reviews for: listing #14483 - Moosehead Lake, Maine Cabin rental

Loon's Nest Waterfront Log Cabin w/internet & cell services
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Moose River
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $155 - $235 /nt
    $980 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Loon's Nest

Review submitted: September 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

My friend & I stayed at Loon's Nest in September (a perfect time of year). The house was wonderful with all the amenities you would ever need. I would recommend this home to anyone! It was so convenient having a dock since we brought our boat (which we could launch at the nearby marina). The location was terrific - private, not far from Greenville, restaurants, shopping, etc. We plan on returning to Loon's Nest!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We hope that you will be our guest again!
Lisa

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic for snowmobiling the Moosehead Region!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Loon's Nest log cabin provides a perfect location for snowmobiling. The cabin is nicely equipped and slept eight of us with ease. There is a gas station with convenient store just across the river making is easy to gas up the sleds and fulfill daily food needs. Beds and furniture are comfortable and the kitchen has everything you need to cook meals in the cabin. There is also ample parking for several trucks and trailers. The hosts are gracious and accommodating. Thank you...We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Week in Maine

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

What a pleasant time we had at Loon's Nest. Everything was better than we hoped. The house was wonderful, very clean, peaceful, - Just what the we needed. Mornings spent on deck, drinking coffee and watching the birds. Then off to explore the local areas, lunch out and then back to the deck for drinks and reading. We didn't even turn on TV. The local people were very friendly, the weather perfect. If you are looking for "Peace and Quiet" you should give Loon's Nest a try.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Amazing house, relaxing & beautiful!!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This house is as beautiful as the pictures, very well kept. A relaxing retreat away from all of your worries! But also has the comforts that we all have come accustom to.... Tv, Internet & cell service! This was a true vacation, relaxing and stress free!
There were 5 of us & we had plenty of room.... Could have had a few more guests easily! We brought our boat, the dock was very nice & putting in & out was a breeze! The marina around the corner lets you put in for free... The store across the river does too! Great swimming, boating & tubing on the lake. Jumping off the bridge was a hit with the kids... Even our 8 year old daughter loved it!! Nice biking in the area too.... We all had our bikes & enjoyed the dirt roads in the area.
The 20 minute drive to Greenville was not too bad, we drove into town a couple of times to do some shopping. It is a cute town, small shops, a couple of good restaurants, and groceries.
So happy to have found this house for our Maine vacation!
The owners called & checked on us, really felt like they wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They have done a great job making sure you have everything you will need.... Really, just bring food & clothes!!! They have thought of everything else!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation site

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Excellent vacation destination - accommodations were outstanding - we enoyed access to the lake - all the wildlife and the peace and quiet - great vacation - many thanks to the owners for sharing their property

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ice Fishing Crew

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Everyting as described. Plenty of space inside and out. Large parking area for our two snowmobile trailers (5 place and 2 place). The wrap around deck is the place where I would entertain all summer long! Clean and very well maintained. The description of the property had our hopes up, and we were not dissapointed. The close proximity to the lake was a must. 30 seconds on snowmobile and we were on the ice fishing. Easy access to the all the trails from the diveway. This was our first time here but hoping it will not be the last. The owners take pride in thier home and it shows. My hats off to them for making our experience a great one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am so glad you enjoyed the place. We are more than happy to have you as our guests again at any time.
Lisa and Charlie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Still Awesome

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

This was our second time staying at "The Loon's Nest". We stayed here 7 years ago and had been talking about going back ever since. The house is still terrific, a real home away from home. Every amenity is included and it is as clean and tidy as it was the last time we were there. The entire area is a place everyone should visit. Moosehead Lake is beautiful from every angle. Lily Bay State Park was quiet and peaceful. We even took a guided moose safari by van and canoe. We saw several moose, not a big deal to those in the area, but to Pennsylvanian's they are amazing creatures. We highly recommend this wonderful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week at Loon's Nest cabin!!

