reviews for: listing #14489 - Ruidoso, New Mexico House rental

Secluded Upper Canyon with awsome views yet close to town
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,700 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,800 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely place you have in Ruidoso

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

Dear Grant & Dennean,

What a lovely place you have in Ruidoso. It is so peaceful and the view off the deck is gorgeous! We met the hummingbirds, watched turkeys, and a mother deer with twin fawns came by each morning. The cabin was just the perfect size, so nicely decorated and comfortable. Again we want to thank you for sharing your cabin with us and so many others. It was a perfect retreat to spend our 30th anniversary.
Thank you,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed staying at your cabin

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

Mike and I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying at your cabin. It was very comfortable and we spent hours sitting on the deck enjoying the scenery and the wildlife. We will definitely keep the cabin in mind for our next trip.
Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Y & J

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We have been to Ruidoso several times before, but this property is a find and just simply awesome! As someone stated in the earlier reviews, the moment we walked in the door, we really fell in love. The pictures don't even do justice! You can tell the owners consider this house a home which is lovingly cared for. Very clean and great for our family of four. Everything was well thought through and decorated so nicely. Loved the type of wood that was chosen, the decks/porches, the location, the views, the wildlife, the entertainment for kids, really everything. The only thing that was a little disappointing, but not surprising as changes had to be made when certain renters just don't care of things which are not theirs, is that a washer/dryer wasn't available for use. Having stayed there for 5 nights, it was fine, but if we wanted to stay longer, we would have to go to a laundry mat which is not appealing and takes away time. We definitely want to go back. We had an amazing Christmas in the Upper Canyon! Thanks to the Owners!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

August in Ruidoso

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Dyer's Cabin for three weeks last month (August 2013), and the "Cabin" (more like a spacious home) was awesome! It was just as advertised and more, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. We would definitely stay there again next year if it is available. Our thanks to the Dyer's for a very enjoyable vacation away from the heat of south Texas!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

August in Ruidoso

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Dyer's Cabin for three weeks last month (August 2013), and the "Cabin" (more like a spacious home) was awesome! It was just as advertised and more, very clean, comfortable, and quiet. We would definitely stay there again next year if it is available. Our thanks to the Dyer's for a very enjoyable vacation away from the heat of south Texas!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

From the moment we walked in, we fell in love! The cabin is three stories with two decks. The view was impeccable. We were in an upper canyon where we were able to see all different kinds of wildlife. My kids loved it. The whole cabin was kid friendly. The pictures just do not do justice for the cabin. We would go back to this cabin every time. You will fall in love!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

new years holiday

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We stayed at this property over the holidays and had a great time. The house was very nice and the views are fabulous. Very close to town, shopping, grocery store, the movies and the road to ski apache. We did just great with 4 wheel drive and the snow plow came by each morning.We were very happy with the home, it is so fresh and decorated tastefully.We would so stay with the Dyers again. We enjoyed the deer and turkeys each morning and evening as they strolled by. We love Ruidoso

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ruidoso Summer Home

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We had a wonderful August in this beautiful home. The view was fantastic and we enjoyed it especially in the morning. The furnishings and supplies were great.
A couple of things I wouldn't go back to this property for are what the owners call AC units are actually vertical fans that you have to put water in every 4 hours and the temperature was 92 degrees when we arrived. My mistake was not paying more attention to how many stairs there were. It was hard for me to climb long stairs everytime I wanted to go to the master bedroom, or long stairs to the basement to watch TV. This may not bother most people at all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope everyone that vacations at Dyer Straits enjoys their stay! We continue to upgrade and decorate to make the home more cozy and accommodating. Our intentions are to always communicate with our guest what amenities the home has to offer and any conditions that may make their stay enjoyable . Even though we have televisions on every floor already, we will be updating them this winter season. This spring we will add refrigerated air conditioning to the cabin. Thank you for submitting your review. The Dyers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Colorful, comfortable, cozy cabin.

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

The pictures on the website don't do this cabin justice. The walls are all painted very soothing colors. The bedrooms are all very comfortable and relaxing. The two decks are very nice and the views are great. There is also plenty of wildlife to observe around the cabin. All-in-all, excellent accomodations!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

We had an awesome time at this cabin. The accomodations were excellent. Very nice home with an awesome deck with a great view of the mountains. It was nice to feel out of the main town but being within just a few minutes of the town. Looking forward to another time we can get to this cabin for a few days.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Escape

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Our family enjoyed our stay at this perfect cabin in Upper Canyon. The cabin had lots of room for six, was very clean with beautiful decor, gorgeous views and so nice and quiet. It was perfect for escaping our usual busy life in the city. We enjoyed everything about the Dryer's rental. We definitely will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Dyer Straits. Our intentions are for all guests to have an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return to Dyer Straits.

The Dyers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Mesmerizing Vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

When God created this earth and gave us the majestic beauty to enjoy we somtimes take it for granite. Staying in house of the Dyers in the Upper Canyon makes you stop to take in that beauty that God gave us to be thankful for.
We went for Christmas, as we never have before, and was elated when we walked through the door. It was so accomodating and gave you a feel for home. It was already decorated for Christmas and everything you needed to be comfortable was at your fingertips.
The game room with the pool table, foosball, and DVD player was so nice and the up stairs for more privacy was wonderful. Having access to a deck, grill, fireplace, two full bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen was so nice to have.
I loved it that it was smoke free and no pets!! Waking up in the mornings with large pines surrounding the deck and looking across the valley of pines on the mountains was breathtaking.
Thank You for your HOSPITALITY!!
The dyers are so sweet and helpful and I recommend this house to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for leaving the cabin in such great condition. We hope you will choose our cabin on your next vacation to Ruidoso.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Mesmerizing Vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

When God created this earth and gave us the majestic beauty to enjoy we somtimes take it for granite. Staying in house of the Dyers in the Upper Canyon makes you stop to take in that beauty that God gave us to be thankful for.
We went for Christmas, as we never have before, and was elated when we walked through the door. It was so accomodating and gave you a feel for home. It was already decorated for Christmas and everything you needed to be comfortable was at your fingertips.
The game room with the pool table, foosball, and DVD player was so nice and the up stairs for more privacy was wonderful. Having access to a deck, grill, fireplace, two full bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen was so nice to have.
I loved it that it was smoke free and no pets!! Waking up in the mornings with large pines surrounding the deck and looking across the valley of pines on the mountains was breathtaking.
Thank You for your HOSPITALITY!!
The dyers are so sweet and helpful and I recommend this house to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review