reviews for: listing #141186ha - Lake Arenal, Costa Rica rental

Simply the best,great views,pool,delicious food,great advice,peace
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 199 - $ 450 / night
    $ 1,396 - $ 1,800 / week
    $ 5,499 / month
  • sleeps  15
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

just as good as it looks online

Review submitted: August 28, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year's in 2006. We had two families: 4 adults, 6 older children (high school and college). The listing is very true to what you find when you get there. The owner is next door to the property, and he is as helpful as the best concierge in the finest hotel anywhere. You are within 5 minutes to 1.5 hours of almost any activity you can think of. The only negative thing to say is that we took so many digital photos that 8 months later we are still editing and organizing them!!

Helpful votes: 26 / 30

 

Wonderful place, wonderful stay

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in February, but could have happily stayed for a month - or more! The house itself is beautiful, clearly crafted as a labor of love, with relief-carved wood doors in every room, vibrant butterfly tiles for flooring, and a kitchen I wish I could have packed up and brought home with me. There were just three of us, so we never even needed the top floor and there was lots of room for us on the first level. Everything was sparkling clean, and considering how wild and natural the location feels, I was surprised to note how bug-free the house was! I'd recommend this place and it's wonderful hosts to anyone and everyone - it's truly special. To keep this from becoming an epic review, I'll just summarize:

Best stuff for me & DH:
Beautiful view and landscaped grounds
Great library for a rainy day
Very comfortable temperature-wise - never too hot or too cold
Convenient, safe parking
Helpful host

Best stuff for our 2yo daughter
Saw a coati on the first day!
Delicious fresh fruit smoothies at breakfast
Safe, fun house to run around and explore
Jacuzzi, pool, and giant bath tub

Great for all of us
Delicious, nutritious breakfasts and a homemade dinner
Peaceful but convenient location
Very helpful advice for itineraries and excursions

Maria, the housekeeper, bears special mention! She played with our daughter and was all-around wonderful. Patrick and his wife are no less marvelous, and his wife very kindly supplied us with milk and Tylenol from her own home when our daughter woke up sick on her last day (likely the result of drinking water at the Baldi springs, thankfully it was a very quick recovery!). Would stay again and recommend in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Felt like the Royalty!

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Red Sunset the week after Christmas. We have three young boys and shared the home with friends who have two boys. I cannot say enough about this amazing house and Patrick, the owner. When we read the previous reviews, I honestly thought it sounded too good to be true. However, the home (and Patrick) exceeded every expectation. I honestly felt like “the rich and famous”. It started out with Jaime, our “personal” driver, picking us up at the airport and driving us to the home. We arrived at 1am but Patrick was there waiting for us when we arrived. He gave us a quick tour and then left us to get settled. Every morning we were greeted with two friendly ladies who cooked us amazing breakfasts, cleaned all the dishes and then fixed up the house. Patrick met with us several times to go over our desires and help us make an itinerary for each day. He personally called each place to set up tours. He packed us lunch for one day (extra charge) and it was a very nice picnic lunch. Then we decided to ask him to provide dinner one night and we were amazed! The dinner was waiting exactly at the time we asked for it. He made amazing food, a gourmet dessert and even stayed to wait on us. Despite the food being some of the tastiest we’d eaten, it was half the price of eating at any restaurant. We ended up using him for two dinners but wished we could have eaten at home every night! Jaime was a wonderful driver and well worth the cost. He was prompt, considerate, a safe driver and available for our every whim. He patiently waited while we shopped, did tours, ate meals, etc. He also provided good advice on places to visit. He seemed to be friends with people everywhere we went.
The house was beautiful. There were several bedrooms – each with a private bathroom. The views were amazing. The first morning a huge bird flew right by our window. Another day we spotted a couple toucans in a nearby tree. One day we awoke to a horse outside our bedroom window and cows nearby. There are hikes within walking distance. The house we clean, well stocked, beds were comfortable and bathrooms were well maintained. We did have to drive 45 min – 1 hr most days to get to the things we wanted, however, it was worth it to stay at this house rather than a high touristy town. Plus, the drives were beautiful in themselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely stay at the Red Sunset

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Our stay at the Red Sunset of Guanacaste was wonderful. We were part of a two family group (9 people including 4 adults and 5 kids) and really appreciated the ample space this home provided. The kids all had their own bedrooms and bathrooms which was great! We loved the flexibility of having breakfasts ready for us each morning at whatever time was most convenient for us. Such yummy food…and what a variety! Icy fruit smoothies every day, eggs, pancakes, french toast, fresh hashbrowns, quiche, fresh fruit…it was all so good! The views are absolutely spectacular. We also enjoyed watching the weather pass through – one minute it was pouring rain, and the next, the clouds would race by and blue sky would peek out. The kids loved using the pool and heated Jacuzzi every evening. Patrick was very accommodating and did an excellent job helping us plan out our activities for the trip, including making the necessary phone calls and reservation arrangements. Two nights of our stay we had Patrick prepare and serve dinners for us. That is definitely the way to do it! He is an excellent cook and was more than willing to make a variety of foods to suit all of us, including the two of us who are pescatarians. Delicious! We really couldn’t have asked for better service. Jaime, the driver Patrick arranged for us, was an excellent driver, a very friendly guy, and gave us many great recommendations about Costa Rica as well. Our favorite activities of the trip were the zip lining at Arenal and a river float by Safaris Corobici. What amazing wildlife! For those visiting the area, most of the activities that we did were near Volcano Arenal and are about an hour from the house – but the drive is right along the lake and is full of beautiful scenery!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay at the Red Sunset

