reviews for: listing #14263 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Villa rental

luxury Villa /roof-top Infinity jacuzzi Spectacular view
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Playacar
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,700 - $5,600 /wk

sort by:

The house is amazing & convenient to beach

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

This is our 6th time in Mexico and 3rd time in Play Del Carmen. We have a big family with 8 people, including grandchildren so we needed a place with plenty of room. This house is very well maintained in a quiet neighborhood, so you feel like you’re part of the community. Eleonora, the owner was very good about communicating before the trip, was descriptive about the home and area on what to expect and her comments were very accurate. Once you arrive, Carlos was extremely helpful in making sure everything was in order and that we were satisfied. As an example, when the rooftop jacuzzi jets quit working, he was over the next day to fix it. Ask him about a personal chef to cook for your group and enjoy some awesome fajitas. This well decorated home is a short 3 minute walk to the best beach in Playa and we've stayed at two other locations, so we should know. The beaches are wide and not crowded like around the resorts and the sand extends into the ocean floor, making it fun to play in the waves. Keep in mind that it is about a 10 minute walk to downtown, but with the great weather, not a problem and we only went in for dinner or to get more groceries. If you are looking for a relaxing way to enjoy Mexico with family, friends or relatives, this is a 1st class way to do it. We can't wait to go back and stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Celebrate The Marriage of Friends

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay the 1st week of November this year. There were 4 couples staying in the Villa there is celebrate the marriage of our close friends.
The house was perfect for our needs. It was clean and inviting. Everything from transportation from the airport, to the welcoming to the Villa and throughout our stay we were very pleased. The owners stayed in contact with us throughout the booking process and Carlos was available for all our needs. I would love to bring my family back for a vacation in the near future. I recommend this Villia for any looking for a relaxing vacation in Playa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great villa! Nice relaxed area,

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

A happy stay in the sunny and spacious Casa Passalaqua made my summer of 2013 really unforgettable! Situated in a quiet lane, just a throw away from a lovely private beach, this property is surrounded by lush trees and one can enjoy occasional chirps and presence of exotic birds during the day. The house boasts several unique open air spaces – a ground floor terrace, perfect for the morning coffee, a shady first floor balcony, a relaxing open air Jacuzzi area on the second level and stunning views of the sea from the big roof terrace with inbuilt barbecue.

The intertwining Mediterranean and local furnishing styles of the house give a sense of being in a very different place, as is the spirit of the entire resort. The focal point of the living room is an old tree, beautifully included in the interior design of the house through a floor to ceiling window. The view of the tree in the evenings is truly romantic.

Playa del Carmen’s thriving modern plaza, main street and port are not more than a ten-minute walk through scenic parks and neighborhoods or even better - along the breezy beach. A great plus is the invaluable help of the property manager – Carlos, who is always nearby and can advise on where to go, as well as the kind domestic assistant, who comes every day to maintain the household.

The scenery all around is beautiful and one can really refill her senses with colors, sounds and warmth.

A big thank you to the very hospitable owner family!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Accomodations!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

As you may know, picking a rental home is a bit scary. After two months of searching, we picked Casa Passalaqua for our annual winter trip. 10 friends: 3 couples and 4 singles. And the villa was great! It's an ideal location. A private, magical enclave of homes with cobblestone streets. The beach is quiet and bustling 5th Avenue is only a short walk away. The home has all the amenities you need. LOTS of space. After chartering a boat the first day, we brought back about 20 lbs of fish and grilled on the top deck. Every night, the kitchen provided us all we needed to cook for the group. Hot water in the showers, filtered water to drink, wi fi to stay connected. The maid who came each day was wonderful and helped to keep the linens and dishes in order and the sand off the floors. Carlos, the manager, was always just minutes away and ready to help with whatever we needed. And the best part: We got to meet the home owner on the final day when she was moving in and Eleonora is an angel! I admit I was a little nervous sending thousands of dollars to someone I had never met for a home I had never seen. I promise . . . you have nothing to worry about. Eleonora and her husband Alex are sweet and generous! I will definitely be recommending Casa P. to my friends! Thank you Eleonora!
By the way, if you are a scuba diver, I took trips with Scuba Playa (not Playa Scuba) and Yukatek. Both were excellent experiences with very friendly and professional staff. Love Playa Del Carmen!

