reviews for: listing #14554 - Hauula, Hawaii House rental

Ocean Front Villa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $375 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Very nice and met our expectations.

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

Two couples stayed at this property in May 2014 for one week. Communication with the owner, booking and payment went smoothly with no issues. The location is near the Polynesian Cultural Center, about an hour from the airport. We really liked this area as it’s close to the North Shore and away from the busy downtown area. It is also close to a couple of grocery stores. There is noise from the traffic that you can hear from the bedroom closest to the street however, there are many houses that are close to the main road so I don’t think this is a negative. The house itself is in good shape and has a warm cottage feel. The kitchen, dining and living area is open concept and very large with two sliding doors to the backyard and another off the main bedroom. The kitchen had everything we needed and also having a washer and dryer was very convenient. There are air conditioners in the bedrooms but rarely used them as the ocean breeze was cool enough. The morning sunrises are amazing and it was nice to take a walk on the beach without having to drive to one.
For sites, we recommend Waimea Bay for swimming (bring an umbrella) and the botanical gardens across the street, the North Shore for food trucks, Pupukea (Sharks’s Cove) for snorkeling. We also recommend Kualoa Ranch for the Jungle Expedition and Movie site tour but not the Legend and Legacy tour or the ATV’s (if you own one or have been on them before as you might find it boring and very hot).
Overall, we liked this property for it’s quiet, beachfront, central location away from Honolulu and would recommend it to others who are looking for a relaxing vacation and like a cottage/beach town feel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed Our Time Here!

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We are 2 families of 4 each come from CA, and from VA. We really enjoyed our time here. The kitchen was well stocked with plates & utensils. We also really appreciated the ocean views and had a lot of fun outside. We had a great 4 days in Oahu and enjoyed the beaches and hiking in Diamond Head Crater. We are not done yet with Hawaii as we are touring another island as well. But we had a great time in Oahu and thank you for the great accommodations. Ramesh and Rengarajan families.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice, large, oceanfront home

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We just returned from spending a week at this house, which we rented through an agency. I would agree with everything that is said here by others about how nice it is. The photos don't really show that the kitchen, dining area, and living room are all one big open space, which is really nice. The house comes with everything you need, including bath towels, although you need to bring your own beach towels. The high-speed internet in the house is very, very fast, and worked flawlessly during our visit. Actually, everything worked, from the ceiling fans to the dishwasher, which isn't always the case with vacation rentals. I couldn't find a remote to operate the cable box, but ultimately that didn't matter, as we didn't watch TV during our weeklong stay.

I could have spent my entire vacation sitting and reading in the master bedroom, with its own little porch and view of the ocean. We had five people, so the three bedrooms and three bathrooms were fantastic. We had another four friends over for Christmas dinner, and the house had plenty of room for nine of us to eat and socialize.

Understand that while this house is in a nice, peaceful North Shore location, it is quite a drive from most sights on Oahu. It is 45-60 minute drive from Waikiki and Honolulu, depending upon traffic. Speed limits on most streets (including the Kamehameha Hwy) are about 25-35 mph, and most people seem to follow the speed limits. We spent a lot of time driving around the island, but it is Hawaii, so the scenery is gorgeous.

All in all, highly recommended - we have rented many houses and apartments around the world and this Hauula house did not disappoint. It is not overly luxurious, but plenty comfortable. Should we return to Oahu, we would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oahu windward rental in Hauula

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay on Oahu, and this house provided a great place for our family of five to relax between outings. It's ideally situated along the windward coast with the north shore beaches only 30 minutes away and Kailua a little longer. There are many hiking trails into the hills, and many beaches all along the coast to choose from. The info sheet provided by the owner was very helpful. Being on the main road did lead to early morning traffic noise but the rooms all have AC so we could close the windows on that side. The almost constant breezes kept us cool, and the small but provate back yard on the ocean was wonderful for sunrises and evening star gazing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home, Great location!

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Our time on the North Shore of Oahu was wonderful due in part to this house. It was just perfect for our family. The kitchen was huge and had everything we needed. The dining room table was perfect for eating with the sounds of the ocean coming in through the patio door, and great for game-playing in the evening. We loved the outdoor seating for breakfast and afternoon sunning. The house was very clean and well-stocked. Vicky was great to work with and her property manager, Tish, was very responsive (especially when I locked us out of the house accidentally!).

