reviews for: listing #14714 - Islamorada, Florida Villa rental

Beautiful Captain's Cove
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,650 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Truly Paradise at Captains Cove

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! The home was perfect, everything was exactly like the pictures. Our 5 year old was in heaven....he called it his Pirate Home, loved all the stairways and balconies over looking the water. Nice and quiet location but still very close to the beach and all waterways. Will definitely stay here again!! Communication with the owners was exceptional!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much! I am glad you enjoyed your time at Captain's Cove.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation choice!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Great vacation getaway. The home was clean, well equipped and convenient to the highway and all the waterways - bay as well as ocean access. Easy deep water dockage on a long dock with ice just a 20 second boat ride across the cove and convenient put in at a ramp in the community. We enjoyed 4th of July fireworks from the Widow's walk on both ocean and bay sides, sitting under the tiki hut on the cove, relaxing on the balcony having coffee and cocktails, and fishing off the dock. The owner was prompt to reply to all communications and courteous to deal with. Definitely a spot to return to next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Every morning we would wake up and look out at the Atlantic Ocean and sing....Just Another Day In Paradise. Captain's Cove is clean, comfortable and well maintained. We all enjoyed our stay and are planning on a return visit in 2014. My youngest son who is 20 said it was "the best vacation ever"! There was plenty of space for all of us....5 in the party. We brought our 14'CC and rented a 26' CC from one of Kelly's neighbors. He was wonderful! Very easy to do business with and just a pleasure to meet. Plenty of dockage for both boats. We caught some very nice mahi mahi and a few bonita's. Enjoyed the sunset, music and food at Lorelei's. The private beach is beautiful...better than the pictures. Thank you Kelly for sharing....we loved it!
Laura

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

218650

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

Kelly's condo, Captains Cove, was fantastic! The accommodations were beautiful and comfortable everything necessary for cooking and relaxing are there. The condo is immaculate and close to everything. By the way there is a convenient store on main road just 1/2 a block past your turn in to the neighborhood ( we spent a lot of time running for little things much farther than needed in the other direction !) The beach is beautiful as is the view from the balcony which is quiet and peaceful. Our group was made up of 6 adults and all loved it, I can see my kids loving it too and plan on bringing them soon. We will definitely stay at Captains Cove again and highly recommend it to all!

Owners response: Thanks Guy's, Glad You Enjoyed Your Time In The Keys!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

paradise!!!

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

WOW!!!! it is exactly that...........paradise!!!!
captain's cove is exceptionally clean AND well taken care of. far above my expectations AND mine are set VERY high (o:

perfect location, loved everything about captain's cove AND islemorada!!!

we will be back as well as many others that we have shared with (o:

thank you!!!

brian~kim~brandon~britt dykstra
zeeland michigan

Owners response: Thanks For the Wonderful Review! I'm Glad I Could Share My Little Piece Of Paradise With You And Your Family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet Introduction to Islamorada

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Great Accomodations, very clean and spacious. Much nicer place than the picutres. Things we did: sunset on the private beach; Key West a day; Charter Fishing (our guys enjoyed every single minute of their 8 hr trip); Kayaking out of Robbies just up the road (suggestion take the Eco tour if you want to have fun and learn at the same time)
Beautiful weather every single day. Many good restaurants close by that you can drive to.
Kelly is very accomodating and helpful from booking to returning from your trip. Really stays in touch. We would highly recommend "Beautiful Captain's Cove".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Deb. Great Guests Help To Make A Great Place. You're Welcome Back Anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome! Lots of R & R was had!

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

This house was GREAT. Clean and the location is great. Walk out your back door and sit by the bay or take a 5 minute walk to a magical private beach. My wife and I loved this place. We plan to rent it again. It's a perfect location for a nice relaxing family vacation. The owner was easy to deal with and he supplied us with lots of local information for us to further explore the Keys. I highly recommend this house. It's one of the best "homeAway" locations I've stayed in around the world.

Owners response: Thanks For The Kind Words, We Would Love To HAve You Back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect house for two couples on vacation together!

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We recently rented this lovely house with another couple and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The kitchen, living area and two of the three bedrooms all had views of the cove, crab boats, and Atlantic beyond. We found this to be much better than most all homes on the canals that just face another house across a narrow waterway. When we arrived the property was extremely clean and well prepared for us to use. We brought our boat and the location of the house was great for us to have easy access to the Atlantic for fishing and also good proximity to Robbie's and Bud n Mary's for just cruising. Other than being on the water, our favorite things to do included: sipping coffee in the crow's nest watching sunrise and stormy mornings, biking around the area, and relaxing on the private Gulf beach where the sunsets are amazing. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Guy's Would Love To Have You Back Soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family vacation for mini dive season

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

My family and I stayed here again this year and had a wonderful time! The house has had some upgrades with more to come from what I hear. The spacious rooms and beautiful sunrise view were my favorite parts of the stay. Not to mention the sandy beach and quick access to the gulf was also a great plus! I will surely be back next year!!!! Many thanks to Kelly and his beautiful vacation home!