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Our stay at the Red Sunset of Guanacaste was wonderful. We were part of a two family group (9 people including 4 adults and 5 kids) and really appreciated the ample space this home provided. The kids all had their own bedrooms and bathrooms which was great! We loved the flexibility of having breakfasts ready for us each morning at whatever time was most convenient for us. Such yummy food…and what a variety! Icy fruit smoothies every day, eggs, pancakes, french toast, fresh hashbrowns, quiche, fresh fruit…it was all so good! The views are absolutely spectacular. We also enjoyed watching the weather pass through – one minute it was pouring rain, and the next, the clouds would race by and blue sky would peek out. The kids loved using the pool and heated Jacuzzi every evening. Patrick was very accommodating and did an excellent job helping us plan out our activities for the trip, including making the necessary phone calls and reservation arrangements. Two nights of our stay we had Patrick prepare and serve dinners for us. That is definitely the way to do it! He is an excellent cook and was more than willing to make a variety of foods to suit all of us, including the two of us who are pescatarians. Delicious! We really couldn’t have asked for better service. Jaime, the driver Patrick arranged for us, was an excellent driver, a very friendly guy, and gave us many great recommendations about Costa Rica as well. Our favorite activities of the trip were the zip lining at Arenal and a river float by Safaris Corobici. What amazing wildlife! For those visiting the area, most of the activities that we did were near Volcano Arenal and are about an hour from the house – but the drive is right along the lake and is full of beautiful scenery!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing views, great service, good for families/big groups/kids

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

All has been said about this amazing place - probably what I liked best is that the house was very spacious and comfortable, and it was so easy being here with a big group. Traveling with young children, I especially appreciated the home cooked dinners by Patrick (he will cook anything you request!) and breakfasts by his wife, and the house cleaning service. I didn't have to cook or clean a single dish the entire week. Maria (I think that was the house cleaner/helper's name) was always cleaning up after our mess and even folded my laundry. Honestly, who needs site seeing, I was on vacation just in the house! There were tons of books (and kids books), games, even instruments, and swimming pool to keep everyone busy. Patrick did set up quite a few activities for us and transportation as well and they did not have to be set up in advance of the trip. We decided what we wanted to do the day before usually. Most of the activities we chose seemed about 45 to an hour drive (rafting, hiking, canyoneering, hot springs...). We saw toucans and parrots right near the house. The house has hundreds of custom tiles (stairways, floors, walls, in the pool, on the deck etc) which is pretty neat. The weather was pretty cool at night so I only used air conditioning a couple of nights (bedrooms have ac, there was a dehumidifier in the house as well). Thank you Patrick for a great trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great place for a group vacation!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Our group of 9 stayed here during the first week of July and it was one of the best vacations we've been on. You should stay here if you want to enjoy the rainforest, not have to plan anything in advance and be taken care of like royalty. To start - Patrick, who is the owner of the home, was the best concierge we could have immagined. Upon arrival Patrick had set up a driver to meet us at the airport and take us to lunch. Once we made it to the house, Patrick and his team had an amazing dinner ready for us. After dinner Patrick discussed all of the nearby activities that were available and then after creating an intenerary for the week scheduled all of the activities and meals for us. Breakfast which was included everyday was the greatest start to the day we could have imagined. There were fresh fruit smoothies along with anything else we could have wanted for breakfast. The home itself was also fantastic for our group - the pool and hot tub was our favorite place to end a long day of adventure while waiting for dinner and then the living room provided a great gathering place to wind down after dinner and discuss the next days adventure.

I would HIGHLY recommend that any group looking for adventure of just a quiet place to relax give this place a try! (Also for the price, I know we couldn't have done any better.)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

MORE THAN A VACATION - MORE OF AN EXPERIENCE, WHATEVER YOUR PREFERENCES

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Patrick and Alicia were wonderful hosts for the relaxing and breathtaking setting we so much enjoyed. We've spent years in Costa Rica - however, the food Patrick prepared for dinner and the breakfast "feasts" prepared by Alicia were better than any food we have ever eaten in all of Costa Rica! This visit certainly exceeded our expectations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an absolute perfect escape!!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Thank You Patrick!! for making our stay in Paradise so enjoyable, all your recommendations were spot on, we couldn't have asked for a better guide, to send us on all the activities that we we really wanted to do. From the hanging bridges to Skytrek everything you advised was outstanding. The house was perfect, clean and gorgeous with lots of room for our group of 6 then 9 as the other group arrived. I've never seen views like what your home has to offer. The breakfasts were healthy and sooooo delicious with just the right amount of indulgence. Just outstanding in every way.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A Rustic Home

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at this home. Patrick, the owner, was very prompt in answering e-mails and was on hand to greet us. He was also our chef the first evening and served a nice meal. Patrick checked in with us each morning to see if we needed anything and was very willing to arrange any activities we desired. He had two very nice ladies who fixed and served breakfast each morning. The property description includes the word luxury and I feel this misrepresents what you get. This house is very large, and has lovely views, but is in no way luxurious. It could use some attention to such things as the bedding, linens, dampness, and mattresses. There is a large indoor pool that was 68 degrees and a hot tub. This is probably a better fit for extended families with lots of children. We enjoyed a drive to the Arenal Observatory Lodge. We took some great pictures of the volcano and did some hiking. Also had a wonderful dinner at the Gingerbread House restaurant nearby.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Here at "The Sunset" we strive to attend to our guests comfort, activities, needs wants and concerns. Although we have never had these particular comments in the past I do feel that a few points should be clarified. Myself or my staff were never made aware of any of the issues raised by this client and we were in contact with our clients everyday as delineated in the review, had an issue of dampness been raised, or any other for that matter, we would have been more than happy to turn on the dehumidifier in the home and the air conditioning, which features a dehumidify option, change the sheets and linens and attend to any other raised concern in a helpful and cheerful manner. We do live in a rainforest and have many windows to take advantage of the magnificent views out location offers. In short, had our esteemed guest group let us know their was a coolness to the linens or any other issue, we would have addressed it happily and immediately.
As far as not being considered luxurious in the reviewers opinion, I can only repeat what the home offers that many others do not, including air conditioning, included delicious breakfast, gas fireplaces, the highest quality of linens and mattresses available in Costa Rica, a huge library of books and videos, steam room, hot tub, indoor gym and exercise area, large pool, concierge service, a private buyer for articles forgotten or wanted, gourmet dinner service and many, many other first class amenities and services, which we feel brings a true sense and sensibility of luxury to a finely appointed home. Many of our clients in the past including A-list U.S. celebrities have had a wonderful time at "The Sunset" and felt very well taken care of, as expressed in other reviews. As will any group that comes here in the spirit of adventure and having a great time. In closing, we take our guests experience very, very seriously and as with any guest group, we are here to address any issues and assure the best possible vacation, set up tours, meals, hikes among other activities and see to it that a good time is had by all.

