reviews for: listing #14619 - Joshua Tree, California House rental

Villa dei Fiori - beautiful private estate on 14 acres
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $400 /nt
    $2,000 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

MAGICAL!

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We had just a fantastic and magical time. Thanks for everything, we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of five

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

Beautiful home in an extraordinary location. Everything was as advertised, no surprises. This was our first vrbo experience and we would do it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A magical place!

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

My family just returned from four perfect days at Villa Fiore. The photos and description are accurate but no photo can capture the beauty of this villa. Dale, the owner, has created an environment that is pleasing and lovely in every detail. We fell in love with the artworks throughout the house, all by an artist named Michele Quence. The place is inviting, cozy and very well supplied. We cooked a dinner and several breakfasts, and the kitchen was a joy. The library is spectacular. But of course the real draw is the outdoors. The grounds are lovely and otherworldly. Our night hike among the boulders was a highlight. And each night we looked forward to a long soak in the hot tub after a long day exploring the national park. Dale is charming and knowledgeable. He is also extremely helpful and readily available to answer questions. We are already planning a return trip to see Joshua Tree in the spring.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extreme Relaxation!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We forget in the rush of daily life, the value of quiet, and the enriching quality of nature. Villa dei Fiori is the perfect place to renew, relax, and rejuvenate the spirit. The beauty of the setting is unrivaled in Joshua Tree. The Villa is gorgeously designed inside and out with meticulous attention to detail and comfort. Every color and material and work of art is coordinated to create a visual delight in each room. Adding a warm touch of hospitality are the fresh flowers that greet you upon arrival. It's a very welcoming gesture from the owner, and you'll find them in every room! He is very helpful in answering questions and makes himself available should you experience an unexpected incident. I had last minute issues with my dog sitter and both of my senior dogs were with me and enjoyed a lazy stay. If you feel stressed, tired or in need of respite for any reason, this is the getaway for you! Be active or be restful, you can't make a wrong choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

We spent a week here and loved it. Dale is the most caring owner and keeps this magical place immaculate. The salt water pool was incredible and such a great alternative to a chlorine pool. All in all a great experience! Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at Villa Dei Fiori and had a wonderful time. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Dale, the charismatic owner. He subsequently gave us an in depth orientation, which was very helpful. It is apparent that Dale is a worldly fellow, with a keen eye for architecture, art and style. Everywhere one’s eyes gaze at Villa Dei Fiori, there is something beautiful to observe-something with a story. I explored the savage wilderness and hidden valley beyond the subject property both evenings around 7pm (which is the optimal time, per Dale’s suggestion). Words and/or pictures cannot truly describe the ominous yet peaceful feeling I felt, as I stood beneath the monstrous boulders while the warm desert breeze swept through the pass-like the winds of heaven. To sum up our experience, my daughter Gigi said: "It's like we're in paradise". Thanks again Dale for the hospitality-we’re looking forward to our next visit. Many Blessings!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The most amazing and charming desert get away ever

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

This house nestled at the edge of Joshua Tree National Park is an amazing feat of architecture and landscaping. The rooms are lovely and decorated in a very tasteful way. The floors are beautiful and the kitchen and BBQ are perfect for a group dinner. The pool is a unreal and we spent hours enjoying the desert view and soaking in the sun. The natural caves and hiking is very otherworldly. Very peaceful and relaxing. The photos are very accurate but you have to see it to believe it. Owner is very professional and nice and a very interesting person to boot. I cannot wait to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT - Coming back

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Thank you Dale! I cannot express how much fun we had at the Villa. Exploring the boulders in the back valley, hanging out in the cave, spending countless hours in the pool, multiple fire pits, bbq, hot tub, stars, bats, critters...
Plus the air cooler inside worked great! It was 110 at least the whole time we were there and yet no reason for complaining.
We will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Better than Disneyland!"

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Villa dei Fiori. There's so much to do for young children right on the property, from the cave, to the dollhouse, to the all the wonderful boulders to climb. The review title is a direct quote from my 6yo nephew. I highly recommend, especially for families with small and active kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect desert retreat!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

My wife and I, along with a couple of very good friends, stayed here in October for the weekend. It was the -perfect- weekend getaway in the desert! We came out to Joshua Tree to watch the Orionids meteor shower, and wanted a quiet place far from the city lights. The property was ideal -- not just a retreat away from town, but a beautifully landscaped property nestled right up among the boulders at the edge of Joshua Tree National Park. The grounds have been reshaped to provide privacy, and the property is simply beautiful!

We showed up a little late in the evening on Friday, but the owner nonetheless was happy to greet us and give a detailed tour of the home and property. He reviewed all of the info we'd need for the weekend -- pointing-out where all of the kitchen items are (there are even pictures posted inside the cabinets and drawers to help find what you need), extra bedding and towels, as well as all of the switches for the outdoor lighting. He also took the time to give us information about the unique artwork found throughout the home, and had even placed freshly-cut roses throughout the home!