Sincerely,

Kim & Keith

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Great, Thank You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Place

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We recently stayed here with our family of five. The accomodations were comfortable and clean. There were many convenieces of home not found in many vacation rentals. A manatee even greeted at the dock when we arrived! We will definitely stat here again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Attitude Adjusted

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The place was absolutely spotless and had everything we needed. There was always a wonderful breeze and the view was fantastic. We really enjoyed the beach in the community. Very quiet and relaxing.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Let start by saying that my Family and I have traveled the entire world and Islamorada made the top 5 list. It was a combination of the House, Location, and renter experience we had. This place has it all.I wanted to share a funny story with you. I was on my way into the private beach when I realized it was the wrong gate. A women passing by said that the beach we were to use was the really nice one. Let me tell you she was right. The beach was amazing. We probably spent about 40 hours a week on the beach. I could write good things about this property all day but I would much rather you be plesently suprised like we were. Enjoy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

I absolutely loved this house! The location is amazing right by channel 2 and 5 but still close to all the great stores and restaurants in Islamorada. The house is great for everyone!!! Couples, families, children etc. Great boat dock with quick and easy access to both the bay and the ocean perfect for the avid fisherman. There's also a beautiful community beach for those who prefer to stay on land. Furthermore, the house itself is absolutely beautiful!!! It's very unique with beautiful views of the ocean as well as the surrounding canals. You can't go wrong with this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic end to our Florida holiday

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

We stayed in this villa for 4 nights in April 2010 after a busy 14 nights in Orlando and had a fabulous stay.
The villa is lovely, very clean and well equipped. There was plenty of room for us all (2 families of 2 adults & 2 children).
The setting and location is fantastic, the photos cannot do this justice. The kids loved the private beach and also fishing off the boat dock.
We had a amazing dolphin encounter at the dolphin research center, visited Key West and ate at some lovely restaurants during our stay.
I wouldn't definitely recommend this villa to a friend and we will return if we are lucky enough to get back to The Keys.
A big thank you to Kelly for great customer service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful & Breezy !!

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Besides being a spacious & beautiful home, the breeze coming off the inlet, as we sat on the back porch every morning and every evening, is one of the many reasons we are coming back again this year. Very well kept/clean property. Plenty of room for the kids and a couple of friends too, without falling over each other. We have stayed at various locations throughout our many years coming to the Keys, but i would have to say, this is our favorite spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Lovely time at mile marker 73.5

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

We had a great time at your place! My sister came down with her grandkids from Boca Raton and they loved the beach! We hit it just right with the warm weather on Saturday. We grilled hot dogs on the beach!
The guys were able to dive two times. They got some awesome photos with our underwater camera! We went down to Key West and did a sunset cruise one night, very windy but very beautiful. We did deep sea fish one day, as well. We ate lobster the last night just to take in all the flavors of the area.
We can’t thank you enough for such a great time. It was so nice to have the washer and dryer, the dish washer and warm showers. We made almost all our meals family style, very relaxing. The kids fished off the dock for hours and the private beach was just the ticket with the white sand and gentle surf. I
t was a very nice to be on the cove and have the ocean in the distance. Quit a sunrise in the morning!
Thanks again for a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Ultimate Vacation Experience

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Hello my name is Ulises, I shared your vacation home this past weekend and I have to say it was the most relaxing and plesureable time I've had. The house was big enough for three families, the dock was great to keep our boats in the water, the private beach was phenominal and the distance to a local supermarket was within minutes. Thank you for a great time and I hope to come back again soon.

Regards;
Ulises

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wow!

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

The pictures are great, but they really don't do this wonderful place justice. The property was well-maintained and is truly beautiful. From the granite countertops in the kitchen to the comfortable deck chairs, this place has it all. The bayside private beach was wonderful--nice sandy bottom, no typical Keys muck! You will love it here. Bring your boat! Easy ocean access. I was there over the summer; going back this fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

awesome place!!

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

what a wonderful villa this is!! It is absolutely beautiful! The views are great and you only have to walk 10 steps to reach the private dock. It only takes about 10 minutes to get over to the atlantic side. Great place to stay if your looking for a home away from home. everything was very clean and well equipped, very relaxed atmosphere. We brought our boat and fished or snorkeled everyday. we went in July. The gulf waters were extremely warm but the atlantic was about 89-90 degrees, still refreshing when you jump in! 2 of the rooms have lofts in them and a ladder to climb up to them. My 6 yr. old son had a blast climbing up and down. The look-out room is really cool too, it has a telescope and dart board. We didn't want to leave!! The home has cedar throughout with high vaulted ceilings and the balcony overlooks the atlantic side which was great just sitting out there at night. theres a marina just a minute across the channel. I told the owner to update pics, hopefully he takes my advice, current pics do not do this place justice! we will definitely return, hopefully for many years to come! Islamorada is the BEST place to stay when you come to the keys! The private beach area is really nice too, didn't spend alot of time there for its on gulf side and like I said, the water was like a sauna. Overall stay was great, the owner was great can't complain about one single thing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review