reviews for: listing #14672 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Jasmine Cottage -- Fabulous Ocean Views!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,795 - $2,350 /wk

sort by:

Exceptional cottage!

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

This is an exceptional property in a perfect location for exploring the Santa Barbara area. The cottage is sunny, spacious, inviting, and impeccable -- from the moment we walked in the door, we felt relaxed and welcome. The kitchen is stocked with all the essentials and much more, there are tons of towels in the bathroom, both bath and beach, and the bedrooms are absolutely charming, with very comfortable mattresses, numerous pillows, and lovely bedding. The wraparound deck was excellent for lounging and viewing the ocean and Summerland. The pretty rear patio was very private and perfect for a quiet morning coffee or for leaving the pets when we wanted to go exploring. We took our dogs to Summerland beach daily (very dog friendly) and we walked for miles (all the way to Carpinteria).

Francesca is a superb host and property manager. She made us feel enormously welcome throughout our month-long stay. We would love to return and will definitely recommend this property to family and friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks to my Canadian guests for both coming to stay and for your kind comments. Vacation homes like ours give you a much more intimate experience of what it is like to live in Santa Barbara. Having everything you need and more, in such a perfect setting is a dream. Whether you enjoy our fabulous ocean views, walk to the beach or simply enjoy our cozy cottage filled with everything you need, our goal is to make your vacation a truly great experience. We look forward to your return and thank you again for coming to visit. Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jasmine Cottage could not have been more perfect!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

My girlfriends and I rented Jasmine Cottage for a long weekend when we were down from Sacramento running the Santa Barbara Marathon. We could not have been more pleasantly surprised and grateful for such a darling little cottage. It was spotlessly clean as if it were the residence of the manager herself and we were immediately relaxed and smiling ear to ear upon entry. In addition to being sun-filled, immaculate, spacious and cheery with sweeping ocean views, it was the little touches which made our stay. Vases with fresh flowers, a pan of home baked brownies and a bowl of organic fruit greeted us on arrival. The high quality linens in the bedrooms, scented candles and well stocked kitchen made us feel like we were guests in someone's own home. We left feeling as though we should have done something nice for Francesca instead of her doing nice things for us. For what we needed, it was perfect, well priced, relaxing and spacious. It vastly surpassed staying in a hotel and I would definitely recommend to a friend, bring family and or stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so very much for coming to stay and your kind review. We try very hard to make every visit special for our guests, so I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. I wish you safe travels and hope to host another visit in the future. Until then, all the best from Santa Barbara Cottages, Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wat a lovely house.

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We stayed in Jasmin cottage one week in the beginning of july. We arrived late saturday evening and were so pleased to find Food and drinks in the fridge and a wonderful Brownie on the table. We felt so welcome :) We were 6 People staying and the house was big enough for all of us. We could easily walk to the Beach and to several really Nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. Summerland is a Nice quiet Place, we slept With doors and Windows open and felt safe. I can really recomend this house to everybody! Thank you so much for having us!

Owners response: It was my pleasure to host your visit and to welcome you all the way from Norway! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the house. Wishing you safe travels and look forward to seeing you again.....Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Little Heaven in Summerland

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

My fiance and I came to Jasmine Cottage for a mid-week/weekend stay and absolutely loved our experience. The cottage is quaint and spacious, comfortable and accommodating. The gardens - both back and front - are gorgeous and well-kept. Coming from Chicago, I felt that winter had made me colorblind, and finally I could see again!

We highly recommend:
Breakfast on the porch
Watching the sunrise and sunset from the upper deck
Cooking in the spacious and well-appointed kitchen
A walk down the hill for antiquing
Sunning oneself in the Adirondack chairs out front, or the loungers in the back garden

Francesca, the owner, is so hospitable, she allowed for last-minute email requests, as well as both an early check-in and and late check-out! And she is a wonderful brownie baker!! The fridge was even stocked with essentials, including milk, cheese, beer and champagne when we arrived.

The only downsides to the cottage are the noise from the highway, and the view of the oil rigs...these are simply facts of Summerland, and not particular to Jasmine Cottage, however. Francesca and Jasmine can help you forget these small drawbacks with the coziness and charm!

Ultimately, we highly recommend Jasmine for a romantic, quiet, and comfortable getaway.

Owners response: Dear Kristina,
I am so happy that you and your husband enjoyed your short visit and had so many things you liked. It is particularly lovely here now, when we have spring like weather and so many flowers in bloom. In some ways this is the best time to visit!

Glad you also enjoyed the antique stores and boutiques walking distance to the house. We even have our own wine-tasting room a short stroll away.

I was surprised to see your reference to the oil rigs since they are about 20 miles away and in no way impact our view. However, like someone once said in looking at Marilyn Monroe, do you see the beautiful face or focus on the mole on her face. Yes, there are some oil rigs in the Santa Barbara Channel, but most people don't see them, or if they see them at night, enjoy all the lights that actually look like a passing ship.

Highway 101 does run parallel to the beach and can be heard all over Santa Barbara. However, our double paned windows and extra insulation almost completely mask the freeway noise. Of course, you can hear it most places outside the house and around town. It is a small price to pay for the beauty of our coastline as our visitors drive up to visit us.

I look forward to welcoming you back from the chill of Chicago and wish you safe travels until then. And, thanks again for your very kind words....

Best,
Francesca

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The beach house with everything

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

We have stayed in more than 30 holiday rentals in our journey around the world (family of four, with two chidren aged 10 and 8) and this one was definitely the best equipped, with so many extras! We were especially grateful for all the fresh fruit, cake and sparkling wine in the fridge. And for practicalities, there was more than enough soap, laundry detergent, etc for our stay.