Although it was October, the afternoon weather was warm and we spent some time by the pool. The pool area is surrounded by huge boulders, some of which were moved specifically into place in order to create the perfect setting. The pool is very nice, with plenty of room for lounging, and even a private area with a small table and chairs for a nice dinner under the stars! One thing to note, the pool faces towards the closest neighbors, and since it is so quiet, noise can easily carry; the owner asked us to keep aware of our noise levels after 9pm (only on that side of the house) so others can enjoy the peaceful desert surroundings, too.

The home has three bedrooms, and is the perfect size for 4-6 persons (sharing bedrooms). The kitchen is fully equipped, and we enjoyed using the outdoor BBQ grill, too! There are plenty of places to relax and read a book, or sit with friends and chat -- inside and outside the house. The house easily accommodated the four of us, and our friends were even able to bring their dog, who loved it, too! There is just one bathroom, but no one was in a hurry, so it was never an issue to share.

We very much enjoyed our weekend, and can't wait to do it again! The home and the property are as beautiful as the photos suggest. I hope to make staying here an annual event, it really is the perfect weekend getaway in the desert!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fantastic getaway in Joshua Tree

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

My family and I just spent a few days at Villa dei Fiori and absolutely loved our time there! The grounds are stunning and the house is full of interesting and artistic details. Beautiful hand-picked roses decorated every room in the house when we arrived, courtesy of the owner. Dale was very gracious throughout the renting process, and shared with us very interesting information about the area and the art pieces in the house. The villa is very conveniently located and has amazing amenities like a gorgeous pool and spa. I highly recommend this villa for your Joshua Tree vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paula (sons) Wedding

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We had a wonderful enjoyable stay at the Villa grounds are immaculate and the pool is wonderful the setting says it all. Dale was most gracious in all the pertinate details, found in and around the property. Solitude, full moon, stars very private location. Perfect location for Josha Tree N park, 29 Palms and Pappy & Harriets, grocery stores, right in the middle. I would consider returning, first time using VRBO extremly helpful, & detailed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Superb!

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

This is a wonderful property. Dales house is very comfortable and private. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool to die for. The photos and the description of the home are accurate. Its very serene. Dale, the owner was very helpful with the introduction to the house and the surrounding area. Great property- I would return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Solitude - An experience away from it all

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We just left our favorite "get-away-spot" once again... and once again we vowed to return just as soon as possible. This was, our third stay here and believe me this place has "NO EQUAL". Our criteria for the "ultimate" vacation away from the stresses of our daily occupations (entertainment & medical fields) was as follows: We wanted a place that offered privacy amidst unique surroundings with activities and experiences that can be found no where else....and of course we needed to bring our two Pomeranian dogs (our kids) along as well. This special "pet friendly" home-away-from-home was a perfect fit.

I feel that I should have written this review a year or so ago, after our first stay, but not until this last visit did it really hit me just how important the Villa dei Fiori is to us. Staying here is like a "massage for the soul". Within the solitude that this place offers we are able to "re-connect" with each other put work "on hold" for a while.

Dale, the owner of this fantastic place is an extremely accommodating host and you can tell that he has put his heart and soul into this place just for our (or your) enjoyment. Dale lives either in his Los Angeles home or at his other property which is also in Joshua Tree. When he is in town he will get you all set up at the Villa and then leave you to enjoy your stay.
If he is not in J. Tree, You will get all the information that you need via e-mail, phone or written instructions on the premises.

I know that singles, larger groups, and people with kids would absolutely love this amazing place as well...(just check the other reviews). It has so much to offer and it is perched right up against the northern border of the Joshua Tree National Park. The view out the windows from any of the 3 bedrooms when you wake up is that of huge "car or house-sized" boulders ascending hundreds of feet up. The remote and secluded location offers unparalleled privacy. Hiking around the property is amazing and of course the unique, "on property Cave" is just not the sort of amenity that one gets to experience everyday... or anywhere else.

Dale has told us about many activities and great restaurants in town, but we just can't get enough of this place, so besides the occasional trip the the grocery store, we just "stay put" and enjoy the Villa dei Fiori.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, pristine

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Just stayed here in June of 2012 and had a great time. The property is pristine, beautiful and quite secluded. It's literally up against a small mountain comprised of giant boulders, on the other side of which is JTNP. Well air-conditioned house, well maintained jacuzzi and gorgeous pool (non-heated, but perfect temp), and there is a cave in which you can have a fire (literally have to walk/crawl through several openings before you get into the main chamber). The owner also has a fairly extensive library of books (mainly coffee-table type books) which are really fun to delve into (nobody has books anymore!).