OK, to be fair . . . the kitchen could use a sharper knife.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Villa with Beautiful Views

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

My husband and I have been to Playa many times and love it there. This trip we invited his family including his 85 year old grandmother, parents, siblings and spouses and his aunt and uncle. There were 11 of us in total and we all loved Casa Passalacqua! The view of Cozumel from the roof top pool was amazing. We loved the quick walk to the beach and to town. The house is beautiful - the window highlighting the tree is amazing, especially at night. The house is very spacious with a lot of outside spaces to hang out and either socialize or find a spot to be by yourself.
I can't wait to go back to Playa and stay at Casa Passalacqua again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful place!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

This was a beautiful house exactly as described on the website, very clean and well-maintained. The owner provided excellent customer service and I would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives as the house is in an exclusive area of Playa del Carmen just 5 min walk to the beach. I would stay here again any time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Villa for our Wedding Weekend!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

The villa that we rented was absolutely gorgeous for our wedding weekend. We could not have asked for a better place to rent for my fiancée (now wife) and our family members. The views from the rooftop were amazing. You could see the ocean and feel the warm breezes as you looked out over the ocean to Cozumel? It only took several minutes to walk to the beach which was so convenient, especially since we had several kids staying with us. It was also nice having maid service everyday, internet service to stay in touch with the world, and lots of movies that were provided with the house rental! It also only took 10 minutes to walk to 5th Avenue and enjoy all of the nightlife of Playa Del Carmen! Now the only question is when are we going to go back to Playa. I would definitely stay at this home again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Dirty Dozen

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Our group of 12 rented this house and it was amazing. I would recommend this to any large family or group. The owners are so nice and make feel so welcome. Close to beach and walking distance to everything you need. Had a great time and can't wait to go back. Your friends from Kansas!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We LOVED Casa Pasalaqua!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

Thanks you Eleonora for all your help making our trip to Playa del Carmen a HUGE success. We all fell in love with the house and the area! It was an amazing property and working with you made planning the trip so easy. I cannot wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place for Vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

I just got back from a 3 day trip here and wish I could have stayed longer. The house is beautiful from top to bottom and a less than 5 minute walk to 5th Ave. Every amenity you could possibly need is already there for you and the owner was incredibly friendly and easy to work with during the whole rental process. I would definitely head back again and would reccommend to staying here vs a resort as you will have much more privacy and comfort.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, private but a close walk to everything

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

8 of us just returned from a week in Mexico. We rented Casa Passalacqua and were not disappointed. The house is in a gated community, and and feels very private and safe. The money exchange made me nervous initially, but it was completely safe and professional, the owners of this property want the guests to truly enjoy themselves and are super accommodating. The beach is a 2 minute walk down the road, and it is beautiful, and far less crowded than any other beach close to town. You will not be harassed by merchants or vendors here. The walk into town is about 5-10 minutes, and there is a convenience store and a Starbucks 5 minutes away. We saw amazing birds and wildlife, and watched the sun set from the incredible rooftop after grilling delicious food outside. This is a huge and great place, and the family is wonderful! You will not regret this rental!.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

New Year's paradise in Playa del Carmen

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

Casa Passalacqua was a great place to spend this past New Year's. The house was clean, airy and well laid out, especially considering the size of our group: 10 adults and 2 infants. The kitchen is well stocked with all the necessary equipment to do some serious local culinary exploration, which we did most of our 8 night stay. The master suite on the 3rd floor is unbelievable, amazing views and the Jacuzzi is right there on the deck. Carlos and Eleanora did a fantastic job with everything and the local staff was very helpful and friendly. Overall the experience was something my whole family would definitely do again.

My favorite aspect of the house was the location: close to the beach (<5 minutes stroll) and within easy walking distance of downtown, yet far enough away from the crowds to remain quiet and relaxing. The community is gated and security is topnotch, something we hadn't experienced in Mexico before. It really makes a difference since everyone walking the streets is either vacationing or living within the community.

