reviews for: listing #14218 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Carlsbad Beachhouse
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $3,750 /wk

sort by:

All we hoped for - exactly as shown.

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

A multi family vacation with our four grown children and their children. An easy walk to the train station taking us on a fun adventure to close attractions. USS Midway, Sea World, and a quick drive to LeggoLand. We cooked every meal in the well equipped kitchen - enjoying the outside grill and patio. Close to the beach - but not so close we had to hear the traffic. The owners are more than kind and accomodating. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location, location, location

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

All in all, this was a fabulous place. First, the house is superbly located relative to the beach, downtown, train station, Legoland, etc. Second, it has 2 guaranteed parking spaces which is a super big deal in that neighborhood. Third, it is spacious and well laid out so that the 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms are away from the common living areas. It accommodated our family of 3 couples and 3 young children very comfortably. We loved sitting around the firepit every evening. Fourth, if you are looking for luxe, this isn't the place for you. It is a house subject to the ocean air that is used very hard and yes, it could stand a little sprucing up here and there. But it had everything we needed with kitchen, laundry, baby crib, lots of extra towels and linens, wi-fi, and boogie boards. So as I said in the beginning, this is a fabulous place, very conducive to family time, and we hope to return again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

From NorCal

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We rented the house for a family reunion. It was clean, well cared for, comfortable and the location was within walking distance from all ammenities. Would recommend this home to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and size but kitchen needs work.

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We spent one week in this beach house in Carlsbad. The house is perfectly located for going to the beach (literally only one house and across the street away from the sand and surf!) and walking distance to Carlsbad Village with lots of restaurants and shops. The house had plenty of room for the 10 of us with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The kids had a great time in the room with 2 sets of bunkbeds. There was also plenty of seating at the benches at the table for us all to eat.
The reason I gave the house 3 stars is because the kitchen was really quite understocked in terms of dishes and cookware. The garbage disposal was rusted out and a call to the owner during our stay to say that water would leak through the disposal went unreturned. The kitchen could use a good cleaning as well as the cabinets and drawers were all sticky. The wi-fi connection was weak and we had some trouble with it.
For the price you are truly paying for the location.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Carlsbad Beach Home

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Home was perfect for our needs. Had a large family gathering out to welcome home my Marine son from Afghanistan. The home is neat and clean and the owner who lives upstairs could not have been nicer. Even let us leave some of my son's Marine gear in the house while he took us to the airport. Very friendly and helpful.

The patio with the firepit was a nightly favorite. We even cooked out steaks our final night. Utilized the outdoor stereo system daily.

The home is well stocked with plenty of towels and we did laundry regulalrly. Even washed most of my son's dirty uniforms before we left.

We would stay there again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Fun Time!

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Home was clean and as advertised. Plenty of room for my family of 8 with room to spare. Close to everything we needed. A little short on kitichen supplies which we supplimented with a trip to Target. Wonderful outdoor patio in front with gas fireplace and a fantastic view of magnificent sunsets! Owners were very nice...even got some great tips on local bike routes. Would recommend to any for my friends and family. All-in-all would/will book again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We rented this property for a week around our daughter's wedding Thanksgiving week in November 2012.
If you are looking for a house that is across the street from a boardwalk and miles of beautiful beach, steps from shopping in Carlsbad Village, and close to bus and light rail, this is the place for you.
The layout of the house was great for our 3-generation family group.
The owner/manager went above and beyond to provide everything we needed and to work with our travel schedule. The owner lives upstairs and every request was met in about a minute. No exaggeration.
Would we go back? You bet.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation Rental 230197

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our family of 8 grandchildren and 6 adults had soooooo much fun at your lovely home. Couldn't have been better....so many unique features to make it more enjoyable..outdoor shower to get the sand off, door to outside for each bedroom....great floor plan so that living room noise didn't disturb the bedrooms...giant dining table, kitchen had all we needed, location couldn't be better....and lots of boogie boards...the fire table out front. And RJ and Chris were very helpful.

The family is already talking about "next time!".

Thanks for helping us create wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

awesome experience!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

It's a great house in a great location. We walked almost everywhere. This is a great house. It has everything and the owner is very helpful and friendly. We all had a wonderful week and I hope to rent it again for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location! Would come back!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation! This house was the perfect size for our 2 families (party of 8). There was room for everyone to feel comfortable and have some privacy if needed. My husband and I slept in the king size bed near the front of the house and it was extrememly comfortable. Would have taken it home if I could. The couple in the other king bed complained of it being a bit hard but I suppose everybody's comfort level is different. 3 kids shared the bunks and although the beds were comfy, they were extremely squeeky anytime one of them rolled around. Could use a good greasing or tightening. Our teen son stayed in the queen room and had no complaints. In our opinion the home could use a good deep cleaning and the kitchen disposal definitely needs some attention (hubby had to fix it 2x during visit). The location was so great though. We were able to walk to shops and beach in a matter of minutes. Owners really keep to themselves. Felt they could have been a little more welcoming/friendly but perhaps most vacationers like to be left alone. Didn't effect trip one way or the other. They did meet all requests upon arrival and throughout our stay via texting. The fireplace was used often as the weather was a bit chilly, but it didn't stop us from playing at the beach EVERY day! Kids took surf lessons from local shop and had a great time! HIGHLY recommend SoCal Surf Lessons. They were awesome! There were plenty of bathroom products, towels, bedding & such. FYI: We didn't realize until the end of our stay that the laundry soap and back-up supplies were in the closets next to the queen bedroom, and purchased many items upon our arrival. There was an abundance of sand toys, boogie boards, and even a surf board! The fire pit out front was very cool. We were usually pretty exhausted by end of day and didn't use it much, but it is a unique option for those who are night owls. All this said, we would definitely rent this home again and recommend it to friends & family. Great memories :) Thanks Chris & RJ!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT HOUSE

