reviews for: listing #14479 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

A Real Log Cabin - Romantic , Private & Super Nice
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Goose Creek
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $119 - $149 /nt
    $799 - $949 /wk
    $2,499 - $2,499 /mth

sort by:

my exsperience

Review submitted: July 30, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We were on our honeymoon. We love the cabin and location! we had a great time. It started storming which made it rough to sleep b/c of the tin roof. but we had a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time. We will come back!

Than you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Needs Work

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We arrived shortly after 4 PM. First and foremost. If you think that this cabin has its own Private Pond like I did, it does not. there is not really much anything private about it and there were no paddle boats. As we arrived inside I wanted to check things out. The downstairs fire came right on but the upstairs one did not. I tried calling Fred several times, several different ways and could not reach him so I called the next number and spoke with Vicki. I told Vicki about the Fireplace upstairs and she said she would call me back in an hour, well about three hours later I got a return call and she told me to call her back Sunday evening and also that it would probably be Monday before someone could come look at it. ( Um, I'm sorry I rented this cabin and expect things to work and you should send someone over now). It was raining the day we came in so my wife and I decided just to stay around the cabin and play pool. There is only one pool stick that actually works. While we were playing pool we noticed water running down the inside walls of the pool room. We then began to notice all of the water stains all over the walls.
Sunday was our Anniversary and we went sight seeing and wanted to come back and enjoy the hot tub. Only one jet in the hot tub works and come to find out the hot tub it self must not be kept clean because I got a rash from it. We looked it up on internet and found the reasoning that hot tub rash is cause by un clean water. Then we heard something in the wall behind the fireplace downstairs. It sounded like a mouse. We noticed that the shower downstairs has mold and mildew on the shower curtain.
I just feel if you are going to have property that you rent out, it should be in top notch shape.

Owners response: We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We strive to provide the most accurate listing as possible and do not mention that the pond is private, or that a paddle boat would be available on any of the listing websites. It is available on occasion, but it is a shared boat within the other nearby homes. We checked with the homeowner and he did not have any calls from you during your stay, but he regrets not being able to help you!

The housekeeper has been working for the property for over a decade, and we've never heard any negative feedback regarding her or her responsiveness. The hot tub water gets emptied and refilled after each guest, so we are unsure how a rash occurred, but apologize for the trouble! It was also professionally serviced two months ago and the jets were in working order at that time.

A pest removal company came in after the stay and did not find any mice in the home, but did mention that flying squirrels who are native to the area may have been the cause of the noise. They are often found running on roofs or in chimney's in the area. We're sorry they startled you!

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and have refunded you the cleaning fee for the issues you encountered, and due to the discount that you received, you also ended up with a free night. We are sorry you did not enjoy this romantic cabin but wish you the best of luck in your future travels.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT PLACE

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

This place was prefect for a romantic getaway. There were a few issues but nothing so bad that I wouldn't stay here again. We had an issue getting the fireplace to turn on so we called and they sent someone right over to fix it. The bathroom downstairs didn't properly flush, but there was a bathroom in our room to use. I, also, informed the owner and it will be fixed. The hot tub was so nice and bed was extremely comfortable. There was also a little fire place beside the bed that was so romantic to have on at night. The view off the bedroom was incredible. The road to the cabin was a little hard to find at night, but very easy once you've been there. It's very close to Pigeon Forge and a grocery store is right down the road. I will definitely be renting this place again. By far the best place I've stayed in all my romantic getaways with my husband.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for providing the valuable feedback as we will follow up with the proper person to make sure the smaller issues will be addressed for future travelers. Please come back and visit again! Cheers!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice but not great

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Cleaning was late, so we checked in late and they let us stay later on checkout day. The fireplace was not working, the one toilet flusher handle was broken in one bath, and the toilet flusher would stick in the other bath, so please provide some basic maintenance before renting this out again. The area is quiet and peaceful, yet close enough to everything. The cabin was cleaned well and had everything we needed to enjoy the long weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We apologize for the inconvenience during the check in process but it sounds like an agreeable solution was found. Thank you for the updates on the maintenance issues and we'll be sure to notify the proper person and have it resolved for future travelers. Thanks for the review!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mountain Rose Review

