reviews for: listing #14671 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Paradise Cottage - Ocean Views and Delightful Gardens
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,795 - $2,350 /wk

sort by:

home away from home

Review submitted: July 28, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

I've lost count of the number of times our family has returned to Paradise Cottage over the past few years. Our kids just refer to it as "our vacation house" and don't believe us when we tell them it's not really ours! We love knowing a dish of warm brownies and lots of fresh fruit will be waiting for us when we arrive that first day, and throughout the week we are made so comfortable with the little details that always seem to be covered. Many thanks to Francesca and John for all the work they have done to make this such a cozy, beautiful cottage.

Chris and Sarah and the kids

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

What a hostess

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

I have stayed in a dozen homes rented from online sites. No hostess compares to Francesca. Brownies and fruit on the kitchen counter, champagne, soda, butter, & milk in the fridge, full-size bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotion & soap in the bathrooms, chocolates on the pillows. And, my favorite, the toilet paper. I know this seems simple and silly, but not having to run out to the store for toilet paper because the house is really FULLY stocked was wonderful. Plenty extra rolls in the cabinet under the sink!

We actually arrived about two hours before our check in time and after a call to Francesca, we were told that if the housekeeper was gone (finished) we were welcome to enter the house. The garden wraps around the house and is obviously cared for by someone who loves it. Places to sit in the sun, places to sit in the shade, places to eat. It was just lovely.

One of my favorite things about staying in a home is having access to a washer and dryer if we need one. Yup, you guessed it, fully stocked with detergent, bleach, fabric softener, and dryer sheets. You are not going to find a house that will make you feel more like you are in your own home (just one cleaned for you!) than this one.

Great location, great weather, great company, and a great hostess. All made for a lovely holiday. Jump on this one.

Owners response: It is always a great pleasure to welcome new guests to our special home. And, to make sure they have everything they need for a wonderful visit. Thank you very much for coming to Santa Barbara and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again to explore the California coast and everything it has to offer. Until then, safe travels.....Francesca, Santa Barbara Cottages

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Place filled with special touches

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is beautiful very relaxing and I must
say the beds were extremely comfortable. It is very special when someone takes
the time to make you feel at home. We were welcomed with homemade brownies,
a gift basket filled with goodies from Trader Joes and organic fruits. In addition,
each room was filled with flowers. Thank you for making our daughter's graduation
special. You are like the Nordstrom of rental properties. I would defintely
reccommend your property to my relatives and friends.

Thank you
Joe and Cathy and family

Owners response: Dear Cathy and Joy,

What a very special review! Thanks so much for your kind comments and also to be compared to Nordstrom's - that is over the top. I look forward to welcoming you and your friends on another visit to Paradise...Cottage....Many thanks, Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One cute place with a terrific owner

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and liked a lot of things - fresh flowers everywhere, freshly-baked brownies, fruit and champaign waiting for us, as well as other grocery items. Francesca has thought of everything - great linens including robes, several beautiful outdoor seating areas, fully-equiped kitchen, etc. When we asked if there was an espresso machine, she said no, but there would be one by the time we arrived! How thoughtful is that? I rate this place 5 stars, but I do have to mention that the proximity of the expressway makes the outdoors (and indoors when windows are open) quite noisy... There were so many, many positives that we overlooked this one small negative.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed all the many extras that make this property so special. Our unique geography, view of the ocean and ability to walk to the beach, makes this a special place to visit.

Many thanks for your comments.

Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Cottage was the perfect home away from home!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

The moment we walked into Paradise Cottage we were so pleased to find that it was just as perfect for us as it appeared in the photos. We arrived mid-January for a six week stay, driving cross country with our chocolate lab. After the long drive we were thankful for goodies stocked in the kitchen--dark roast coffee from Trader Joe's, milk, yogurt, granola, local fresh fruit and Francesca's signature brownies. We spent the next six weeks exploring the Santa Barbara area and spent alot of time on the beach at Summerland with our lab--a beautiful beach where we could walk for miles. We hit all of the farmers' markets in the area and so had fresh local produce and gorgeous flowers everyday. The kitchen is well equipped and had everything we needed to prepare both everyday meals and dinner for guests, including a nice gas grill outside. We also found lots of staples such as spices, olive oil, balsamic vinegar etc. Cooking in the bright and airy kitchen (the french doors open to the sunny deck) was literally a breeze. When we did not have guests we made ourselves at home, enjoying time spent in the sunny, beautifully landscaped garden (fully enclosed so our dog could roam around) and nosing around in the many antique shops in Summerland. We also enjoyed lunches at the Summerland Beach Cafe and Cafe Luna--both pet-friendly. When we had guests they appreciated the privacy of the guest bedroom and bath downstairs but everyone loved the sunny deck for morning coffee. We often dined at Santa Barbara's best downtown restaurants--Downey's, Buchon, Opal etc were less than 15 minutes away. For fun we went sailing and visited local sights such as Lotusland, art museums and galleries. Driving though the mountains to the wineries was a great experience--many wineries are quite picturesque and are perfect to bring a picnic lunch while they serve you tastes of their wines. Demetria was our favorite--don't be put off by the fact that reservations are required--it was a fabulous experience! All in all, we enjoyed Francesca's hospitality and found the cottage perfect for our needs--so much so that we have reserved again for next year. We can't wait to return to Paradise Cottage!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am thrilled that you enjoyed Paradise Cottage and all that Santa Barbara has to offer. It certainly was a pleasure to have hosted your winter get-away and make sure you had everything that you needed.

