driving distance.

You can walk to a wonderful little beach from the house. A quick drive takes you to The Cove, one of the hot spots for shopping, dining and enjoying yet another beautiful beach. It was easy to drive up the coast, or down to high-end shopping. In short, everything we wanted was easy to get to. When we wanted to stay in, the house was quiet and peaceful. Perfect!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

Happy Traveling Business Man's Stay
Review submitted: December 14, 2010 Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

As a business traveler, my affairs have me between San Diego and Seattle often. Staying in hotels can inevitably “tire” one out as there never seems to a sense of home. Vacation Rental By Owner has provided me with a fantastic array of opportunities to stay in a home with more of the creature comforts of day to day living. I met Liza through this site and have nothing but wonderful things to say about my experience at staying at her Wind and Sea house. Liza was generous, flexible and the home offers plenty of space, amenities and comfort. I would highly recommend staying at Liza’s place over a hotel anytime.

Sincerely,

James “Jage”.Owner
Investment Strategies

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Summer At the Beach
Review submitted: December 11, 2010 Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

With a house full of kids from 3 to 15, you can imagine we needed a
place that had lots to do. We could walk to everything and the beach in minutes.
This wind n Sea House was great, although historic it is remodeled very cool with beach them and artwork and new furniture. The kitchen was fantastic with all the kitchen extras you could imagine, from two bbq's to casserole dishes and even spices! olive oil and vinegar. We had condiments and didnt have to spend a lot to
buy extras. The dishwasher was a stainless steel bosche and a new kitchen with granite and lots of cutting knives. We cook alot so this was great for us. The outdoor patio was even better with an outdoor fireplace and living room with lots of seating and great yard for the kids and adults to hang out. Every bedroom had a different flavor and there was a new Marble travertine bathtub with shower that had beach shells! the owners were very nice and brought us
a special long glass pan for our family of 15! the house and cottage together made a family summer reunion possible. Thanks Liza and Mike! we will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Happy Return La Jolla tenant/patient and Landlord
Review submitted: December 5, 2010 Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

I love this property. I have known the owners since 1993. I have attended
retreats and health functions and been in this rental home when I needed
a place while my properties are being worked on. Being a landlord of my own
rentals and living in La jolla, I have enjoyed watching Liza and Mike remodel
this historic home with contractors I have referred to them. They re did the kitchen which makes it very appealig with granite and oak cabinets, They made this rental a home, not just a rental. The floors are hardwood and high end marble travertine and with Mike being an artist they have painted with foe finish and the spanish flare of colors to the Adobe Spanish style the house was
originally built with. I have always found the home impeccably clean and decorated and cared for.More than once Liza and Mike have helped me out and I have enjoyed being in this beauitful property. I would highly recommend it as
it has a yard that is rare at the beach and kept at a high quality as if they lived there, lots of tropical plants and flowers and indoor and outdoor living areas. You can walk to everything and the beach. Liza and Mike have always been appreciated in the community as professional health care providers and
home owners that are landlords sharing their property for specail events and vacationers. I highly recommend this property to adults and children or a special event or wedding family.. as La jolla has lots of weddings and this home has housed my referrals for this as well.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Referral from Recent Renter
Review submitted: November 28, 2010 Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

From: Staci ~ To: lizaszabo
Sent: Thu, November 18, 2010 8:21:23 PM
Subject: FW: Danny's friend from wedding/La Jolla Rental

Hi Liza, how are you? I hope that all is well.

I was referred to you by Jage . He just stayed at your house and told me how amazing your place was & my in-laws are looking for a place to stay.

They changed their dates a little….this is what they’re thinking:

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

Review submitted: November 26, 2010 Date of arrival: November 7, 2010
windansea great vacation
From: Natascha
Date: November 16, 2010 11:00:33 AM PST
To: Liza Szabo Subject: Re: windansea!
Hi Liza,
here's our review:
We had a great time staying at the WindandSea house. It has a cosy
'hippie' ambiance and in the mean while is very spacious. Since we
love to cook, we made great use of the fantastic kitchen, then ate our
breakfast, lunch or dinner in the outside living room or picnicked in
the yard, while our two year old daughter ran around or admired the
flowers and plants in the garden. And the best part of this house?
It's only two blocks from beautiful Windansea beach!
Natascha