The house is within 4 miles to a big grocery store. We spent time at the beach of Turtle Bay Resort, went to Hualoa Ranch and the Polynesian Cultural Center and had great burgers at Kua Aina in Haleiwa.

Spending more quiet days on the North Shore were great for us. This came after spending a few days in Waikiki at the Marriott and then taking NCL's 7-day cruise of the islands.

We would definitely stay at this house again. Thanks Vicky and Tish!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

This was a great house and all the pictures truly represent it! You can't beat the view from the backyard, the ocean is right up against the retaining rock wall. We would sit at the patio table and just stare out at the ocean, no stress and we loved it! Very clean, great appliances and a washer and dryer that was great to have after staying 5 nights in Waikiki. All the bedrooms have air conditioning, and in the main living areas there were many windows and 2 sliding patio doors with screens to let all those tradewinds blow in. Hauula is situated right in the middle of what you need up north - Kualoa Ranch, grocery stores, pizza delivery, shrimp trucks, La'ie Point, Turtle Bay resort and many famous North Shore beaches are all a few minutes away by car. We had a fabulous vacation and can't wait to come back. Vicki is awesome to work with if you should have any questions, and her house manager is in Oahu if you ever need anything. We will definitely be staying here again! Mahalo!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 16, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

The house was wonderful, clean and with awesome views. The ocean is literally within steps from your back door. Great views from kitchen, living room, dinning room and master bedroom. The owners have gone above and beyond to accommodate all of your needs with beach towels, boogie boards, cleaning supplies and a fully equipped kitchen even spices! Great location to everything on the North Shore without the traffic!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 30, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Aloha; Our trip to the windward side (Oahu) was greatly enhanced with our stay in your house. The home had everything we needed, and actually included far more than we expected. Your home is comfortable, and its location for our needs were unbeatable.

I recommend to future guests to anticipate a very good home to come to at the end of the day for a wonderful nights sleep! The home is spotless, and anticipates your needs in the windward sommunity.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We all had a WONDERFUL TIME at your home, we could not have asked for things to go more smoothly. The location was perfect, this was confirmed after we had toured around the whole island. Hauula and the east coast are by far the most scenic and peaceful. Kevin's parents really seemed to have a great time as well, and the comfort your home provided made the stay much easier for them. The house was so great - had everything we needed, and we were even able to have a birthday dinner for Tyler that Lance and Tish attended. They are a wonderful couple and a definite asset to help you with guests in your home - a wealth of information and most pleasant to visit with! We spent a great deal of time searching for the right house for our time on Oahu - we definitely made the right choice! I believe we left things in good order so the cleaning service's job would be easy. Again, we can't express enough how much we enjoyed our time at your home on Oahu, and hope we can return some day!

Aloha and Mahalo!
Kevin and Jennifer Everett

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 17, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Our family(my husband and I,our two sons;11&13,and my husband's brother) rented your beautiful home 4/5/07-4/15/07. We enjoyed our stay in Hauula, this was our third trip to Oahu but our first to the windward coast. The area is incredibly scenic and SO much more relaxed than the Waikiki area. The house is well appointed and the furnishings were very nice. We enjoyed the kitchen which included everything that you could need.We also enjoyed the view from the back windows and doors of the endless ocean. We actually got splashed a few times while sitting outside.The sunrises are gorgeous. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again if we return to Oahu.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 3, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Re; Property ID 20005 My wife Nancy, my daughter Susie her husband Bill Schneider, and our grandson Elliot Schneider age 6, and I stayed in this property on the North shore of Oahu Jan 26-29,2007.The home is beautifully finished with spacious rooms.We usually kept the patio doors on the oceanside open and it felt like we were the only ones watching the waves break and the whales jump.( from our living room and dining room) We experienced the contrast to bustling traffic, high-rise buildings, and crowded beaches(i.e. Waikiki) that we were seeking.We spent one day at the Polynesian Culture Center and were happy we only had a 10 min drive back to where we were staying after the evening show,. We plan on returning next year and requesting this property.Jim McGinnity

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 19, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

My wife and I and her family stayed at this location in October 2006 and had a wonderful time. Everything described in the listing was what we experienced. I would stay at this place again the next vacation I take to Oahu.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review