Helpful votes: 3 / 9

 

Beautiful House overlooking Lake Arenal -- Better than advertised!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Our group of 13 stayed for four nights. The house is large and spacious and well furnished. It is located on a hilltop adjacent to lake Arenal. Its about 5 minutes drive from Nuevo Arenal and about an hour drive from the city of La Fortuna. Patrick, the owner, lives in another house adjacent to this property. He did a wonderful job in helping us coordinate our adventure plans during our stay.

Breakfast was provided every morning and was very good. The pool and heated jacuzzi are in a covered palapa and very convenient.
If you choose, they can provide dinner/chef services for evening meals and we did this twice and were happy with the food and service.

In short, I highly recommend this place to travellers to this area who look for privacy and don't want to stay in a hotel type setting;

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing Owner Built Home in a Fantastic Location

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

This very large and unique villa has incredible woodwork with hand-carved doors and bright, colorful tiles including illustrations of every species of bird in Costa Rica. Patrick the owner is a great guy who also owns the Sunrise Cafe in town. The views are so awe-inspiring that you'll debate whether to go out or just hang around the place. There is a fully appointed kitchen, loads of interesting books, satellite TV, and all the modern perks. But you'll be hypnotized by the view of Lake Arenal and the distant volcano.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A "True" vacation!

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

I loved my visit. Seven girls all got away for a four day excursion and absolutely loved this house. Patrick cooked incredible meals. It was so awesome to come home from a day of adventure and have candlelight gourmet dinners waiting for us! The owner Patrick is an american so we our needs were understood since there was no translating needed. He set us up with a driver, who was so fun and would wait at each destination until we were done. We felt safe and well taken care of...beautiful views, great house, and hope to return...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A bit of Shangri-La!

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We have stayed in a good many rental vacation homes -- most quite nice -- but this was the first which fully lived up to its description and perhaps a bit more. There were nine of us, including four year old twins, who came to celebrate our golden anniversary. What a wonderful way to celebrate. The house is beautiful and the views from it are truly extraordinary. We had the good fortune of having good weather throughout and the Arenal volcano was clearly visible as was Lake Arenal. "Red Sunset" (extremely descriptive of our views) has all the comforts necessary, but most important were the people who provided us with so much. Patrick was there, unobtrusively, whenever we needed him , provided us with expert advice on where to go (and not to go), and made all the necessary arrangements. That was no easy task considering the needs of the twins, an older brother, and six adults of varying ages and interests. We had great trips rafting, horseback riding, zip lining (for myself and my son), enjoying the hot springs, and hiking around the volcano. Our three grandchildren liked nothing better than staying at the house and enjoying the hot tub (the pool is a little too deep for them, but I enjoyed it), although they loved all of our activities. Patrick even baked two loaves of bread for us to us to make sandwiches to take on the plane when we departed! Jaime, our driver, was there to provide additional advice and he is just about the nicest person and most careful driver (on some difficult roads) one can imagine. He is truly a gentle giant. Jeff provided all our breakfasts and all our dinners except one -- we had one magnificent dinner at the Gingerbread -- and he did an incredible job. Imagine cooking for young kids who eat practically nothing, as well as some vegetarians, as well as cranky old folks (well, one of us anyway)! He consulted with us on meals every day, used a good many of Patrick's recipes (and Patrick took care of the desserts -- yum!), and provided delicious fare every day to which we looked forward to eagerly. And Jeff did all this with immense good humor. What a very special vacation and celebration!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A place you will not want to leave...

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

After spending a week in the heat at the beach, we were all relieved to arrive at Patrick's gorgeous home in the clouds. The weather was cool at night, but still sunny and warm during the day, which was perfect for all of the great activities in the area. We were always a little torn as to whether to go out and do a fun activity or just hang out and enjoy the house and the views! As everyone has said, Patrick and his staff are amazing, and truly help you make the most of your time there. He arranged for horseback riding, a jungle walk with the Maleku, zip lining, and even a real estate tour. Another highlight was dinner at the Gingerbread restaurant nearby, which was an incredible meal. Patrick also told us about waterfalls and hot springs which were favorites as well. We had five adults and five young children in our group, and there was plenty of room in the house for everyone to have their own space when they needed it. And the meals were delicious and hearty, dinners as well as breakfasts. We all loved the hot tub too, and the fabulous collection of adult's and children's books in the library. I highly recommend the Sunset, and we look forward to coming back again!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful place that you will not want to leave!

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

After spending a week in the heat at the beach, we were all relieved to arrive at Patrick's gorgeous home in the clouds. The weather was cool at night, but still sunny and warm during the day, which was perfect for all of the great activities in the area. We were always a little torn as to whether to go out and do a fun activity or just hang out and enjoy the house and the views! As everyone has said, Patrick and his staff are amazing, and truly help you make the most of your time there. He arranged for horseback riding, a jungle walk with the Maleku, zip lining, and even a real estate tour. Another highlight was dinner at the Gingerbread restaurant nearby, which was an incredible meal. Patrick also told us about waterfalls and hot springs which were favorites as well. We had five adults and five young children in our group, and there was plenty of room in the house for everyone to have their own space when they needed it. And the meals were delicious and hearty, dinners as well as breakfasts. We all loved the hot tub too, and the fabulous collection of adult's and children's books in the library. I highly recommend the Sunset, and we look forward to coming back again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home in the clouds is a great base of operations.