Looking forward to your return.

Thanks so much for your kind words.
Francesca

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Cottage... the name says it all

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

Summerland- a beautiful quaint beach town that had amazing little cafe's to eat: Luna Cafe- amazing food, specialty coffees and teas. YUMMY!
Stacky's Seaside- great breakfast!

Paradise Cottage- we drove up and weren't sure where the front door was... technically its down the driveway and inside the gate... WHAT A BEAUTIFUL SURPRISE! YARD-The wrap around yard is absolutely perfect. An amazing view of the beach with a clean, comfortable, homey feel. The seating was wonderful outside with the lounge chairs being cozy enough to sleep on! My bulldogs had so much fun playing with their toys and enjoying the weather on the brick pavement and the grassy area. I was able to get beautiful pics of my dogs with the lovely foliage and flowers in the yard. The washer /dryer were very convenient and clean!KITCHEN- supplied with everything! From the yummiest coffee to tongs for the BBQ outside! Tons of knives and wine glasses too! The sweetest fruits and heart shaped brownie was a great surprise! LIVING AREA- picture perfect. You know a place is clean when the white couches are WHITE! Wow! Beautiful views and a great breeze with the windows open. UPSTAIRS MASTER- Cottage style perfection! Extremely comfortable bed. Again, white comforter was CLEAN! Owners even provided robes! I WAS IN HEAVEN! 2ND UPSTAIRS ROOM- two singles, done again, to perfection, but we did not use. UPSTAIRS BATHROOM- CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! Great size, even had cotton balls, q-tips and Bed Bath & Beyond lotion! Clean white towels and fully stocked. The house was filled with fresh cut flowers and greenery. Absolutely beautiful. DOWNSTAIRS BEDROOM- Comfortable King bed, perfectly done in a beautiful motif. A great room with a homey feel. Small second bathroom attached, very cute, very clean and just a perfect second bathroom! I know I am missing a ton of things I want to say I loved about this place but the best compliment I can give is that my family and I would LOVE to come back... in fact, we would LOVE to live there! The beach down the road was beautiful and even had a couple of horses being ridden on it. Picture perfect vacation all around. LOVED Francesca and LOVED Paradise Cottage. Thank you! Oh! And there is even a baby gate, baby pack-n-play, vaccuum and hangers!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delightful experience

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

My cousins and I (five women) spent a week at Paradise Cottage in September for a "family reunion." The cottage is exactly as portrayed and even better! The interior was clean and cozy, the gardens were lush and colorful. Little touches like fresh-cut flowers in every room, delicious brownies, cozy robes, etc., made it feel more like a bed and breakfast than a rental property. A short walk to the beach, and did I mention the well-equipped kitchen? But one of the best features was the location -- just two minutes off highway 101 -- allowing us to go just about anywhere up and down the California coast (and we did!!) with ease. Thanks, Francesca and John for making it a memorable reunion and a very special vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Cottage Lives Up to Its Name!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Run, don't walk to Paradise Cottage in Summerland. It lives up to its name in every way. The location is within close proximity to the beach and wonderful restaurants and an easy, quick drive to Santa Barbara, Carpenteria, etc. The home is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and has so many ammenities not offered at other rentals. Extra surprises greeted us when we arrived -- warm brownies, fresh fruit and flowers. We enjoyed an extraordinary week and will return. Sandy, San Jose, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Cottage is a Gem!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

I just returned from a stay at Paradise Cottage, and can attest that it is aptly named! Simply put, Paradise Cottage is a gem! Both the cottage and yard are beautifully appointed and immaculately maintained, and teeming with special touches that make it feel like (or better than!) home. Add fresh flowers, fresh brownies, fresh fruit, fluffy robes, and you've got Paradise! I definitely recommend Paradise Cottage to others who are planning a visit to the Santa Barbara area. Kathy, Ames, Iowa

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Story Book House!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

We loved the Paradise Cottage! We felt at home the minute we arrived. There were homemade brownies waiting for us in the kitchen along with a goody basket and beverages in the refrigerator. All the rooms are nicely appointed and cozy. The cottage also has a very nice little yard and side patio that are completely fenced. We had small children and a dog with us so this was a bonus. I can't wait for the next opportunity to come back here. Debra from Paso Robles, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

My husband and I and our two dogs spent 4 days at Paradise Cottage
and loved it. The house and location
were great and we were treated like
family. I would definitley come back.
The beach is walking distance and
the restaurants were all great.

Thanks John and Francesca for your
hospitality and making us feel
very comfortable.

