reviews for: listing #14308 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Keauhou,Large3/3 Ocean/GolfView,Upscale,Quiet Area,Discounts
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Keauhou
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $114 - $136 /nt
    $800 - $950 /wk
    $2,400 - $3,300 /mth

sort by:

Great Place

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2014

Condo is in excellent location. Beautiful view from lanai, quiet and very safe. Walking distance to Keauhou Bay and Sheraton.

Clean, cozy, and spacious!! We were 3 couples, so having 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms was wonderful. The kitchen was clean and had lots of dishes and cookware along with spices, oil, sugar, etc. Lots of extra napkins, trash bags, and other basic necessities.

We appreciated the supply of beach towels and ice chests to take with us on our outings. Having a washer and dryer to wash towels in after going to the beach was great.

Larry and Tricia provided lots of recommendations for shopping and restaurants of all sorts.

We enjoyed your condo!!

Mahalo Larry and Tricia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2014

Had a fun and relaxing time!! Condo is clean and well kept. Kitchen is well stocked with dishes and cookware along with basic necessities like sugar, spices, oil, etc. Beach towels and ice chests were also available for our outings. Having access to a washer and dryer gave us the opportunity to wash towels before our next beach adventure. Larry and Tricia gave great directions to condo and many recommendations for shopping and eating. We were three couples, so having 3 bedrooms and 3 bath was wonderful! We enjoyed the quiet and safety of this complex. Mahalo Larry and Tricia!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home away from home

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

All joys and no complaints. Larry and Tricia were a pleasure to work with. Condo was comfy and inviting. The fans were ample for keeping the condo cool. Kitchen was stocked with all the pans and dishes we needed. Quiet complex. Many happy hours were spent swimming in the pool and sipping coffee on the lanai. Keauhou is convenient to Kona and Keakelua Bay.

Most useful--THREE BATHROOMS! Made it very easy for five people to come back from swimming/snorkeling/hiking, shower up quickly, and head out again. Bliss!

Thank you for everything! We had a fantastic time and look forward to a chance to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Condo

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

We stayed at the condo for 11 nights and absolutely loved it. The condo is very clean and beautiful. There is an awesome view of the ocean from the lanai where we enjoyed coffee every morning and BBQ'ing most nights. There were 7 of us and there is plenty of room. It is very close to town and several beaches that are awesome for snorkeling or just laying in the sun. The directions and information that Larry gave us before we arrived were awesome and very helpful. Larry was always available to answer our questions. When we were not sight seeing, we were by the pool and jacuzzi which are very close to the condo. I would definitely recommend this condo to all and hope to go back and use the condo again. We definitely got use out of the boogie boards, snorkeling gear, towels and chairs that were available to us. Having access to a washer and dryer most definitely helped.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

As a diver I look for condo rentals linked to a high rated dive shop and this one was a gold mine. Everything worked and was in good condition. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and everything else needed to prepare meals. CLEAN and spacious condo for 4 adults and 2 children so we didn't feel cramped or bumping into each other. The lanai is large and had a nice bbq grill. Quiet area and low traffic was another bonus. The pool is a short walk away and was never crowded, it was also very clean and well maintained. The owner gave us a personal tour and showed us where everything was stored, ice chests, beach mats etc. Owner is great to work with and provided us with a package of information on the area.
Excellent place to stay and I look forward to coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Visit to Paradise

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Just finished an amazing visit to Hawaii, particularly to Keauhou which is a nice quiet area near Kona, but away from the hustle and bustle of Ali'i Drive. It is a centrally located area from which to explore the Big Island and all the diversity of Hawaii. About a half hour drive south from the airport.
The condo was well stocked and we couldn't ask for more. We had our son and his wife and daughter for four weeks and then our other son and family and all were comfortable.
Larry is attentive to the needs of the people who rent his condo and when the dryer ceased to work, he was there the next day with a brand new one! Now that's service.
Who could find fault with palm trees in their back yard!? The Pacific Ocean in the distance. The flowers in the area were amazing and having the windows open to let the breeze through was so healthy.
The Big Island of Hawaii is my favourite, from the volcano in the south to the largest cattle ranch in the US in the north. From desert to tropical rain forest the Big Island has it all. And this condo is the place to call home.
Would certainly recommend it. Our family went snorkelling just down the road and saw every fish that was on the 'fish card'. They saw a pod of dolphins on their trip on Fairwinds, which is a catamaran tour boat located just down the road near the condo.
I went on the Fairwinds, which goes to Kealekekua Bay and we saw a whale breach. The water is so clear and an amazing blue! All exciting stuff. Would I recommend this place? YOU BETCHA! I didn't want to leave. Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great condo, quiet complex

