reviews for: listing #14241 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina House rental

Wisteria Lane in Sea Pines
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Greenwood Forest
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,195 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

KK

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

This house was fabulous! It was very spacious and we slept eight comfortably! Very convenient to The Salty Dog and Harbortown either biking or driving. The hot tub and pool were private and we're very relaxing after a day at the beach! Would definitely recommend this place and would stay again !!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Great home in a perfect location. 5 min bike ride to sea pines center and beach. Well maintained and plenty of dishes, silverware and utensils for large groups. Hot tub and pool were a perfect spot to relax after a busy day of bike riding. Owner and rental company very responsive to any questions or concerns. Hope to be back year after year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

We had a wonderful week at this beautiful and well equipped home in Sea Pines. We love HHI and have been coming for years...this year we came with our two young children so knew we would need some more space. The house is very spacious, the kitchen is stocked with everything you would need (even a giant pot for a low country boil). The heated pool was perfect and the hot tub was nice for the evenings. It truly felt like a home away from home in a perfect location, just a few minutes from the beach. Would absolutely come back here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful spring break in Hilton Head, SC

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

The house was amazing, perfect set-up for me, my husband, our 2 kids (5,7) and my mom. We started an amazing routine, coffee in the hot tub, after an early dip - breakfast was a joy to prepare in the wonderfully equiped kitchen while the kids splashed around in the pool. Afternoon bike ride to the stable for pony rides, lunch back at the house and another swim. Bike ride later to the beach to play in the sand and watch the dolpins swim close to shore. Then out to eat all around town, so many great memories - What a truly enchanting place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorable vacation!!!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

We have spent several weeks in the past vacationing in Hilton Head. This was our first
experience with Sea Pines and it will definitely not be our last. The home was in excellent
condition and the decor made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. The bedrooms are large and very well done and the newly renovated baths were a pleasure to enjoy. We spent many relaxing hours in the living room which entailed a vaulted ceiling, sliding doors to the deck and comfortable furniture which you don't want to get out of. Unfortunately, we picked one of the few dreary week which prevented us from sitting on the beach very long or making use of the spa and pool on the deck. The skylights make the home so bright and it is located close to South Beach. We did spend time at The Jazz Club which was wonderful, the Old Oyster Factory and Old Fort Pub at Hilton Head Plantation. We spent time in Bluffton which is filled with great places to eat (The Cottage was great) and fun shops to explore. All the people are friendly and helpful -- you will really enjoy Hilton Head. And if you possibly run out of things to do, Savannah is only a half-hour away. Enjoy!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved pool and hot tub

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

This house was fantastic! The hot tub was amazing. The pool was beautiful with a lovely waterfall feature. The layout of the house was really nice, and was clean, and had good separation between the bedrooms and the kitchen. The kitchen had all the supplies we needed. We really liked the location of the house. We could quickly bike to the stables and feed carrots to the horses each day, and there was a playground just down the street that was perfect for our toddler. I would definitely rent this house again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Property!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Hilton Head Island and we had a wonderful time. The house was a perfect fit for our family of 4. The neighborhood was quiet and relaxing, and the house was clean and very comfortable. The newly renovated kitchen with the granite countertops is beautiful. The pool and hot tub were great, as well as the deck and grill. The bikes we rented from Tiger bike rentals were conveniently delivered to the house before we arrived, and we received the discounted rate the owner had told us about. The bike trails were so much fun, and we all got plenty of exercise and fresh air! The restaurants were all conveniently located and had great food. We especially enjoyed the Salty Dog Café. The beaches and golf courses are beautiful. We didn't want to leave at the end of the week! We look forward to returning in the future!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

34 Wysteria HHI

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The house worked out perfect for our two families. We brought 2 blow up mattresses so all 4 kids (under age 12) could sleep in one room. This allowed the parents to enjoy quiet coffee time in the morning (we didn't use the pull out couch). The heated pool and hot tub worked great since it was cool a couple days that we did not go to the beach. The back yard feels very secluded, you can hardly see the neighboring houses. The location of the house was great, centrally located to the beach, Salty Dog and Harbor Town.

We look forward to staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Fun on HHI

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

This house is very spacious, has all of the necessary ammenties, and a private pool area. It offers a very quiet and restful surrounding. We were too early in the season to use the pool, but enjoyed sunning on the pool deck. The house also offers a hot tub, which was a lot of fun to use in March. The owners set me up with a great bicycle rental place, and I have to say, the nicest bikes I've had on Hilton Head. The location is perfect to ride on the bike trails to Harbor Town, or South Beach, and also very convenient to the Sea Pines Beach Club. The rental agents were also very pleasant and accomodating. The owner was great about giving me all the contacts I would need, should something go wrong, which fortunately it didn't. And also, keeping in touch with me, both prior to our visit and then afterward. We would definitely rent this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Off Season Vacation

