reviews for: listing #145684ha - Ojochal, Costa Rica rental

Playa Tortuga - A Jungle Retreat With An Ocean View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 750 - $ 974 / week
  • sleeps  5
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Fantastic

Review submitted: December 30, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

This is a fantastic property. The owners are very responsive to questions from the beginning, along with the property manager being very accomodating once you are there. The property was easy to find, yet in a still quiet area. The property has all the amenities needed for a quiet and relaxing time. The house instead is extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished. You will wake up to howler monkeys who travel through every day. There several unique, yet uncrowded beaches within a 10 minutes. There are many other interesting things to do besides the beaches. My family enjoyed the tilipia farm in particular. In addition, there are many great restaurants, of differing flavors in the neighborhood, along with well stocked supermarkets and small stores nearby. The surrounding community is very friendly and welcoming. I couldn't say enough an how much we enjoyed this property and the surrounding area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

You won't be disappointed

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

No time to write elaborate essays, so short and to the point - the place is great, house very nice indeed with all modern conveniences. It is surely worth the money to go there and see Costa Rica at its best. Our family of five had a blast. If there is a single gripe we have, it would be the fairly loud road going by, but it's a small price to pay for all other advantages that this place has to offer. Our wholehearted recommendations to anyone looking for a good value. And, of course, the view - simply awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house, great time

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had a great time at Playa Tortuga house. The property was squeaky clean and had everything that we would ever need on vacation. The house is beautifully made and sits on top of a hill with sweeping views of the pacific. It is surrounded by mature trees where bids and monkeys can be frequently spotted. We had a bit of disturbance by the traffic noise at nights from Costanera Sur, when heavy trucks did engine braking on the descend to Tortuga river.

The Playa Tortuga below the house is nice for swimming and playing in the waves. There is a deep cove at the northern end of the beach that can be explored at low tide. One evening, just before the sunset a pod of dolphins came to about 200m from the shore and entertained us for couple of minutes. Note that the beach access requires either walking or driving down the steep driveway then following the coastal highway to the Tortuga river and taking the public dirt road running along the river.

There are several waterfalls worth exploring in Ojochal. One of them - Cascada Pavon is a real gem that is located across the road from Tilapias El Pavon restaurant that serves the fish caught in their own pond.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we needed! Quiet, Private and relaxing.

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

Just a short ride from Palma Sur air strip, this Playa Tortuga Casa and Cabina were just as described. The property itself was very clean and well maintained and had everything we needed. In the main house we found detailed instructions about the house and grounds as well as brochures on activities and restaurants in the area.
We had a fantastic time in the jungle house. We made coffee every morning and relaxed on the porch or at the lookout and enjoyed the wildlife including monkey, toucans and macaws. Several mornings we packed a cooler and walked down to the beach (about 15 min) and almost always had it to our selves. We went to several of the recommended restaurants and Hotels for food, drinks or to see the differing views and we enjoyed them all.
We went to the market in Uvita as well as Kumari's store just down the street and got groceries and saved some money by cooking many meals at home.
There is plenty to keep you busy if you want or you can just kick back and enjoy nature. I loved getting away from it all and the peace and quiet but I must admit we did stay home one Monday night and watch my Bears kick but on the Cowboys!

As for activities, we went to Sierpe and did a 3 hour mangrove tour on the river and saw three species of monkeys,boas, crocodiles, and all types of exotic birds.
We did a canopy tour in the secondary rain forest and had a great time and learned a lot about the area. (we also saw 2 kinds of Sloth).
The waterfall near the Talapia farm was awesome and we went swimming there twice.
We checked out the surfer dudes and the beach flea market in Playa Dminical and had a great day.

Next time we come we plan to try the ATV tour, the Ultra lite flights and the Superman zip line.

All in all we had a fantastic time and found the guides and the people very friendly and very informative. We will definitely come back and we will be recommending this place to our friends and family.
I will close this review out by saying we enjoyed some of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen from several different beaches and they were incredible. I hope whoever reads this will be enjoying them soon.

Thanks again Charlie and Martine.