Summerland itself is a lovely little place, with a nice coffee shop, a lovely long beach, and even a small supermarket within walking distance. We saw dolphins from the beach, a hummingbird in the garden (attracted by all the lovely flowers) and some glorious sunsets from the main room, where the view of the ocean has been perfectly framed.

It is a short drive to Santa Barbara and Montecito, where there are some great hikes, but you can easily have a lovely relaxing week without driving anywhere.

Thank you Francesca for all of the thoughtful touches throughout the house.

Owners response: Thank you so much for your fantastic review, comments on our property and all the wonderful areas to visit around Santa Barbara. I am truly delighted that you felt your experience was exceptional and that Jasmine Cottage was the best equipped vacation rental of your visit to the US - that is our goal!!

I hope we can welcome you back to Santa Barbara on another visit. Until then, Bon Voyage and best wishes for a very safe trip back to Australia....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lovely place

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

We had our two young children and our dog at Jasmine Cottage for about a week and it was a wonderful experience. The view was phenomenal, we got lucky with warm perfect weather in late October. It felt like summer! We used the supplied old beach chairs and umbrella, towels, sand toys etc at the beach every day, the kids played in the park with excellent play equipment everyday, and we throroughly enjoyed all of the goodies left for us. Hot brownies welcomed us with a personal note, and luxurious and comfortable furniture, linens, extremely well - equipped kitchen, lush english cottage style garden... We will definitely be back. We highly recommend this home. There is some freeway noise and trains regularly passing nearby, but the windows are new and double paned, and when closed, keep all the noise out.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Absolutely delighted to hear that your enjoyed your visit and Jasmine Cottage. The ocean views are always fantastic at this time of the year, with phenomenal sunrises and sunsets over the Pacific Ocean. Thanks for coming to visit and look forward to your return! Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect cottage!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

If you are looking for a rental in the Santa Barbara area, look no further! This cottage was absolutely perfect from its furnishings, amenities, and beautiful ocean views to its close proximity to tourist attractions. It was a short walk to the shops in the quaint beach town of Summerland and 5 minutes from Monteceito and Santa Barbara. Francesca made us feel so welcomed with fresh fruit, brownies and beautiful flowers throughout the house. We have stayed at several rentals and this is, without a doubt, our favorite!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found everything you needed at Jasmine Cottage. Our goal is to share the Santa Barbara lifestyle with our guests and provide the best accommodations possible.

Thanks very much for your kind words of praise and encouragement. I look forward to welcoming you back!! Until then, safe travels....Francesca

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jasmine Cottage -- Perfect for an Extended Stay!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

We just spent two wonderful months at Jasmine. The cottage is perfect for an extended stay. It is so comfortable,fully equipped with plenty of sunshine,beautiful ocean views and lovely gardens. Our hosts were great spoiling us with many treats. We'll be back! John and Susie, Maine

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jasmine Cottage Has Everything!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2009

We just returned from spending a week at Jasmine Cottage and it was a fantastic getaway. The cottage is beautiful with incredible views of the ocean and the sunrise. It has every possible amenity, a great location and the owners are incredibly responsive and welcoming. Renting a home for the week is so much more economical, comfortable and luxurious than being in a hotel especially when it is the Jasmine Cottage. We are hoping to return soon. Ken, NYC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Million dollar view -- better than a hotel!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

Jasmine Cottage was a great relief from staying at a fancy hotel that has no amenities. At Jasmine, we had a $1M view combined with extraordinary extras for the guests provided by the owners, not only expected appliances, but unusual accoutrements such as a great grill, kitchen utensils, wines glasses, double washer/dryers, spices, oils, balconies, mutliple gardens with tables with umbrellas. Although there are 3 bedrooms, my wife and I were very please to have the entire cottage to ourselves. Ken, Atlantic Beach, FL

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We just spent two wonderful months at Jasmine. The cottage is perfect for an extended stay. It is so comfortable,fully equipped with plenty of sunshine,beautiful ocean views and lovely gardens. Our hosts were great spoiling us with many treats. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

My husband, Golden Retriever and I spent 3 wonderful weeks at Jasmine Cottage. The cottage was bright, airy and extremely comfortable. The fresh flowers, oranges for squeezing and the home-baked brownies and cookies were an extra special treat. The beds were as comfortable as those at home and the kitchen was well equipped. The Summerland location is only minutes from downtown Santa Barbara. All-in- all, a wonderful experience in wonderful Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We’ve come often to Jasmine Cottage and never been disappointed. We are greeted with the smell of freshly baked brownies that we enjoy on the patio with a great ocean view. We then walk down the hill a few blocks to a long wide beach and usually a great sunset. The "cottage” is filled caring touches like fresh flowers in every room, a comfortable master bed, a comfortable living room couch, high speed wireless internet for our laptop and a fine new TV with a choice of DVDs. Jeanne enjoys cooking in the fully equipped kitchen while looking out at the ocean. It really feels like a magical vacation home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We just returned from spending a week at Jasmine Cottage and it was a fantastic getaway. The cottage is beautiful with incredible views of the ocean and the sunrise. It has every possible amenity, a great location and the owners are incredibly responsive and welcoming. Renting a home for the week is so much more economical, comfortable and luxurious than being in a hotel especially when it is the Jasmine Cottage. We are hoping to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 13, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Jasmine Cottage was a great relief from staying at a fancy hotel that has no amenities. At Jasmine, we had a $1M view combined with extraordinary extras for the guests provided by the owners, not only expected appliances, but unusual accoutrements such as a great grill, kitchen utensils, wines glasses, double washer/dryers, spices, oils, balconies, mutliple gardens with tables with umbrellas.

Although there are 3 bedrooms, my wife and I were very please to have the entire cottage to ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We had a truly wonderful stay in in Jasmine Cottage. Our month in California was everything we had dreamt of and the cottage exceeded our expectations. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review