reviews for: listing #14567 - Key West, Florida Condo rental

Henry's Penthouse On the Ocean In Key West - Weekly Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  1800 Atlantic
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $2,700 /wk

sort by:

Great Week in Key West

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week in Key West. This condominium unit was exactly as described in the listing. Although there were only two of us, we wanted a two bedroom unit and this one was lovely. We drove to the nearest Publics and stocked up on breakfast items and some snacks and beverages to enjoy on the deck or at the pool. The pool area is wonderful and we spent our morning hours in the pool and relaxing in the sun. We had rented a convertible to drive down from Ft. Lauderdale airport. It took us between 5 and 6 hours to reach Key West, but we stopped for lunch and enjoyed the very scenic drive. Once at the condo, we headed to LA TRATTORIA on Duval Street for dinner, very good meal. We spent most of our afternoons and evenings in that part of town, usually taking a taxi there and back. Due to the traffic and limited parking, the car spent most of the week in the secured garage at the condo. We also used the trolley to venture forth two of the days, but to pick it up we had to walk to another resort that was a little less than a mile away. If you enjoy walking (I do), it was a pretty walk. One short comimg of the trolley is the fact that the last one leaves Duval Street at 5:39 p.m. However, a one day ticket is good for a free second day, and the tour around the island is worth taking. We made the requisite stops at Sloppy Joes for lunch (I went back a second time) and at Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville for drinks. We also ventured forth on a sunset cruise on a schooner (absolutely fabulous experience) and spent a couple of afternoons and sunsets at The Pier, a fun restaurant/bar that is literally on a pier. Another favorite stop was the Schooner Wharf Bar. A week is too short a time to visit all of the places friends had recommended, but we made a good start. As an English teacher, I HAD to visit Hemingway's House, a tour that was well worth the time and money. If I go back again, I'd probably fly into Key West airport and take a taxi to Henry's condo. There was really no need to have a car for the entire week. I might rent one for a day or two at the start of the week to pick up groceries and drive back to The Stoned Crab for lunch or dinner, but taking taxis worked fine. There is also a bus stop near the complex which I might check out. I enjoyed staying away from Duval Street and being on the ocean was great!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

DO NOT HESITATE TO STAY HERE

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We recently spent a week at Henry’s Penthouse. It was fabulous!
It’s easy to take pictures of your condo and make it look better than it really is but that is not the case here. Henry’s pictures don’t do it justice. It is clean, comfortable and even better than depicted on the web site. This was exactly what we came to Key West for.
The only problem we had was the construction taking place. Workmen were replacing railings and other things on the balcony. Henry was up front about this. He called about two month before our rental began to let us know about the work that was going on. We weren’t really bothered by it because we were up and about all day either at Smathers Beach (about a two Block walk) or sightseeing all over Key West.
Henry was very courteous and pleasant. We had an excellent rental experience. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Party from the frozen north

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

Not knowing what to expect on rentals is the hardest thing. However this one is clean comfortable and affordable. Henry has a great website and everything is exactly how it is on the site and better.
The only downfall for us was the work on building however Henry did not cover this up and did admit you could be mildly affected. Did not bother us to much because we were out on the beach or exploring this strange and unusually fun place.
We will consider this rental again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A true piece of paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

Great accommodations, very user friendly and accessible. Wonderful ocean views, great pool, and tennis courts. Great beaches close by. You will enjoy all facilities and the decor.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Henry's Little Lie

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I reserved Henty's penthouse from 9/22/11 to 9/26/11. Initially we did not reserve the penthouse.We were signing up for Henry's second floor condo. But Henry said the PH was available for only $10 more per night. I thought it was an upgrade since it cost more and that's how Henry sold it. My whole problem with Henry is that he is a liar. I brought work with me that involves confidential information and requires protected internet access. Henry told me had wi-fi in his PH. He does not. When I talked him about this on my second day there, he suggested I poach off of someone elses wi- fi. When I told him I needed protected internet access he told me to come down by the pool area and
try to access his wi-fi from the original condo where we planned to stay and he was now using. This might have worked, but again I explained I had confidential files that I did not want to take to a public area, nor did I want to do my work outside in 80+ degree temperature. Ultimately, my girlfriend and I had to leave on Sunday @ 7:00AM, one day early, because my work deadline was Monday @ 8:3AM. It cost us $1030 to change our airline reservations. I asked Henry to refund me $320, the price for one night, and never heard back. In summary the PH condo was OK. The street noise (10 yards away) is loud at all hours of the day and night. The PH view is primarily a cheap 4 story apartment with 32 front doors opening onto a 4 porches about 50 yards straight away. There is a small slice of water view beyond the phone poles, high wires etc. If this guy can't afford $40 per month for internet access then you can guess what other corners he cuts and mirepresentations he makes. I' m getting sick just writing this, but I just remembered what Henry told me in response to my claim that there was wi-fi in the PH. Henry told me "No, I said there was dial-up access" Go figure.

