reviews for: listing #14178 - Mendocino, California House rental

Sea Garden, ocean front with private garden paradise
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Caspar South
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,700 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Heavenly Weekend

Review submitted: November 16, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We spend a long October weekend at Sea Garden. It was our first trip there and it will not be the last. The setting is ideal with the view of the ocean and the short and long walks available from the front door.
The absotutely spotless house has everything you could want. The master beendroon has the most confortable bed and the best view with the hot tub out the bathroom door. This hot tub has the perfect view of the beautiful garden. The kitchen has eveything you need or even think about needing to entertain and cook great meals.
In summary, it is a wonderful place to get away, reflect
and enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful comments about your Sea Garden visit!! Glad it was so enjoyable and we hope you will return and enjoy again :)

Helpful votes: 14 / 17

 

A true slice of paradise!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We spent a long weekend here to celebrate our daughter's birthday and it was perfect! We soaked in the hot tub, played board games by the fireplace, watched the whales from the dining room table(!) and took a beautiful walk to the light house. There were breathtaking views from every room of the house as well as decks that were accessible from every bedroom!! Jo is friendly, communicative and responsive. You can tell she has taken great care of this home. We strongly recommend this place and plan on coming back for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Our family visited Sea Garden in early October as we were in the area for a wedding. We rented this house to have extra room and the amenities of a home. When we arrived it was everything the pictures showed and more. The view was amazing and the house was very warm and inviting. The house was very clean, furnished well and had everything that we could have needed during our stay. The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms were all stocked very well with kitchen items, sheets and towels. There was plenty of room for the 6 adults and infant who stayed at Sea Garden for the long wedding weekend.
The owners of the property were very pleasant and easy to keep in contact with before and after our stay at Sea Garden. We would stay at the Sea garden again if we are ever again in the Mendocino area.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gregg

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Mendocino - but the house was just as wonderful as the area and the coastal views. It couldn't have been more perfect! Description of the home and the area was right on.Two adults with two grown kids with us - so much room, such a clean place and just loved the kitchen having all the things we needed to cook many meals - and a couple of large dinners for family that were nearby for a reunion. They absolutely loved the place too. House is so well outfitted and organized, a beautiful garden, hot tub with a view and incredible bedroom views - and master bedroom is amazing. It was the perfect place - helping us to make incredible memories. Recommend the hike along Mendocino township coastline (beautiful views from all directions) - and boating up the Big River. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kick Back and Relax - Enjoy the View at the Sea Garden

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

My family and I visited Fort Bragg in June of 2012, to celebrate my grandparent's 70th wedding anniversary, and when looking for a vacation home to rent, we wanted something quiet, roomy, comfortable, and with a view. The Sea Garden is all of that plus so much more.

First of all, it is a very spacious home. With 5 adults and one child, at no time did we feel like we were crammed into a house crossing paths and bumping into each other. My parents, sister, and daughter each had their own room upstairs, while my wife and I took the beautiful master bedroom (which was large, had its own bathroom, fireplace, and a view of both the ocean and the lighthouse). The beds were clean and comfortable. Each room had its own wall heater for those needing the extra heat. The house was very clean and well stocked for the day-to-day items.

After taking a walk to the nearby Point Cabrillo Lighthouse and Otter Cove, or after visiting area attractions (and of course, the anniversary party), the Sea Garden was the perfect place to come back to and relax - to kick back and enjoy the view. Whether you're sitting in the living room gazing out over the meadow out to the ocean, sitting on the deck - reading a book - listening to the ocean waves crashing against the bluffs, or watching your child chase butterflies around the garden - the Sea Garden is a place where you can let all of your cares in the world drift away with the wind, be at peace and relax. For the birdwatchers, like myself, there is bird seed on hand to fill the feeders and watch the birds enjoy a snack.

The kitchen was large and well stocked. Perfect place to make a meal for a family – and a large dining area to sit down and eat. Once dinner was done and the kid was in bed, my sister broke out the whisky sours and we all sat down at the dining table for our infamous family card games. That's one of the things that we all noted about the Sea Garden - it was our home away from home. We were able to enjoy ourselves as a family, just as we would do in the comfort of our own home, because we were just as comfortable here at our Sea Garden home. The night came to an end, of course, with dad falling asleep in the chair in front of the TV.

