reviews for: listing #14687 - Canaan Valley, West Virginia Cabin rental

stay,a relaxed FREE night in the heart of the Valley~close t
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Timberline Resort
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $112 - $316 /nt
    $899 - $1,412 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

using Paypal to pay

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Bob - I use the friends/family portion of PayPal all the time to avoid the fee. Let's do both the rental amount and security deposit that way. What email address should I sent it to? The one in this email is "Interlude" and we're renting AspenWoods.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest returns within 3 weeks

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

THINK THEY ENJOYED THEMSELVES...they will take advantage of their FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT within a month!!

"We were looking at a possible return visit. MLK weekend - are you already booked? Another possibility would be February 17 weekend.
Let me know... Thanks!
By the way - we had an absolutely WONDERFUL time! Thank you so much for opening your space to us. We can't wait to go back! :)

Warm regards,"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Directions

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Bob, we are her! Thank you for the awesome directions. They brought us straight to the door !!! The house is perfect! My husband has built a fire and we have unpacked! Again, thanks for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Directions

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Bob, we are her! Thank you for the awesome directions. They brought us straight to the door !!! The house is perfect! My husband has built a fire and we have unpacked! Again, thanks for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

working with owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Thanks Bob! We are really looking forward to our ski vacation
Thanks for being such a pleasure to work with. I have your information if we need anything or have any questions.
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin had everything we needed,and could not ....

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Sorry for the delayed response; we had a fantastic time at the Cabin. We most definitely relaxed and enjoyed what Canaan Valley had to offer. From the hiking around the State Parks and Ski Area, to the biking and brewery tour it was everything we needed. The cabin had everything we needed, and could not be happier with our decision to stay at the Interlude. Thank you for your hospitality and we hopefully will be back next year!. Take care

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love interlude.

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Hi Bob,
We reached interlude yesterday without any problems. Your detailed instructions really helped us a lot. We love interlude.
Thank you so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great stay would recommend this home.....

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Thank You For sharing your home with us it was GREAT everything we need and plenty of room for everyone we had a great stay it was clean and close to a lot of things to do. We visit Black Water Falls, Dolly Sods, etc. and back at the house in evening to relax. We had a great stay would recommend this home it was great!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our reviews speak for themselves...a 4 star

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

We work real hard at establishing fair prices at the beginning of every season. We offer FREE nights, 2 night specials, reduced midweek prices and a Frequent Guest Discount to our best guests. We do this to make our home more attractive to the budget conscious Guest.

Giving unfair discounts to one Guest over another, is not being fair to our best Guests. We have about 20 people a year, who treat our home well, and we reward them, with our coveted Frequent Guest Discount.

We typically don't give discounts of an individual nature, unless it is warranted by very unusual circumstances. We don't subscribe to the practice of giving in to: after the rental is completed; if we don't refund some money, they will 'write a review".

We should've become suspicious when we are asked for unwarranted discounts along every step of the rental property. Then within an hour after arriving they are going through the cabinets to find something. They hadn't even checked the hot tub? Then when we send out Maintenance Man to survey what was supposedly wrong, while he is replenishing their wood supply, they turn off the lights on him so he can work in the dark? Unfortunately he did as they hoped...he left.
It is unfortunate that VRBO cannot control that sort of behavior, thus, people who are of that sort, have the ability to hold owners hostage.
Our other reviews speak for themselves.
People who responded to VRBO survey about us rated us a 4 star rental.
Respondents to our survey, that is sent to every Guest, said
*the pricing was as good or better than others
*the Owner was responsive
*the house was neat and orderly
*the house was exactly as advertised
*directions were good, and our key safe is an outstanding feature.

20 of our Guests(in a year) are invited, and like it enough, they return:
THOSE ARE THE FOLKS WE BELIEVE DESERVE A DISCOUNT.

We are not perfect, nor do we market ourselves to be. We offer a fair price, for a comfortable home, that is all.
The only change in the house from our pix, is, we have upgraded the TV to a flat screen HDTV.
When you come, IF YOU DO HAVE A PROBLEM...you will experience what 98% of our Guests experienced...an Owner who is VERY responsive.
COME AND TRY US FOR YOURSELF, and hopefully we will give you a discount...the one we enjoy giving, the Frequent Guest kind.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Veteran Canaan vacationer comments on our Rental

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our time in your very comfortable home. We would diffently like to consider this our permanent vacation home when we want to come to canaan valley. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Planning to return and they haven't even left yet!

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Hello Bob,

We are good we had an amazing day on the valley today.

Unfortunately we cannot stay any longer, because of work but
we are already planning to come back.

Everything is great. Thank you for all the info!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you to our Great Guests~please come again

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

After taking such good care of our home, we would like to invite you back with a discount.

Bob
We had a wonderful vacation – everything in the house was great.
I do recognize Whitegrass as I went there twice and learned how to cross country. We had lots of snow and EVERYONE enjoyed that immensely as we don’t get much here. Some did downhill – we all went sledding at Blackwater Falls though some only made it up the hill twice – us older folks lasted longer than the younger ones ha ha. The hot tub was great, the master bedroom was great, and we made a fire every night. I would recommend your house to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A 5 star review...thank you to our Great Guests

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

Because you took such good care of our home~we welcome you back the next time, with our Frequent Guest Discount....
come again!! Spring is spectacular for a weekend getaway!!