Only complaint would be that it did feel like the owner (who lives there) was checking up on us several times a day. This place would be the perfect place to take a romantic excursion with a special friend, but honestly his drive-bys with a short honk and morning walks (that just happened to pass right by the property) felt a bit intrusive, especially given the rental rate. If I pay that much I expect a bit more privacy. I think this is the result of the owner renting out his home rather than a vacation house -- he has a lot of pride in it (and rightly so) and probably feels very protective -- but there are some things you have to let go of if you are renting it out. So, just be-forwarned about this. Not a huge deal really, but might be nice to know if you plan on laying out naked or doing some other adult activity around the pool.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is a very strange review. I don't know what to make of it because it has so many false statements. If someone reads 30 other reviews over a period of ten years, they will find absolutely none similar to his views. Error: the owner does not live at the villa. He lives in L. A. and on his nature preserve 1/2 mile distant. The owner never takes walks on the road. Absolutely no one comes onto the property unless the guests are in-formed. We never depart from this rule.
We receive high profile guests from Hollywood who require absolute privacy. The only maintenance required is for the pool and spa once a week which if requested, can be scheduled when the guests are away. This is an iron clad rule. Once a year we receive a visitor who is strange. Despite the strictness of our policy, it raises the question why this reviewer would fabricate comments that are untrue. As one traveler from Paris recently said, “This place has a lot of soul.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Property!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Wonderful Property...I look forward to visiting again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Oasis in the desert

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

If you are looking for a desert property near a gold course, tennis court, shopping mall or gourmet restaurants, this is not the place for you. However,the "Casa dei Fiori" will provide a comfortable oasis with spectacular views of the tumbling rocks of Joshua Tree. My wife and I stayed for four days and we hated to leave. The owner warmly and graciously greeted us as we approached and wished us well when we left. He was always available by phone if we had a problem, which we didn't. The home is artistically designed and meticulously maintained. We have never seen a pool like this one. It is not heated, but very comfortable as the temperature went up. The views from the pool are unmatched. There are plenty of good restaurants and markets nearby. In particular we liked the Crosswinds Cafe. The property looks exactly like the pictures on the web site, but they do not do it justice. Most of all, from my point of view: you can hear a pin drop at this property. We hope to return when we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Villa Dei Fiori - Joshua Tree Gem!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We could not have asked for a more perfect vacation than the week spent at Villa Dei Fiori. The accommodations are bright, comfortable and a visual feast! The well-appointed kitchen, outdoor grill and especially the hot tub and beautifully landscaped pool make it a perfect place to unwind after a day of spectacular hiking. The owner is gracious and helpful and it is perfectly located for accessing many area points of interest. Consider contacting the Desert Institute to hire a private guide to explore more remote parts of Joshua Tree. Thank you Dale!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location, Charming desert villa

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

My family and I had an outstanding vacation at Dale's villa on the edge of Joshua Tree. Beautifully decorated and perfectly situated among the beautiful boulder at the edge of Jo Tree. The kids climbed their hearts out every day, then enjoyed a good soak in the hot tub. Exploring the caves was an adventure. This villa is very thoughtfully and meticulously laid out: patios on all sides, beautiful roses that guests are encouraged to pick, fire pits, outdoor tables. I read several titles from the expansive library. Easy access to the park gates, or hike from the back yard into the park. I will definitely be returning to Villa del Fiori.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A really special place

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

I have nothing but good things to say about Dale or the house and property. The photos hardly do it justice. There is a beautiful veranda, where we pulled out a table and chairs and ate all our meals, it has the look and feel of Tuscany.

The pool, of course, was refreshing and amazing. At night there is a view of the mountains from the pool that is breathtaking. Behind the house is the park and there is plenty of hiking. Which is great since you can walk back down and jump right into the pool!

The house is well furnished, lots of books. Kitchen was a tad small, but since we ate outside for every meal, it didn't matter.

Hot tub in the evening, watching shooting stars.

Really amazing. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Romantic Experience in Unique Surroundings

Review submitted: September 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

Together with my wife, we drove out to the Villa dei Fiori from our holiday base in Los Angeles. Our first experience of the Joshua Tree desert was unforgettable. We were pleased to find on our arrival that the property was well maintained, clean, and all the amenities were the 'real deal'. However, the property was a little hard to find from the road, and after our long drive we would have appreciated a small complimentary refreshment such as some coffee, tea or milk in the kitchen. The property is in an excellent position, as it backs right on to the stark beauty and vastness of Joshua Tree national park. The Villa was very comfortable, even in the height of summer, and the owner was very friendly and helpful to us. The Villa dei Fiori was everything we expected - and it turned out to be the perfect romantic setting for my Fiftieth birthday! I only regret that we did not have more time to enjoy the Villa and it's unique surroundings. We have some amazing deserts here in Australia, but I must say that our brief experience of the Villa dei Fiori and the Joshua Tree desert really was exceptional.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

desert pool in the boulders great vacation

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We had the most wonderful vacation at Villa dei Fiori in Joshua Tree & have been there twice now with the whole family. the location site is amazing with a gorgeous private pool surrounded by enormous natural boulders & a fancy hot tub with a great view. We have 2 young boys who had a fabulous time. We went for hikes in the high desert behind the house, climbed unbelievable giant boulders, explored caves made by the boulders, found a geological line of rock in the hills, & swam a lot. The kids spotted a wild rabbit and lizard and were thrilled. The house is simple but elegant & comfortable, and felt like a home away from home. we could cook easily in the kitchen with everything we needed & ate meals on the various patios overlooking the views & pool.
Dale was helpful in making us welcome. We would go back any time and highly recommend this place for it is very special. It was one of the best vacations ever. When the kids are away somewhere we plan to go there for a lovely romantic retreat. Absolutely excellent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

