reviews for: listing #14629 - Carmel-By-The-Sea, California House rental

Carmel Getaway
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $7,000 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

Just perfect!

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

This is a lovely home that was just right for our family of five. It's located a few blocks from the town and Carmel Bay. We walked everywhere--it's safe and beautiful. The house is cozy, well appointed and well maintained; and all the beds are comfortable. We especially enjoyed the living area, where every evening we had cocktails by the fireplace and then walked to dinner in town.

The owners are very nice and easy to work with. They got back to us right away when we sent an inquiry about renting. Everything went like clockwork. We highly recommend the home and would definitely stay here again.

Regarding restaurants: We had dinner at Casanova, the Flying Fish, Christopher's and Yafa, and all were wonderful. If we had to rate them, Flying Fish followed closely by Casanova were our favorites.

Regarding activities: We love the beach and love dogs, so you can imagine our delight when we walked to the beach and saw so many happy dogs enjoying the beach with their owners. Everyone was having a big time, including us.
We also golfed at Carmel Valley Ranch, visited the Monterey Aquarium, toured Big Sur (including gorgeous Pfeiffer Falls) and had lunch outdoors overlooking the ocean at the fabulous Ventana Restaurant, hiked Point Lobos and enjoyed beautiful sunsets over Carmel Bay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just perfect.

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

This is a lovely home that was just right for our family of five. It's located a few blocks from the town and the ocean. We walked everywhere--it's so safe and beautiful. The house is cozy, well appointed, and well maintained; and the beds are comfortable. We especially enjoyed the living area, where every evening we had cocktails by the fireplace and then walked to dinner.
The owners are very nice and easy to work with. They got back to us right away when we had questions about renting, and everything went like clockwork. We highly recommend this home and would definitely stay here again.

As far as restaurants--we had dinner at Casanova, the Flying Fish, Christopher's and Yafa--and all were wonderful. If we had to rate them, Flying Fish followed closely by Casanova were our favorites

Regarding activities: We love the beach and love dogs, so you can imagine our delight when we walked to the beach and saw so many happy dogs enjoying the beach with their owners. Everyone was having a big time, including us. We also golfed at Carmel Valley Ranch, visited the Aquarium in Monterey, toured Big Sur (including gorgeous Pfeiffer Falls) where we had lunch outdoors overlooking the ocean at the fabulous Ventana Restaurant, hiked Point Lobos, and enjoyed beautiful sunsets over Carmel Bay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Location in the heart of Carmel!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

Absolutely loved this charming house. Awesome location a very short walk to town and and Carmel's beautiful beaches. We stayed for 6 nights with my husband and his parents. The master is stairs and the guest room with a queen was downstairs. Each had it's own private bath.
The home was clean and comfortably decorated. The kitchen is very well equipped for anyone who enjoys cooking. We cooked a few nights, lit the fire and just relaxed.
There is a Weber we used one night for grilling and a round table and chairs if it is warm enough to dine outside.
It has a full size washer and Dryer, Iron, and blow dryers.
It is just off the edge of town so it was very peaceful and quiet.
The owners were very nice and accommodating to work with. We visit Carmel once or twice a year and will look forward to renting this home again!
Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice get-away

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This is the perfect house in Carmel for that special occasion. We ( 2 middle-aged couples) stayed recently and loved the house and the proximity to the main streets of Carmel and the beach. The house is clean, very well kept and nicely furnished. It truly felt like our 'home' away from home. The owners were very pleasant to work with and we would def. stay here again, if we have the opprotunity. It is definitely one of the better valued rental properties in Carmel too. Thanks for providing a wonderful, relaxing cottage for our Carmel visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great house

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Two women stayed here over the Christmas holidays and enjoyed it very much - the house is immaculate, laid out very conveniently with nice cooking utensils and dinnerware - and it is so close to shopping and the beach . We would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Carmel charmer

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our two week stay in this lovely Carmel home couldn't have been much better. Very clean/well kept and all amenities made our time there very enjoyable. Excellent location very close to town and short walk to beach. We are veteran Carmel renters and would put this charming home very high on our list. The owners were very easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Carmel Gem