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Paradise
Review submitted: November 28, 2010 Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

I have stayed two months from Sept. 18 to Nov. 21, 2010 at this adorable property. I left for one week only to return for another month because it was a great experience. It is tastefully decorated of the era it presents; a La Jolla beach cottage Spanish adobe with lots of color and charm. It is remodeled with granite hardwood maple floors throughout, although it is a historic home with its original charm and immaculately clean. In response to the surprising remarks by a tenant of the house on this property, I find it difficult to believe that if a bug appeared, it was a cockroach. I am very familiar with the property because of my two months’ stay and was here during the couple’s stay. They were here for a few weeks, and from my understanding, left earlier than anticipated because of the birth of a child. The house and cottage are elegantly furnished and decorated, including the patios and yards with tropical landscaping, and everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided and more. The inside and outside of the properties are exceptionally clean with consistent housekeeping, yard and housing maintenance services. I have not had bugs inside the cottage during my total time here and have talked with ongoing tenants in the house, and each and every one of them has loved their stay. I have viewed the inside of the house because I was considering renting the house as an option to come back between renters. I am a return renter to the cottage because of loving the property and the pleasant and gracious owners. I was permitted to stay and pay late when a paycheck was delayed, and you do not find that with many property owners! Owners Liza and Mike are always available and accommodating giving rent discounts to me and other renters. They definitely go above and beyond in their service to their guests! I talked to many of the other renters during my stay and they have all been happy with the property. I would highly recommend it and feel anyone staying here will enjoy it and find it a safe, clean and beautiful property near the beach and best of all, Liza and Mike will take care of you! If you wish to speak to me you can contact the owner for my info. Glori

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Vacation in San Diego

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We had so much fun! What a beautiful home with TONS of character. Thank you for renting to us at the last minute. We had our dream vacation....

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sunshine Filled Girls' Only Weekend in La Jolla

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

It was great. We had a wonderful time there - the rain never came :)

I was going to email you regarding some feedback for the house.
- I love the fresh flowers, definitely a plus.
- Love the outside fireplace, we spent time out there on Friday night and it's really nice.
- Another plus to your property that it has a long drive way. We had 3 cars and did not have to park any of them on the street!

Everything was great.

Thanks for opening your home to us.

Ng

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Graduation Party in Sunny La Jolla

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Dear Mike & Liza,

Wonderful memories were created this past weekend at your La Jolla home. We celebrated a graduation with family and friends.

Thank-you for sharing your home with us. It was perfect!!

Also, I appreciate your cooperation to retrieve the suitcase left behind and to meet my daughter.

With respect,

Emily

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wintering in sunny San Diego from Illinois Snow

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

Good Morning,

We had a very nice time in La Jolla. Everthing was well within reach including the beaches and especially our grandchildren who live in Scripps Ranch.
I trust that you found everything in order at the cottage.
Thank you once again.
Gerald and Gail

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

A wonderful place to stay in La Jolla

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the house this January for a romantic getaway. From the start the owners were gracious, flexible and friendly. The house is charming and well-kept, with lovely furnishings, plenty of room, and wonderful amenities. The claw foot tub is wonderful for soaking, and the kitchen is perfect for vacation meals.

We were taken with the backyard patio, which included a large sitting area and a wonderful outdoor fireplace. Perfect for those chilly nights! The wood burning stove inside kept us nice and warm and added a romantic tone to our stay. The house is well stocked with linens and cookware, and there are a number of great grocery stores within easy driving distance.

You can walk to a wonderful little beach from the house. A quick drive takes you to The Cove, one of the hot spots for shopping, dining and enjoying yet another beautiful beach. It was easy to drive up the coast, or down to high-end shopping. In short, everything we wanted was easy to get to. When we wanted to stay in, the house was quiet and peaceful. Perfect!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Traveling Business Man's Stay

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

As a business traveler, my affairs have me between San Diego and Seattle often. Staying in hotels can inevitably “tire” one out as there never seems to a sense of home. Vacation Rental By Owner has provided me with a fantastic array of opportunities to stay in a home with more of the creature comforts of day to day living. I met Liza through this site and have nothing but wonderful things to say about my experience at staying at her Wind and Sea house. Liza was generous, flexible and the home offers plenty of space, amenities and comfort. I would highly recommend staying at Liza’s place over a hotel anytime.