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

The Red Sunset is an excellent place to stay in Nuevo Arenal.

Patrick and his staff made us feel completely at home and everything they did enhanced our stay. He provisioned for us ahead of time, checked in with us daily, made suggestions for our activities and then made the necessary arrangements. We used his van driver who spoke just enough English, navigated the often rough washed out roads safely and served as our driving around guide. The cook not only made a lovely large breakfast every morning but also made dinner the nights we requested. The meals were all tailored to our personal eating needs, fresh and delicious. The housekeeper was cheerful, kept the house spotless and served as an assistant in the kitchen. They are a great team and positively impacted our vacation.

The house is spacious, comfortable, clean and well maintained and has fabulous views even when the weather is cloudy. It sits high up overlooking the lake and mountains beyond. The only downside is that there isn't anywhere to walk to easily. The small town of Nuevo Arenal is a ten-minute drive away. We drove as little as five minutes and often as much as an hour to our various activities. The description and photos on the website are accurate.

We were so busy with all the area has to offer that we only used the pool and hot tub a couple times. We went kayaking, zip lining, canyoneering, to Tabacon natural hot springs where we had massages in fabulous, private outdoor huts. We floated down a river with a naturalist, walked trails in Arenal National Park, took a guided walk in the rain forest and still had time for shopping in La Fortuna. We even got to spend an hour at the beach near Liberia on our way to the airport to fly home.

A favorite activity was watching the weather change. It could be cloudy one minute and clear and bright the next. Clouds flew across the sky. At night it would sometimes pour rain, the wind would howl and an hour later it would be completely clear so we could see the lights of town down below.

One night we went to The Sunset in Nuevo Arenal, a casual local’s restaurant/bar run by Patrick. It is lively and has a varied menu. The food is fresh and quite good and the beer local. Patrick sometimes serves as cook as well as front of the house. Another night we ate at Gingerbread House.

This was our first time in Costa Rica. Patrick and The Sunset provided the perfect base of operations for our week discovering and enjoying this area.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A home in the clouds is a great base of operations for adventure.

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

The Red Sunset is an excellent place to stay in Nuevo Arenal.

Patrick and his staff made us feel completely at home and everything they did enhanced our stay. He provisioned for us ahead of time, checked in with us daily, made suggestions for our activities and then made the necessary arrangements. We used his van driver who spoke just enough English, navigated the often rough washed out roads safely and served as our driving around guide. The cook not only made a lovely large breakfast every morning but also made dinner the nights we requested. The meals were all tailored to our personal eating needs, fresh and delicious. The housekeeper was cheerful, kept the house spotless and served as an assistant in the kitchen. They are a great team and positively impacted our vacation.

The house is spacious, comfortable, clean and well maintained and has fabulous views even when the weather is cloudy. It sits high up overlooking the lake and mountains beyond. The only downside is that there isn't anywhere to walk to easily. The small town of Nuevo Arenal is a ten-minute drive away. We drove as little as five minutes and as much as an hour to our various activities. The description and photos on the website are accurate.

We were so busy with all the area has to offer that we only used the pool and hot tub a couple times. We went kayaking, zip lining, canyoneering, to Tabacon natural hot springs where we had massages in fabulous, private outdoor huts. We floated down a river with a naturalist, walked trails in Arenal National Park, took a guided walk in the rain forest and still had time for shopping in La Fortuna. We even got to spend an hour at the beach near Liberia on our way to the airport to fly home.

A favorite activity was watching the weather change. It could be cloudy one minute and clear and bright the next. Clouds flew across the sky. At night it would sometimes pour rain, the wind would howl and an hour later it would be completely clear so we could see the lights of town down below.

One night we went to The Sunset in Nuevo Arenal, a casual local’s restaurant/bar run by Patrick. It is lively and has a varied menu. The food is fresh and quite good and the beer local. Patrick sometimes serves as cook as well as front of the house. Another night we ate at Gingerbread House.

This was our first time in Costa Rica. Patrick and The Sunset provided the perfect base of operations for our week discovering and enjoying this area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Glorius Girls Tripr

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

Wow wow wow! This was an amazing trip. Our host, Patrick, was such a wonderful resource to the activities and the area. The home was marvelous, with seven women (who like their space) - we could not have asked for a more beautiful and accomodating place to stay. The meals were marvelous - I have to go back just for the amazing breakfast we were served each morning. I highly recommend this property to any small group or family/families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful view from the villa

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Beautiful villa that definitely had an "old world charm" to it. The view of the lake was beautiful whenever the clouds cleared but being among the clouds was an awesome sight as well. Every morning a delicious breakfast was prepared and ready at whatever time was decided. Patrick was a great host and made a number of great suggestions and reservations for us. It definitely took the stress out of that part of the vacation. The only thing is that we had to contend with the humidity and dampness within the villa because we went during "the rainy season".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great property!

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Definitely recommend this place. We had a great time – the house is huge, bedrooms very spacious, common areas (kitchen, dining room, living area) all nice and large for big groups. 3 bedrooms upstairs and 2 downstairs, each with their own attached bathroom. The wi-fi and computer were very nice so we could connect with family back home. We had delicious breakfasts each morning at whatever time we wanted – lots of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, bacon, fruit smoothies, and a variety of other items.

Patrick was great and set up some tours for us (zip lining, horseback riding) and recommended places for us to hike to and sight see.

The only drawback to this property is that it’s about a 1hr drive from here to the volcano area where we did most of our activities.

I would certainly recommend this property to families and groups looking for a nice vacation home in a gorgeous setting overlooking Lake Arenal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great property for large groups!

