reviews for: listing #14234 - Destin, Florida House rental

Tropical Splash - 5 Bedroom/ Private Pool/Gulf View
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Terra Cotta Terrace
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $3,450 /wk

sort by:

Charming, wonderful vacation spot!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

I cannot recommend this vacation home more highly. It is one of the best vacation rentals we've ever had, and we rent every year from Maine down to Florida.

Our experience with the owners before we even arrived was top-notch! They were very helpful and professional in all of our communications. It set the tone for a great vacation, and boy, we were not disappointed with this rental home. It is spacious and beautifully decorated, and the beds were so comfortable.

You couldn't ask for a better location -- you feel tucked away and hidden in a delightful little community, yet are a quick walk to the beach, tennis courts, their heated community pool, and great local restaurants.

Having our own backyard pool was such an extra treat, for those days when we just wanted to grill at home and relax. At the end of our time there, no one wanted to leave... we were relaxed, tan and happy. If you go, try Pompano Joe's for excellent seafood. They are right down the road, on the beach. Destin Harbor is also a fun place to explore. We went on a dolphin boat ride there, and it was a blast.

Thank you Kim and Richard for making our Destin getaway so perfect. :-)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, a few frustrating issues

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

The house is quite stunning as you pull into the long driveway (it fit all three of our group's cars in single file order). The private pool is worth its weight in gold, in my humble opinion. A cute bonus: a storage box of pool/beach toys to use during your stay! The house was clean, nicely appointed and the owner seemed to answer all our questions. He offered restaurant suggestions and places to visit. A pretty big caveat: the kitchen could use a total re-haul of its pots/pans/bakeware, measuring spoons and cups were hard to come by, as well. We were only left with 2 dishwasher tabs for the week. I mean, really, when you are shelling out 4 grand for a week stay, could dishwasher tabs not be included?? Cooking dinner in this kitchen proved difficult, at times, because of the lack of accessories that I consider essential in a kitchen. An assortment of varying sized pots and MATCHING lids would go a long way!!!! All week everyone but one person had trouble accessing the Internet. The kids bunk room on the third floor is lacking a door, so if you have little ones who go to bed before adults, it makes it incredibly difficult for the kids to sleep as the noise travels upstairs with ease. The jets in the master bathtub need a good cleaning as they were spewing out rusty looking pieces of something, I'm not really sure what it was. The gate in the backyard to walk to the beach is very convenient and even with little ones and beach supplies in tow, it's only about a 5 minute walk. Our third night there when we came back home for the evening we found a cockroach scurrying up the wall from the second to the third floor. That was horrific!!!!!!! I emailed the owners right away and never heard anything back from them. I was more than a little dismayed that they ignored that incident. Overall, this was a nice location and was a beautiful home. If the kitchen cookware could be updated, I would have no issues with recommending this rental...so long as no cockroaches come visit!!!!! Lastly, security deposit was returned quickly. It nearly beat us home and that's saying something considering it came snail mail!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Great Tenant, Frustrating Review!

Have to admit.....that a renter would compliment the "stunning" home, give us nearly 5 stars and mention returning but in the same breath receive this "bi-polar" review....lol!...quite honestly left us a bit dazed. The good part of the review needs no explanation but felt the negative comments needed to be addressed.

#1. Dish soaps were mentioned...strangely enough....we normally do not provide them at all (as contract states)..however..we provide other amenities, just not this particular one. But, was added as a courtesy.

#2. We do provide a nice set of cook-ware but after many weeks of various tenants things sometimes get disheveled and only need to be looked for. Measuring cups were there (possibly they just weren't the style she was accustomed to?)

#3. There is no need for a door on the 3rd floor as the entire room is off by itself...is a completely private floor.

#4. As for the internet access being "slow for everyone but one person" in the house...just plain odd...have never had a complaint about that.

#5. As for the "cockroach", it was a Palmetto (large water bug). Every now and then one slips in if Florida has had a rainy season....which this year it was! And to add...we have our homes treated with spray religiously!

Finally....we live a mile away and do come to the rescue whenever our tenants call. All these "issues" could so easily have been quickly remedied with an honest phone call (not a supposed one). Wellll...maybe couldn't have helped with a single palmetto.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Holiday

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed your beautiful home. Everybody enjoyed themselves.
Next time we will stay longer. With 5 women we needed one week for shopping and a week to relax.
The house was well equipped and very comfortable.
All the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Tropical Fun!

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tropical Splash. The home was clean and well maintained. The pool out back was wonderful. We were only a short walk from Destin’s beautiful white sand beaches. It’s conveniently located to restaurants and great shopping. The property owners were great to work with, I highly recommend this vacation home. Destin is one of our favorite vacation destinations and we will stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

LOVE IT! Perfect Stay!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

My wife and I just went down and stayed here a couple of weeks ago. All I can say is wow! We enjoyed every minute of our stay in this home. Clean, nice and VERY well kept. The owners were SUPER kind and very easy to work with.

The home is a short walk from the beach front and short drive from anything you could imagine to eat. We loved it.

The yard was very well kept and the private pool was spotless. We had absolutely no problems with this home. No dirt, no smells, no problems. We've already contacted numerous friends about this property and we are already planning on taking another trip down.

If you're thinking of this property for your stay, we say, hands down, pick this place. I have absolutely NO clue where the one bad review came from. Sounds mindless. This place? Perfect for friends and family. Look forward to it again in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

amazing home !

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

This home was very clean , well decorated and the sleeping arrangements accomadated our family very well. We loved the pool and owners were exceptionally easy to work with and went out of there way to please us! will gladly stay again. I highly recommend staying at this lovely home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tropical Disaster

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

I would not recommend this rental as I do not feel that it was up to the standards one would expect. The tile floor was dirty...my son's feet where black from walking on the floor. The fridge and freezer smelt horribly of fish. Upon entering the home there was also a musty odor and the temperature in the home was 80 degrees. We decided not to stay and after advising the owner of the issues we encountered and that we would be checking out the same day we arrived we have been unable to get a response from them regarding a refund. They have failed to return emails or phone calls. Security deposit was supposed to be refunded within two days of check out and we still do not have it. I feel overall that the pics of this home are misleading as it could use some TLC, updating and better cleaning before renting to tenants.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review