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

I was very disappointed when we arrived. We were a little early for the 3:00 check in but we wanted to locate the cabin before we went town and started any activities and wanted to be familiar with the area. The cabin location was convenient and easy to find. The cabin was unlocked and we went in to find the cabin had not been cleaned and looked as though it had been closed up. The odor was unbearable with a musty smell. We contacted Evolve and there was no reimbursement but they contacted the cleaning company to have them come clean. We left for a while and came back after what was the check in time. Housekeeping had made the bed and possibly cleaned the bathrooms, but the upstairs tub was not thoroughly cleaned. The cabin needed to be aired out and needs a refresh. There wasn't any compromise with Evolve and I had wanted to cancel with some reimbursement. They refused any accommodation so we decided to make the best of a bad situation. We bought scented candles that help with immediate odor.
Below is a list of what I believe needs immediate attention from the owner.
1. Thoroughly clean, pay close attention to the dust and cobwebs
2. Level the porch swing. 2 people could not comfortable swing
3. Buy a new bedframe that supports the tempurpedic mattress- the mattress was a luxury but the bed frame causes the bed to squeak even when you sit down on it much less trying to sleep
4. Make a note concerning the downstairs shower with the reverse of the hot water. Lesson from experience the note you had was found after a bad shower
5. Upgrade the TV. I prefer not to watch TV on vacation but with the bad weather I had a bored husband
This was supposed to be a special anniversary weekend that was damped by the cabin and rental experience. I believe for what was paid we should have had some recourse when the cabin was not what was expected. Because of this experience I will never rent a cabin without a guaranty. I love the quite of the cabin but my next vacation I will look forward to a hotel experience

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

In Love with Mountain Rose

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Rose. this was our first Vacation in the mountains and we have feel in love with them. This cabin was everything that was described. I would truley recommend this cabin to anyone because it is secluded and very peaceful, there is nothing better than sitting on the porch swing looking at the mountains and breathing the nature.me and my Husband have been married for 22 years and we have decided that this is the best vacation ever, we are so relaxed and stress free. we really really enjoyed Cades Cove so much we are going back through there on our way home. Thank You so much for the wonderful stay and we will be returning for sure without a doubt. We are already talking about coming back when the leaves have changed. We are truley in love with the NATURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great trip, and we would truly love to have you back anytime. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Cabin in the Smokeys...in need of a few things, but very good overall!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We stayed a week in the cabin in July 2012. We found the cabin very easily and we were quite pleased when we arrived. It was just my wife and I for the entire time and we wanted something cozy and nestled in the mountains. We found it with this cabin. It was our home-away-from-home while we were visiting the area and it was located very conveniently to Gatlinburg, the State Park and multiple other attractions. In general, the cabin was very clean. We did notice that inside, way up amongst the beams in the very high ceiling, there were some pretty big spider webs with those white egg sacks that obviously contained a bunch of unwanted visitors. We did see many spiders (we would expect some); but would have liked for this to be cleaned so as to cut down on them. The only other negative was the bed. Yes, it is a tempur pedic mattress; but perhaps the frame or the mattress itself was bad in the middle, as we felt like we were sleeping in a bowl. The middle was quite a bit lower than the edges and of course a bed needs to be flat. Every night we couldn't get really comfortable, as we felt like we were continuosly rolling downward towards each other towards the center of the bed. A simple upgrade or a fix to the frame should remedy this issue. Outside of that, this was a really nice cabin and we would love to return again. David and Kristin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the cabin and had a nice getaway with your wife. We would love to have you back anytime! Cheers, The Evolve Team

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun in the Smokies

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

The cabin we stayed at was great, nice view very well maintained. If there were any problem at all, it would have been the lack of signage to get to this particular cabin. Other than that it was great and our boys are already talking about going back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the feedback, Michael! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the cabin, and can't wait to have you back again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

My husband and I took a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cabin. Upon arrival, the batteries appeared to be dead in the front door lock, not allowing us to enter, but a quick call to the owners took care of this problem. The jacuzzi bathtub upstairs is small for 2 people but the hot tub on the deck more then made up for it. We loved the screened in deck and hot tub, porch swing and the pool table. Great location as it was close to attractions but yet secluded. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 16, 2008   Date of arrival: October 16, 2008

Hi Lisa, I wanted to let you know how much George and I enjoyed our stay at your log cabin. The cabin was absolutely wonderful. It was extremely cozy, had wonderful views, and was the perfect way for us to celebrate our anniversary. We had absolutely everything that we needed! What amazed us was that the cabin was better than what we expected from the pictures (usually it’s the other way around), and for once, I didn’t have to clean the place after arriving. We really enjoyed ourselves and are looking at returning for the same time (maybe longer) next year). Thank you! Christine Boise

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 25, 2008

Thank you so much for the use of the cabin. We didn't want to leave. The moment we opened the door we felt at home. Our Pastor did come and renew our vows in front of the fireplace with the words "God bless our home" painted on the mantle. We feel so blessed and want to thank you again. We would love to come back every year if possible. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home and making it a special part of our memories.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 25, 2008

I just wanted to send a belated THANK YOU for a wonderful stay at your cabin. Everything was so clean and comfortable and we immediately settled in and felt right at home. We were especially happy to have our four-legged-baby, Samson with us. That made the trip! Also, thank you for having the fire place ready for us! It was something we had been looking forward to enjoying on the trip. You have a lovely spot and we hope to be able to visit it again sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Thanks so much for letting us rent the Mountain Rose. It is great. Wish we could stay longer. The cabin is furnished beautiful. We really have enjoyed our stay and hope to come again.
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2005   Date of arrival: March 20, 2005

We had a great time! We came to get away and relax and this was everything we could hope for. We wish we could stay longer and we both agree that we will be returning! If you get a chance, go hike in the Smokies. It was beautiful and a great workout. We saw two wild turkeys!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2005   Date of arrival: March 17, 2005

