reviews for: listing #14652 - Netarts, Oregon House rental

Eden's Garden Cottage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Oceanside
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $179 - $289 /nt
    $1,183 - $1,883 /wk
    $4,732 - $7,532 /mth

sort by:

Exactly what we needed!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We stayed in July 2012. We combined the occasion of a family reunion with my daughter's honeymoon. We got a great deal on the Blue Rose next door. This property was perfect. I had all of my dogs. I was able to host my daughter and grandbaby, my other daughter and her friend, and myself and my husband. The property is clean, the beds are comfortable, and the view is SPECTACULAR! We had wonderful lazy days laying on the deck and cooking in the very comfortable kitchen. Tillamook is close by for excellent cheese and the home is lovely and comfortable. The only thing I would advise is that it's 98 steps to the beach, down a very steep hill and fairly rough terrain, even for seasoned Oregonians.

Owners response: Thanks for the great review, and we are glad you appreciated the view.

Regarding the 98 steps -- we agree there are a lot of stairs. For those who have trouble with that many stairs we recommend parking at beach level, less than 1/4 mile north, in the public parking lot. It puts you right at beach level on our beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eden's Cottage

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

Very nice spot on the coast!

The pictures undersell the house - it's nicer in person. Quiet, comfortable and private. Beautiful views. Fully stocked. The kitchen has just about every pot, pan or appliance you'll need. There's even a big dog bed if you bring your pup.

If you forgot anything and the house doesn't already have it, there's a nice store about 3 blocks up from the house. Tillamook is a 10 minute drive.

The walk to the beach is a little understated. It's about 3 stories from the house. The stairs are solid and it's safe, but it's not going to be easily accessible to someone who isn't great with stairs. The beach itself is great. Very quiet.

Booking was a bit of a pain and the owner could have been friendlier, but overall we were very satisfied especially for the reasonable price.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed the house and found it well stocked. And thanks for the review.

Concerning the the stairs and beach access, the following paragraph is the information that every guest who inquires gets from me in an email. I send out a lot of information so I can understand if you didn't read that far or didn't remember.

"The stairs to the beach are very even, and there is a rope railing, but there are a lot of them. You have to walk over about 10 feet of rocks where the stairs meet the beach before you are on completely flat sand. Once on the sand, the beaches are wide and flat and sandy, and you can walk for miles. There is also a beach you can drive right up to at Happy Camp (1/4 mile away), in Oceanside (2 miles away) and at Cape Lookup (7 miles away)."

That information is part of a section in the email titled:
"Mobility Issues, Elderly Access & Wheelchair Access".

I require folks to call to book the place, because I like to know more about my guests, so I'm not sure why you found me to be unfriendly. But you are correct that I don't offer the convenience of onliine booking.

Come again any time. You were a 5 start guest! -- Doug

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful views, very comfortable house

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We greatly enjoyed staying at this house. It has wonderful views from many rooms and an ample deck. It is comfortably appointed and very functional. Very easy to relax here and enjoy the bay and ocean. Reasonable access directly to the bay if you can do a long flight of wood stairs. The owner was easy to work with, communicates well, and was flexible in response to a couple special needs we had. We very much look forward to staying here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Its always nice to share our second home with folks who appreciate it as much as we do!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

terrific house

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

This was a terrific beach house for us! It's very comfortable, has a super view, the beach is great. We had fresh seafood daily courtesy of our clammers/mussel-ers and crabcatchers. The house is so well equipped, everything was clean and just where one would expect it to be, and we had a wonderful time. The house slept seven of us very comfortably, and expanded to have eleven at table for all meals, tho that was a bit tight. Wish we lived closer and could come back often. Thanks so much to the owners!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

I just want to thank you for our chance to enjoy your beautiful cottage and location in Netarts. We had a wonderful time! Your list of 'Doug's Picks' was really helpful to us. We were delighted by the tide pools at Oceanside and by the beach there, too, but we also so appreciated the easy access to the beach right at the cottage. It was perfect for playing in the sand and the creek. You have been very helpful with this rental experience, both with detailed information and with flexibility. The house is so well equipped and easy to enjoy for a few days. Thank you! I surely hope we can find a time to come again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was perfect

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2010

I just want to thank you for our chance to enjoy your beautiful cottage and location in Netarts. We had a wonderful time! Your list of "Doug's Picks" was really helpful to us. We were delighted by the tide pools at Oceanside and by the beach there, too, but we also so appreciated the easy access to the beach right at the cottage. It was perfect for playing in the sand and the creek.

You have been very helpful with this rental experience, both with detailed information and with flexibility. The house is so well equipped and easy to enjoy for a few days. Thank you! I surely hope we can find a time to come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eden's Garden Cottage

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2008

WOW!! What a beautiful place. Your web page doesn't do this place justice!! ... We were so pleased when we drove up, but we were down right amazed when we walked in, fabulous!! The bedrooms are great, the kitchen is perfect and the deck is wonderful!! ... Thanks for having a telescope. It was great to spy on the Seals and Pelicans on the sand bar. We went crabbing for the first time, what a hoot!! There's nothing better than fresh crabs and Coronas, heaven on earth! Thanks for sharing this great place. We will recommend Eden's Garden to everyone seeking a wonderful beach experience! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eden's Garden Cottage

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

What a wonderful retreat! The house was absolutely perfect! What great views, even without the telescope. But with it we took special interest in the seal family basking in the sun and the herons and seagulls on the beach. At night the kids enjoyed peering at the moon and planets and stars - clear, crisp nights - just perfect! Of course, it was also wonderful to reunite with brother and sister-in-law and have cousins meet again! Dinners were sildly successful with great food, good wine, exceptional company - all with a view!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eden's Garden Cottage

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Thanks a whole lot! We were awed at how beautiful this place was when we first entered. Our week was wonderful. We enjoyed visiting Tillamook Cheese Factory, making bonfires, building sand castles, and being together. This vacation was truly important to us because we don't know how long the 7 of us will be around next time there is a vacation planned. It was amazing to have the whole family together and for that we are very grateful for the use of your cottage.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eden's Garden Cottage

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

The views and amenities were perfect. Thanks for all your thoughtful "touches", such as great bedding, flower garden, path to the beach, and wonderful windows. The waffle cones with Tillamook Ice Cream, at the local grocery, can't be beat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eden's Garden Cottage

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2004

Your house is beautiful. Thanks for the wonderful vacation! We hope to return again for an annual Hoyt family gathering.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2004   Date of arrival: May 20, 2004

Our stay was magical. We had a wonderful time. The view was incredible - we even saw a whale. The tranquility was perfect. The horse back rides were great. The weather was sunny.

We just had a great time. We very much want to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review