reviews for: listing #14599 - Santa Rosa Beach, Florida House rental

TThe Little Cottage/ Pool/hot tub/ Sprg/Sum
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Beachview Woods
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $150 /nt
    $650 - $895 /wk

sort by:

Paradise

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

My wife and I just spent an outstanding week at the Little Cottage. Everything was better than expected. The week was filled with bike riding, beach walking, relaxing, and eating seafood! Thanks Bill for all the suggestions. We have fallen in love with the area and will be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, Relaxing, Beautiful, Perfect!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned to reality after spending a week at the The Little Cottage. By far the most relaxing trip I've ever had. The cottage is perfect and has everything you need or could want. Thank you Bill and of course Sophie for sharing you Little Cottage with us. Our biggest decisions each day were whether to go to the beach or just stay at our own pool! Whether to grill fresh seafood from the market or go to our favorite place to eat dinner "Stinkys"! This was our anniversary and we both agree that we should make it an annual trip each September!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Debbie I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary stay at the Little Cottage. You have hit on one of the great benefits of the Little Cottage. The guests staying now are just like you. Beach in the morning pool in the afternoon and cooking out at night and enjoying the deck and peaceful atmosphere and surroundings of the Little Cottage. Pleaese come again. Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another great stay

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Third year we have stayed and once again loved every minute. Had some rain ,but it did not spoil our time there. Make sure you take or rent a bike so you can enjoy the area.
Make sure to check with Bill on all restaurant recommendations, they are spot on.
Cannot wait to get back there again.

Owners response: The Little Cottage is having a great year. I am getting more and more repeat couples returning after their Honeymoon or couples coming to the beach without the kids for a romantic getaway. Either one is a great way to keep your romance alive and spend some quiet time in this very fast paced lifestyle. The Little Cottage is the perfect getaway come see for yourself and book early to secure your dates.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AWESOME! GREAT! TERRIFIC! WONDERFUL! PEACEFUL!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

I am writing this review as I sit on the patio at The Little Cottage. We have only been here for 3 days and have 4 more to go. For anyone considering a relaxing and enjoyable getaway; this is for you. The pool is absolutely beautiful. The owner, Bill, lives right here and is happy to give you any information you may seek. He is a gracious host. I will post again when our getaway has been completed. For any couple out there looking right now, this is a great place.

Also, age range I noticed on most reviews was 55+ because there is no age range listed for anyone younger. I am 35 and would DEFINITELY recommend this to my friends.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you April for your very gracious comments regarding your stay at the Little Cottage. As you say the cottage is a place for all ages and I do get alot of young people on their Honeymoons who love the cottage and many come back on their anniversary. I think that they are so busy with their lives that they don't write reviews,but many come back for a repeat stay. Thanks again for your comments. Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another Great Stay at The Little Cottage

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This was our second year staying here and again, it was delightful. Although the week started off a bit cool, the beach was always good, the restaurants provided a variety of prices and food, the pool and grounds were very private. Our host Bill and Sophie, his adorable standard poodle, welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The Cottage was comfortable with conveniences like A/C, a washer/dryer, ample space to lounge and a flat screen TV. There is an outdoor shower, a small back porch covered in a trellis where you can enjoy coffee or a cocktail, a larger deck with seating, a gas grill and a beautiful pool. You have several white sand/emerald water beach options close by, most with outdoor showers, good parking and clean restrooms. There is a supermarket on the main road along with an excellent fresh seafood shop. But the restaurants are a great option-make sure to try Stinky's (get there between 5-6pm to ensure a seat), La Playa for tasty Caribbean fare on the patio (they have gas heaters and are right across from the beach), The Vue and Fish Out of Water (at Watercolor Resort) for a more upscale dining experience right on the Gulf! Shopping along Route 30A in each beach community proved to be enjoyable and I was very "bad"!!!