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

A lovely, comfortable, charming home. The location is ideal for walking to restaurants and shops. Our favorites were the morning walks to the beach, dining outdoors on the warm days, and cuddling up by the fire on the cool days. The pristine clean home has everything one needs for a relaxing, comfortable stay. The enitre experience from arranging for the rental, to the stay, to the return of the deposit was seamless. It couldn't have been better.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Quintessential Carmel cottage

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

This darling Carmel home was exactly as described. Beautifully maintained and clean as a whistle and decorated to a tee. The location couldn't have been better; 1 block to the village and a few blocks to the ocean.
Everything was as-described, which was such a relief and we will definitely be renting it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

easter vacation

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

we cant wait to go back to your home for some time off from the hustle of the city. with the beach a hop skip and a jump away we were at the perfect location. from the bedroom we could hear the roar of the sea which gave us the best sleep in a long time. your home had all the amenities necessary to keep three teenage kids happy and two parents that were in need of peace and quiet, good nearby restaurants and shopping. home was in excellent condition and very clean. cant wait to go back to the cottage at Carmel by the sea.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful retreat in the heart of Carmel

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

We had our second family re-union (5 adults) at this cozy retreat. It is a very comfortable place with many nice amenities. The master suite upstairs is peaceful and roomy with a small balcony. The two bedrooms downstairs sleep 2-3 adults or more children comfortably. The location can't be beaten with downtown AND the ocean just a short walk away. The owners are very easy to work with and have put much thought into their home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental experience!

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

My wife and I rented this home for the month of October (2010) and absolutely loved it. It's got the perfect Carmel location: restaurants and shops are only 1-2 blocks away, and it's only a 5-8 minute walk down to the beach. The home is comfortable and very spacious relative to the square footage; that is, it feels a lot larger than it really is. The upstairs master is very roomy and has a very comfortable king-sized bed, tons of closet space, and a nice bathroom with excellent natural & artificial lighting. Downstairs, the 2nd bedroom has a nice, comfortable queen-sized bed, and best of all, the entire guest room area, including the bathroom, can be closed off from the living room area to effectively give you a second 'suite'. The 3rd bedroom has both a day/trundle bed (which we didn't use) and a desk -- and that I did use virtually every day since this was, at least for me, a working vacation. The internet access worked very well, including the wireless router, and I was able to have great wireless speeds even out on the back deck.
You'll love the well-stocked kitchen, and since we were there for a month, we really appreciated the full-size washer & dryer in the garage. The home has pretty much every convenience and amenity you could ask for in a rental home, whether you plan to stay a weekend, a week, a month, or longer. We're regular visitors to Carmel and, prior to this trip, we've always stayed in our favorite local hotel. In the future, we plan to make this our first choice regardless of how long we're staying.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great rental experience!

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

My wife and I rented this home for the month of October (2010) and absolutely loved it. It's got the perfect Carmel location: restaurants and shops are only 1-2 blocks away, and it's only a 5-8 minute walk down to the beach. The home is comfortable and very spacious relative to the square footage; that is, it feels a lot larger than it really is. The upstairs master is very roomy and has a very comfortable king-sized bed, tons of closet space, and a nice bathroom with excellent natural & artificial lighting. Downstairs, the 2nd bedroom has a nice, comfortable queen-sized bed, and best of all, the entire guest room area, including the bathroom, can be closed off from the living room area to effectively give you a second 'suite'. The 3rd bedroom has both a day/trundle bed (which we didn't use) and a desk -- and that I did use virtually every day since this was, at least for me, a working vacation. The internet access worked very well, including the wireless router, and I was able to have great wireless speeds even out on the back deck.
You'll love the well-stocked kitchen, and since we were there for a month, we really appreciated the full-size washer & dryer in the garage. The home has pretty much every convenience and amenity you could ask for in a rental home, whether you plan to stay a weekend, a week, a month, or longer. We're regular visitors to Carmel and, prior to this trip, we've always stayed in our favorite local hotel. In the future, we plan to make this our first choice regardless of how long we're staying.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing in every way!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Gorgeous home, beautifully maintained and well appointed. We could not have asked for a nicer home to stay in for our trip to Carmel-by-the-sea. Not only was the home beautiful, but the location was absolutely perfect! It is within walking distance to everything Carmel has to offer. We were extremely pleased and we will definitely be back! The owner was also very helpful when we were making arrangements.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review