vacation with the pool by the giant boulders

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We had the most wonderful vacation at Villa dei Fiori in Joshua Tree & have been there twice now with the whole family. the location site is amazing with a gorgeous private pool surrounded by enormous natural boulders & a fancy hot tub with a great view. We have 2 young boys who had a fabulous time. We went for hikes in the high desert behind the house, climbed unbelievable giant boulders, explored caves made by the boulders, found a geological line of rock in the hills, & swam a lot. The kids spotted a wild rabbit and lizard and were thrilled. The house is simple but elegant & comfortable, and felt like a home away from home. we could cook easily in the kitchen with everything we needed & ate meals on the various patios overlooking the views & pool.
Dale was helpful in making us welcome. We would go back any time and highly recommend this place for it is very special. It was one of the best vacations ever. When the kids are away somewhere we plan to go there for a lovely romantic retreat. Absolutely excellent!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house in desert boulder landscape

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We had the most wonderful vacation at Villa dei Fiori in Joshua Tree & have been there twice now with the whole family. the location site is amazing with a gorgeous private pool surrounded by enormous natural boulders & a fancy hot tub with a great view. We have 2 young boys who had a fabulous time. We went for hikes in the high desert behind the house, climbed unbelievable giant boulders, explored caves made by the boulders, found a geological line of rock in the hills, & swam a lot. The kids spotted a wild rabbit and lizard and were thrilled. The house is simple but elegant & comfortable, and felt like a home away from home. we could cook easily in the kitchen with everything we needed & ate meals on the various patios overlooking the views & pool.
Dale was helpful in making us welcome. We would go back any time and highly recommend this place for it is very special. It was one of the best vacations ever. When the kids are away somewhere we plan to go there for a lovely romantic retreat. Absolutely excellent!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A huge disappointment

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

My wife and I booked this property for 6 nights but were so disappointed on arrival that we left right away - leaving us very substantially out of pocket. The main problem was the bedding. The covers were heavy and very old and were directly on the sheets without any duvets. They were not the type that could be cleaned easily and there was no way way we were going to sleep next to them. Another issue was that the closet was two-thirds full of the owner's clothes, leaving us next to no space to unpack and hang our own clothes. When you are paying top dollar you don't expect this sort of thing. The washing machine and drier are outside and under tarps, which is less than ideal, and the kitchen facilities are very basic. All in all, although the location is great this is definitely not value for money. Also, I would say it is misleading to call it a villa. It is actually a smallish, rustic cabin.

Owners response: In the twenty years I've been offering my home for a vacation rental, no guests have canceled at the last moment and demanded a refund. Upon arrival, the guest called to say he was expecting a large, luxurious house and was not satisfied. I was on my property near by and offered to come immediately and make all adjustments he wished, but he declined, saying they were going to Palm Springs.
Long before arrival, the guest reviewed our website with 100 photos of the property. It is stated that there are three bedrooms, 1300 sq. ft and seven terraces of terraces, clearly showing that it is not a "rustic cabin." Rather, the house is furnished with antiques, original art work from Paris and contains a $100,000 library and telescope for viewing the night sky.
We primarily serve families with children, even two families with children. The items in the closet are extra bedding, foam cushions, pillows and blankets for the purpose of making additional beds for multiple guests and kids. The housekeeper spends 5 to 6 hours meticulously preparing the house for arriving guests.
The "basic kitchen" he mentions, although not large, has satisfied guests over the years, many of whom have cooked holiday dinners for eight. Our nature loving clientele have been thrilled with a swimming pool surrounded by boulders, 150 rose bushes and seven terraces with pergolas shaded by roses and wisteria, a dining room in the cave, a Jacuzzi spa for six, on 15 acres of scenic beauty immediately on the National Park.
Afterward, the canceling guest demanded the return of his rental fee or implied he would write a negative review.
Our website with nearly 100 photos accurately represents the property. The reviewer never sent the security deposit and fabricated multiple complaints as a basis for demanding a refund when he decided to stay in Palm Springs. Because the house cannot be rented to another at the last minute, our policy clearly states on our website that there is no refund for last minute cancellation.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