You will hate to leave because you will feel right at home and way too relaxed! This is a truly great venue to experience all that the Destin/Santa Rosa Beach has to offer!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Deb thank you for your wonderful comments about the Little Cottage and the Santa Rosa Beach area. I really appreciate seeming my guests relax at the Little Cottage and enjoying the amzing beaches and fabulous restaurants....thats what a great vacation is all about. Bill

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So peaceful!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

We stayed for our 16th anniversary. Bill is a wonderful host. It feels intimate, quiet, and peaceful. This was one of the best get-a-way's we have had. "The Little Cottage” has everything you need and even things you might forget. Just bring food, clothing, and sun screen! The kitchen is fully stocked (even had seasonings) and whatever pans and cooking utensils you might need. The beach is so close and Bill has everything you need for your trip down to umbrella, chairs, and a cooler! It is more than we expected and will be back one day, hopefully sooner than later. Thanks Bill for sharing your corner of paradise with us!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing stay

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

This is a wonderful place for couples that want to focus on each other! The house is so close to everything that you want in a couples retreat! Beautiful, peaceful beaches that are not crowded and the most beautiful ocean in the world! We cannot say enough good things about this cottage and its coziness. Bill is a great host and can tell you anything you need to know about the area. We loved it and will be back every year! All of the local restaurants were wonderful, I could not say which was my favorite! There is not a better place than Santa Rosa beach and the Cottage!!! A beautiful place to stay...

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chris I am truly happy you enjoyed your getaway. I have tried to design the Little Cottage for a couples vacation and I believe its working. We locals have a saying "A day on the Emerald Coast is just another day in paradise " The Little Cottage , the beaches and the great restaurants all add to the memories.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A home away from home.

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We arrived and saw immediately that all of the photos proved true. The comfortable cottage has a beachy feel with a wonderful, private back porch where we enjoyed afternoon cocktails and a beautiful pool for swimming. The house is conducive to walking and located close to those beaches with the emerald green water and sugar white sand-I'm still in awe. There is a local supermarket for food and sundry needs as well as a fabulous seafood market. The shops and restaurants rounded out our trip-don't miss The Vue Restaurant for a great dining experience and of course the views as well as the Smiling Fish Cafe for outdoor dining-the owner's suggestion. And let's not forget our owner-host Bill who provided friendly conversation and info on the area. We would definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful comments about the Little Cottage and the area restaurants and beaches. I too believe it is truly a magical place and I enjoy meeting our guests and helping them find their way around the area. I appreciate you taking the time to comment on the Cottage it really helps perspective guests feel confident about a decision to stay at the Little Cottage. Bill

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Sweet Smell of Jasmine

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

We were expecting cute and quaint, but upon arrival, the 'AWE' set in. From the driveway, through the front door and finally the porch engulfed with blooming jasmine! We slept with the windows open just for the sweet aroma. The beach was an easy access. The cottage was stocked with towels and beach chairs (perfect as we forgot ours).
Do NOT miss 'Stinky's" voted in the top 6 Seafood Restaurants by Southern Living Magazine. (thanks Bill for that tip).
Yes, we will be back and recommend the Little Cottage to our friends looking for a quiet get-a-way.
*Tip: On 331 across the bridge on Bay there's an inde shrimper selling fresh caught shrimp from his boat.
Bev & Don Pendley
Nashville, TN

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes I agree the Confederate Jasmine is amazing this year and to add to that the weather on a scale of 1-10 has been a 12. Finally the one true thing my ex wife said about me is I do know where to eat so my restaurant recommendations are spot on!! Come vist the Little Cottage and see for yourself. Bill

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

Beautiful place and friendly people. Cottage has all the amenities and more. Loved all the nearby parks, especially Topsail Hill Preserve. Can't wait to come back
Doug and Jan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Little Cottage is ideally located for biking and or hiking on the beach, in Topsail state park or on the beautiful walking and biking path along 30A. There are several bike rental locations along 30A and they will deliver to the cottage.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Honeymoon stay