Sincerely,

James “Jage”.Owner
Investment Strategies

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer At the Beach

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

With a house full of kids from 3 to 15, you can imagine we needed a
place that had lots to do. We could walk to everything and the beach in minutes.
This wind n Sea House was great, although historic it is remodeled very cool with beach them and artwork and new furniture. The kitchen was fantastic with all the kitchen extras you could imagine, from two bbq's to casserole dishes and even spices! olive oil and vinegar. We had condiments and didnt have to spend a lot to
buy extras. The dishwasher was a stainless steel bosche and a new kitchen with granite and lots of cutting knives. We cook alot so this was great for us. The outdoor patio was even better with an outdoor fireplace and living room with lots of seating and great yard for the kids and adults to hang out. Every bedroom had a different flavor and there was a new Marble travertine bathtub with shower that had beach shells! the owners were very nice and brought us
a special long glass pan for our family of 15! the house and cottage together made a family summer reunion possible. Thanks Liza and Mike! we will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Return La Jolla tenant/patient and Landlord

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

I love this property. I have known the owners since 1993. I have attended
retreats and health functions and been in this rental home when I needed
a place while my properties are being worked on. Being a landlord of my own
rentals and living in La jolla, I have enjoyed watching Liza and Mike remodel
this historic home with contractors I have referred to them. They re did the kitchen which makes it very appealig with granite and oak cabinets, They made this rental a home, not just a rental. The floors are hardwood and high end marble travertine and with Mike being an artist they have painted with foe finish and the spanish flare of colors to the Adobe Spanish style the house was
originally built with. I have always found the home impeccably clean and decorated and cared for.More than once Liza and Mike have helped me out and I have enjoyed being in this beauitful property. I would highly recommend it as
it has a yard that is rare at the beach and kept at a high quality as if they lived there, lots of tropical plants and flowers and indoor and outdoor living areas. You can walk to everything and the beach. Liza and Mike have always been appreciated in the community as professional health care providers and
home owners that are landlords sharing their property for specail events and vacationers. I highly recommend this property to adults and children or a special event or wedding family.. as La jolla has lots of weddings and this home has housed my referrals for this as well.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Referral from Recent Renter

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

From: Staci ~ To: lizaszabo
Sent: Thu, November 18, 2010 8:21:23 PM
Subject: FW: Danny's friend from wedding/La Jolla Rental

Hi Liza, how are you? I hope that all is well.

I was referred to you by Jage . He just stayed at your house and told me how amazing your place was & my in-laws are looking for a place to stay.

They changed their dates a little….this is what they’re thinking:

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

I have stayed two months from Sept. 18 to Nov. 21, 2010 at this adorable property. I left for one week only to return for another month because it was a great experience. It is tastefully decorated of the era it presents; a La Jolla beach cottage Spanish adobe with lots of color and charm. It is remodeled with granite hardwood maple floors throughout, although it is a historic home with its original charm and immaculately clean. In response to the surprising remarks by a tenant of the house on this property, I find it difficult to believe that if a bug appeared, it was a cockroach. I am very familiar with the property because of my two months’ stay and was here during the couple’s stay. They were here for a few weeks, and from my understanding, left earlier than anticipated because of the birth of a child. The house and cottage are elegantly furnished and decorated, including the patios and yards with tropical landscaping, and everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided and more. The inside and outside of the properties are exceptionally clean with consistent housekeeping, yard and housing maintenance services. I have not had bugs inside the cottage during my total time here and have talked with ongoing tenants in the house, and each and every one of them has loved their stay. I have viewed the inside of the house because I was considering renting the house as an option to come back between renters. I am a return renter to the cottage because of loving the property and the pleasant and gracious owners. I was permitted to stay and pay late when a paycheck was delayed, and you do not find that with many property owners! Owners Liza and Mike are always available and accommodating giving rent discounts to me and other renters. They definitely go above and beyond in their service to their guests! I talked to many of the other renters during my stay and they have all been happy with the property. I would highly recommend it and feel anyone staying here will enjoy it and find it a safe, clean and beautiful property near the beach and best of all, Liza and Mike will take care of you! If you wish to speak to me you can contact the owner for my info. Glori