love of city & desert

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

Being more of a “city-boy” it’s really hard to convince me to retreat to the desert. Even the historical name of Death Valley gives me “the willys”, but since I have been to Joshua Tree more times than I can count, nowadays I actually look forward to it. While I haven’t done the camping bit of pitching a tent and boiling water over a campfire….yet, what makes it all the more enjoyable for me are oasis’ that are real like Villa Dei Fiore.
I was part of a family grouping complete with energetic children, which gave me reservations in and of itself (!). Nonetheless, as usual once I got there I couldn’t have been more relaxed and pleased to be right where I was.
This villa is perfectly secluded and self-reliant with lots of shade and comfortable chairs. Everything was clean, spacious and readily available. I felt it was designed to be private, quiet and safe. I had a perfect time sunning and swimming in the delightful, huge pool and sitting under the umbrella table chatting day or night. There is an amazing array of books to explore and an easy to use kitchen. We made breakfasts, pizza dinners, cheese plates and cocktails. Just outside the kitchen there's a BBQ where we hung out, cooked ribs and had a quite a few laughs. I found it very relaxing just to look out at the rounded rock formations, the natural vista areas and the stars which are taken for granted inland. The top of the hill looks right into the parkland of Joshua Tree which called our attention frequently for hikes. I enjoyed everything that Villa Dei Fiore has to offer. I had a great time with my friends, have recommended it to many of my friends who are looking for a superb get-away spot, and I wouldn't hesitate to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

from asphalt stars to desert stars *****

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Being more of a “city-boy” it’s really hard to convince me to retreat to the desert. Even the historical name of Death Valley gives me “the willys”, but since I have been to Joshua Tree more times than I can count, nowadays I actually look forward to it. While I haven’t done the camping bit of pitching a tent and boiling water over a campfire….yet, what makes it all the more enjoyable for me are oasis’ that are real like Villa Dei Fiore.
I was part of a family grouping complete with energetic children, which gave me reservations in and of itself (!). Nonetheless, as usual once I got there I couldn’t have been more relaxed and pleased to be right where I was.
This villa is perfectly secluded and self-reliant with lots of shade and comfortable chairs. Everything was clean, spacious and readily available. I felt it was designed to be private, quiet and safe. I had a perfect time sunning and swimming in the delightful, huge pool and sitting under the umbrella table chatting day or night. There is an amazing array of books to explore and an easy to use kitchen. We made breakfasts, pizza dinners, cheese plates and cocktails. Just outside the kitchen there's a BBQ where we hung out, cooked ribs and had a quite a few laughs. I found it very relaxing just to look out at the rounded rock formations, the natural vista areas and the stars which are taken for granted inland. The top of the hill looks right into the parkland of Joshua Tree which called our attention frequently for hikes. I enjoyed everything that Villa Dei Fiore has to offer. I had a great time with my friends, have recommended it to many of my friends who are looking for a superb get-away spot, and I wouldn't hesitate to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Oasis in the Dessert

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Our family stayed here for one week and had a fantastic time. The house is surrounded by incredible boulders, Joshua trees, and dozens of rose bushes. There is a fantastic pool that our two little girls enjoyed swimming in. The hot tub was also relaxing. Lots of beautiful walking trails for those who
want to take it easy and tons of challenging trails for the more adventerous. Very well decorated bedrooms and living room. Kitchen is small but equipped with all amenities to make a gourmet meal. We ate outside every night and even by the pool. There are lots of chairs and tables to move around. There is so much space outside that you literally can sit or dine in a differnt place every day.
If you wanted to eat inside, you can arrange the large dining table and numerous chairs in the dining area. We really had such a great time and will return soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oasis in the Dessert

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Our family stayed here for a week and had the most wonderful time! The landscape surrounding the property is utterly amazing. The house is nestled between large boulders and numerous Joshua Trees which highlight the beautiful dessert and there is a fantastic pool to
cool you off at the same time! Our two little daughters enjoyed taking walks on the trails and spending time swimming. We ate dinner outside every night and star gazed. The kitchen is small but equipped with all the essentials to cook anything. The dinning area has a long table and lots of chairs to set up if you want to eat inside, but we took advantage of the numerous sitting/dining areas outside. I can't say enough about the place! We will definitely be back again soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great retreat house in a great location

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

I spent three nights in this beautiful house with my husband and 11 year old twin daughters in early April. It was our first visit to Joshua Tree.

Overall, we truly enjoyed ourselves and found this home comfortable and inviting. I would definitely recommend this to family and friends.

Here are the pros and cons of our stay:

PROS
Communication with the owner was quick and clear
Great location and easy to find
The house was very clean
Fresh flowers in the living room and bedroom
Beautiful rock formations in the back of the property
The cave on the property is magical
My kids loved climbing on the rocks!
It's very quiet and private
The garden is so beautiful!
Large, incredible library of mostly art related books
The jacuzzi is nestled right up to the rock formations
Outdoor dining areas add a lot to the experience
House is very nicely decorated and up to date
Good audio system; I was able to hook up my iPod with no problems
WiFi worked great
The owner owns an additional place nearby so if he is there during your stay, he will be readily available to help if need be.

CONS
The kitchen is very basic: limited counter space, no dishwasher, stove and oven are just OK, microwave is basic and not very new. The layout leaves much to be desired as well. If you intend on cooking a lot, you will find it challenging. It's as if this kitchen just does not belong with the house. Maybe the owner has plans to remodel it soon?