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

My family enjoyed our stay at this beautiful log home and even though there were 6 of us, we were all comfortable. The house is very nice with plenty of room and a great porch! Kitchen has everything you need and a pleasure to use. We enjoyed hiking over at Mt. Kineo and renting a jet ski was the highlight for my older teen boys. They even did the traditional jump off the bridge! The roads from the nearest town, Greenville, were being paved, so they were difficult to travel and we had to stop frequently due to the work being done. There was a mix-up with the sheets that were left on the beds to use, and double sheets were mixed with twin sheets, which made for a frustrating arrival for me to get the beds all made for everyone. But those were the only gliches, in an otherwise, well worth-it trip to a great home! We had a lot of garbage piling up and the cans had been gotten into by animals, but we made one phone call, and they were there to pick it up right away! Weather was great with one real rainy day; we enjoyed playing a board game together that evening. Plenty to do on the lake or off if you are looking for simple pleasures. We were glad to have brought 2 bikes, and they were well used. Loved Maine, loved Loon's Nest! It was clean, cozy and comfortable for all! Thanks so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Time at Loon's Nest Cabin

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

My Wife an I enjoyed three nights on our Honeymoon at Loons Nest.......it is a great area, and the property was simply perfect.....it had everything you would want for a nice vacation........it is quiet, and the inside is spacious. I highly recommend this rental to anyone who loves the country, and a fantastic lake. The owners are friendly and communicative, as well. Trisha and Peter J Whiteside

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Betst Place On Moosehead

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

The Loons Nest was wonderful for me and my five brothers who get together once a year for Bird Hunting. We have been doing it for years and have stayed in many places but nothing compares to the nest. We will definitely return. Very clean,
plenty of room all the comforts of home and then some. Would recommend to anyone for any time of year. This place has it all. Can't wait until next year!
Thak you Charlie and Lisa for sharing your beautiful home with us.

The Garneau's

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

August 2011

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Loved, loved, loved this cabin! Especially the gigantic kitchen that was fully stocked to cook in on rainy days! The lake was great and easily accessible to boot! Our whole family adored the Loon's Nest. Would definitely rent again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loon's Nest is Just Right

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We were looking for a place on the water that would also provide a good base of operations for other activities in the area. Loon's Nest was exactly what we were looking for! It was exactly as advertised and everything was clean and ready to go when we arrived. The new steps and ramp access to the dock were great and we spent many hours on the river, lake, and dock enjoying the water. We were able to bring our own canoe / kayaks from home and leave them on the dock. Hiking Mt. Kineo and Gulf Hagas, whitewater rafting on the Kennebec, spotting bald eagles on Moosehead Lake, lots of swimming in the river, fishing off the dock, and building a campfire one night using the firewood supplied on the property were just a few of the highlights of our vacation at Loon's Nest. We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a great Maine getaway adventure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous home, relaxing, peaceful

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Loon's Nest. The house is situated beautifully on the lake.Charlie called to make sure there was wood for the fire pit and that the deck furniture was put out.
Great kitchen, plenty of room. One night we experienced a light show put on by zillions of fireflies !!!!!! amazing sight.
We drove to see the B-52 crash site on Elephant Mountain. Very moving and somber.
Shopped at Indian Hill Plaza in Greenville and at the shop across from the house for groceries. Fun to see the sea planes take off and land near the house. The gift shoppes in Greenville were great and had a nice selection of Maine gifts. We saw 3 moose on the drive to and from Jackman.
Already making plans to return!!!!
As always, we found the people of Maine wonderful and helpful.
Thanks to Lisa and Charlie for maintaining such a great place!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your vacation. We like to think of the cabin as a place we will retire to someday and try to spend as much time up there as we can. Of course it is never enough. The next best thing to being there is to hear about how others enjoy the place and hear their adventures. We would love to have you visit our home again.
Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall Grouse Hunt

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Seven of my friends spent seven days at Loons Nest Grouse hunting this October. We found the cabin to be well equipped, extremely well kept and "as advertised"

If you are looking for a Maine experience fishing is right on the Moose River with an excellent dock for your boat. If you want Hunting you are within 20 minutes to many logging roads or just wonder around the Rockwood area and have a very restful week escaping from the outside world.