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Definitely recommend this place. We had a great time – the house is huge, bedrooms very spacious, common areas (kitchen, dining room, living area) all nice and large for big groups. 3 bedrooms upstairs and 2 downstairs, each with their own attached bathroom. The wi-fi and computer were very nice so we could connect with family back home. We had delicious breakfasts each morning at whatever time we wanted – lots of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, bacon, fruit smoothies, and a variety of other items.

Patrick was great and set up some tours for us (zip lining, horseback riding) and recommended places for us to hike to and sight see.

The only drawback to this property is that it’s about a 1hr drive from here to the volcano area where we did most of our activities.

I would certainly recommend this property to families and groups looking for a nice vacation home in a gorgeous setting overlooking Lake Arenal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Wonderful vacation home!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We stayed at Redsunset from 3/26-4/2/2011. We had a very enjoyable stay! The house and grounds are beautiful and located atop a hillcrest with great views of the lake and the volcano. The house has everything one might need. Patrick was a very attentive host and would get whatever else one might desire. He helped us plan and then book all our activities throughout the week. We ate most meals at the house and his dinners were delicious. The breakfasts were huge & satisfying and ready for us each morning regardless of the time! We strongly recommend this vacation rental without hesitation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Paradise found!

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Our gracious host, Patrick, is unlike any other. His place is beautiful, resting above Lake Arenal like a sleeping giant. The moment you drive onto his well kept grounds you instantly feel a sense of relaxation come over you. I've been to several vacation rentals and his are pictured and described much better than others. There are five rooms, each with a gorgeous view (although one is a bit obstructed) and spacious. The entire place has an old world charm about it, from the creaking floors, to the inlaid tiles up the spiraling stairs. There seemed to be surprises at every turn....wildlife and flowers and thunderstorms and amazing food. Patricks dishes were different every night and each as delicious as the next. The free breakfasts made you want to jump out of bed in the morning and wait at the table in anticipation for what would be coming out of the kitchen. I highly recommend you follow this advice: have all your dinners prepared by Patrick during your stay; go with his recommendations for adventures, and never miss a breakfast. Patrick truly creates a magical experience for you from start to finish. The villa is located at the north end of Arenal. For our trip, we rented a van and drove ourselves to the activities. Most everything besides the Maleku excursion (highly recommended) and the town of Arenal are about a half hour or more drive. But it is so gorgeous you will hardly know time has passed. The pool was cool and the hot tub HOT and the sauna...just right. You will enjoy this place so much, it will be hard to leave.....especially after Patrick gets his bar finished! Have fun in paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Magical paradise

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Our gracious host, Patrick, is unlike any other. His place is beautiful, resting above Lake Arenal like a sleeping giant. The moment you drive onto his well kept grounds you instantly feel a sense of relaxation come over you. I've been to several vacation rentals and his are pictured and described much better than others. There are five rooms, each with a gorgeous view (although one is a bit obstructed) and spacious. The entire place has an old world charm about it, from the creaking floors, to the inlaid tiles up the spiraling stairs. There seemed to be surprises at every turn....wildlife and flowers and thunderstorms and amazing food. Patricks dishes were different every night and each as delicious as the next. The free breakfasts made you want to jump out of bed in the morning and wait at the table in anticipation for what would be coming out of the kitchen. I highly recommend you follow this advice: have all your dinners prepared by Patrick during your stay; go with his recommendations for adventures, and never miss a breakfast. Patrick truly creates a magical experience for you from start to finish. The villa is located at the north end of Arenal. For our trip, we rented a van and drove ourselves to the activities. Most everything besides the Maleku excursion (highly recommended) and the town of Arenal are about a half hour or more drive. But it is so gorgeous you will hardly know time has passed. The pool was cool and the hot tub HOT and the sauna...just right. You will enjoy this place so much, it will be hard to leave.....especially after Patrick gets his bar finished! Have fun in paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Another OUTSTANDING visit to Patrick's.

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

This is the second time we (14 people) have had the pleasure of staying at the Red Sunset. Patrick made us feel at home and one of the family. The house is truly amazing and the views are the best on the lake. There is nothing better than waking up each morning and enjoying a cup of Costa Rican coffee on the terrace while watching the clouds roll by on the lake. Every adventure that Patrick recommended was perfect for our family, considering our group ranged in age from 5 to 65. When you go, make sure you ask Patrick to prepare his carrot cake pancakes. They are the BEST!!!! Thanks to Patrick and his team for making this trip a truly memorable experience. Pura Vida.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful stay at Red Sunset

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Our family of 4 had a wonderful stay at Red Sunset in the Arenal Volcano area during June 2010. Patrick cooked breakfast and dinner for us each day in addition to helping us plan every activity in the area. We were so exhausted after a long day of activities and it was great to come home to a home-cooked meal each evening! He is a wonderful cook and my youngest is still begging for his chocolate oatmeal cookie recipe! He also makes a lasagna which is out of this world.
Patrick designed this house and his attention to detail is found in each and every room of the home. We already miss our wonderful Costa Rica vacation and home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful vacation at Red Sunset

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Our family of 4 had a wonderful stay at Red Sunset in the Arenal Volcano area during June 2010. Patrick cooked breakfast and dinner for us each day in addition to helping us plan every activity in the area. We were so exhausted after a long day of activities and it was great to come home to a home-cooked meal each evening! He is a wonderful cook and my youngest is still begging for his chocolate oatmeal cookie recipe! He also makes a lasagna which is out of this world.
Patrick designed this house and his attention to detail is found in each and every room of the home. We already miss our wonderful Costa Rica vacation and home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Our wonderful stay at

