reviews for: listing #14822 - Kiawah Island, South Carolina Villa rental

2-BR Oceanfront Shipwatch Villa! High-Speed Internet
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Shipwatch Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $390 /nt
    $1,450 - $3,500 /wk
    $3,400 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Just like home… maybe better

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

This, our second stay with Kiawah Island Getaways, we were joined by our daughter and son-in-law. The Treetops Villa welcomed us in a perfect state of readiness. We were greeted by music, a streaming photo montage of the island and a personalized note, a wonderful first impression. The Treetops space was impeccable, comfortable and roomy with a thoughtful floor plan for privacy. The unit was stylish, contemporary and cozy in decor. This, a corner unit with three separate balconies allowed for an outdoors-in feeling and a nice cross breeze. Whether you choose to prepare a meal or not, the galley kitchen stood ready and stocked. The baths were bright, pretty and updated, in perfect working order with plenty of very nice towels. You will find all your beach needs, from towels to a cooler, basket and more tucked away in a closet, along with a fun collection of books, games and dvds. We liked the modern touches of technology, wifi, sound bar, entertainment systems in all rooms and state of the art (easy to use) Nest thermostat We noticed and appreciated the smartly placed lighting throughout the villa. The Lawson's three ring information binder with menu, directions and such was a helpful and nice touch. We will definitely return to beautiful Kiawah and rent this or another unit from Kiawah Island Getaways again! Rent with complete confidence from Kiawah Island Getaways.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach bums

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Our family vacationed in an oceanfront Shipwatch condo for several years before buying a condo further up the SC coast. My husband and I missed Kiawah so we rented Treetops for a getaway weekend. The condo is well appointed and attractively decorated. The bed, bedding and towels were luxurious, the kitchen was well equipped; Kiawah Island Getaways even provided beach chairs, beach towels, a beach bag and a cooler! The fresh flowers on the table were a really nice touch!

The condo's view of the beach and ocean is limited but you can enjoy the view from the living room balcony. We prefer West Beach to East Beach; it's less developed and less crowded on that end of the island.

We dined at Hege's in Freshfields Village Friday night and loved it! Dinner at Jasmine Porch at The Sanctuary was also enjoyable, but the highlight of Saturday night was drinks on the verandah at the Ocean Course clubhouse. What a view!

Kiawah is a great vacation place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

We have rented with Kiawah Island Getaways 2 years in a row in 2 different units. Both the Vista last year and Treetops last month were beautiful with lovely views of the beach. Kiawah Island Getaways is easy to work with and everything we signed up for has been there. The units are spotless, totally equipped and reasonably priced from the unit itself to rented equipment. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Treetops

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Treetops Villa during the PGA . This was our first experience renting at Kiawah. I was impressed with how the owners made the villa so warm when you entered the villa. On the tv was a video/music of Kiawah island playing.....what a nice welcoming! There really was nothing to bring from home because everything was furnished down to shampoo, body wash, and hand soap! In fact, I loved the paper towel so much I went out and bought one. Lol. Location to the beach was nice - my grandchildren enjoyed it so much. It was nice to have the garbage room close by. Thanks again for a great vacation at Kiawah Island. Shawn and Jeannette were so accommodating, and made sure we had everything to make our vacation a great one. We will definitely be back again.....probably sooner than my family knows. The Jacumins, South Carolina

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First Time Stay on Kiawah was Great

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Our first time on Kiawah was great - 12/25 - 12/31. The Treetops villa is well-equipped, the owners are so easy to work with and was can tell that they really care. The location of Treetops is perfect. Not too far from anything - right on the the beach or a bike ride to the market.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Treetops 10/10-10/16

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Could not leave slider in LR open to let beautiful cool ocean air in because screen was torn. Sheets on king bed were stained. Shower curtain liner in master bath was mildewed. Table clocks in LR and MBR had dead batteries. TV remote in MBR had dead batteries. Had to call for beach umbrella delivery and bike IDs were miscommunicated. Most issues were handled immediately. That being said, the condo was lovely and the location was perfect. I would not hesitate to use Kiawah Island Getaways again. Shawn and Jeanette Lawson were excellent hosts.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Peaceful and relaxong

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Would recommend Treetops to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and relaxing getaway. Loved getting up in the AM and looking out at the ocean from our balcony. Loved having lunch at the Ocean Course and Jasmine Porch at the Sanctuary. Our hosts were responsive to any questions or minor problems that we had. I would visit again in a heartbeat. Came home rested and feeling great!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