Owners response: Bogus review;

Melvin was fighting with his girlfriend and wanted to check out early and wanted me to refund the the difference - I refused and he retaliated with this bogus review.

No way did I tell him that my penthouse has internet access. I offered him the code to the wireless in my
other unit that could be accessed form a gazebo in the courtyard but that wasn’t good enough for him - he claims that he had to spend $1030.00 (Mel - you should have picked a more realistic #) to fly back early because of no internet - if he needed internet so badly - he could of went to the Sprint store or other provider and bought a wireless air card for about $100 and if his internet access is so critical and he needs “protected internet access” shouldn’t he have an air card anyway?

Further he claims that the building is cheap - currently on the market units in this complex are listed between $369 thousand and $1.65 million depending on square footage, views and location in the complex - not so cheap.

See my personal web site (with virtual tours clearly showing my ocean view and comments from guests written in their own handwriting) for yourself.
(link located below the view calendar button and just above property photos)and please disregard the bogus comments form this named Melvin.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Tropical paradise

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

We recently spent three days at Henry's penthouse. The place was more than we ever expected. The condo unit was fabulous and the property had amenities galore. Walking distance to four different beaches. We have visited several islands and Key West is the best Great place to take a family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

We had a fabulous time staying in Key West and a great time at the condo. The location was ideal for our family, close to the beach, but in a quiet section of the island. The master bathroom was fantastic! The views from the balcony were exactly what we came to Key West to see!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

My wife and I truely enjoyed our stay at Henry's penthouse. The sunrises were breathtaking from the balcony. The penthouse was exactly what the pictures showed. Very nice! We are morning walkers so the location was perfect for a walk along the ocean. The pool was very nice with the view of the ocean from poolside. We will go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2009   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

We loved our stay in Key West at the powerboat World Championships. Henry's condo made it much more enjoyable- the scooter rentals from Scott were delivered to our door step & at a price you can't beat-anywhere (we checked)!! It was equiped with more than you could want or ask, from toys to sugar. The beds were very comfortable & everything was clean. Coming from one of the most beautiful places in the US, it was like being at home away from home; right down to the views! If your thinking of staying, do!! The price is right & the place great. Thank you so very much. Pig Iron Racing-Offshore Power Boats

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

The condo is very nice. Very close to the beach. We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

Henry, We so enjoyed the Penthouse. 8/9-
8/14/09 visit. Warmly decorated and not wanting
for anything. The closet with pool
toys/floats/chairs a nice touch for us. We used
several items when we went to Fort Zachary Beach.
Very grateful for everything. Only wish we had time
to rent some bikes, but next visit. It was
wonderful to come home after fishing all day to
cook our catch on the grills down by the pool. The
warm salt water pool is wonderful. Next trip to
Keys we will be renting at 1800 Atlantic again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 16, 2008

Henry,
We just want to thank you for the easy and pleasant renting experience you provided. My boyfriend and I talked to several management companys before talking to you. The management companys were flat out rude to us. You have been nothing but courteous and accommodating with us and we truly appreciate it. So on behalf of your March 8--16 renters, thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 16, 2008

My son & I had a great week at Key West, largely in part to the comfort of your "Penthouse Condo". Very comfortable, great kitchen, bathrooms and whirlpool were super also. Plenty of everything we needed. I loved the security of the entire building plus the parking garage. Direct access to the beach was awesome. Quiet section of Key West but only minutes from the party at Duval Street. Thanks Henry, for everything, hope to be back in the very near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

What a beautiful place you have. It was just wonderful. Has EVERYTHING one could possibly need, quiet, fun, great shower. What more can I say. Thanks

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Hi Henry,
Our fantastic holiday in the magical Key West was
really enhanced by staying in your superb
Penthouse - which was really comfortable and
contained everything which you could possibly
need.
Many, many thanks for contributing to a holiday
which will be fondly remembered for a very long
time
Take care
Alan Poole

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our family of five really enjoyed our first visit to the Florida Keys. This condo was very nice and comfortable. The decor was very fun and beachy. It had a nice size swimming pool, very nice tennis courts and direct access to the beach. It was in a quiet area and the building staff was very helpful.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review