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Windansea Great Vacation

Review submitted: November 26, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

From: Natascha va>
Date: November 16, 2010 11:00:33 AM PST
To: Liza Szabo Subject: Re: windansea!
Hi Liza,
here's our review:
We had a great time staying at the WindandSea house. It has a cosy
'hippie' ambiance and in the mean while is very spacious. Since we
love to cook, we made great use of the fantastic kitchen, then ate our
breakfast, lunch or dinner in the outside living room or picnicked in
the yard, while our two year old daughter ran around or admired the
flowers and plants in the garden. And the best part of this house?
It's only two blocks from beautiful Windansea beach!
Natascha

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Cockroach Nightmare

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We rented this property because we were going to adopt a newborn baby. The woman who rented it to us sells her properties as “meditative retreats”. After our baby was born and we were at the house, I was obviously awake a lot in the middle of the night. One night I thought I saw a baby cockroach, but thought “not in …..”. The next night, I went to open the dishwasher and saw a huge cockroach and knew that we were staying at a cockroach infested house.

We immediately called the owner to let her know that we were leaving because we have a newborn and can’t be around cockroaches. She told us that she was too busy with trick or treaters to talk and would call us back. She never did. We packed up all of our stuff with a newborn and left that night. We had paid her a substantial amount of money for that night and the next 7 nights.

My husband called her the next day and she was horribly abusive. She told him, to paraphrase, “what are you so broke that you can’t wait for (the amount of money we had paid)” and then said (paraphrasing) that one cockroach is not a big deal and some other vulgar comments that I am not even allowed to post here.

Fast-forward 10 days of the owner refusing to respond to our emails and we get a check for only our security deposit in the mail. We had given her a substantial sum for the upcoming week of rent and she basically told us by letter (through her husband or associate) that she’s keeping our money even though we had to vacate due to cockroaches. So, she is keeping our money for the period when we were not staying there and when we had to stay in a hotel and claiming we should have allowed her to fix the problem.

BUYER BEWARE!!

Owners response: Greetings, Extremely clean,remodeled, adorable, very clean property , highly maintained by staff of maids, gardners and maintenance folks and pest control.
We use non allergenic furnishings and premium grade non toxic cleaners. All our guests have experienced the home as extremely comfortable, fully stocked with all ammenities needed. I am a Dental Hygienist, Psychology Counselor and nutritionist so I know what cleanliness environment and safe boundaries are for renters. My husbands family are contractors and have built homes. This home has been lovingly been nurtured over the years into a peaceful, safe , clean and habitable, fun, beach property with new kitchen, granitie, hardwood floors and checked personally by the owners several times throughout the week
as needed and we monitor our own personal and maids. I have now due to one negative comment, decided to ask our renters for their reveiws and will post ones from our guest book in the house so you may see the competency, and beauty and more than fair pricing of our property. We do respond to all our tenants needs if not immediately within a few hours and have no repairs needed
as we keep everything current. If something does, occur, as with any home we inspect it and make it better for you and bring you a bottle of wine or a special new blanket or whatever it is that makes your stay better! I know you will be more than satsfied with renting our lovely love home , sustained with care and kindness. We do not have pests, but if one were to occur as in any home or place, we use natural non toxic to pets or children pesticides and take every care to protect ourselves and our tenants, as we plan on keeping our home for ever. It was our first married home and we will retire here near the beach We gave our negative tenant using an excuse, 2/3 off the price and they happily stayed for two weeks before departing into their third week due to a baby delivery, not the home. We look forward to your stay which we guarantee is immaculate and charming with all you need! Dr. Liza and Mike

Helpful votes: 5 / 10

 

Awesome Home and Area

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

This is one of the most beautiful homes and areas I've ever vacationed at. The home is artisticaly decorated, has lots of room, with a nice back yard, as well as a beautiful cottage. It's very close to the beach, within walking distance. Even nicer is that the beach area is not crowded like some of the other more popular beaches in the San Diego area. It's also close by to downtown La Jolla, which has many unique shops, for a wonderful shopping and dining experience. I would highly recommend this property and area for a lovely vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review