reviews for: listing #14353 - Kissimmee, Florida House rental

Luxury Rental Home with Private Pool Near Disney
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Lakes
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $105 - $145 /nt
    $665 - $945 /wk
    $2,100 - $3,220 /mth

sort by:

Amazing experience!

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

I was skeptical about the house while reading the previous review but after arriving at the house I was very impressed. The house was very clean and tidy, and my friends and I had an amazing time. We all loved the lake view while hanging out around the pool. Extremely peaceful and a great get away. Amazing location right in the middle of pretty much anything you would want to do in Orlando and only an hour or so away from the nearest beach. I would strongly recommend this house, we all had a blast. I think the signs posted up around the house, pool etc.. although complained about, are necessary for safety purposes (ex: No diving, pool is only 6-7 feet deep so it could be a liability issue). The only issue we came about is a ripped screen around the pool which was promptly repaired after we told the manager.

All in all this was a great place to rent for a getaway. It is in an amazing location and the property has amazing features (Lake view, gated community, relaxing pool area, etc...) and is kept very neat and tidy. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing experience!

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

I was skeptical about the house while reading the previous review but after arriving at the house I was very impressed. The house was very clean and tidy, and my friends and I had an amazing time. We all loved the lake view while hanging out around the pool. Extremely peaceful and a great get away. Amazing location right in the middle of pretty much anything you would want to do in Orlando and only an hour or so away from the nearest beach. I would strongly recommend this house, we all had a blast. I think the signs posted up around the house, pool etc.. although complained about, are necessary for safety purposes (ex: No diving, pool is only 6-7 feet deep so it could be a liability issue). The only issue we came about is a ripped screen around the pool which was promptly repaired after we told the manager.

All in all this was a great place to rent for a getaway. It is in an amazing location and the property has amazing features (Lake view, gated community, relaxing pool area, etc...) and is kept very neat and tidy. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not Quite So Luxury

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Permanent rental neighbor on one side and another rental on the other side. Permanent rental neighbors property is very unkept, they're pool was green and if you have a pet they're dog barks constantly. This owners house lacks for landscape maintenance in a big way, its not much better than the neighbors. The house itself isn't terrible but sure needs some routine maintenance & repairs. There were at least a half dozen lightbulbs out inside and out, including front porch security light.

I could smell sewer gases from both toilets, my guess is the wax seals need replacing. Kitchen-ware & small appliances are dated. The window blinds fall apart at the touch, the maintenance person had to come and make a duct tape type repair. The front door has three deadbolts, makes one question the overall security of the neighborhood. The sliding doors have very flimsy latch locks.

There are tacky laminated signs posted everywhere with rules, I might suggest a nice guest book with all of that info instead of signs hanging everywhere.

As far as being a gated community, on several occasions as soon as you open the gate anyone behind you drives right in. Gated does not mean secure! The streetlight in front of the house was broken so very dark outside around your vehicle. I specifically told this owner I did not want to be in a community that was predominately rentals, she stated to me this community was 60% permanent residents, not so, maybe 20% permanent, it's a very transient community.

Because this is mostly a rental community the upkeep of the neighborhood in general really lacks however, there are several very well kept homes, those might well be described as luxury. We did not have any problems but felt a bit mis-lead by the luxury description of the property. On a positive note, the house was clean and is pet friendly and the maintenance man was quick to respond.

Will do our homework a little better next time! I hedged for a few weeks whether or not to write this review but decided the owners need to be responsible and either tidy the place up or update they're property description. Again, not a bad place to stay just described as more than it is.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: We strongly encourage any potential guest to review the pictorial information included on the Vacation Rentals site. If sitting in a tropical climate, by a private pool, overlooking a tranquil lake/pond and conservation land isn't your idea of "luxury" then we apologize : )

The information provided is intended to represent the home and community fairly and accurately. Thankfully, our previous guest reviewers - published or unpublished - clearly have had different experience than this one, and we are deeply saddened that this isn't the same for every guest. We invest heavily to make it so, and we take these instances very personally . We tell every guest, "if you find anything unsatisfactory, bring it to the attention of our local representatives" and they are empowered to do what is necessary to address those concerns. If not our number is provided.