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

At the end of February and through to the 5th of March, 2010, we had the pleasure of staying at The Sunset, a beautiful estate overlooking Lake Arenal and the Volcano. Our family of 6 had an absolutely wonderful time and enjoyed all the wonderful food that our host, Patrick, served us. We had such great food prepared for us that it really was difficult to leave. A family style breakfast every morning, with it being different every day, was included. Can't even describe how good it was. We were told that there were many wonderful restaurants in the area, but after the first dinner Patrick prepared, we just did not have a desire to go anywhere else. Some of our group did eat at Tabacon one evening and we ate at a pizza place in town that was wonderful another evening. However, coming back to such a wonderfully prepared meal with two entrees and all the trimmings in the evening was beyond all our expectations. Hey, even fresh homemade dessert with every dinner. The talapia was to die for! The house was most comfortable, with lots of things to do. Great selection of DVD's and a huge projection screen to enjoy them on. Hundreds of books to choose from if you wanted to relax and read. An indoor huge pool, jacuzzi, steam room and lots of exercise equipment. Just walking around the grounds full of growing pineapples, flowers and too many different birds to even name was spellbinding. This was our 4th trip to Costa Rica and the 4th home we have rented. I just can't say enough about all of it. Our host was most helpful and dedicated to our fun filled vacation. Oh, wireless also! If anyone would like any information, I would be most happy to help in any way. We are now working on becoming a neighbor one of these years. It is located close enough to do all kinds of activities all around the area.
Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Our family of ten – me, my wife, our son and his family of four, and our daughter and her family of four – enjoyed the 2009 Christmas/New Year Holiday at the Sunset. The house is beautifully decorated and has all the amenities, including WiFi. The house is beautifully set on a hillside with a panoramic view of Lake Arenal and the Arenal volcano when the weather is clear. Being in the cloud forest region, we had many clouds drifting by with scattered periods of sunshine and frequent rain showers most nights. However, down the hill and a short distance away was generally good weather.Patrick, with his helper Kirsten, provided excellent hospitality. The breakfasts were American fare and the food was plentiful and outstanding in quality and quantity. We chose to have our dinners with Patrick as well and the dinners were scrumptious; there was more food than our group could devour, but each meal was supurb. Having our dinners at the Sunset allowed us to relax after a busy day and to gather in a friendly, private setting to enjoy one another and catch up in a more intimate way with the lives of all members of the family, given that the three families live at scattered locations in the US.Patrick was a knowledgeable and gracious host. He helped us decide what activities to do each day and made all the necessary reservations. Our driver, Hymie, was a very relaxed and comfortable man and also cared for our every need. We participated in mostly outdoor adventure activities and some days we were able to work in two such adventures. Patrick arranged for them all. Included were white-water rafting, rain forest, hiking, slow-water rafting, zip lines, waterfalls, hiking, butterfly gardens, horse back riding, etc. Our four teenagers especially wanted an adrenalin push and most activities provided that. And afterward, they relished each evening meal – a real rarity for us. So if you are seeking a fabulous setting, a magnificent house with all amenities, and wonderful food excellently prepared and served, contact Patrick. He’s your man.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Totally Awesome!

Review submitted: November 29, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

Everything was as described. The house was spacious - perfect for our large family gathering. Everyone had a bedroom and a comfortable bed. We did not get to see the volcano because of the weather… (Not much you can do about the will of Mother Nature!). But that did not stop us from enjoying other activities even with a little drizzle. They arranged for all the sight/event scheduling and reservations which made the vacation that much easier. Breakfast & dinner at the house were a huge plus (lots of delicious food… breakfast was my favorite… ask for stuffed French toast… yummy!). Will definitely go back to catch the volcano view!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 11, 2009   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

We stayed at the Sunset for 5 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had a group of people from the East Coast, Mid West to Spain. The accomodations were spacious and comfortable. Patrick made us feel at home. He even baked me a cake for my birthday. He is a phenomonal chef. He wil cook to your needs and diets. Patrick also schedule our day trips and arranged a driver. The driver he arranged, Hymie, also served as our tour guide, interpreter, and personal shopper. I would definitley stay here again. Please call me if you would like more information.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Amazing!!

Review submitted: November 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

The Red Sunset was, by far, the best vacation home experience. The house was amazing and Patrick and his staff were incredibly accomodating and friendly. Patrick made us feel at home and prepared the best food we had while we were in Costa Rica. We will definetely stay here again on our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

This home is simply amazing. The home is very comfortable and clean. The pictures cannot compare to the actual experience. Waking up each morning to the view was paradise. Patrick and his team were the BEST. We spent a few days in another location and wished we would have stayed with Patrick the entire time. Thank you Patrick for a very memorable vacation. We will see you again. Rodney.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

Our Internet business group had a week-long working retreat at Red Sunset
in September 2009. Seven of us brought laptop computers and we all needed
to be Internet-connected at once. The wireless connection at Red Sunset was
effective and was usually reliable. We had ample working space for all of
our laptops on tables in the large dining room - with an outstanding
panoramic Arenal lakeview.

The bedrooms were beautiful and the beds were comfortable. Many of us used
the hot tub each evening. Paula and Marie cleaned daily and provided fresh
bedding and towels as needed.

Breakfasts and dinners were daily highlights. American-style breakfasts
were always delicious and generous. We had also arranged for Patrick (the
owner) and Kirsten (his friendly helper from Holland) to make dinner each
day. Their gourmet American cuisine was varied and superb.

Our group enjoyed three week-ending sightseeing excursions. The first was a
swim at nearby Lake Cote - the caldera of an extinct volcano and the
rumored landing site of extra-terrestrials. The second was a night visit to
the Arenal Volcano (60 minutes' drive each way), where we were fortunate to
observe a lava flow. The third was an ambitious trip to Rio Celeste
National Park (90 minutes' drive each way) where our rugged seven-
kilometer five-hour hike included a striking blue river and lagoon, blue
thermal pools where we soaked, and a thunderous 100-foot blue waterfall.

Our Lake Arenal working retreat was a success. We all enjoyed the stunning
lakeview and occasional volcano view throughout our stay. Patrick and his
staff were always pleased to assist with our special needs. We recommend
Red Sunset as an excellent choice for a small business group or family with
a need for Internet access, great food and accommodations, and excellent
service.