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this property. It's location is excellent in Sea Pines, close to South Beach and Harbor Town. The property had a great lay out for sharing. We went with friends who had two small children, making the connecting bathroom perfect for the family. The MBR was far enough away that we were unable to hear anyone else. Large MBR with a great closet. The heated pool was worth the extra cost. It's a small pool, but perfect for soaking and we spent many hours in it during the cool weather we experienced. Wireless internet was a great bonus along with having access to a washer and dryer. We highly recommend this property and we hope to rent this house again next year. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Espacious home away from home

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Very confortable home perfect for a relaxing holiday. With jacuzzy, private swimming pool and nice pool area for picnic, BBQ, and reading. Close to the beach and restaurants. Beautiful neighborhood.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable Home Spacious Design

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Our family was able to enjoy the home even though we received some weather from Hurricane Isaac during our vacation. We were grateful for the washer and dryer after being caught in the rain! There were many bike trails to enjoy for all age levels. (we had from ages 2-81) The grill for dinner was nice. We also listened to music with indoor and outdoor speakers.
We would recommend this home to anyone going to Hilton Head S.C.!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Nice Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this home located in Greenwood Forest Development which is a development heading towards South Beach Marina. This home is older without updated bathrooms and kitchen but it was clean and comfortable and just perfect for our family at what we felt was a very fair price. The home has a nice large kitchen and living room area with multiple sky lights throughout the house giving it a nice open feel. The house is located in a perfect location for easy access to the biking trails but away from the busy areas to allow for plenty of peace and quiet. The small pool and hot tub were a great addition to the house along with a community pool, basketball courts and playground that were located just about a block away. The home was clean and ready for our arrival. The owner was easy to deal with and answered our questions in a timely fashion. We enjoyed our trip to Hilton Head very much!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WE LOVE HHI

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This home was very comfortable and clean. We have stayed in different homes in the area and this one is a wonderful place to stay. The pool is a great addition to the property, cools you off after a day at the beach(helps prevent sunburn). It was much larger than I realized, plenty of room for a family. Location is prime for all areas surrounding, to have quick access to. We rent bikes every year, great not to get into a car until you leave the island. Gets harder to leave every year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!!!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

This is a beautiful home and so quite in this area. Lots of room, open and comfortable. It was just as listed, nice and clean. Photos don't do it justice. The owner sent me information about the area that was very helpful in our planning. We rented bikes and road several places, beach is a 5 minute drive and beautiful. Everyone we met was very nice. I highly recommend this home for your vacation stay. You won't regret it!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Needs Maintenance and Cleaning

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Property needs some deep cleaning and maintenance. House has several electrical issues...maintenance staff and contractor were on the property at least four times dealing with issues. A breaker continued kicking off during the entire two months, I just kept resetting and went on with life.
The place was surface clean, you could tell they came and cleaned in four hours and left. Dirty dishes, pans, and utensils. Under the sofa we found dirty dish and fork. The area rug in the great room was nasty! The sofa was so broken down we had to put two blankets under the cushions to even use it. The deck has several rotten boards around the hot tub that are a safety problem. One of the front steps was lose and required two trips by the maintenance man to repair. One of the overhead kitchen cabinets is coming apart, we moved all the dishes out of it because we were afraid it would come off the wall.
I could go on, but I'm sure you get the idea by now.
The house did have some redeeming qualities...lots of space, nice separation of master bedroom from other rooms, very nice neighborhood, convenient to beach, harbor, golf, bike trail.
I would not stay in this home again and I certainly would not recommend it to anyone.
Beware of the mouse who likes to hide in the outside gas grill and scare the crap out of you when you open it.

Owners response: This review puzzles me. The house is very well maintained. I was there for a week before this renter and checked the house thoroughly for any damage or problems, then either fixed them or called on a contractor to do so. My rental management company has repairmen on call who come to the house promptly if there is a problem. The kitchen phone has a one-button option to call the (local) rental management company.

I was at the house a day before the renter arrived and there was no problem with the sofa or rug or kitchen cabinets. The sofa is just a year old and the last sofa I had there lasted over 5 years. I am waiting for a report from my furniture consultant on fixing or replacing the sofa and loveseat. My rental management company sent an inspector to check the kitchen cabinets and said there is no cabinet needing repair. The inspector said the rug now needs replacing. I ordered a new one immediately.

The other problems would have been fixed promptly if reported. I sent the renter an email before he arrived about the rotting wood I found when I was there the week prior to his stay and told him I was sending someone to replace the wood. By mutual agreement, most of the work was postponed until after the renter left and now has been completed.

An electrician would have come to fix any electrical problems the day reported or the next day. The electrician said he can run another circuit, but he needs to know which circuit is causing trouble. None of the 8 renters who have been in the house since this renter have reported any electrical problems.

The inspector my rental management company sent found no evidence of a mouse or mouse droppings in or near the gas grill, then for a double check contacted the pest control company that services the house regularly

The cleaning company does a lot of work for my rental management company and the crew knows that an inspector comes after the clean to check on their work. They aren't perfect but I've never (in the 10 years I've rented this property) had a problem like this reported.

I have hired a home property manager to supplement the inspections done by my rental management company, even though I don't fault the company for these complaints.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review