reviews for: listing #14270 - Hanalei, Hawaii House rental

"Great Prices" Sleeps 1-18 $89./per night
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $89 - $399 /nt
    $650 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Jim & Shannon's place in Hanalei. The house was perfect for us, as we stayed in the upstairs 2-bedroom the entire time while various family members came & went, staying in the other units. The place is quite affordable and incredibly conveniently located. It is half a block from the central part of town, where you will find great shops, restaurants and cafes, and a very short walk from the beach.

Being right in town, the house is close to some bars which have live music. Thursday through Saturday nights could get pretty loud. But when we closed the windows and turned the fans down, the noise was not too bad at all. And our young kids (one toddler, one infant) were able to sleep through it fine every night. And the music never went later than midnight and usually ended earlier.

The house feels private and secluded from the street and the hubbub of the town. There is a nice yard which wraps around, and you will find everything you will need from well-stocked kitchens to a gas grill to beach toys and body boards and a couple of bikes. Each unit has a selection of books people have left behind. In our experience there were plenty of beach towels, and renting the entire house, we had access to all 4 kitchens; if you just rent one of the units, you may find you are missing some basics such as salt & pepper or measuring cups, etc.

In our opinion the units on the top floor were the nicest ones. The upstairs 2-bedroom feels like the main living space, it has the best living room and a nice deck overlooking the front yard. The studio is nicer than the one bedroom, with a lovely bathtub and nice ceilings, and it's nice & big. I will say though that the 2nd floor units get a lot more sound from the street and the bars than the downstairs ones do. But like I said, it was totally manageable and worth it to stay up there, for us. Strangely, the downstairs 2-bedroom had full cable TV while the others only had basic broadcast stations. So if it's important to have access to a full lineup of TV channels, you might want to stay in that unit. Also its the only unit with a full kitchen, with a stove; the others have hot plates. The 1-bedroom is a bit dark but it has a nice little outdoor seating area/porch in front.

Jim & Shannon were a pleasure to deal with, quick to respond and very friendly and accommodating. All in all we really enjoyed the house, would happily recommend it to friends and would love to stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

It was our second stay at Hanalei Vacation House! First time was in 2010 with our baby girl and this time we were now with our 2 childrens of 2 and 4 years old! Once again, we had an amazing stay! Hanalei Vacation House is a piece of paradise. So well located, so clean and sweet, we get everything we need to enjoy Hanalei! Jim and Shannon (the owners) are as sweet as their house! They are very available and patient...they have been very nice with us and our thousand of questions and with our childrens! Don't hesitate, it's the place to be! Enjoy!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More cons than pros at this rental unit

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

Cons: the property was not well maintained or clean. spotty internet, LOTS of mosquitoes in the house especially the bedroom, woke with welts on my legs from all the bites, we had to buy our own Raid mosquito spray which helped, tiny ants in kitchen all over counter and sink, the bed was hard as a rock so we had to purchase a foam topper from Walmart which helped some, home in disrepair - tears in screens, no handle on screen door, dripping shower, toilet didn't flush well would have to hold the flush lever down until the bowl emptied, electrical outlets in kitchen were loose, outlet in living room didn't work, DVD player had no remote and manual buttons didn't work so could not watch movies, TV only got a few channels, no clothes closet, a bar was hung high over the dresser with a couple of hangers, I am 5'6" and could barely reach it. curtains were hard to open and close. no paper towels, napkins or Kleenex in the unit, noise from nearby restaurant until early in the morning. No air conditioning in the unit. The exterior light between the units would go on and light up the living room at night and there was no way for us to turn it off. Parking was very tight for 4 cars, lot was poorly lit, sidewalk was cracked and pitched and also poorly lit, which is a safety hazard. Location was close to a bar which was very noisy and open very late into the early morning hours.