The TV is small and in a cabinet that does not have doors that swing all the way back or slide into the cabinet. This makes it awkward for four people to watch a movie together. FYI: bring your own DVD's, there are only a few in the house.

If the weather is bad, as it was our first day there, you will have to move some tables around inside of the house to create a place to eat. The table in the kitchen is in an awkward place right next to the refrigerator; when you open the door, it barely clears the back of one of the dining chairs. In other words, dining outside is best.

Compared to the other four houses we have rented from Home Away and VRBO, this owner gives very, very detailed instructions about the do's and don'ts for this property. I found this to be a bit intimidating as I was concerned that we would not get our deposit back. In the end, all was well and it wasn't an issue. But during our stay, I was a little uncomfortable because I was always worried about the owner's lengthy instructions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise in the Boulders

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

My family and I stayed at Villa del Fiori over this past Easter week and had an absolutely restful and magical time in this desert paradise. The house is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, the gardens are gorgeous and lovingly tended, the library is chock full of literary and art book gems from around the world, the amenities are A+, and the views are spectacular. This villa is a gift from its owner - Dale Alan Pelton - to its visitors. We swam in the beautiful navy blue bottom pool, lazed in the spa, played bocce ball around the grounds, cooked grand family dinners, climbed the backyard boulder piles, and cooked smores over a backyard bonfire each night and day all week. For the price of a small room in a Palm Springs hotel, one gets a one-of-a-kind, lifetime memory-filled experience in one of the most comfortable, spectacular places on earth. Do yourself a favor and stay here. Like us, you will come back for years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good Time

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

Wow, this was the place to have fun and relax and visit with friends we haven't seen in a long time. There is just something for everyone here. whether you want quiet time or social time, hiking or swimming, slepping-in or reading or writing, or movie-watching, you'll find just the cozy spot to do just what you want. This last september '09 we finally got a chance to spend a long weekend out at the Villa dei Fiori in Joshua Tree with two other families. We found the accomodations to be very adaptable to all the visitors(ages ranging from 2 to 49)all very tastefully decorated. We enjoyed the many special patio areas just outside the french doors to sit and have breakfast or to look for falling stars. (we sighted 3) We all decided to share meals and we had lots of activity in the kitchen and bbq'ing on the adjacent patio. all very convenient for the many wine-tastings and appetizers round the clock. No need to drive anywhere. The new pool is just the thing to cool off and enjoy story-telling, beverages and cocktails amid the rocks while the kids play. We had a great hike up thru the "valley of the moon" for boulder scrambling. And the whole crew made a flashlight-lit trek to the hidden cave for a campfire for more stories with the resident kangaroo mice listening in. The owner has done a superb job with the landscaping design to create privacy and beauty with roses, lavender, firethorns, cypress, palms, palo-verde and yucca trees. We would love to return and wouldn't hesitate to plan another trip with a bunch of friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extraordinary Desert Jewel

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This magical, even romantic, place far exceeds the gorgeous pictures on the owner's site. The house is right against the towering boulders that rim the actual Joshua Tree State Park. It has it's own private little "cave" to explore. Below that, is a lovely patio overlooking a beautiful oval pool. Next to the house is a great jaccuzi that seats 8 people for nighttime star-gazing. The foot jets were a treat for your feet after hiking. The house has 5 separate little patios/pergolas with large windowed doors, to enjoy the spectacular views from all sides of the house, climbing roses, wisteria, over 150 various roses, a large bank of lavender, etc. If you are a chef, you will appreciate the Bodum cookware and roomy, fully-furnished kitchen. If you appreciate art, you'll be impressed with various one-of-a-kind pieces from France to Morocco. He had the most impressive collection of books we had ever seen in a house, from every genre of the arts, novels, culture and history books. The owner was available to answer any question when we called, very gracious. We can't wait to go back to this desert gem!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extraordinary Desert Jewel

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This magical, even romantic, place far exceeds the gorgeous pictures on the owner's site. The house is right against the towering boulders that rim the actual Joshua Tree State Park. It has it's own private little "cave" to explore. Below that, is a lovely patio overlooking a beautiful oval pool. Next to the house is a great jaccuzi that seats 8 people for nighttime star-gazing. The foot jets were a treat for your feet after hiking. The house has 5 separate little patios/pergolas with large windowed doors, to enjoy the spectacular views from all sides of the house, climbing roses, wisteria, over 150 various roses, a large bank of lavender, etc. If you are a chef, you will appreciate the Bodum cookware and roomy, fully-furnished kitchen. If you appreciate art, you'll be impressed with various one-of-a-kind pieces from France to Morocco. He had the most impressive collection of books we had ever seen in a house, from every genre of the arts, novels, culture and history books. The owner was available to answer any question when we called, very gracious. We can't wait to go back to this desert gem!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extraordinary Desert Jewel