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

My family of 5 recently spend 17 days in Kona in this unit over the holdidays. It was a fabulous experience! The condo was very spacious, well stocked (we didn't need to buy all the little paper goods, soaps, etc), very quiet, and had a fabulous view of the golf course and the ocean in the distance. We have stay at the Punahele complex for over 30 years. I always recommend it to anyone from Alaska who is planningn on going to Kona. We loved working with Larry, the owner too. He is very easy to get in contact with and is very accomodating. The grounds and pool area are always in top shape and kept up very well. People who stay in this complex are very nice and friendly. My daughters were excited about having the huge loft with bathroom to themsleves - two beds up there and desk! On top of everything else, the price was inbeatable too! I would highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful condo and location. 5 Star Rating

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

Our two weeks plus vacation was all the more enjoyable and memorable thanks to this wonderful accomodation we were fortunate enough to secure. The condo was bright, clean and spaceous, and the kitchen was stocked with all the dishes, utensils and cooking items we needed. We put the washer/dryer and beach gear ( beach towels, umbrella, coolers, grass mats and snorkel gear) to good use. A quiet setting, at night we enjoyed dinners on the lanai overlooking the golf course and watched the sun go down. I look forward to a return visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

EXCELLENT

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

Perfect location, who needs air conditioning? Wonderful breeze coming through, condo had absolutely everything included (except food), was comfortable and roomy. Very accomodating owners. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 8

 

Fantastic Unit!

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

My family stayed for a week and were very comfortable in the very spacious , clean, well designed, unit.
It was complete with everything necessary for a great time.We highly recommend this fine unit.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Review of Property 321798

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

This condo was excellent in every way. It was located in a quiet complex, close to walking trails, the ocean, snorkelling, golfing and all the many attractions in nearby Keauhou and Kona. Larry and Trish, the owners were very helpful. We loved the limes and papayas Larry brought us. Everything was clean, well-maintained, bright and cheerful. The condo is very large, can easily sleep seven, and has a wonderfully-equipped kitchen. There is space for everyone, plus a lovely lanai and a top-of-the-line barbecue. We were in the condo for just a few hours when one of my boys exclaimed, "Mom, this is a 5 out of 5!!" We would love to return and stay in this exact unit again, and we have already recommended it to others. We feel that Larry and Trish have become friends and we thank them for their kindness.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Excellent Condo - Excellent Landlord

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a month in the condo spanning November and December. It was well stocked with just about anything we needed. The grill on the lanai was all set to use and the kitchen was supplied with all we needed to cook and dine. Watching sunsets from the lanai was a great opportunity for picture taking. The location is great, near the village, near the Alii bypass to go south and near the highway to go north. A local landlord is very conforting. If anything goes wrong he's there to help. We would return anytime!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 9

 

Great condo, excellent value!

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

My family stayed in Larry's condo for 2 weeks in October. We had a great time. The condo is well appointed and very clean. Our family particularly enjoyed the lanai with the great view of the golf course, and distant view of the ocean. The pool was nice, and we had it to ourselves most of the time. No issues with the condo being too warm, as another reviewer claimed. Nice breeze every evening that cooled the condo down nicely. If we return to Kona, we will definitely stay in this unit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 12

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful condo for 2 months. Larry is a very gracious host and did everything he could to make sure our stay was comfortable. We have been coming to the island for about 12 years now and Punahele is a great condo complex with friendly helpful people. We had our kids come to visit and the condo is very roomy and comfortable to accommodate 6 people. We would recommend this condo for anyone, especially families that need a little extra space. We found the condo to be very comfortable without air-conditioning, so there is no need to worry about that!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 27

 

Highly recommend this place!

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We have been coming to the Big Island for around 15 years and this was our fifth stay at the Keauhou Punahele complex and our second in Larry's condo. We have been here with friends and family and everyone loves it! The condo location is very quiet but is within walking distance to Keauhou Bay (watch Mantas at night) and the Keauhou Shopping Village (groceries, theaters, restaurants and Saturday farmer’s market). Since there are so many fantastic beaches, hikes and activities on the Big Island, I recommend renting a car. If you choose not to, it’s easy to catch the free Alii Drive shuttle.
We were at the condo on some very hot days this year - even the locals were complaining. In the heat of the day, when the condo was warmer, we were out and about. To keep the condo cool, we used the blinds to keep direct sun out of the condo, and the fans to circulate cool air at night. We love the weather in Kona, but if you are extremely sensitive to heat, there are areas on the Big Island that are much cooler, and of course you can find condos with air conditioning. Please note- my 90 year old grandmother was fine and preferred this condo to my parents’ air conditioned time-share...
With two bedrooms and the loft space, the condo has plenty of room for large parties. Larry stocks the condo with everything you could possibly need (except for food and clothing). The entire condo overlooks a golf course and faces the ocean with the lanai running the length of the west/ocean side. The pool area is lovely and we often had it to ourselves.
If you like to wake to the sound of song birds, drink Kona coffee while eating fresh mangoes on the lanai, cook in a well-equipped kitchen, and kick back with a mai tai while barbecuing fresh fish and watching the sunset from the lanai, then this place is for you!
We will be back this summer and will continue to recommend this condo to our friends. Mahalo Larry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 29

 

The photos didn't do justice!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

