reviews for: listing #14108 - Sunday River, Maine Condo rental

The Eagle's Nest: Home Theatre, Hot tub, Golf
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Powder Ridge
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $800 /nt
    $2,500 - $5,000 /wk

sort by:

Thank you!

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

We wanted to tell you how much we loved staying at your home in Maine. The accommodations were wonderful and the scenery beautiful. What a peaceful way to wake up every morning and see the magnificent view. You couldn't help but relax, which is what we all needed. Your home was so warm and inviting and you had everything we could possibly need. You are always a little nervous when you pick a place to stay in an area where you have never been before, but you helped alleviate those concerns. Thanks for all of your help as we asked questions upfront, coordinated the stay with us, provided information, and even Arthur's call on Friday night to make sure we had everything our first day there. It was a pleasure. We are definitely fans of Maine now.

Thank you so much for helping make our trip so special.

Take Care!

Jillane, Nicole, Marie, and Lenora

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home and views

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We and three other families rented The Heights, which is comprised of the Eagle's Nest and another unit. The home was absolutely beautiful, as accurately depicted in the online photos. All 17 of us - 8 adults, 9 kids - fit easily, and we could even have added another family of four. The kitchens were well stocked with dinnerware, utensils, cookware, and appliances. The theater room functioned properly and comfortably fit all the kids at once. The pool and poolhouse were wonderful - too bad it never felt so warm that we needed to escape to the poolhouse.

Gourmet in a Pinch was a real highlight for us. The owner recommended them, and she was right. They cooked a Mexican Fiesta one night, and lobster dinner another. The food was fabulous, reasonably priced, and the luxury of not having to cook or clean was a real treat. The owner, Paul, was charming and clearly passionate about his work. Bravo!

The area of Bethel/Sunday River was gorgeous, with scenic mountain views, drives and hikes. The activities were nearby and plentiful, including white water rafting, swimming holes, golf, ziplines, hikes, and even some shopping in Conway on a rainy day. Plan dining and activities carefully because the resort is winter-focused, and some places close completely or for part of each week.

The owner, Susan, couldn't have been more gracious and helpful before and during our stay. Like any large, rental at the end of a busy season, there were a few minor items that I'm sure she'll attend to - one hot tub was out of order and none of us could get the sauna turned on. Those were minor compared to the overall excellent experience. We would highly recommend it,, and would happily return there in the future.

Jeff

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantastic Place

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

Our stay here was absolutely incredible. The home owners were very gracious and welcoming. The house is the perfect location for a relaxing retreat from the hill. The hot tub was great especially the first night when it was -27 C (-16.6 F) ... We didn't use the theatre or even turn on a TV .... Hit the slopes all day .... Relaxed by the fireplace in the night with wine, beer, and appies .... We brought a lot of food with us but next year when we return I would really recommend ordering your food from "Gourmet in a Pinch" ... A local catering business that has great food and even better prices.
Overall, we loved this place and are planning on returning every year for a week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed our home as much as we do. And Sunday River is a beautiful unspoiled area. thank you for all the lovely compliments about the house.... we are very pleased that you are returning next year! Susan and Arthur

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ultralux home

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

For the ultimate in decadence, this beautiful home fulfills its promise. All amenities meet or exceed the advertising, from the comfortable master bedrooms to the movie theater screening room to the wine and chocolate welcome basket. The house was clean and the drive snowplowed early. The owners and local caretakers were responsive and friendly. The kitchen is well equipped. The only challenge is the operation of multiple remote controls for the many televisions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We have tried our best with labeling all the remotes and posting the operating instructions on all the televisions - we are looking into making our remotes more user-friendly for everyone. Thank you for your wonderful review. Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Dear Susan,
Sorry for the delay in this "Thank you" note. What a
special time we had at your home at Sunday River.
The house is beautiful, and was ideal for us, our
"adult kids" and grandchildren! Although skiing our
first full day was nixed by the -10F temps, the rest
of the weekend was perfect...the home-theatre, hot
tub and views were B-E-Y-O-N-D. I will be in
touch for a return visit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2004   Date of arrival: May 17, 2004

Dear Susan and Arthur,
Thanks so much for the use of your beautiful home. We had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The kids had a breakthrough week skiing and by the end we were skiing the whole mountain!
Hope to return next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 19, 2004   Date of arrival: January 19, 2004

We had a wonderful time and the Patriots won the AFC Championship!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