Brian and Lisa Raub - Moneta, Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Sunset. The home is beautiful, spacious, and everyone there is extremenly friendly. Our meals were fantastic - better than any restaurant. It was great to come back and relax together after a full day of activities. Patrick was the perfect host and arranged everything from airport pickup to our activities. Our group agreed that the Sunset had definitely exceeded our expectations and I recommend it to any family or group seeking the perfect vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Absolute Gem!

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Our stay at Red Sunset was everything we hoped for!! With a group of seven, ages 48 to 80, we obviously had diverse needs and interests. Patrick went over and above to help us plan and was spot-on in his recommendations. The accommodations are absolutely amazing. Upon arrival after dark in the rain, we walked into the house and were instantly charmed by the warm inviting ambiance. Each room was comfortable, clean and meticulously decorated with custom designed and built Costa Rican furniture. Patrick's breakfast was just incredible...what a way to start the day! Dinner's were just as wonderful. I could just go on and on...bottom line, stay at Red Sunset and I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

Our stay at Red Sunset was everything we hoped for!! With a group of seven, ages 48 to 80, we obviously had diverse needs and interests. Patrick went over and above to help us plan and was spot on in his recommendations. The accommodations are absolutely amazing. Upon arrival after dark in the rain, we walked into the house and were instantly charmed by the ambiance and sheer beauty. Each room was comfortable, clean and meticulously decorated with custom designed and built Costa Rican furniture. Patrick's breakfast was just incredible...what a way to start the day! Dinner's were just as wonderful. I could just go on and on...bottom line, stay at Red Sunset and I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

Our stay at the Red Sunset could not have been more perfect. We've travelled a lot and have had some great trips but this was simply the best ever. We had five kids with us and I never had to plan or worry about a thing. We woke each day to a hearty breakfast and came home each night to a home cooked gourmet meal - cooking like you wouldn't believe. When you have 5 kids all agree that the cooking was fantastic you know you're talking about an incredible chef! Whatever kind of cuisine we could mention in the morning is what would be waiting when we got back. Patrick would have our tours arranged each day after discussion the night before (we gave him a wish list at the beginning of the trip with over a dozen things on it and he managed to work everything in for us!) We are now spoiled for life...I dont know how we would travel any other way in the future. I didnt have to lift a finger nor plan a thing - it was all taken care of for us and all 5 kids had the best trip of their lives - what more could you ever ask for. I cant stop looking at the pictures and the kids haven't stopped raving about the trip. The views from the house are incredible - pictures just dont do it justice. Inside of the house is beautiful too - all sorts of woodwork and a real costa rican feel. Older kids watched movies at night on a huge pull down screen and were able to select from a very large library of movies...younger ones headed to the big pool after dinner while I sipped my wine thinking each night about what a fantastic day we had had. I've always been ready to go back home after a weeks vacation but this is a place that I would have loved to stay longer. Thanks to Patrick and his wonderful staff!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lake Arenal Costa Rica Dreamhouse

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 19, 2009

It doesn't get better than this! Overlooking Lake Arenal amidst the cloudforests of Costa Rica six of us enjoyed four days and nights of first class living with Patrick as our host. After three days of San Jose madness and five days of Manual Antonio relentless heat Lake Arenal was the perfect place to end our trip with of hint of serenity and gorgeous views. The accommodations were roomy, the atmosphere created by Patrick and his staff easy going and the vistas outstanding! It was the highlight of our trip and the rum was great too!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Warm place to chill

Review submitted: March 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 19, 2009

Patrick has the mindset of a generous, concerned host. You feel that you are visiting a friend who is anxious to make you comfortable and relaxed. We were very lucky with the weather and our group spent an inordinate amount of time sitting on the deck absorbing the spectacular view of the lake and the clouds rolling over the mountains. Maybe we also absorbed a Flora de Cana or two.

The excitement level is muted but for a low key communal gathering I heartily recommend Red Sunset.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely beautiful.

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

We were made to feel very welcome the minute we walked through the door. Great for a large group like ourselves. Food was amazing. Definitely get Patrick to do all the cooking, what a deal! Makes it feel even more like a vacation without having to eat out everyday. Our vary gracious host was full of tips and site seeing information. It's to bad that the weather didn't cooporate. We highly recommend the Red Sunset for a vacation stop.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Red Sunset of Guanacaste

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

Just want to say that my stay was wonderful. Food and accommodations were excellent. Great owner and very willing to provide whatever we asked for.
Other than the weather, it couldn't have been better. We unfortunately hit the end of the rainy season, but still had a good time. Rain is warm in Costa Rica.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

luxury and great food near Lake Arenal

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 31, 2008

I spent ten days with a group of friends at this luxury rental near Lake Arenal. The bonus was the great food that Patrick prepared daily
no complaints at all - a little foggy at times but Patrick couldn't help that and the food made up for it

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magical Place, Amazing Experience!

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: November 24, 2008

Red Sunset was quite simply a wonderful and magical experience for our family. Our group of nine, including siblings, spouses, grandparents and a 1-year-old baby, had chosen to come to Costa Rica for a special anniversary celebration. And we weren't disappointed! The house itself was beautiful and spacious. The setting overlooking the lake was spectacular, even with the rain. Owner and chef extraordinaire Patrick was a marvelous guide, recommending daily outings that we all enjoyed and then whipping up great gourmet breakfasts/dinners. It made for a unique and luxurious home-away-from-home. We left with memories for a lifetime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bset Vacation Home We've Ever Used