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

My husband and I had an awesome time! We were looking for something more private than a resort or hotel. This was nice and secluded...yet still close to a town. The inside was really cozy, new, and nice. We loved the use of the kitchen. It was very peaceful to just lay on the hammock or get into the hot tub. We wanted to come back to the cottage all the time because it was so great. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Cozy Get A Way!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

Our 3 week stay at the Little Cottage was Wonderful. A great place to get away from our winter Ontario weather and enjoy walks on the beach, exploring the neighbouring towns, golf and the outlet mall. The cottage was perfect for two of us. Hot tub, fully equipped to create our own dinners, close to fish market, groceries and beach. Our host made us feel very welcome. We would definitely use the Little Cottage again if we return to the Santa Rosa area.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peaceful and Quiet

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2011

The "Little Cottage" is a wonderful romantic getaway that is very private and quiet. After purchasing our food we had everything we needed for a cozy, relaxing week. The weather was somewhat cool in February so we thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub. The beach was a 15 minute walk down a paved walking/biking path and from the beach you can walk back to the cottage through Topsail State Park. The owner was very gracious and helpful, but never intrusive. The cottage was everything described and we were not disappointed. We would consider coming again and will recommend it to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Older couple

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at Little Cottage. The owner was very efficient in getting us registered, etc., even though he was not personally on site during our stay. The Little Cottage is very private, strictly a 2 person place. It is convenient to both the 30A attractions and to points west. Very clean and appropriately equipped in the kitchen. We wouold highly recommend this as a place to really get away for a few days or longr.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this property and the description was very accurate however I have to say that you cannot walk to the beach from the property as one picture depicted. Everything else was great and especially the pool which we enjoyed and the convenience of the gas grill was awesome. The cottage has all the charm for a couple who want to get away ideal for honeymooners.

The owner, who lives on the property, is very helpful and charming and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You can walk to the beach I do it all the time . Its about a 12 minute walk to one of the most beautiful secluded beaches you will ever see. You just wouldn't walk it carrying your beach chairs and cooler. Its best to ride a bike or take the car if you are going for a while. Bill

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Little Cottage: Quiet, Romantic and Lovely

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

My husband and I spent the week of April 3-10 2010 at The Little Cottage. What a lovely place to spend a week! This is a beautiful cottage. It is nicely decorated, with high ceilings and a lot of sunlight streaming in through the windows and upstairs skylight. It has a cozy living room, well equipped kitchen and upstairs loft bedroom. Lovely wood floors and "beachy" decor. There is a pool and a nice deck.

The Little Cottage is at the quiet end of highway 30a, which is a nice little beach road through many small towns along the Gulf. It is located next to the Topsail Beach nature Preserve. In the evenings it teems with wildlife! We took walks most nights, looking up at the stars which we never get to see in the city, and listening to the mysterious sounds in nearby wetlands. We visited Topsail Park and Grayton Beach State Park, both have very nice beaches. There are a couple of public beach access spots within a few minutes drive.

There are quite a few restaurants nearby. The closest one, and our favorite, was Elmo's. Fantastic shrimp and freshly caught fish, plus live music. They specialize in crab and oysters, which we did not try. Goatfeathers had the best grouper ever, but the service was poor the night we went there. I don't know if that was a fluke or not. Louis-Louis was lovely.

Most activities are beach related or other outdoor activities. There is a nice bike path along 30A and hiking at the state parks. Otherwise, there is an outlet mall nearby which was extremely crowded on the one cloudy day we had!

Bill is a wonderful host. He lives in the bigger house on the property and is always available in person or by phone.

We truly could not have asked for a better spot for a very relaxing week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Cozy & Private

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We really enjoyed out stay from 3/27 thru 4/1/2010. The weather was a bit iffy; cooler and cloudier than expected the first couple of days. But the last 3 had not one cloud in the bluest sky we had seen in a while. The cottage was a perfect place to spend a few quiet days together. It was immaculate and the description of the property was accurate in an areas. The beach access and biking/running path was very close by and easy to find. The owner was very gracious and helpful. We would highly recommend this property to our friends and relatives and we would consider renting it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review