reviews for: listing #14201 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Townhome rental

Barefoot Lagoon Island House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cayman Kai
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $375 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,650 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Hi Mr. Nevins,

I am finally getting around to thanking you for a truly wonderful
vacation at your beautiful island home.
Our vacation this past April was excellent and too short by far. It was my parents' first trip to Grand Cayman, and they have done nothing but rave about how clean and relaxing Barefoot Lagoon Island House was. They loved walking to Rum Point everyday for lunch, to relax, to look through their small shop, and to book a Stingray City tour.
My step-father spent many hours relaxing by the pool, while my mom
enjoyed the kayak and collecting shells near the lagoon.
I can't tell you how much it means to me to have been able to share such a wonsderful place with them. They work so hard for everything they have. It was just great to see the stress melt away and the smiles on their faces.
Oh yeah, my husband and I had smiles on our faces too!
Everyone has already decided that we want to stay at your lovely home again the next time we are blessed with a trip to Grand Cayman.
Sincerely,
Dr. Kimberly Morden

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Organizer of vacation

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We loved Barefoot Lagoon. The area was perfect for us..close to pool and beach. Not crowded..loved ability to walk along the beach. The restaurant at Rum Point was very good. Our accommodations were perfect for us. Bright, clean, close to everything. Beautiful sunsets from the pier. Mccurley,s car rental was great and the convenience of going to grocery store on the way was ideal. We will definitely come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent place to stay with good location.

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

The facilities are very nice with all amenities that could be wished for. The location on the island is excellent. The cove is quiet allowing activities such as snorkeling and kayaking. Across the street is Rum Point Wreck Bar and Grill which has a very good lunch and drinks on the beach and excellent gourmet restaurant for dinner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Terrific rental for families

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We have stayed on the north side of the island on 3 different occasions and always enjoy this quieter side of the island. Barefoot Lagoon-Island House is a beautiful 2-story Townhouse style condo which sleeps 6 although probably 4-5 comfortably. Second bedroom has two double beds, so not ideal for three couples but perfect for two older teens or 3-4 young children still willing to share beds. A/C unit in the second bdrm needs replacing but Mitzie (property Mgr) was very helpful during our stay to ensure we were comfortable. Mster bdrm very comfortable and bathrooms very nice. Kitchen is a little on the small side but as we do not spend a lot of time inside the house, it is more than adequate. Description states sleeps 4-6 but again suits groups of 4 better as all furnishings are more suited for four people (dining table has 4 chairs, etc.). However 4 adults with 2 younger children would be pleased with the accomodation. Convenience to Rum Point is excellent (across the street) with wave runner rentals, Sting Ray City and other excursions leaving from Rum Point. Easy distance to Kaibo Kai Grill, Over the Edge restaurant and other more secluded beaches to explore. The Lagoon at the rear of the property is beautiful especially at sunset and very quiet throughout the day. The pool was never crowded, house and area was clean and well appointed. Rental car is needed to fully explore the island and take advantage of all to see in the Grand Cayman Islands. Owner and property manager were both very helpfull throughout the rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome family getaway!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The location of this house doesn't get any better! Literally steps from Rum Point, and a peaceful drive away from other parts of the island. Rum Point beach was perfect for my two kids, very shallow and calm. This house had everything we needed, including a portable crib and high chair for our baby. The lagoon in the back is beautiful, and the pool is just steps out the back door. We only stayed for a week, but we wish it had been longer. We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Mike & Joy,
Well, it's the morning of our last day here at your Island House #11. I'm enjoying my last cup of coffee before we walk across the sand for one more round of jet skiing at Red Sail Sports. I cannot find enough words to properly convey the peace and tranquility we found here in your paradise. The Island House is well stocked with everything we needed, and more. The beds are big and comfortable, the TVs, air conditioning, balconies, lanai and BBQ grill were perfect! Within steps of the house we enjoyed snorkelling, kayaking, bike riding, swimming and searching out conch shells and coconuts. At Red Sail we loved the jet skis and glass-bottom boat to the sting rays, "Capt Jimmy" made sure I held a ray. Couldn't get enough of the Blackened Grilled Fish sandwich at Rum Point, and my son LOVED the Jerk Pork sandwich just as much. And of course the mudslides were yummy! It's tough to plan a vacation that's perfect for Mom & Dad as well as our 15 y.o. daughter and 20 y.o. son, but I've officially been deemed the "best vacation planner ever". Couldn't have done it without having the wonderful accommodations and amenities your Island House offered. We trekked across the island to George Town and 7 Mile Beach. The kids LOVED their Dolphin Swim, but we were delighted to get back to peaceful Cayman Kai. We got equal measure of relaxation and exhilarating activity, which was perfect for our family. Everything was so easily accessible that we felt like we did it all!! Mike, you were a delight to work with, very informative and so quick to respond to my millions of dumb questions. This is our first trip to Grand Cayman, we haven't left yet and already I'm thinking of a return visit. Before we get back to the rat-race of So. Calif. I needed to take a moment to say a heart-felt Thank You. Your home was everything as promised, we would love to stay here again!! I also need to thank you for your recommendation of McCurley's Car Rental. B.A. made it an extremely convenient no-brainier, and I'm glad we heeded your advice. Anyone considering a Cayman vacation would be wise to choose Rum Point and Island House #11.....just think, you too could be considered the "best vacation planner ever"!! Can't wait to return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

We spent a week (Oct. 5-12) at the Barefoot Lagoon with another couple. What a perfect place for 2 couples or a family. The 2 bedrooms upstairs with private baths were sound proof and you never heard anyone get up. It was awesome to sit in the living room or porch and see the beautiful lagoon or take a ride up the lagoon in the kayak. It was so nice to go across the road and have the beach right there. Snorkeling was great right off the beach. Sunsets on the pier were beautiful! I can't say enough about the accomodations but PERFECT! We have rented on VRBO numerous times and have never dealt with such a gracious host like Mike. He manages to answer all your questions and supply you with tons of information and readily available to make your stay a memorable one. This has to be the best experience we have ever had on VRBO. Mike, if you ever need a reference, please have them contact us. Thanks, Mike we appreciate everything you did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Thank you for an absolutely fabulous week in the Grand Cayman. Barefoot Island Lagoon House is perfectly located and we enjoyed the pool, the lagoon, and especially Rum Point Beach. We rented a car from McCurleys, which I highly recommend, and did travel around the entire island. We decided that Rum Point is the perfect location! We enjoyed snorkeling and kayaking and especially loved seeing the sting rays swimming in the water at Rum Point. An extra special thank you for the delicious dinner at the Kaibo - a real treat! We have rented several houses through VRBO and this is one of our favorites. Mike went above and beyond to answer all of our questions and it was a vacation that the Baker Family will long treasure. Thank you and can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 5, 2006   Date of arrival: November 5, 2006

Barefoot lagoon was the most enjoyable vacation spot my family has ever chosen. We rented the house for a week and wish it had been two. My children loved having their own room, and the rest of the house was extremely comfortable. The kitchen was completely stocked including recipes from previous guests. We spent every morning out on the Lani and then headed to Rum Point for the rest of the day. After spending the day on the beach the kids did like the option of a pool to play in at the end of the day , the pool was just a short walk out the door and the house provided floats for use. We are already planning out return trip for this year and plan on staying 10 days. This the the iedal location for Families to stay, away from crowded seven mile beach but still reachable by car in about 20 minutes.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review