We are not situated close to our property and when any guest shares any dissatisfaction/feedback (preferably when we can act on the spot) we immediately take action. We did so in this case and all highlighted maintenance concerns were scheduled to be taken care of ASAP. New blinds are scheduled to be fitted throughout the home by March. We have also changed our landscaping company as a direct result of the feedback given. Lastly, action has also been taken regarding our neighboring property owner. (We didn't even know they had a dog!)

We can only speak from our personal experiences; and we chose this home in 2002, strongly influenced by the feel and the degree of permanent occupancy of the Sunset Lakes neighborhood. During our many stays over the years we have never experienced any sense, or actual, of lack of security - quite the opposite. The community association has active recorded monitoring of all movement in and out of community and have the security of all residents and their comfort top of mind. They all own homes, or live there themselves . The 3 deadbolts were on the home when we took ownership and we never understood why! I will have 2 of them removed ...for peace of mind : ) (Joking)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Looking for a GREAT Get-Away?

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Our family of four had a fabulous time at Doreen and Bill's home. It was tastefully decorated, had numerous amenities and extras including the screened-in lanai and pool were very accomodating. Gas grill did not have propane when we came but we felt to fill it would not have been worth it for two meals we had there. But that was ok.

Don't worry about not having kitchen accessories. Fully stocked silverware, plates, coffee maker, glasses, etc.

Having an iron and ironing board helped alot.

Beds were great, having a master bathroom and the other bathroom helped us start our day in excellent time.

Centrally located, driving to Disney was 15 minutes, Universal Studios 30-45 minutes. Many places were also located close (grocery stores, restaurants, etc.)

Premises were ultra-clean and very presentable. We wanted to move in!

Lots of room to roam and the neighborhood is very quiet. Sand Cranes were neat to look at from the lanai with early morning coffee.

We do look forward to visiting again.

Doreen and Bill....THANKS!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

our vacation in florida

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

We went down with my 8 yr. old grandaughter could't get her out of the pool thurs. close to the parks. gated community so was nice and quite at night.plenty of towels olso nice and clean inside & out.Had a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Martin Disney Vacation

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Hi to all,
We have a wonderful time on our Vacation. We loved the house and my Granddaughter had so much fun in the pool. The house was clean and comfortable. We even watched a few of the Movies that were supplied. Thank you for making our Vacation so enjoyable. We will do this again for sure. We felt so at home!!!! Convenient to Disney World and Shopping and Restaurants. Thanks again!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Going to the parks and all the attractions nearby was a must, but coming back to relax at this beautiful home was a reward. We loved the location and the atmosphere around the gated community.
Thank you for the good times.
The Carvajal family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful, Clean and in perfect location for theme

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

We loved your home, and the relaxing lake view by the pool was amazing! It was nice to come back to a home and not a room! The gated community is definitely a plus, it made us feel very safe and secure especially during our evening walks around the community. Thanks again, we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We know there are many homes to choose from, but as they say, "location, location, location" is the key.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Your home is very well located, just off the beaten path and yet so well centrally located. The house was everything you promised, thank you. We thoroughly enjoyed the heated pool and our daily walks around the neighborhood. We also enjoyed the theme parks, fantastic restaurants, Cape Canaveral, horseback riding and the Daytona 500. Thanks again for a wonderful vacation. Todd and family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great stay

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Thanks for the use of your home. My husband said next time we will just stay a week. House is in a great location and we had a great time . Would recommend
this house and location to anyone with or without kids made it very easy to get
anywhere and very nice location to sit back and enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanks until next time

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

We hereby inform you that we have enjoyed our stay at your home very much,
our vacation in Kissimmee was very relaxing and the view was nice.
Thanks and until the next time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This will not be the last time you hear from us!

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Just wanted to let you know we really enjoyed our stay at your home. It was very comfortable and peaceful. I'm sure this will not be the last time you hear from us.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest at Sunset Lakes

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

Just want to say thank you for the use of your Florida home. We had a wonderful relaxing time even though the weather wasn't as warm as we had planned.
We loved the Community and all the wildlife. It was very quiet, yet so close to everything. We felt very much at home.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review