The condo is furnished perfect for a vacation. Beautiful, yet comfortable. I like the floor plan because the bedrooms downstairs are completely separate and private. The kitchen accommodated us for the Holiday season and it was wonderful for entertaining. The views are great and we liked walking to the Sheraton Hotel in the evening to view the manta rays. Parking is good because I don't like to lug groceries far like some of the complexes I have stayed in. Spa is nice and so is the pool and covered gathering area. You can BBQ on the lanai-this condo has a good gas BBQ. I would defiantly stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 36

 

exceptional!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

This was our first trip to the big island and it was wonderful. This condo was fantastic, great location, great pool/spa, very good air circulation, and clean. The room has no a/c but it didn't matter, there are plenty of fans and windows and doors for the air to pass through. I loved the locwtion of the condo as well. I cant say enough good things about this island and condo and i highly reccomend it to anyone wanting to have a relaxing, enjoyable trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 39

 

We cut our stay short...

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

We checked in on 6/20 for an 8 night stay that was cut short to 1 night. This condo is very big and beautiful, but does not have air conditioning. The room was very hot and humid (it was in excess of 80 degrees in the condo on top of being humid, and we were sweating no matter what we did, even with all of the ceiling fans on high and a box fan blowing right on us), and we found it very difficult to sleep. The room was so warm and humid that my mom (who has asthma) almost had an attack during the first night. No one could stand to be in the loft, so it went unused and one of us had to sleep on the floor in the living room. When we reserved the condo, the room description on this website did not state that the room did not have air conditioning (it was changed after we complained). After the first night, we decided to move to an air conditioned hotel so we could enjoy the rest of our stay on the Big Island.

The description on this site states that the room is a "pleasant temperature without air conditioning." I disagree. This may be true in the winter, but it was not comfortable to us when we visited in June. We woke up drenched is sweat, which isn't pleasant at all. Larry's (the owners) claim to us that a mountain breeze cools the room overnight was an exaggeration: the room was semi-comfortable from about 5:30 AM - 7:30 AM, then hot and humid from there on. Desipite the condo being roomy and nicely decorated, we were not comfortable there at all. It's miserable to be sweating all the time and have nowhere to escape the warmth and humidity of the tropics, especially in the evenings.

Also, I'd like to note that Larry and his wife were not helpful when we asked for a partial refund since the room was not comfortable, as stated. We only got some of the money back after catching them in a lie.

Bottom line- If you are used to sleeping/being in air conditioning or have any condition aggravated by heat and humidity- I recommend you look elsewhere. The condo is beautiful but it was not comfortable for us, and the owners are not very willing to satifactorily handle customer complaints.

Owners response: As owners of this 3/3 Ocean/golf course view condo, we feel this review is inaccurate. Please look at the other reviews which have a completely opposite opinion. Specifically, we want to address the following:
1. The temperature is comfortable. We lived in this condo for 2 1/2 years and found the temperature pleasant. We have used our condo as a vacation rental for 4 years and no one has complained about the temperature or problems sleeping. Guests have commented on how nicely the breezes keep the condo comfortable.
2. Our listing does not mention air conditioning as an amenity. These guest just assumed that it had a/c and were disappointed upon arriving that there was none.
3. Our refund policy clearly states that no refunds will be given less that 90 days prior to occupancy. Yet we refunded over half their money. Perhaps being considered "cooperative" requires a full refund.
4. We bend over backwards to make our guests comfortable. Our condo is always kept in excellent condition and nicely furnished. We supply all paper products, bags, and soaps including laundry. All our guest need to do is purchase food. We provide lists for restaurants and shopping centers and when meeting arriving guests, we go over beach, sightseeing and other activites. And we check in with our guests to be sure they are comfortable and there are no problems with our condo.
PLEASE look at the other reviews..they are more accurate.

Helpful votes: 95 / 112

 

Gracious, helpful owner/host

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

We have stayed in this complex 5 times now and what a great experience to rent this time directly from the owner. Larry met us at the condo and gave us a tour, pointing out many helpful details. So nice not to have to search around for what we needed. Very well supplied, from all the paper products, cleaning supplies, including washing products. When the BBQ gave us trouble, he proptly offered to buy a new one. As we enjoy cooking and usually eat in, this was greatly appreciated. Relaxing on the large lanai, watching the sunset is always a special time of the day for us.
We again enjoyed a day tour of the volcanos, Hilo, and Akaka falls, as we had newcomers visit while we were there. Took a drive to Hawi to browse the shops and have ice cream.
We would certainly recommend this condo to our friends and hope to return ourselves.
Jerry and Chris/California

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 19 / 71

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keauhou Punahele 3 bdrm/3bath

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

The facilities were wonderful. It is the best place we have stayed and we have stayed at numerous places. Kate and I want to thank you again for the fresh mangos and warm greeting, you made us feel at home from the very beginning. You will definitely see us again. We will be referring you to all our friends.
Thank you for everything,
Hollis and Kate

Helpful votes: 19 / 84

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review