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

WE had a family get together and everyone loved the house. It provides everything. The kitchen is so well equipped as is the rest of the house. The location is perfect. We walked almost everywhere. We all had a great time and the owner is very helpful, especially if there's a problem. I highly recommend this house for a vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion by the ocean

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

We highly recommend this wonderful rental. We came with five adults, one teenager and twin three year old grandsons for a vacation by the ocean which was an easy walk from the front door. Half a block west and then one block south, cross the PCH and go down the stairs and there you are. The purpose of the trip was to have a family reunion with my father-in-law and five of my wife's siblings. We had asked before hand if there was enough room for twenty or so to gather and was told to bring them on over. Between the open floor plan in the living room, dining room and kitchen and the front patio we easily accomodated the whole group and without crowding. The house was by all means as shown in the pictures. Clean and well stocked with cookware, bedding, and everything else you need but can't bring on the plane. We even found popcorn in the cabinet. RJ and Chris were very helpful. They answered all of our questions prior to and during our stay. Payment through credit card was seamless and the return of the deposit was expediant. We found this location to be a short drive to I-5 and could comfortably walk or drive around Carlsbad and the surrounding area. Just as posted they had boogey boards, a surf board and lots of kids toys to play in the sand. We said that this might be a once in a life time vacation for us, but we are rethinking that. We have other family that could not make this trip and maybe we owe ourselves the chance to visit again. Larry and Sue, from Kansas.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very comfortable

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here with another family. Seven people total. We didn't even use one of the bedrooms. It is a clean and comfortable home. Walking distance to Carlsbad Village and across the street from the beach. We split our time between the beach and San Diego. It was perfect and so easy to get to and from. RJ is a great host. We would recommend this place to all age groups.

Owners response: The outdoor new addition with the firebox in the cement table make it so lovely for the young with the someores and the comfort of the warm flames during our cool nights.Great after a busy day!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Extended family vacation

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We stayed here for a family vacation. The condo very comfortably housed 6 adults and 5 kids under 6 years old. The location is perfect. Carlsbad is really a nice oceanside getaway. The owner was very available and flexible. The kitchen is not stocked for cooking gourmet meals but it was perfect for the pasta and sandwiches we made. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Location, Fantastic Price

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

My family came down for a wedding in March of 2011 and we were pleasantly surprised at how great the condo was. It was a very short walk down to the beach. They had lots of beach equipment at the house, an outdoor shower to get the sand off. Everything has been thought through very nicely with this condo. I would recommend it and would stay here again in a heart beat. Great management too. Barbara and her son were fantastic to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

SJA 71 High School Reunion Dec 9-11, 2011

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

Just came back from our reunion with my high school classmates who are here in the US. Two of us came one day ahead to do some preparations. We were met by Barbara who was very nice and sweet, and showed us around. I find the house very clean, cozy, the living room wide enough, dining area just perfect for us (14 people) and the kitchen has everything we need, not only for cooking as well as the dishes and even had dishwasher which really helped. The bedroom all 4 of them were big enough and the beds are very comfy. There is a washer and dryer and enough bathrooms for us. We really enjoyed the place, very close to the beach that we were able to do some strolling, its was just a few steps from the house. The veranda complete with barbecue grills was perfect for us, we had our lunch there in our red and green outfits for our Christmas celebration. The location is unbelievable, not only is close to the beach, there are restaurants in the area close to the house if you are lazy to cook and we felt safe always. We really enjoyed staying in the house, and everyone felt that the place is perfect for our reunion. Everyone was glad we found this place. Would I recommend this to others, of course, in fact if we ever have another reunion, my classmates said they don't mind staying here again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

October stay in Carlsbad

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We had a great visit. Carlsbad was our home base while we visited all the theme parks from the San Diego Zoo all the way north to Universal Studios. Barbara was an awesome host and my family and I highly recommend her and her property for vacationing families. The beach is easy to get to and there are several restaurants withing walking distance. The house has four very nice bedrooms, one of which could sleep up to 6 kids. There was no competition for bathrooms as there were three of them. We had a ball and hope you do too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

It was a Happy 50th aAnniversary!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Barbara and her family were so welcoming to us. The pictures did not do it justice, it was so comfortable and inviting all 12 of us were able to have some privacy and at the same time be all together. There were many good resturants and shopping a short walk away. The beach was even a shorter walk and it was clean and beautiful. Barbara had everything there we needed, washer & dryer, soap, softener,pots, pans,griddle,coffee pot, dishes, glasses, towels, linens oh my! It was just like being at one of our own homes but at the beach. We all had the best time and hope to stay again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it here!!