Dan and Laura Haywood

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

Run, don't walk to Paradise Cottage in Summerland. It lives up to its name in every way. The location is within close proximity to the beach and wonderful restaurants and an easy, quick drive to Santa Barbara, Carpenteria, etc. The home is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and has so many ammenities not offered at other rentals. Extra surprises greeted us when we arrived -- warm brownies, fresh fruit and flowers. We enjoyed an extraordinary week and will return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at paradise Cottage. There are a lot of very thoughtful touches - really well equipped kitchen, beautiful furnishings, brownies fruit and flowers when we arrived. Wonderful views and within walking distance of the beach. A great find for a relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Paradise Cottages. The place was emaculate and the kitchen was over the top equipped with kitchen gagets.It was truely our home away from home. The beds were extremely comfortable. We will definitely recommend it to anyone that is interested in staying in Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We loved the Paradise cottage! We felt at home the minute we arrived. There were homemade brownies waiting for us in the kitchen along with a goody basket and beverages in the refrigerator. All the rooms are nicely appointed and cozy. The cottage also has a very nice little yard and side patio that are completely fenced. We had small children and a dog with us so this was a bonus. I can't wait for the next opportunity to come back here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

This home lives up to its name of Paradise Cottage. It has all the ammenities of a fine boutique hotel! The garden is absolutely wonderful.
Flowers in many rooms and baked brownies and so many thoughtful extras.
We will definitely be back again .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

I just returned from a stay at Paradise Cottage, and can attest that it is aptly named!

Simply put, Paradise Cottage is a gem! Both the cottage and yard are beautifully appointed and immaculately maintained, and teeming with special touches that make it feel like (or better than!) home. Add fresh flowers, fresh brownies, fresh fruit, fluffy robes, and you've got Paradise! I definitely recommend Paradise Cottage to others who are planning a visit to the Santa Barbara area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Our stay at Paradise Cottage went beyond any expectations we had. It was a perfect setting in a beautiful location. The attention to detail was apparent from the first moment we entered the cottage, from the luxurious robes in each room to the homemade brownies left for us upon our arrival. We look forward to staying again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

What a totally delightful experience! Our hostess
was gracious and incredibly responsive to every
question and any concern (of which there were few
and those were minor). The cottage was warmly
decorated and completely immaculate. The
kitchen was so well equipped that any cooking of
any kind was possible and the creative use of space
in the cottage was amazing. We went and did a lot
during the day and at night, it was nice to come
back to a place that felt "homey". We enjoyed it so
much that we plan to rebook for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

My husband and I spent an absolutely fantastic week at Paradise cottage in November. There was nothing we could want for. Spotlessly clean with the most comfortable beds,it was better than home. The view over the Pacific is something we will never forget. The location was ideal for finding the best restaurants in adjacent towns. this was truly paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 6, 2008   Date of arrival: November 6, 2008

Our month-long stay in Paradise Cottage exceeded our expectations in every way. We’ve rented many excellent places and this has been the best so far. We appreciated the well-stocked and appointed kitchen especially since we enjoy cooking. I miss the sharp knives and variety of pretty dishes now. It was always exciting returning after the housekeepers had been there to see the baked treats and fresh flowers they left for us. The buzz of hummingbirds in the garden and the view of the ocean gave this cottage its name. We enjoyed the quick walk to the beach and playground with our 4- and 6-year-old, shops, restaurants, cafes around quaint Summerland, and the quick drives to everything else we needed or wanted to do. The proximity of Summerland to Santa Barbara was fantastic – a 10-minute drive to downtown with great shopping, produce markets, playgrounds, pier, harbour and restaurants. The owners certainly know how to set up a complete home and we felt very much at home. Throughout the entire process, they were quick to respond with any information we were looking for. We plan to return and can’t wait to do so.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 6, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Our month-long stay in Paradise Cottage exceeded our expectations in every way. We’ve rented many excellent places and this has been the best so far. We appreciated the well-stocked and appointed kitchen especially since we enjoy cooking. I miss the sharp knives and variety of pretty dishes now. It was always exciting returning after the housekeepers had been there to see the baked treats and fresh flowers they left for us. The buzz of hummingbirds in the garden and the view of the ocean gave this cottage its name.
We enjoyed the quick walk to the beach and playground with our 4- and 6-year-old, shops, restaurants, cafes around quaint Summerland, and the quick drives to everything else we needed or wanted to do. The proximity of Summerland to Santa Barbara was fantastic – a 10-minute drive to downtown with great shopping, produce markets, playgrounds, pier, harbour and restaurants.
The owners certainly know how to set up a complete home and we felt very much at home. Throughout the entire process, they were quick to respond with any information we were looking for. We plan to return and can’t wait to do so.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Taste of Paradise

Review submitted: July 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful home complete
with so many nice and unexpected "extras:--fresh flowers throughout the house, a welcome basket, beautful linens,a fully stocked kitchen & an absolutely gorgeous view of
the Pacific, and owners willing to provide any help or information that could possibly be needed. It was far
better than we had anticipated even after looking at the pictures and it was just a piece of heaven on earth!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review