reviews for: listing #14239 - Quebec City, Quebec Condo rental

Elegant Vacation Residence In The Heart Of Old Quebec
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $139 - $269 /nt
    $973 - $1,883 /wk

sort by:

La belle maison dans la belle ville

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

The location of La Maison Ursulines is ideal for any visit to Quebec City. It seems that "all roads lead to la Maison Ursulines" because it is so centrally situated in the heart of the city. The apartment was immaculately clean and spacious with exquisite and tasteful decor throughout. The bedrooms are comfortable with two of them nicely separated by a hallway that affords privacy between the rooms.

A library off the living is an ideal location to set up a laptop and access the complimentary wi-fi provided by the owner.

Although parking is not available on the property, a "hotel de ville" parking ramp is a short walking distance from the residence and offers covered parking at a reasonable rate.

This is a wonderful property that I would recommend to a family that needs 3 bedrooms or to friends who want to share an apartment and still have privacy with separate sleeping quarters and bathrooms.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Belle,
Thank you for the kind words ..."all roads lead to la Maison Ursulines" ...thank you for such a delightful "tag line"! My favorite room is also the library; central to the Grand Level's living and diding rooms, but its very own quite niche, glad you enjoyed it too. Thank you again for choosing to stay at our vacation residence and for taking time to review our vacation home. Best, Paul

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Too hot in summer

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

The Maison Ursulines is a 3 story sandstone town house ideally located in the middle of old Quebec. Ground floor and basement only are rented.

From the website and photos give the impression the Maison Ursulines is a 4 star accommodation. In its current condition I rate it two stars. Most of the furnishings could be found at any flea market. While it was clean, there were signs of wear everywhere. Carpets faded and worn, old appliances, cheap and loose bath fixtures and elderly unfriendly floor plan.

The street level has high ceilings which might make it comfortable, even in the heat, except that the windows were old and jammed and shut. A single 6 inch fan was provided for cooling the entire living/dining area. Living room was small, providing comfortable seats for 3 and straight back chairs for 2 more. Nowhere for us all to relax? The big chair had brown grime on the arm. The couch was ripped. There is no balcony, garden or anywhere to escape other than the street. Dining room seats 8 at the large table. No parking is included in the rental, but there are other people’s cars parked inches from the dining room window, which looks onto a parking lot.

Wireless internet was fast. The kitchen small but well equipped, with a breakfast nook that was one of the best features of the house.

The bedrooms are accessed by a very narrow and steep stair, what you’d expect for a basement. Wait! All three bedrooms are located in the basement, a humid and steamy place during the recent heat wave. Floor fans provided some relief. Basement windows peek up from below street level and are not able to open. The larger bedroom has a comfortable king bed, table, closet and a man sized safe (locked). The second bedroom had a queen bed and seemed adequate.

The third bedroom has an old, hard and sagging queen bed jammed into a corner against a crumbling mason wall, no end table, drawers or closet. Hooks on the wall were the only place to put clothes. Eyeglasses and phone passed the nights on the floor! Room three also contains a squeaky washer and old dryer that took forever. (W/D was convenient but why in a bedroom?) This room might be fine for one or two small children to share, but was inadequate and ill equipped for 2 adults.

This property might be a good destination in cooler months, for a family with children and on a budget, but an ill choice for 6 adults in summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quebec is a magical city

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

When we told people we were going 7 hours north in the month of November for our honeymoon, they thought we were crazy, they were sure wrong. Quebec is a magical city… from the cobblestone streets, to the horse drawn carriages, to the stunning architecture, to the art galleries, antique shops and boutiques, to everyone ice skating at all hours of the days. It has felt like a winter wonderland and a beautiful, romantic European city all wrapped into one. Two days ago it snowed from noon to night. We literally pinched ourselves to make sure that all we were marveling at was real,.
Leaving will be bittersweet for us both. Bitter because we will miss la Maison Ursulines and the city of Quebec. We will especially miss the food, every meal was delicious as is evidenced by our enhanced girths. We will also miss this cozy and comfortable retreat that we return to often. It will be sweet to go home, see our dog and share all our pictures and stories with friends and family. We can’t wait to return.

Helpful votes: 16 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What wonderful memories

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

7/17 We feel at home here already! The pheasant was delicious at the Anciens Canadiens on the corner.

7/18 Sunday, the church bells chiming …the walled city is a church inside and out the entire area.

7/19 We walked everywhere in “France” today. We remember it well and are sure we are there …while we’re here in Quebec. We loved it again!!

7/20 A wonderful day’s trip to Montréal. VIA Rail Canada is just like Euro Rail …Great!

7/21 A day trip to the falls …our last day in Quebec. We had a great lunch in the wonderful little town of Baie-Saint-Paul and paid our dues at the casino!

7/22 What wonderful memories …sorry it has to end.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 17 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an amazing place

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

What an amazing place. The residence is fantastic and in a superb location. We enjoyed spending our anniversary here in this very romantic city. We highly recommend the restaurant “Conti” at the top of the street here. The food was phenomenal. I recommend the Halibut and the cream brulee.

Helpful votes: 21 / 22

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful place to return to

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

We were here last August and wrote that we’d be back …and here we are. First it was a week in May with friends who were seeing the city for the first time. Now it is a weekend enjoying the city again after a tour of Charlesvois And the Saguenay …even saw whales in the rivers!