In fact, if I had to point out anything "disappointing" it would be the stove/oven: it is underpowered by my (admittedly high) standards so be prepared to split large meals across multiple pans and burners. For example: cooking rice & beans for ten required three pots, not a huge deal but something to be aware of for anyone intending to self-cater, especially with a large group. Also, the grill on the top desk takes some getting used to, it is really windy up there so be prepared for a challenge when you go to “fire up the barbie”. I realize many people don't go on vacation to cook for themselves but it's important to me...if you don't care then there is literally nothing disappointing about the property.

When you go (and you should, the house is fabulous) be sure to eat at El Fogon on Calle 6/Avenida 30. It is well worth the 20 minute walk. Also, check out the local grocery DAC (also on Avenida 30) for great local produce and an amazing variety of spices and dried ingredients. The selection at DAC will inspire you to whip up some truly amazing authentic dishes in no time!

PS – the street tacos outside the bus station are to die for and at roughly 80 cents apiece are probably the cheapest meal you will find in Playa :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our wonderful Mexican vacation at Casa Passalacqua

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Every aspect of our trip to Eleonora Passalacqua's beautiful villa in Playa del Carmen exceeded our espectations. From the very beginning Eleonora has been very helpful and responsive, and honest and straightforward. I would certainly return to her villa for an even longer vacation.

We were a family of seven including two young grandsons. We did not feel crowded at all, and everyone enjoyed as much privacy as he/she wanted.The rooms are large and tastefully appointed wtih extensive marble treatments. The grandsons particularly enjoyed the rooftop jaccuzi.

We had the Mexican chef Maria come and prepare a meal for us, and it was unforgettable. We all agreed hers was the best Mexican food we had tasted anywhere.

Carlos arranged for a van to pick us up at the airport and return us there at the end of the stay. The driver was most courteous, and a good, safe driver. At our request he took us by the Playa Wal Mart after pickup at the airport so we could stock up on necessities.

I found the most attractive aspect of Casa Passalacqua is its close proximity to downtown Playa. A walk of 5 - 10 minutes brought us to the famous 5th avenue where we found a plethora of restaurants, and plenty of shopping for the ladies. A tip to pass on: the further north you go on 5th avenue, the nicer the stores and restaurants. We didn't discover this until our week was almost over.

I was frankly a bit nervous about going on vacation in Mexico, but we felt completely safe at all times. The crime you read about is way up north on the border with the USA. The Mayan Riviera is quiet and peaceful, and the people are courteous and friendly.

I was also nervous about making such a transaction by phone and internet, and sending a large sum of money to someone I don't know. Eleonora has proved all my fears false. She is an honest and trustworthy person.

Would I return to Casa Passalacqua? You betcha!

Dan
Pensacola Florida

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Passalacqua

Review submitted: May 19, 2009   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Casa Passalacqua this weekend. The house was perfect for us! It is beautiful, spacious, comfortable, and the location is fantastic...right around the corner from a fantastic private beach and an easy walk to town. The jacuzzi is huge and the rooftop deck has great views.

Eleonora arranged van transportation for us to/from the airport for a great price. Our flight to Cancun was delayed at the last minute, so I called Eleonora, and she was able to contact the van driver to make sure he knew about the delay and paid attention to the flight status. Despite a 2 hour flight delay, our driver was waiting for us as soon as we arrived. Great service! While in Playa, a simple phone call to Carlos had the van ready for us again for an early morning trip to Tulum. We had so much fun, and the customer service made everything very painless for us. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Playa Del Carmen House/ Casa Passalaqua

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

We had a family reunion with 10 family members of all ages. From 16 months to 84 years old. The house was very nice, very clean and the entire trip was very relaxing and safe. I recommend trying the cook Sandra early in your visit, you may only want to eat out a couple of times, the food was great and very reasonable fees.. I look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 4, 2009

We rented this beautiful house for group of 7 people. Me, my wife, our 3 sons, and my wife's sister & mother. We had a fabulous time in Playa at this house.

We really enjoyed the caring interactions with the villa owner. She made sure that every question or concern we had was handled. The internet works well, which is great for emailing her your questions.