I would recommend the Loons Nest without hesitation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Loon's Nest! We were looking for a cabin that felt secluded, but was still easily accessible and that is what we found. Loon's Nest is very clean and comfortable. My husband is a cancer patient and it was very important that he have comfortable seating and bedding. Loon's nest provided both and more. I was very impressed with how well maintained it is and how well supplied it is with cooking and eating utensils.

The cabin is beautiful and thoughtfully sited on the lot to catch the morning sun in all of its glory. We were even able to use our spotting scope to view a full moon in the warmth and comfort of the living room! We grilled our dinner each evening on the outdoor grill and enjoyed a relaxing walk through the "neighborhood" on our last evening.

The Moosehead Lake area speaks for itself with all of the activities available. Lily Bay State Park was our favorite. We also found the Air Force Bomber wreckage site on Elephant Mountain and enjoyed shopping in Greenville.

We appreciate so much the opportunity to stay at Loon's Nest and highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

'The Great Outdoors' Experience

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

This property was really well equipped with everything you could ever need. It is in a lovely setting and we had a wonderful few days - we only wished it were longer. Everyone enjoyed themselves from grandparents to grandchildren. We saw lots of wildlife but unfortunately only one moose. The weather was changeable but it didn't affect our enjoyment. Lily State Park, just ten minutes from Greenville was well worth a visit. We all agreed we would like to return in the future - the grandchildren especially would like to visit in the winter but the British grandparents are definitely not sure about the low temperatures!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As this is our second home, we try to get up there as much as possible. Of course, it is not as often as I would like. We so enjoy reading the comments of our guests. I am glad that you had a good time and that you had everything you needed.
Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 24, 2010

Charlie and Lisa provided a wonderful opportunity for us to enjoy snowmobiling in the Rockwood/Greenville area while using their immaculate log home on the banks of the Moose River as our base. Access to the trails was easy; the regular deer visits were looked forward to, and the chance to relax at the end of the day with friends while cooking meals in the open kitchen was a daily highlight. The home is perfectly set up for short-term stays and more than comfortable. As we neared the end of our one-week stay, I was feeling more "at home" than I do at home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay in Loon's Nest the last week of Sept. and had an AWESOME experience! The cabin was/is way above all our expectations. The pellet stove added a new dimension which was very warm and comforting on the cool fall evenings. We saw various wildlife including many moose, which made my wife extremely happy. The cabin is remote enough so you have plenty of space yet close enough to all amenities at the same time. We look forward to visiting again in the very near future. Thanks Lisa & Charlie.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 24, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying at this beautiful vacation home! The hosts are very accomodating and helpful. Everything is just as nice as it looks in the photos, if not better! This is probably the best equipped rental we have every stayed in, it is well stocked with everything could want or need and more!
The kids had fun fishing off the dock, as well as paddling up and down the river on the canoe we rented from a nearby lodge.
At night we built a fire outside and roasted marshmallows. A very pleasant, relaxing get-a-way. And yes, we did see a moose one evening!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

New Year Welcome

Review submitted: February 10, 2009   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

We rented this fabulous place for a get away to end the old and start the new. The main purpose for our stay was to snowmobile. This place has more than you would expect. The location was great for us. The place is very comfortable and the furnishings are amazing. The owners have done a wonderful job and it was a pleaure dealing with them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