TreeTops

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

This was our second year staying at TreeTops and once again had a fantastic time! The condo was perfect upon arrival and had everything we needed! We look forward to coming back for a third year! Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Treetops on Kiawah Island! The condo is beautifully decorated, well maintained and very well equipped. We enjoyed the privacy and the natural surroundings of Treetops. The registration, check-in & check-out process were easy and straight forward. We appreciated the rentals of beach chairs, beach umbrella & bicycles...all delivered to the condo. In our opinion, the beach and bicycle trails were perfect! Schedules permitting...we will return next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

Treetops villa is a perfect island vacation spot. It is beautifully decorated, (exactly as pictured), clean and is stocked with everything that you need including lots of books. There is a beautiful ocean view from the balcony of the living room, very relaxing! To get to the spectacular beach, you just exit the elevator and walk down the boardwalk. If you feel you need to leave the island, Charleston is only a half hour away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Enlightening Trip

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

I took my Kansas farm girl wife to Kiawah for the first time. I spent a lot of time on Kiawah in the seventies but had not been back since. What a transformation for me, and an eye opener for my wife. Tree Tops is a nice facility, equiped as well as any condo we have stayed at on past vacations. Easy proximity to the beach, centrally located, it came as advertised. All promises were delivered, and management was very responsive to information requests. I'd recommend this property to aspiring Kiawah vacationers.

Jay In Dallas

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Labor Day Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

The apartment was clean, spacious, nicely decorated, bright, and very comfortable. We had a great weekend staying at the Treetops Villa. Kiawah Island is beautiful and quiet, and perfect for a nice weekend getaway at the beach. Also great tennis, golf, and bike riding. The apartment has perfect beach access...it's literally a few steps to the beach. We will definitely come back to Kiawah and would definitely stay at a Kiawah Island Getaways property again, especially the Treetops Villa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a perfect getaway

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

my mom and i recently spent several days at "treetops" on kiawah island. treetops was the perfect getaway. the listing description was accurate, but the property was so perfect - it couldn't be captured in a photo. the owners have thought of everything - you basically just need to "show up!" that is what i call a perfect vacation!

first of all the property is beautifully and tastefully furnished. the property was clean and neat and well maintained. the owners are willing to accomodate in every way.

the overall property is also well maintained and the beach is a short walk down the boardwalk - (and no splinters!).

another thing we really appreciated was the quietness of the property - we never heard another soul - even though the property was filled with lots of other people.

the west village market is just around the corner - which is so convenient and there is even a restaurant in the west village - if you don't have transportaton or don't want to get in a car to go out for a meal.

walks on the beach, dinner at the ocean course club house and the ocean view and sound of waves crashing against the shore - you can't get more perfect than that!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Access to the Beach was Great!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2008

The villa was well equipped for all of our needs. Having the bikes, beach chairs and boogie boards, right at our fingertips, when we arrived was especially great. All of the bike trails were well kept and easy riding. The access to the beach was great! Information, in the villa, about Charleston and surrounding restaurants was very helpful. I would liked to have had more bath towels available so we didn't have to do a load every night (that was like being at home not on vacation). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our daughter had to have wheelchair access everywhere and even getting to the beach was easier than I expected.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Attention to Detail in the Furnishings Exceptional

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

This unit looked wonderful in the pictures and the reality exceeded even that. It is light, bright, airy, beautifully situated in the tree tops, and also with a great partial view of the ocean. The attention to detail in the furnishings, decor, linens, kitchen equipment, beach necessities, etc is exceptional; one feels like a valued guest rather than a renter. Thank you to the property owners/managers for making this so effortless and wonderful. We also loved Kiawah Island - so beautiful and so much to do. The bikes are a must.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Owners Attention to Detail is Great.

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

The Treetops villa is beautiful and the owners attention to detail is great. They have thought of everything. Loved the updated kitchen. We had a very comfortable stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful...just like home, only BETTER!!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2008

The unit was wonderful...just like home...only BETTER!!!! We enjoyed the location, and every day started and ended our day with a walk along the beach. How nice! The unit was as nice as its pictures, maybe nicer. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The "Treetops" was Great

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2009

The "Treetops" was great. The beds and pillows are the best, very clean and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Owner's/Management Easy to Work With

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

Nice accommodations. Everything as expected. Great beds & pillows. Owner's / management easy to work with & well organized. Detailed effort is obvious.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The "Treetops" was bright, clean and very comforta

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

The "Treetops" was bright, clean and very comfortable! We loved that we could see the ocean from the living room too! The beds were very cozy so we slept great every night following our busy days. It was very convenient having our own washer and dryer. The boardwalk is only steps away from the elevator. We all had a very relaxing and enjoyable week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

Nice accomodations. Everything as expected. Great beds & pillows. A larger frying pan would be nice. We added a shrimp deveiner to the unit's inventory. Owner's / management easy to work with & well organized. Detailed effort is obvious. Suspect we'll return. Gardeners should start later in the morning, especially with their blowers.