Thank you for providing a beautiful home on our vacation. See you next year.
Frank, Carol, Kim, Mike, Chris, Bell, Debbie, Bill Jr, Steph, Ed, Joan, Dilleni, Jack, Elaini, Dave, Ann, Liz
"The Mongolians" Ski Club

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2003   Date of arrival: July 19, 2003

Well, our week has gone by!! It has been wonderful. We toured the area and "saw" the sights. I don't think we have ever been more relaxed. I DO NOT WANT TO GO HOME!!!! You guys did a great job with the house. We saw our first moose at Screw Auger Gorge. What a sight to see. As an avid hunter of Virginia White-tail, you can only imagine what my heart rate was, looking at such an animal. We took about 15 rolls of film (while up here). Maine is such a beautiful state. If not for the cold winters, I think we could live here.
Thank you for allowing us to come and stay.
P.S. I repaired the marks that the baby gates made on the walls. They came in handy and made it easier on us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2003   Date of arrival: May 23, 2003

Can't believe its time to leave! It's now pouring, but our spitits haven't dampened.
Relaxing, shopping, relaxing, eating, relaxing, reading, playing games, and, yes, relaxing!
Muchisimus gracias. Merci Beaucoup!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2003   Date of arrival: April 27, 2003

Thank you so much for letting us relax and enjoy your gorgeous - very tastefully decorated place! We had a blast - it was so fun and peaceful. We will be back without a doubt!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2003   Date of arrival: March 30, 2003

Five of us enjoyed a magical weekend in Maine; enjoying the beautiful house, skiing, cooking, spending time in the hot tub, and wishing we could live here forever...
Thank you for the opportunity!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 16, 2003   Date of arrival: March 16, 2003

Top O The Mornin'! from the Kennedys - to the Murphys. What a great "per chance" find - SO glad the condo idea fell through. 10 of us (no, 11) thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - all agree we need to make it an annual event - maybe even require 'both sides' :) there are more Kennedys (Why wouldn't there be??) Spring is in the air!
Awesome skiing - and many issues covered by 4 women in hot tub with wine :)
Thank you - enjoy your new 'home'
Tough to get back to reality - sigh
Heard there's a golf course coming - we'll book a week for that!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 9, 2003   Date of arrival: March 9, 2003

Susan and Arthur, Thanks again for a wonderful weekend. After we rented the place two years ago, we thought it couldn't get any better, but it really is more magnificent than before. We had a fabulous time and can't wait to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 9, 2003   Date of arrival: February 9, 2003

After a 6 hr.+ trip from Boston in a snowstorm, we finally arrived Friday night. Ooh'd and aah'd over the house! And made an immediate trip to the hot tub...very nice. There are 9 of us - 6 adults, 3 kids. So much room to spread out; what a pleasure! We had a great day skiing and 'boarding on Saturday, made a huge pasta dinner and enjoyed the view of the fireworks from the comfort of the hot tub. Aahh once again...
The views from this house are just spectacular. We are already planning several trips back to the Eagle's Nest. Thanks for making us feel so welcome and comfortable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 30, 2003   Date of arrival: January 30, 2003

We arrived! Yahoo!! No kids for the next 3+ days.
Glenn, Leah, Kim and Doug enjoyed the day at Bretton Woods before arriving at the Eagle's Nest. WOW! What a place! It is fantastic.
Dave and Laura met us here and after unpacking... we headed to the Brew Pub for libations...and food.
Upon return it was the cozy hot tub to relax in.
Friday we exhausted ourselves at Sunday River. Great conditions and lots of fun. Joe and Diane were able to join us and now the "Gang's all Here!"
It was "Pat's Pizza" in between soaking in the Hot Tub.
Sat... Back to Sunday River for more Great Skiing. Relaxing in the tub never felt better. We all enjoyed a great meal at the Sudbury Inn. "Good choice for Dinner."
Sunday brought 6+" of new snow and we are regretting having to go home.
The Eagle's Nest is a definite must return to. We haven't even left yet and already making plans to return.
Hope to return again.
P.S. The lump in the 3rd chair that won't go away is "Kim." She doesn't want to go home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 27, 2003   Date of arrival: January 27, 2003

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your home and in the area!!! The house ws spacious enough to spread out in and keep everyone busy - Great access to the local skimobile trails and we had a blast in the fields below towing sleds for rides! Planning to book again for future gatherings. Thank you for contributing to a wonderful weekend! (Had a great old-fashioned sleigh ride on a farm on Skillings Road near Songo Pond. The snow was falling and the trail through the woods as like being in another time period. Super hospitality!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review