Guest
DC area
Had everything we needed
We stayed with our 3 kids and our dog. We got lucky and had lots of snow for skiing. They kept the roads cleared enough that we could get in and out everyday to ski. The cabin had everything we needed. Great location for us. We would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the survey said...we're a 4 star

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We are happy to be considered a 4 star vacation rental by VRBO, and look forward to having you stay with us..
The survey we sent every renter results show that 86% of responders say our prices are the same or better than comparables. Responded favorably to our payment process. Overwhelmingly responded to the house being neat and orderly when they arrived.
98% says the Owner is accessible and easy to deal with. And 100% thought our key safe was an outstanding feature.
We do not pretend to to be perfect, and nothing in our marketing is intended that way. We are as fair and honest as we can be, and operate our rental homes with the intention of winning your business in the future. WE WANT YOU BACK, is our business theme. We look forward to renting our home to you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everyone enjoys AN INTERLUDE

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Hello, Bob!



I just wanted to write you a little note and let you know my friends and I had a blast this past weekend! The house was even more perfect than I imagined! Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful place to stay! I hope your staff found everything in order after we left...




Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See reviews of our other house..also available to

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

If ASPENWOODS is booked check out #316971 non this site
Thank you so much for opening your home to us! It was beautiful and cozy! We definatley hope to come back in the future. We were impressed with it being kind of in the center of all the attractions too! Owner Submitted Review

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our goal is to get you to come back

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

While we encourage reviews from out Guests; we send a personal survey on 10 different aspects of the rental. It is how we improve. We in turn post their comments on VRBO.We have been successfully renting our home since 2000. Our Frequent Guest Discount is a testimony to our mantra~"WE WANT YOU BACK' REMEMBER (our business model) We don’t want to keep your security deposit. We rent homes…we work hard, marketing, and renting our 2 homes. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance is the best in the Valley. Our goal is to have you find everything in order; realize you got a hell of a deal; treat the home like you own it; have a wonderful time; THEN COME BACK AND DO IT AGAIN IN THE FUTURE. We hope you have the same goal…. HAVE FUN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

10 day getaway~

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

the longer you stay, the lower the cost/night!

Thank you so much for opening your home to us! It was beautiful and cozy! We definatley hope to come back in the future. We were impressed with it being kind of in the center of all the attractions too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Interlude

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Good Morning Bob,
I just wanted to thank you for letting us rent the interlude. We had a great time! The house was very nice and in a beautiful setting. We hope to vacation with you again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

We have just arrived and the place is fantastic. We feel certain we are going to enjoy every minute of our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

We have been successfully renting our home since 2000. Our Frequent Guest Discount is a trstimony to our mantra~"WE WANT YOU BACK'
REMEMBER (our business model)
We don’t want to keep your security deposit. We rent homes…we work hard, marketing, and renting our 2 homes. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance is the best in the Valley. Our goal is to have you find everything in order; realize you got a hell of a deal; treat the home like you own it; have a wonderful time; THEN COME BACK AND DO IT AGAIN IN THE FUTURE.

We hope you have the same goal….
HAVE FUN

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2007

We rented this house with 4 other friends in March 2006, and we had a blast! It was close to slopes - we walked to lift and could see skiers going down beginner's trail from the balcony! Plus, it was a short drive to Cannan Valley-we didn't ski there, but we went tubing and had fun! Everything else we needed was there - dishes, washer/dryer and of course, HOT TUB! Only down - kind of hard to find if you're coming in at night. I would definitely come back to Interlude!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2007

Thanks for letting us stay in your home. Everyone thought the house was great and had a wonderful time. Everything was smooth and easy during the booking and payment process. The only problem we really encountered during the whole trip was the directions that map quest gave but even that was a minor problem. The discount is definitely something that sparks my interest in returning. The internet was very helpful in finding stores and restaurants. I thought the price was great...Your price was very reasonable and I had no complaints whatsoever. I also thought the security deposit was reasonable as well. The key safe was also a nice thing to have. The house in general seemed to be in order. The hot tub was a big hit after being on the slopes all day but my personal favorite was the balcony off the master bedroom. I thought there was plenty of furniture, both inside and outside. I can't comment on the games or TVs because I didn't use them. I usually would grab a book and just enjoy the quiet. I think you should leave things the way they are. It was perfect. I would definitely consider returning to AN INTERLUDE during the winter, I was also interested in your other house ASPENWOODS as well but I think that would be more of a summer/spring house. everything was perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2008

WONDERFUL!!! Our weekend was spectacular. You were right about the hot tub, very relaxing. We loved the king size bed, we probably would have tried to take it with us if it could have fit in the car. We are interested in renting from you again in the future and thinking about Aspenwoods for next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Thanks for the note. We loved the house and hope to come back this fall. It was well kept and prepared - The master suite was great! My girlfriend really appreciated the bathroom and the kitchen was very functional. We didn't get to use the fireplace but look forward to that when we get back there. As for the deposit , I would appreciate it if you could return it via US mail. Thanks and we'll touch base when we plan our next trip there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review