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

As soon as you arrive you are made to feel at home. Patrick, his family and staff go out of their wat to ensure that every aspect of your stay is flawless. The views are stunning, with Lake Arenal and the Volcano visible all the time. The home cooked meals are to die for and Patrick will help arrange any day trips you wish. On a scale of 1-10 we rate this a 9.99.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really enjoyed this group of guests and as with so many of our guests can't wait to have them back. I would only say that they had some really good weather and the lake and volcano were visible during all of their stay, of course that is not always the case as we live atop a mountain in a rain forest. One thing we do try to guarantee is that we treat all of our guests as "friends we haven't met yet" and that we will do our best to ensure you enjoy your stay at "The Sunset"
Patrick and Daninne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Red Sunset was quite simply a wonderful and magical experience for our family. Our group of nine, including siblings, spouses, grandparents and a 1-year-old baby, had chosen to come to Costa Rica for a special anniversary celebration. And we weren't disappointed! The house itself was beautiful and spacious. The setting overlooking the lake was spectacular, even with the rain. Owner and chef extraordinaire Patrick was a marvelous guide, recommending daily outings that we all enjoyed and then whipping up great gourmet breakfasts/dinners. It made for a unique and luxurious home-away-from-home. We left with memories for a lifetime. _ Tran Family, Houston, Tx

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

This is a beautiful house, lovingly furnished and cared for, with a spectacular view of the lake and the volcano. We were four couples and we could have easily had a fifth couple and some children sharing with parents because there is plenty of space and extra beds.

Patrick, the owner and builder of this gorgeous retreat couldn't have been a better host. We had already been in Costa Rica for ten days when we arrived for a week's stay at the Red Sunset. Patrick was very sensitive to our needs in terms of recommending things for us to do that were unique to the Arenal area, including a visit with some indigenous people.

Patrick recommended a driver, Jaime, who had a very comfortable van and we couldn't have had a better, nicer, more careful driver. Do ask Patrick to book Jaime if you're going there.

Patrick is also a terrific and generous chef and cooked an amazing array of international treats for breakfast and dinner. It was far and away the best food we had in Costa Rica. We will definitely return and recommend Red Sunset to our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Plenty to do

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 18, 2008

We had a great stay at the Red Sunset. Patrick and Alex are great! The food is delicious, especially the banana pancakes! Patrick has tons of options of things to do. Our favorite was horseback riding at the eco lodge, best riding we've ever had! The guide was great with our kids too. Patrick and his whole family were so nice and accommodating. Our kids even played together on the playground. The pool is indoors with a hot tub! I would definitley recommend it and go ahead and let Patrick cook breakfast and dinner, it is better than anything you will find at a restaraunt and you will probably have leftovers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Red Sunset is a GREAT place to stay...especially if you have a big group as we did. Expect to have beautiful views, delicious meals and helpful suggestions for planning day trips if needed, and also a great place to relax between your activities. Patrick and the Red Sunset staff are most helpful with any and everything you might need during your visit. Would highly recommend Red Sunset to anyone planning a trip to Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 13, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This year was my second visit to The Red Sunset. I found the house on the internet last year when I was playing around looking for information on Costa Rica. I shared the website with all of my children and we decided it was "the place" we wanted to stay. We were all so impressed with the house, the view, Patrick, Alexandra and the rest of his staff. I can't possibly say enough nice things. It was the best family vacation that we have ever been on. There were 9 of us - my husband, our 3 children, 2 spouses and 2 grandsons. We all loved it. I returned this summer with 1 son, my niece, her 2 teenagers and 2 of their friends. They were also super impressed. The house is wonderful and the setting for it just fantastic. Breakfast is included with the house, but both years we had most of our dinners there also because Patrick is such a fantastic cook. Last year he fixed special meals for my very picky grandson which we really appreciated. Patrick also helped us by hiring a lovely couple to drive us around the whole time we were there, and he helped us by arranging fun activities for us to do each day, and told us the good places to shop. I am actually thinking about investing in one of the villas that Patrick is in the process of designing and breaking ground for right now. We have fallen in love with Costa Rica, not only because it is such a beautiful country, but also because of the wonderful people who live there. We feel like we have an extended family there. Judy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 10, 2008   Date of arrival: April 20, 2008

This was the most relaxing start to any vacation we have ever had. After planning a very last minute trip to Costa Rica, we ended up at this villa without much of a plan and with 3 hungry children. We arrived more than 2 hours later than expected and the owner/chef still greeted us with a wonderful dinner. He offered many suggestions on what to do and what not to do. As soon as we decided on an adventure for the following day, he was on the phone making the arrangements. The house is amazing and the view is stunning (even if we didn't get a chance to see the volcano). If you're traveling in the area and this villa is available, don't pass it up!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 10, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This was the perfect place to stay at the start of our trip. The house is amazing and the owner/chef is wonderful. Patrick not only fed us well, but gave us invaluable advice on activites that were not to miss as well as the overpriced/overrated ones. Two thumbs up from all 5 of us!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Internet does not do it justice!!!!

Review submitted: December 11, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We were amazed in everyway, the home is a masterpiece, the view is awe inspiring, the food was wholesome and delicious. Patrick who lives on the property, was at our beck and call. I felt guilty asking so many questions but he really knows his stuff and we were not let down when we followed his recommendations. He arranged our tours, cooked our meals and shared so much of his knowledge of the country and wildlife. We were travelling with children and this was by far our best vacation anywhere!!!! You know how things look better on the internet than they really are? This time the exact opposite was true, we will be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 20, 2006   Date of arrival: November 20, 2006

A fabulous place for groups. A beautiful home in a beautiful location. Plenty of activities for children and adults and every level of adventure. The food was absolutly delicious and the service spoiled us rotten. We loved it. Great place, it exceeded all our expectations! Paul and Pam.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 17, 2006   Date of arrival: November 17, 2006

Exceeded expectations!!! Expect to see beautiful view of lake/volcano and fall in LOVE. 'Unexpected Heavan' this house was amazing! We could not have found a better place for all of us. Huge beautiful house with all that anyone could want. Clark and Angela Redd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 17, 2006   Date of arrival: November 17, 2006

The Sunset was absolutly perfect for our group of three families. Patrick's experianced advice allowed us to go out on fabulous day trips (at a discount)!!. Food was FABULOUS!! Staff was unobtrusive but most helpful. Could not pick a favorite activity or meal that was served!!! Sue and Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review