We found the cabin on the internet and thought it was too good to be true and once we got here were very impressed! It was much nicer than we imagined. We drove all the way from Indiana. We are used to sand dunes and beaches but to see all this beautiful scenery was great! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 10, 2005   Date of arrival: March 10, 2005

After months of slaving away at college in the big, noisy, polluted city, we really needed a break, and this cabin was everything we were hoping for. This is what life is all about - candlelight dinners, a hot tub, beautiful scenery, peace and silence. I wish we could have this place back home..it is wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 1, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

WOW...when I came to the door and a rose was on the door step and I walked in and rose petals and long stem roses led the way to the bedroom along with a "Romantic Spa Basket"....what a way to celebrate our 25th Anniversary!!! We also had a "Candle-Light Dinner & Breakfast Basket" and a "Sweetheart Picnic Basket"!!! This has been great! It is GREAT to know after 25 years my husband still takes care of me.
May God Bless Everyone who came here with the baskets and bless the owners.

P.S. Men I suggest you do the "Romantic Basket/s" for your wife.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2004   Date of arrival: November 14, 2004

Thank you for letting us stay in the "Mountain Rose" cabin. It was an awesome experience! We came here for a vacation to "destress" (first vacation in years) and celebrate our 25th Anniversary - we accomplished both! We renewed our wedding vows at Laurel Falls, drove through Cades Cove and drove the scenic drive behind Park Vista. We enjoyed playing pool and relaxing in the jacuzzi's (both inside & out)and the fireplace was very relaxing. Since this was a romantic getaway, we found the cabin very accomadating. We went site seeing during the day and cooked our meals at night in the cabin. It was perfect! All in all, this was a fantastic stay and a great vacation value! Thanks again.
P.S. We will be back and will tell others about your cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 11, 2004   Date of arrival: November 11, 2004

We have thoroughly enjoyed our second visit to your cabin. We were here last year and fell in love with it! Beautiful setting, secluded & romantic, the perfect spot for any couple to enjoy! We plan to visit every year!

We found you on the internet last year and we are hooked..no need to look any further.

Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2004   Date of arrival: October 8, 2004

First time coming to Pigeon Forge and we really enjoyed the peacefulness. We came to celebrate our 13th Anniversary and could not have asked for a better place to stay!
We heard from a co-worker about the cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

We had a great time here, it was sooooo peaceful. We are planning to come back to your beautiful cabin. This is like a dream getaway! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2004   Date of arrival: August 20, 2004

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary in your lovely cabin surrounded by these beautiful mountains. The Smoky Mountains have been our favorite getaway destinations since our children were little, but we have always camped while here, usually in Cades Cove. That is a place that everyone should visit. We've enjoyed your cabin, which is beautifully decorated. We loved the porch swing and the peaceful solitude. All the extras like the CD player, VCR, pool table & jacuzzi made it a fun, relaxing stay.

Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 1, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

We are celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary today and it has been the most wonderful time my husband and I have had in a long time - kinda wish we could stay longer, but back to the workplace!

Thanks again for sharing your cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2004   Date of arrival: June 27, 2004

Had a wonderful stay! Wish it could have been longer. It was honestly the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. The hot tub was great!!!!

Thanks a million!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2004   Date of arrival: May 22, 2004

Thanks for sharing your cabin. We came down for a weekend getaway and found just what we were looking for here, peace and quiet! With 3 teenagers we don't often find the time or money to get away, but we will be back!

I would like to suggest you add some movies for the cabin, and once you get here you wouldn't have to leave. My husband loved the cabin and was very happy that I didn't want to go shopping at any of the malls! Ha! Thanks again and may God Bless You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2004   Date of arrival: May 6, 2004

This cabin is so beautiful! We love it here! We are on our honeymoon, just got married today and came here right after our wedding from Louisiana! Our stay here has been so wonderful, we could not have asked for a better honeymoon cabin. It has been a dream come true. We will definatly be returning! It is so peaceful..we are going to recommend this cabin to our family and friends. We loved the hot tub as well as the jacuzzi bath tub in the bedroom..very romantic!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 20, 2004   Date of arrival: February 20, 2004

We are so glad we were able to stay in the Mountain Rose. The cabin is very beautiful! Had a great time and will make it a point to come back. We came from Otterbein, IN. to get married. We had a wonderful Minister Rev. Feagan (865) 654-0036 who came to the cabin to marry us in front of the fireplace! It was peaceful and could not have been better. We really enjoyed the pool table and hot tub. Your cabin is a place where we could live and the view is beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2004   Date of arrival: February 6, 2004

We came down for a long weekend for a simple change in scenery and ended up experiencing one of the best weekends of our life! First of all your cabin is the PERFECT cabin for ROMANCE and COZYNESS! The snow that came through blanketed the smokies, making for unforgettable memories. The scenery through the Smokies was unbelievable! We can't wait to come back next winter!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review