WOW! What an absolutely gorgeous home and property. We stayed for 1 week in September and were absolutely overwhelmed, and the owners were wonderful calling to ensure everything was satisfactory. Satisfactory is an understatement. I spent one entire day sitting on the deck reading, while the other 3 in the party went to look for moose. What a relaxing day I had! We're all ready to head back - when you want to get away from it all, THIS is where you need to be.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

deer season 2008

Review submitted: November 23, 2008   Date of arrival: November 14, 2008

This year is my fifth year staying at Loons nest with my uncle Bill, family, and friends, and as usual this place is beautiful!! Tend to relax the second I walk threw the front door. The cabin has suited us perfectly for five years now during our family hunting trip and looking forward to the 2009 stay already and just got in town today!! Thank you so much for allowing our family to come together in your beautiful home, Kevin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Summer Bliss

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 17, 2008

Great home...this is not a cottage! Everything was so nice, clean and well taken care of. The decor is superb. We loved the open kitchen, DR and LR and spent all of our time either there or on the deck. It is close to most anything you might want to do including a ride up to Quebec! We rented a pontoon party boat from the Grey Ghost, just up the river and spent a wonderful day out on the lake. We also enjoyed paddling across the river anytime we needed anything...like one nite I had my husband paddle over for Parmesan cheese to have with our spaghetti dinner (and didn't get one single complaint about a trip to the store)! We also went over to the country store for breakfast one morning - excellent. We enjoyed the fire pit and the great view of the stars at nite...no light pollution up there! I hope we will have another opportunity to spend more time up there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

August Escape

Review submitted: August 30, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

This was our first vacation with our late teen and early 20's children & their significant others. We came in mid August and had a pretty rainy week. It was nice to have so much room for the 6 of us to spread out and watch movies, play board games and read without being on top of each other. Loon's nest is wonderful set up with access to water sports and hiking trails.nearby. We took the ferry over to hike Kineo, white water rafted down the Kennebeck in the rain and had a blast! and drove to town to shop & eat. We all got to see a moose or two, they are so amazing. Fished and swam off the dock and fed the ducks. The current is a bit tricky with our kayaks but it didn't stop us. Kitchen has great set up with all conveniences of home. Will want to bring bikes next time and maybe stay 2 weeks!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

What a wonderful time we had at the cabin. This is more then a rental;it is a home! Even all the decor of a home included! Gorgeous view! This is the perfect spot for the outdoors person for all seasons...boating, fishing, snow mobile, hiking and atv trails, as well as skiing. All the comforts of home, but yet peaceful, private, and relaxing! Our 1 child(who has special needs) really enjoyed the porch swing overlooking the lake. The 2 younger ones enjoyed feeding the ducks and fishing from the dock on site. They also enjoyed the yard for some ball and frisbee. A well stocked kitchen of pots/pans,plus plenty of dishes, for all of our family meals was a treat. Even had a slow cooker. Also a gas grill and a fire pit for marshmellows or weiners. Would suggest those traveling, to stop in Greenville at the Stop n Save at Indian Hill on the main drag for needed groceries on the way. We found everything we needed/wanted in there and it was the best grocery store in the area. We had all of our meals at the home cause of our special needs child doesn't always do well eating out. Would recommend this home for anyone and everyone. There was only a couple of steps into house so we had no problem getting our dtr and her w/c in. Thanks Lisa and Charlie for the memories!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our second time at the Loon's Nest

