reviews for: listing #14668 - Ruidoso, New Mexico House rental

Janet's Place, a large mountain cabin for you!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Village of Ruidoso
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $210 - $295 /nt
    $1,470 - $2,065 /wk

sort by:

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

This was our first stay at Janet's Place. Rented the property for MLK weekend and had a great time. I enjoyed the deer coming down the hill in the back. They will almost walk right up to you. The house was big enough to handle more than the 4 of us (4 bedrooms). Great deck!! The place was very clean and some of the dishes appeared to be new. We plan to return this summer and rent it again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Home!!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We have stayed here twice. What a great house - for several reasons. 1. Since it is built on a hillside, once you are on the main level, you feel totally secluded. All you can see is the forest land behind the house. You can't see any other homes. 2. We love the layout of the house. When my wife and I are ready to retire at night, we can go downstairs to the master bedroom. It's spacious and has a fireplace and bathroom with a shower. Once we go down, we don't have to go upstairs until the next day. The boys can then have the entire main level to themselves. They can watch movies, play games, fix snacks, etc., all without bothering us. We love being with our boys, but it sure is nice having some alone time. 3. Since the house is located in the city, you are only minutes away from all the activities in the city. Several times, my wife and I would go into town and once the boys woke up, it was nothing to run by the house and pick them up. 4. The large back patio is wonderful. We used the grill on several occasions and it was so quiet and nice to be around the forest. We saw deer everyday we were there. 5. One day the hottub stopped working. The owner had someone come out the next day to fix it. For spring break of 2013, we had thought about staying somewhere outside of town. It was our boys who kept reminding us of how much we liked this place. So Janet's Place, here we come for a third time!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Needs URGENT refurbishing!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

The house has a nice deck and great location. Bedrooms upstairs need new bedding, kitchen is not as advertised, not a single decent cup for coffee or hot chocolate! BTW my mom bought the 4 cups you will find in there as well as the small spoons! Cutlery and plates looked dirty, cheap. Every towel in the house smelled bad, we had to washed them all. Dvd in living room was not working, remote control for MB tv was also faulty. Downstairs bedroom was not a good experience at all, the heating system noise was EXTREMLY loud and kept waking me and husband up throughout the night as it would kick in. Also the first night a bat was inside that downstairs bedroom and landed on my head and then flopped around on my husband's pillow! Husband caught it and threw him outside but ...WTH!
Everything looks old and cheap. Not what we expected at all! Very dissapointed. I do not recommend this property at all. I hope owner and/or property manager make some serious improvements to this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great time at Janets

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We had a great 3 day weekend at Janet's place. Lots of space for everyone. It has all the comforts of home and the deck was great at all times of the day. We saw deer, took walks and it’s near a grocery store.
I consider it a first rate place and for that reason it should definitely have a better air conditioning system. Temperature was in the high 80’s and the portable AC was not doing the job, but I still highly recommend this place to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Gathering in Ruidoso

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend in Janet's place. The home had lots of space for gathering to enjoy conversation and space to roam on your own. The patio was lovely for a morning cup of coffee and a evening glass of wine.
Located in a quiet neighborhood with lots of space around it. The deer wandered up close to the home to the delight of my two year old grand-daughter. We felt we were in the woods , but it was easy to get into town. The kitchen provided all the a basics needed to cook. Although we found some great restaurants in town. The Cornerstone Bakery has wonderful pastry but also serves great breakfasts and lunches. Lunch a River's Edge was yummy. We visited the Casino to rent paddle boats and also visited White Sands. There is a wonderful walking trail around a nearby golf course. The home was clean and ready for us when we arrived. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT GETAWAY!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

ENJOYED A GREAT WEEKEND WITH THE FAMILY AT JANET'S PLACE AND WAS AN EXCELLENT STAY! I WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE I KNOW! THANKS FOR THE HOSPITALITY!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lots of Space

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

We really enjoyed Janet's Place. It has lots of space for all your kids and stuff and a huge deck to relax on. I loved the big open kitchen/living area so you aren't separated off to cook. We saw deer coming down the hill in the evenings. It feels like a very nice neighborhood. We didn't have a problem and plan on returning for ski season. I'd say try it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review