La Maison Ursulines is a wonderful place to return to …and we know we will again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I came here exhausted, left renewed

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

I came here exhausted, left renewed. Best vacation we’ve had in a while and we have four teenagers with us. Who knows where they went every day, but they always returned happy.

I love this place and spent way too much time lounging on the wonderful couch in the living room. I want one like that!

Will definitely recommend this place to friends visiting Quebec. Don’t wait until the last night to have a drink at the Chateau Frontnac.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house! Excellent location!

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

Great house! Excellent location! Old Quebec is a beautiful city and especially nice to walk everywhere and not bother with the car. We dined at some fabulous restaurants: Café de la Paix (44 rue desJardins), Pain Beni (our favorite) at 34 rue Ste Anne, Aux Anciens Canadiens (34 rue Ste Louis). This has been a good time of year to visit …no crowds, good cool weather. Thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect place

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2009

A perfect place to spend time in Quebec City. We have stayed in some wonderful large and small hotels in the old town but this is now our favorite. Thank you for opening your lovely home to us. We look forward to our return visit.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best of both worlds

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

This part of Québec was the best of both worlds convenient to everything but views of beautiful places and things from any place you might wander. This house was like being home or that the way you felt after being here a couple of days hope to be back someday. Thanks for the memories

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our home away from home

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

The 3 divas arrived for their 2nd world tour and this year the bad girls were accompanied by their official manager and main sugar daddy. Bill, also known as Dad. This was his first and probably last trip with all 3 divas. However, he had a terrific time, as we all did.
Once again our home away from home lives up to all expectations. As others have commented, what a great place to return to after a full day of playing tourist.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Trip of a lifetime

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

This is the elder diva daughter here, what a wonderful trip of a lifetime we had here. It was great being here on a return visit with my and sis and showing Quebec to dad for the first time. Highlights were a day trip to Ile d Orleans and Montmorency Falls with our tour guide, Claude. This is the best. We talked him into bringing his golden retriever on our tour a sweet gal name Laurence. She enjoyed being out and about as much as we did.

We took the ferry from Québec city to Levis on our last evening spectacular views of the chateau and the city. Get a roundtrip ticket and bring a bottle of wine for a perfect evening. Thank you Cindy, Paul and Ed for your terrific hospitality. We will return to this beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Old Quebec at our doorstop

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

How wonderful to have old Quebec at our doorstop. The waling map from tourist information was very helpful. We enjoyed lunch at aux Anciens Canadiens and especially at les Saint Amour at 48 rue Ste Ursule. There’s a movie theater within walking distance at 500 rue du Pont in lower town if you wish to try a French dubbed film.
We enjoyed a side trip to Monmorency falls and burned off some calories waling up the 500 plus steps. Quebec was beautiful at sunset from the walk way by the citadels. Thanks for sharing your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect non skiing spouse ski trip

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2009

Thank you for a fantastic vacation in a beautiful setting. Everyone loved exploring Quebec in winter time, and the skiers in our group thought Mt. Ste Anne and le Massif offer the best east coast skiing we’ve seen. The perfect non skiing spouse ski trip. Hope well be back.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The home, the location, the people; all wonderful

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

The home, the location, the people were all wonderful. We all loved going to hear the music at the festival. Our trip to ill de Orleans was perfect. Fresh strawberries, fresh raspberries and chocolate. We look forward to our next trip to Québec.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Surrounded by the presence of history

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

We will always enjoy our memories of the time that we spent at the Maison Ursulines. You are truly surrounded by the presence of history here and old Quebec is at your doorstep. The residence is very spacious and accommodative, and terrific for entertaining a group of close friends or family. Shopping and fine dining can be found all around. We loved it.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for providing us with all the comforts o

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

After a week in the country near Mont Tremblant Québec city was the perfect counter point. We wondered thru all the narrow streets and really enjoyed the city many offerings make sure you check out all of battlefield park. Great hiking and beautiful gardens. Every morning we the run down the hill to rue Ste Josephs to the boitau pain for croissants and our bread. Excellent a la France. We have been busy since we arrived. The ile d Orleans was charming and most quaint well worth the ride over there. To Paul and Cindy, thank you for providing us with all the comforts of home. The library here is quite extensive and provides much entertainment with a large variety of reading . My only regret is that I was too busy enjoying the sights of this beautiful and historic city. We had many good laughs and relaxed doing the tourist thing. I will be back this is my 4th visit to this special place and I still have many sights to explore good night and god bless you all and Peace.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a perfect place to spend Christmas!

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 25, 2009

What a perfect place to spend Christmas! We attended a beautiful Christmas Eve service at the Holy Trinity Church down the street, followed by Christmas Day (with a Christmas tree and presents) and a long walk on a beautiful snowy night. The condo is truly superior to other properties where we’ve stayed. We found the location to be ideal with a small store two doors down and great places to eat everywhere. We probably gained 10 lbs. Each. We also enjoyed eating Christmas dinner on the fine china in the condo. Thank you again for a very memorable time. We hope to return for a summer in Quebec.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house! Excellent location!

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

Great house! Excellent location! Old Quebec is a beautiful city and especially nice to walk everywhere and not bother with the car. We dined at some fabulous restaurants: Café de la Paix (44 rue desJardins), Pain Beni (our favorite) at 34 rue Ste Anne, Aux Anciens Canadiens (34 rue Ste Louis). This has been a good time of year to visit …no crowds, good cool weather. Thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review