This isn't a brand new house, nor is it old and falling apart. The Sea Garden is a perfect, comfortable, beautiful, well taken care of HOME – you will feel at home here – and for anyone out there planning on visiting the Mendocino coast, this is the home for you.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Choice for Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We had six adults and two teenagers staying here for a two night weekend. The house was ideal for us since it had enough space inside and out. Since we were relatives, we did not mind sharing the queen beds. The kitchen was well stocked and laid out in a way that allowed us to cook and be together without being in each others' way.
The hot tub was tremendous, especially with the stars that you can see on a clear night.
We saw so many whales and harbor seals, which is a big deal to those of us from the east coast! Just a short walk to the sandy part of the beach, a short drive to the Village and plenty of activities to keep you busy.
The owners were very thoughtful and had the directions and access well documented. The house was clean. The garden is spectacular. Deposit was promptly returned.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Our family group of 8 enjoyed Seagarden and the surrounding beauty of the Mendocino coast. We stayed for 3 nights and all agreed that it was much too short! Our time went by much too quickly as there is so much to see around the area.

Seagarden's kitchen is WONDERFUL and we enjoyed cooking there. We also had an opportunity to have lunch in the lovely garden. Thank you for sharing your vacation home with us!!! Although we communicated by email, your warm personality certainly came across through your words. Mahalo for being such a great hosts!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sea Garden

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

We rented Sea Garden for 12 days over the July 4 weekend. We loved the house, organized kitchen and fabulous fenced garden. Sleeping with the windows open and the sound of surf and sea lions was very relaxing. Being from TX we so loved the cool weather. Mendocino and surrounding areas are charming and there are many wonderful hikes, fishing opportunities and restaurants. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Paradise!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We wanted to treat our family to a relaxing trip to the coast, enjoying close family time, and we sure got it! We took both of our sons and their wives and our 2 granddaughters and it was a perfect fit for all of us, no crowding at all, and it had to offer way more than we expected! Very clean, all of the needs needed, all we really needed to bring was clothes and food. The view was spectacular and the kids loved the nature and animals that came around like clockwork, as if the deer and birds were all orchestrated. The house had privacy yet was very convenient to many things to do around Mendocino and ft Bragg. We now look forward to returning to that house, was very hard to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

perfect location , comfortable house

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

The location is perfect, all four bedrooms has ocean view, one has light house view.
Inside house is very warm no matter how chilly the night is. The house is very well isolated too, when downstairs had TV on, we were on the 2nd floor, we could not hear any thing with door closed.
Thanks for the owners' considering preparation, the house has everything you need for being a home.
We had a wonderful time here, thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 21, 2010

I took 3 nights/days short trip to Heaven, a place called Sea Garden in Mendocino. Along the way I stopped at a winery and tasted champagne, which set my good mood for enteting heaven. From Sea Garden, took short walk to Pt. Cabrillo Lighthouse, and had a picnic overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The following day hiked Jughandle Reserve to the Pygmy Forest, which is most interesting geological area in Northern California. Soaked in hot tub and got a brand new body.
Enjoyed the wildlife, birds, deer, jackrabbits, quail and turkeys. Great places to read on the decks, and in the garden, listening to the ocean waves. How wonderful to relax and balance, rest and feel well grounded. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

spectacular getaway

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We stayed at Seagarden for 5 days and had a wonderful time. My wife cannot stop talking about how perfect it was. The house is quaint, well-appointed and located in a beautiful setting. We had graqndaprents, parents and small children all together, and there was something for everyone. The back deck and beautiful and large back yard and garden was fantastic for the kids. The new master suite was very comfortable for the grandparents. And the spacious kitche-living areas-deck was perfect for sepdning time together and take in the excellent views. The house also comes with all the little details (eg in the kitchen) to make one's stay easy and comfortable. We have stayed in many vacation rentals in Northern California, and we would rate this among the best value we have seen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sea Garden is truly a special place

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Just wanted to send a note to thank you for allowing us to share your beautiful home in Caspar. Wow did we love the views. The ocean swells looked like 20-30 feet and it was just spectacular to watch the ocean crashing against the rocks.

My grandchildren loved the yard, and called it a Secret Garden. And of course, we loved watching them play while sitting on the deck. We can't wait to get back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

"We spent a weekend at Sea Garden with some very
close friends and had a fantastic time. Sea Garden
was the perfect place for us to all spend time
together, enjoy the beautiful outdoors, relax, and
remember why we live in California. Our trip there
will not be the last as we now plan to do that at
least once a year together."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2008   Date of arrival: June 3, 2008

We stayed at Sea Garden over memorial day weekend and had a fantastic time. The house was very comfortable, with a view of the ocean and the sound of sea lions rising up from the rocks below. The garden on the side of the house is utterly beautiful, and perfect for naps and reading a book. We even held our own Pilates class in the garden! The location can't be beat, with Mendocino a few miles away and a nature preserve just steps away. I definitely would visit this house again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review