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This magical, even romantic, place far exceeds the gorgeous pictures on the owner's site. The house is right against the towering boulders that rim the actual Joshua Tree State Park. It has it's own private little "cave" to explore. Below that, is a lovely patio overlooking a beautiful oval pool. Next to the house is a great jaccuzi that seats 8 people for nighttime star-gazing. The foot jets were a treat for your feet after hiking. The house has 5 separate little patios/pergolas with large windowed doors, to enjoy the spectacular views from all sides of the house, climbing roses, wisteria, over 150 various roses, a large bank of lavender, etc. If you are a chef, you will appreciate the Bodum cookware and roomy, fully-furnished kitchen. If you appreciate art, you'll be impressed with various one-of-a-kind pieces from France to Morocco. He had the most impressive collection of books we had ever seen in a house, from every genre of the arts, novels, culture and history books. The owner was available to answer any question when we called, very gracious. We can't wait to go back to this desert gem!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extraordinary Desert Jewel

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This magical, even romantic, place far exceeds the gorgeous pictures on the owner's site. The house is right against the towering boulders that rim the actual Joshua Tree State Park. It has it's own private little "cave" to explore. Below that, is a lovely patio overlooking a beautiful oval pool. Next to the house is a great jaccuzi that seats 8 people for nighttime star-gazing. The foot jets were a treat for your feet after hiking. The house has 5 separate little patios/pergolas with large windowed doors, to enjoy the spectacular views from all sides of the house, climbing roses, wisteria, over 150 various roses, a large bank of lavender, etc. If you are a chef, you will appreciate the Bodum cookware and roomy, fully-furnished kitchen. If you appreciate art, you'll be impressed with various one-of-a-kind pieces from France to Morocco. He had the most impressive collection of books we had ever seen in a house, from every genre of the arts, novels, culture and history books. The owner was available to answer any question when we called, very gracious. We can't wait to go back to this desert gem!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

long weekend sojourn

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

Wow, this was the place to have fun and relax and visit with friends we haven't seen in a long time. There is just something for everyone here. whether you want quiet time or social time, hiking or swimming, slepping-in or reading or writing, or movie-watching, you'll find just the cozy spot to do what you want. This last september '09 we finally got a chance to spend a long weekend out at the Villa dei Fiori in Joshua Tree with two other families. We found the accomodations to be very adaptable to all the visitors(ages ranging from 2 to 49)all very tastefully decorated. We enjoyed the many special patio areas just outside the french doors to sit and have breakfast or to look for falling stars. (we sighted 3) We all decided to share meals and we had lots of activity in the kitchen and bbq'ing on the adjacent patio. all very convenient for the many wine-tastings and appetizers round the clock. No need to drive anywhere. The new pool is just the thing to cool off and enjoy story-telling, beverages and cocktails amid the rocks while the kids play. We had a great hike up thru the "valley of the moon" for boulder scrambling. And the whole crew made a flashlight-lit trek to the hidden cave for a campfire for more stories with the resident kangaroo mice listening in. The owner has done a superb job with the landscaping design to create privacy and beauty with roses, lavender, firethorns, cypress, palms, palo-verde and yucca trees. We would love to return and wouldn't hesitate to plan another trip with a bunch of friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm amazed by the vivid writing in this review. It has covered so many facets in so few words---so perceptive even remembering the names of the plants. We plan to keep on improving the place, recently adding a larger stainless steel refrigerator and planning for a more sophisticated range.
When I'm around, I'm giving tours for our guests of my five acre "Nature Preserve" just up the road which is at this moment inundated with yellow wildflowers amid the boulders and 1,000 cypress, junipers and pine trees. In the cholla cactus, a mama dove is sitting in her carefully disguised nest.
She has chosen the cholla whose needles are so sharp that it serves to deter the desert rats who'd love to devour her eggs. Safely enshrouded in her prickly haven, she patiently warms the eggs of baby doves who'll soon hatch, a thrilling sight for our little visitors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Desert getaway

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

This last september '09 we finally got a chance to spend a long weekend out at the Villa dei Fiori with two other families. We found the accomodations to be very adaptable to all the users regarding sleeping arrangements, cooking, relaxing, fun time and socializing. If I wanted to spend any time indoors (which out in Joshua Tree, I don't) There is an abundant library of Literature and Art/Design books to entertain. We enjoyed the multipe special patio areas just outside the french doors trellised with shading vines. A perfectly cool spot to sit and have breakfast or just appreciate the peace and quiet. There is a large jacuzzi we gathered in late-night to look for falling stars. We all decided to share meals and we had lots of activity in the kitchen and bbq'ing on the adjacent patio. The new pool is just the thing to cool off and enjoy beverages and cocktails amid the rocks while the kids play. We had a great hike up thru the "valley of the moon" for boulder scrambling. And the whole crew made a flashlight-lit trek to the hidden cave for a campfire. The owner has done a superb job with the landscaping design to create privacy and beauty with roses, lavender, firethorn, cypress and yucca trees. We would love to return and wouldn't hesitate to plan another trip with a bunch of friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm amazed by the vivid writing in this review. It has covered so many facets in so few words---so perceptive even remembering the names of the plants. We plan to keep on improving the place, recently adding a larger stainless steel refrigerator and planning for a more sophisticated range.
When I'm around, I'm giving tours for our guests of my five acre "Nature Preserve" just up the road which is at this moment inundated with yellow wildflowers amid the boulders and 1,000 cypress, junipers and pine trees. In the cholla cactus, a mama dove is sitting in her carefully disguised nest.
She has chosen the cholla whose needles are so sharp that it serves to deter the desert rats who'd love to devour her eggs. Safely enshrouded in her prickly haven, she patiently warms the eggs of baby doves who'll soon hatch, a thrilling sight for our little visitors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get away!