Scott and Renee
Huntington Beach,CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful stay, relaxing and inspiring

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

We've had a great time, the house is very nice, comfortable, nice bath with jacuzzi, hammocks, great views ! We've enjoyed taking our breakfast on the terrasse and looking at the monkeys, the squirrels and the birds. So much wild life around ! The beaches are nearby as well as the waterfalls where you can swimm, great to have the Mystic Dive Center so close. We went out for dinner in the various restaurants in the little village of Ojochal only a few minutes away, the food was delicious. We have great memories and believe they will be contagious for anyone who occupies Paisajes del Mar !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jungle Delight

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

The house was excellent. We felt at home right away. It is in primary jungle on its own little peninsula. Howler monkeys and toucans greeted us at 5 AM every morning. Remember that you are in the jungle, not a subdivison. There are numerous large spiders in the area as well as many other VERY large insects. It is quite an experience. Playa Tortuga has very little shade but is deserted and has great waves. Playa Ventanas is more sceninc but the waves are smaller. The little community of Ojocal is just down the road and boasts multiple French restaurants. El Fuego, run by Olivier, had excellent food. Saturday night we had a feast of all types of meat there. If you stay anywhere near Ojocal, you must eat at El Fuego. If you are looking for a jungle experience and want to get away from civilization, this house is a must. It was a very relaxing trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jungle Paradise

Review submitted: January 29, 2009   Date of arrival: January 7, 2009

Located in a very quiet area, it offers an incredible view on the best of Costa Rica: jungle with animals, such as monkeys and birds and a peacefull beach. Imagine a morning with blue sky, a good coffee in hand, sitting on the porch, watching the ocean and a family of howler monkey having their breakfast...
The house is spacious and comfortable. There is good restaurants around and a grocery store with all we needed.
The only inconvenient we found was to have to drive to go to the beach.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rich and Peaceful

Review submitted: March 30, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

The house is wounderful. Easy to find. Everything set to ease the vacations. We feel welcome to the place. It is well organised in that house. And so peaceful. It is a place to remove all anxieties. We enjoyed the huge balcony with the hamac, hearing the incredible sound of the insects with the light of the stars. The house is surronded by nature. We saw monkeys every day. And that incredible beach; miles of ocean for us alone. The place is close to many great adventure (snorkling, scuba diving, whale watching, jungle walk, swimming in the fall,...) and good restaurant too. So it is a great place if you want to visit and relaxe without being with all the tourists and the artificial world. We felt like a priviledge to have access to a place like that. Thanks to the owners that accept to share a place like this with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great for the whole family

Review submitted: March 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

My Daughter, two Grandchildren and myself;(Grandma), spent 1 glorious week as guests @ Paisajes Del Mar. This was an absolutely wonderful experience for all of us. Right from the start we were well taken care of. We had no problem connecting with the property manager and were excorted to the property and fully orientated leaving us secure with the knowlege that any unanswered questions were just a phone call away. This property is so convenient to shopping, great restaurants and beautiful Ventana beach yet it offers the quiet and privacy that is required for local wildlife to remain quite at home. We were able to view from our decks, Monkeys (with babes), Macaws, and several variaties of birds, butterflies and amazing fireflies. My Grand daughters are aged 3 yrs and 18 months and we were able to feel very secure with the setup of the house. We were some what limited travelling with the little ones so did not have the opportunity to take advantage of the amazing nature trails on this property. The paths were well marked out and maintained but we were not properly equipped. ie footwear and packs for the kids as the hike is approximatelt 20 minutes to where the Tortuga river enters the Pacific. So much more to experience!! The house itself is stunning. My husband and I have a contracting business so I can not help myself, I notice things. I was not disappointed. Beginning in the kitchen and dining room;excellent set up for those who wish to entertain with the kitchen well stocked with staples and purified water and an extrordinary hardwood dining table that would easily seat 8 and possibly more. Everything right down to the plumbing fixtures in this house is quality. Water pressure excellent; amazing jacuzzi tub in master ensuite; The views from both decks on this property are breathtaking. There is more but I believe one should always be left open to pleasant surprises. I give Paisajes Del Mar 4 stars and will definately be a repeat guest. I have a hunch that as this Rental becomes more well known, one will have to reserve well in advance. Valerie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect

Review submitted: February 13, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Everything about this house made our vacation perfect!!! From the directions on how to get there, the property manager was wonderful, the house was so fabulousl (including helpful hints all over the home), the view was gorgeos and we say monkeys, tucans and a parrot all from the property. I can't say enough good things. There are great resturants and wonderful people all around. It is peaceful and relaxing. Great beaches, snorkeling, drivng and hiking all close by. If you go here you will have a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review