The house is large, so you can get privacy if you want. That is nice if you are staying for a while. There is a cell phone on site that you can load up with minutes at Walmart, which makes it very easy to function in Playa.

We took the 1st class bus in from the airport. We later rented a van, and we highly recommend it! We drove to Tulum, Coba, and a wonderful out of the way cenote (I honestly can't remember the name) that was almost free, and was an awesome experience.

The house staff is very typical to that area of the world, meaning you should be ready to tell them your needs. Even though you expect things like towels changed out every day, you might need to ask. You might even need to go down to the laundry and find the "hidden" washcloths in order use them. But that is not unusual for cleaning staff in Mexico. Don't let it bum you out, just speak up and everything you need will be handled. They are very nice.

There's a very secluded beach about 3 blocks from the house. That is very hard to find in the Caribbean. If you walk into town and down to the beach there, you will see what I mean. Big difference in amount of people, volume of the music blaring from the beach clubs, seas of people tanning, etc. The beach near the house is different. If you're into the hotel zone experience, you can walk into town and find it, but you will always have the option at this beach of just hanging out and enjoying the beauty of the Caribbean.

Carlos, the man who oversees the house, is a really nice guy. He carries a cell phone so you can always get ahold of him. He knows many restaurants in the area that taste great, but are more affordable than the tourist traps. He also knows the area if you have questions about things like cenotes, parks, soccer games or whatever might cross your mind.

The roof of the house has a truly amazing view. It's just like the pictures. The barbecue is not in great shape, but we didn't care. We were happy to cook downstairs and bring the food up. The kitchen is in great shape. Very usable, if you want to cook and save money.

Great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

A one minute walk to the beach and 7 minute walk to 5th ave. The villa was more than enough room for three couples. The roof top deck was a nice place for a late afternoon cocktail. The maid service was great. The only problem was lack of hot water. The taps in the sink were hot, but the showers were cold - weird. Overall a nice experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were not aware of the problem. Our property manager has identified the problem and repaired. Every thing works perfect now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great for walking

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

We had 10 in our group, 8 adults and 2 children and we had plenty of room. The house was spacious and worked out perfectly for us.

From Phase I you can walk right down to the private beach, into town and 5th Avenue and then in the opposite direction you can walk down to the beach where there is a nearly endless row of high end all inclusive resorts. For anyone debating whether to get a house in Phase I or Phase II, for beach access and the ability to talk places there is no comparison, chose Phase I of Playacar.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

viva la playa passalacqua

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: April 7, 2008

We had a great time in Playa del Carmen and an awesome stay at casa di pasalacqua. The house was so roomy and clean! Perfect for entertaining and so close to the private beach that was so nice to relax in. The rooftop deck was great for grilling and the pool was perfect for the sunset. We will be back!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Fit.

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: November 19, 2008

This was such a wonderful place to base our vacation from. Our group of 10 was very comfortable in the large rooms and spacious common areas. We spent many great evenings on the rooftop deck hanging out overlooking the ocean... Owners are very responsive and helpful and gave me the feeling they really wanted to do anything they could to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The handy man stopped by just to introduce himself and let us know it is ok to call him with any concerns. I could go on, but I think you get the gist, this house is a winner for large groups.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommend

Review submitted: December 8, 2008   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

I didn't know quite what to expect as I had never stayed at a rental home on a vacation before, but this trip exceeded all expectations. The home was unbelievable. We had a group of 6 and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay, the house was extremely spacious and the seperate rooftop decks, not to mention the rooftop jacuzzi, made for great daytime lounging and sunbathing. The daily maid service was fantastic. The beach is less than a block away and there was rarely anyone other than our party there which made us feel like it was all ours. The restaurants and bars are all about a 10 minute walk down the road or a quick taxi ride. I also recommend taking the ferry to Cozumel for some snorkeling. After staying at Casa de Passalaqua once, we are definitely going to try and make it an annual destination for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: November 23, 2008   Date of arrival: November 5, 2008

Went there w/ 11 people. Great time. Plenty of room. Large common areas. 2 large rooftop patios with nice views. A block from the beach. Owners/operators very helpful w/ transportation, advice... they even set us up w/ a cook to come in one night to fix dinner.

Highly recomend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review