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

My friends and I enjoyed our time at your villa. We luxuriated in the pool under the boulders and had good food at home and in surrounding area. It's a great place for the kids who were with us too and loved hiking around in the rocks. My friend was very impressed by the library and the sensibility of the whole place. The gardens are to die for. Kudos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get away with a wonderful pool and unique combination of rustic and ornate

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

My friends and I enjoyed our time at your villa. We luxuriated in the pool under the boulders and had good food at home and in surrounding area. It's a great place for the kids who were with us too and loved hiking around in the rocks. My friend was very impressed by the library and the sensibility of the whole place. The gardens are to die for. Kudos! We come from a beautiful desert spot of our own in Taos New Mexico and we weren't disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

stunning desert oasis

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

This a perfect getaway from the city -- appropriate for a couple or multiple families with kids. The lot is beautifully landscaped with roses and lavender gardens nestled in the giant boulders and a beautiful pool to boot! I have stayed here several times and each time is more memorable than the next. In the evenings you can sit under of the verandas, have a fire either in the pit next to the house or you can have one in the rock cave at the far end of the lot. Stargazing in the jacuzzi is also a wonderful treat. The house is clean, comfortable and lovingly decorated with the necessary amenities. I can't wait to go again! Thanks Dale for creating this work of art!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: After designing movie sets which were immediately destroyed immediately after the filming, it is rewarding to create my own movie set in the boulders on the boundary of the magical Joshua Tree National Park. I remember the bulldozers crushing the set for "The Goonies" and feeling deep regret that the pirate ship and cave would go down to oblivion after so many hours of work by the designer and set builders, and asking myself, why not create something of beauty that will live on to another era? Villa dei Fiori is the result of my small contribution to immortality. I share my garden and home with others especially those with children who have a chance to pursue their fantasies in the cave and discover the wildlife that is so abundant in the Mojave desert. This is one movie set which will outlast the creator.
Dale

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

stunning setting and comfortable retreat

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

This a perfect getaway from the city -- appropriate for a couple or multiple families with kids. The lot is beautifully landscaped with roses and lavender gardens nestled in the giant boulders and a beautiful pool to boot! I have stayed here several times and each time is more memorable than the next. In the evenings you can sit under of the verandas, have a fire either in the pit next to the house or you can have one in the rock cave at the far end of the lot. Stargazing in the jacuzzi is also a wonderful treat. The house is clean, comfortable and lovingly decorated with the necessary amenities. I can't wait to go again! Thanks Dale for creating this work of art!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: After designing movie sets which were immediately destroyed immediately after the filming, it is rewarding to create my own movie set in the boulders on the boundary of the magical Joshua Tree National Park. I remember the bulldozers crushing the set for "The Goonies" and feeling deep regret that the pirate ship and cave would go down to oblivion after so many hours of work by the designer and set builders, and asking myself, why not create something of beauty that will live on to another era? Villa dei Fiori is the result of my small contribution to immortality. I share my garden and home with others especially those with children who have a chance to pursue their fantasies in the cave and discover the wildlife that is so abundant in the Mojave desert. This is one movie set which will outlast the creator. Dale

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place rocks - literally!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

This a perfect getaway from the city -- appropriate for a couple or multiple families with kids. The lot is beautifully landscaped with roses and lavender gardens nestled in the giant boulders and a beautiful pool to boot! I have stayed here several times and each time is more memorable than the next. In the evenings you can sit under of the verandas, have a fire either in the pit next to the house or you can have one in the rock cave at the far end of the lot. Stargazing in the jacuzzi is also a wonderful treat. The house is clean, comfortable and lovingly decorated with the necessary amenities. I can't wait to go again! Thanks Dale for creating this work of art!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: After designing movie sets which were immediately destroyed immediately after the filming, it is rewarding to create my own movie set in the boulders on the boundary of the magical Joshua Tree National Park. I remember the bulldozers crushing the set for "The Goonies" and feeling deep regret that the pirate ship and cave would go down to oblivion after so many hours of work by the designer and set builders, and asking myself, why not create something of beauty that will live on to another era? Villa dei Fiori is the result of my small contribution to immortality. So I share my garden and home with others especially those with children who have a chance to pursue their fantasies in the cave and discover the wildlife that is so abundant in the Mojave desert. This is one movie set which will outlast the creator.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review