Pros: location - walking distance to beautiful Hanalei bay, health food store, numerous shops and restaurants, private room with a bath and kitchen, full size refrigerator, blender provided, toaster oven provided, plates, cups, silverware and cookware provided, boogie boards & beach chairs provided, plenty of towels, sheets and blankets, outside shower to rinse off from the beach, clothes line and clothes hangers to dry clothes. grounds within the privacy fence were nice with beautiful trees and plants.

To book this unit we had to pay with a check rather than credit card which was not ideal for us but it worked out. customer service was good, all but one of our emails received a response.

This unit is better suited for young adults there to party not for those wanting to relax and enjoy the garden isle.

Owners response: Aloha Melonni and James,
First off we are sad you did not have a happy experience and we are disappointed things did not suit your needs and the house was not what you expected.

We do wish you would have called or sent us an email regarding these issues and we could of dealt with them right a way all were manageable and fixable in a short amount of time..

We also state there is no air conditioning on the website.. and we also talk about the Tahiti Nui bar restaurant near us who does play music on some nights...

Being a tropical environment and having a very lush yard we do have bugs and mosquitos...the mosquitos problem comes and goes with the rain if we have heavy rain we tend to have more mosquitos...we did check all the screens in the one bedroom and see no holes anywhere as stated...

The house is an older house and is very clean simple and the most affordable in Hanalei,the house does not suite everybody and we try to give the best description possible on our website...our house is NOT a condo...

We have plenty of repeat guest and families who love the house for it's price location and simplicity...

We do apologize again for the issues you stated and do appreciate the positive feed back with the negative.

All in All I do hope you enjoyed Hanalei it is a beautiful magical place ~
Mahalo Shannon

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Highly rated Affordable

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst waiting for our main location for a wedding tone available.
Close to town, the beach and has quite a lot of space

Front plants provide some screening and privacy, definitely worth it for those on a budget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Surf couple

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

This is a very comfortable and roomy studio,The grounds are nice and well maintained. All the needed things in the room and very clean. The lighting next to the bed was kinda wierd. You cannot turn the lights on or off and have to unscrew the bulb???? All in all, great for the price and so close to all of Hanalei!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect Place

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

I have stayed here before and could not be more excited to be arriving here again in less than 48 hours. All of the units provide the means to get by affordably by having comfortable rooms, onsite laundry, stocked kitchens (pots,pans, leftover spices), comfortable common areas, beautiful landscape, private parking....the list goes on.... The small town of Hanalei is on the other side of the huge hedge. Complete zen. Mahalo Shannon for two unforgettable trips!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A gem in the heart of Hanalei

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

My fiance and I needed a clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced place to stay in Hanalei while we planned our upcoming August wedding in Hanalei (we were here 4/16/12-4/19/12). We were very pleased with our one bedroom digs. Every aspect of the listing are true to form. The place was well stocked with everything you need to be comfortable without breaking the bank! The location is perfect if you want to be in the heart of town. Every thing is within walking distance of Hanalei Town and also the beach. Shannon was a pleasure to work with and was very attentive to all of my corresponces.
If you are traveling on a budget then this is a great place to call home during your stay to a truly beautiful place.
Although we are staying in a different location during our August wedding it's only because we need accommodations for 20 in two different houses!
Mahalo Jim and Shannon for a great experience in your little slice of paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hanalei Perfection

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

Hanalei Plantation was the perfect home for our vacation. The home was better than what we viewed on the website. The kitchen also was understated on the website...just beautiful! We would wake up every morning to look out the window to see surfers and the oustanding Hanalei Bay. The house is located on the main highway, but there really was no noisy distraction from the cars going by. No doubt, we will be back to the Hanalei Plantation...in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Jim and Shannon,
Thank you so much for everything!
I've had a great stay here and this accommodation is just perfect!
I'm will be passing it on to all my friends and family.
Take care Maddie

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

Shannon,
Wel oved staying here!
Walking distance to beach and town...we got hooked on morning coffee at Java kai and early morning walks on the beach catching the sunrise.
We appreciate how clean and well appointed we found things.
Thanks again to contributing to such an enjoyable stay fir us in Hanalei!

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review