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 15, 2008

Four years ago we stayed at the Loon's Nest and once again we had a wonderful time. The cabin is just far enough out that it is quiet and relaxing by the river. The moose were everywhere, we saw 20 of them. We hiked on several days and spent the nights doing puzzles and playing cards. It rained daily; we hiked in the rain and had a great time. It was so nice to get away and just relax, we grilled out side and even had a small fire to make s'mores. The Loon's Nest is beautifully decorated and a great place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Lisa,
I just wanted to thank you so much for the rental of your great cabin! We all had such an awesome time, it was so relaxing and peaceful! It was nice to just disconnect.. no cell phone service, no emails, work was forgotten.. it was great! I loved the photo album of pictures of your cabin being built.. I can relate to that! I am re-constructing a house in Portland, CT right now from the studs up so I understand all the work you went through building, you did an absolutely wonderful job building your cabin, it is beautiful, and all your details and decorations really make it feel so comfortable and homely to be in.
Thank you for leaving the books and movies, we watched one of the movies when it rained one afternoon, that was so considerate of you to think to do that! We also spent Friday night playing Monopoly, I haven't played that since I was a kid!
As I told Charlie when he called to make sure we got in ok, we saw two fox in the yard when we pulled up!! It was great! (I put a picture of one of them on this email we took as it was running away) We also saw about a dozen moose! I sent you the attached picture of the moose, look at it sticking its tongue out at me while I take the picture! We went out every day for a couple hours watching them.
The general store across the river was absolutely wonderful, the owners were so friendly to talk to about the area and talk about convenience to your cabin! One night we ordered pizza for dinner and just paddled across the river in our canoe to pick it up! It was so neat!! Another night we ate a salmon we caught in the river! There was no brush to clean the grill with that we could find, so we bought one and it is in one of the drawers in the kitchen. (We washed it and left it there for you, in case you ever wonder where it came from!)
We all decided that we are going to come up to Moosehead Lake once a year for a long weekend vacation we loved it so much! I understand why you built a house up there completely! It's absolutely georgious.
When do the black flies start getting bad? They didn't seem too too bad, the mosquitos were the real killers, I still have a lot of bites all over!
Thanks again, I am already looking so forward to returning to Moosehead Lake next year!!
Caroline

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 31, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

LOVED this place! Everything was perfect and the place is huge. Went here for a guys weekend and the fishing was perfect. Even caught a salmon fly fishing. Also, Charlie (the owner) gave us a call and seemed like a very nice guy. Great owners/Great place what else do you need? Thanks for a great weekend.

-Cory

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hated to Leave!!!

Review submitted: March 28, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We just got home from spending 6 nights @ the cabin and we hated to leave! The snow was absolutely beautiful, the local people were above and beyond friendly, everything we needed (and then some!) was included. Charlie & Lisa were great - they went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Charlie called our first night to check on us and twice more during the week. When we got snowed in our first night, Charlie was quick to get the plow out to clear the driveway.
We had our 15 yr. old and 5 yr. old daughters with us and they felt right at home! The view was beyond beautiful and even though we felt secluded we weren't too far from town for supplies. After telling my parents about the cabin and Rockwood area they want to go with us again!
We highly recommend the Loon's Nest for anyone - small families with children to large groups.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

What a great huge cottage! My family and me spent a few days there in the winter. The pellet stove was greatly appreciated and that region is a snowmobile heaven. There is plenty of space for 8-10 people. The owners are great.

Owners response: Thank you for the comment! We want to stress that there is a limit of only 8 people. We insist on no more than 8 to allow our guests to fully enjoy what the cabin has to offer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

family hunting camp

Review submitted: December 24, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

The first year we rented the cabin our first thought was this place is way to nice for us.But we have come to feel at home here as we have returned every year for 4 years now and have just put our request in for next november. My family and friends thank you for letting us stay at your home in Rockwood,its a great place to stay, I give it top revews and would recomend this cabin in heaven to all.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words. It is a pleasure to have renters such as yourself. We appreciate any input, good or bad. Our goal has always been to make the Loons Nest cabin a place you would like to return to. The fact that you have come back 4 years in a row is simply awesome. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

The Loon's Nest was beyond our expectations. The house is in a great location, on a great piece of property, right on the Moose River.We had a great time boating, hiking and fishing. The general store was a short walk over the Moose River. We saw Moose just up the road from the house. The Moosehead Lake region is great for relaxing and enjoying all the beautiful scenery.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 12, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

We had a great vacation in the house at Moosehead
Lake. The house was really nice and a great location.
You could walk to the lake, general store and the
private marina which let us store our boat and use
their docks. I would highly recommend this place if
you are trying to have relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review