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We stayed the week of April 16th, 4 adults and 1 child. We were all very comfortable and felt very much at home. The house is beautiful, just as shown. The location is perfect, across the street from the beach and within a very short walk to the village. Carlsbad is a beautiful place, we plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: To readers of review
Check map for location.

This home accomodates 14 comfortably( suggest 6 children and 8 adults )
Very quiet in spite of the location. You can walk to 30 plus restaurants-- to fit all pocket books.
The beach is friendly, family, sandy and hard to leave after one week. Plastc beach toys, boogie boards on board.
We are in middle of constructing outdoor living room, pictures will follow after completion.
There is a maintenace crew on board 2nd floor - very accomodating and will solve all possible problems.The door has a programmed key button so pick your own number and never worry about' where is the key'?
Have fun, make lots of noise -- if there is no noise does that mean no fun?

Gramdparents and Great grandparents welcome - wheelchair, wide hallways and all on one floor.
Allergy free, no pets no carpets -- large tile.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sibling Reunion

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

My mom, eight siblings and I stayed for the second year in a row at Barbara's home. It was the perfect place for our family retreat. The home is spacious and very close to the beach. Both the living room and dining room comfortably fit my family. We had a bed for each of us and plenty of room to sit and catch-up with each other. Barbara was the perfect hostess. I hightly recommend this home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Property

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Very clean and well stocked. The layout is very open, and we were able to host a large BBQ. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Gas fireplace was great when it got chilly at night. Across the street from the Tamarak Inn, the beach, and a couple of blocks to Carlsbad Village. Bedrooms are to the rear and very quiet. Midway between San Diego and Orange County.

We were about 50 minutes to Disneyland, and a half hour to La Jolla/San Diego, and 15 minutes to sportfishing/whale watching at the Marina in Oceanside!

I have recommended it to family and friends and would not hesitate in booking it again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Holiday Visit

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

This is beach home is a perfect place for enjoying the ocean and family! The owner provided a clean, warm, well maintained and private environment. The home is pleasantly decorated and has a practical floor plan for a large family. We appreciated the owner's prompt and thorough repsonses to any of our questions. The walking convenience of restaurants, shopping and the seawall added to our wonderful Christmas holiday in Carlsbad. We hope to stay in this home again on our next visit to the area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Handicap Friendly

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Our family came together to celebrate an early Thanksgiving. The house was as described, clean and we were welcomed with fresh flowers. Because my mother is in a wheelchair, this house was perfect because there are no stairs and there’s a shower with a bench for her to sit on. The house’s owner, Barbara, was very friendly, flexible and accommodating.

Recommended for: people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent house!

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

I rented this house with a group of friends visiting for a wedding. It is very spacious with 3 king/queen beds and an additional sleeping room with 4 bunk beds designed for children. It looks EXACTLY like the pictures, there is no deception here. The 3 bathrooms were very nice (2 off of the main hallway and 1 in the master suite).

The beach is just on the other side of the highway. Many restaurants and shops are within 10-15 minutes away by foot if you don't feel like driving.

Owner is very friendly and helpful and lives on the top floor if anything goes wrong. I thought the price was very reasonable considering its size and proximity to beach. However, I was able to take advantage of the off-season rates.

I thought this house was terrific and I would recommend it to any group of people looking to stay in the Carlsbad area!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

In town for Family Wedding

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

9 of us stayed at the Beach House and it was GREAT! It's a very short walk to beach and boardwalk and even though we dealt with a week of rain (in San Diego?), the house was perfect. Lots of room - a well stocked kitchen and close to everything. Well within walking distance of coffee shops, restaurants and shops - we enjoyed it all! Thanks Barbara for making us feel at home! We hope to be able to come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax with your family in Carlsbad

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Everything previously written about this lovely home is absolutely true. We stayed here with our daughters and their families and had a wonderful time. The house is spacious, clean and so accommodating. Barbara (owner) is delightful and makes you feel so welcome. We also had an 30 person Rehearsal Dinner (for our son) here that went very well. The beach is just across the street and the beach toys provided went to good use. We hope the opportunity to stay at the Carlsbad Beach House presents itself again. Aloha!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Went to Carlsbad for my brothers wedding... this home is beautiful! EVERYTHING you need for a short stay to a weeks stay. The home was clean and fully stocked (even had a spice rack). Fresh flowers on the dining room table, newspapers every morning.. We had a mini rehearsal dinner party and had 30 people over... Plenty of room. So close to the beach, amazing sunsets. The owner was a pleasure to rent from, sweet, kind and very accomodating! Would definetly rent for her again!
Thank- you for such an amazing vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jensen and Schiffer Family

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this beach home. It was very spacious, clean, and the owners were very helpful with any questions we had. The patio and grill was a big plus and was used every day. We liked the resturants, shops, and bars were within walking distance. The best part was a short walk to the beach. We will stay here again. The owners were very helpful in a lost wedding ring in which they found and mailed it to us. Thanks for the fun week!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review