Owners response: Dear Stevens Family,

Thanks for the comments - I'll get the larger skillet and also give the Resort a call about their scheduled maintenance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

The "Treetops" was bright, clean and very comfortable! We loved that we could see the ocean from the living room too! The beds were very cozy so we slept great every night following our busy days. It was very convenient having our own washer and dryer. The boardwalk is only steps away from the elevator. We all had a very relaxing and enjoyable week!
Mary, Mike, Rachel & Philip Motto

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 10, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Treetop was great. The beds and pillows are the best, very clean and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 6, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The unit was wonderful...just like home...only BETTER!!!! We enjoyed the location, and every day started and ended our day with a walk along the beach. How nice! The unit was as nice as its pictures, maybe nicer. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 17, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful condo with us. It was everthing and more that was shown on the internet. Aside from a few days of rain,it was a great way to celebrate our 30th Anniversy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 31, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

the palce was fabulous and met all of our expectations. we will do it again for sure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The Treetops villa is beautiful and the owners attention to detail is great. They have thought of everything. Loved the updated kitchen. We had a very comfortable stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This is our second year staying at a KIG condo, and it will not be our last. We had friends with us who all agreed this is their new "favorite" vacation spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 22, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

This unit looked wonderful in the pictures and the reality
exceeded even that. It is light, bright, airy, beautifully situated in the tree
tops, and also with a great partial view of the ocean. The attention to detail
in the furnishings, decor, linens, kitchen equipment, beach necessities, etc is
exceptional; one feels like a valued guest rather than a renter. Thank you to the
property owners/managers for making this so effortless and wonderful. We also
loved Kiawah Island - so beautiful and so much to do. The bikes are a must.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

The villa was well equipped for all of our needs. Having the bikes, beach chairs and boogie boards, right at our fingertips, when we arrived was especially great. All of the bike trails were well kept and easy riding. The access to the beach was great! Information, in the villa, about Charleston and surrounding restaurants was very helpful. I would liked to have had more bath towels available so we didn't have to do a load every night (that was like being at home not on vacation). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our daughter had to have wheelchair access everywhere and even getting to the beach was easier than I expected. Thanks, Robin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This was our second stay with Kiawah Island Getaways and every trip gets better. The Treetops was an absolutely wonderful place to unwind, enjoy the ocean view and listen to the wind blowing through the trees. We saw a variety of birds from the balcony, and also watched a deer feeding right below us one afternoon. The villa had everything we needed to insure a pleasant and comfortable stay. The books and DVS's were a nice touch.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2006   Date of arrival: June 20, 2006

Although we saw pictures on the internet, we were still taken aback by the villa. We so appreciate the care you took to detail, especially in the kitchen. It was stocked so well; and the appliances and tools of the trade were top of the line. The villa was spotless, liveable, comfortable and smelled great!! The beds were the most comfortable we've EVER slept in.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2006   Date of arrival: June 20, 2006

We had a lovely time at your beautiful condo. We will definitely return in the future! We are telling all of our friends what gracious hosts you and Shawn are as owners of your very well-appointed villas! I can't stop raving about it. We just got our vacation pictures back today and we made sure we took a lot of photos inside the villa showing how beautiful it is, and the ocean views from the front deck. Breathtaking! Thank you again for making our vacation so memorable! Best wishes to all of you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2006   Date of arrival: May 20, 2006

Thank you for the attention to detail that made our stay so comfortable. We felt like we have stayed at the home of friends who wanted us to enjoy the beauty of the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2004   Date of arrival: May 20, 2004

Kiawah Island and the Treetops villa were both fabulous!! We did alot of golfing...each course was great. We loved enjoying the nature on the courses and on the beach. We saw alligators, dolphin, jelly fish, crabs, egrets and even a bald eagle! The villa made our trip. We felt right at home. You thought of every detail: books, movies, a cooler, all kitchenware, etc...we were not without a thing. Both of us were impressed with the mattress. It made for a comfortable night's sleep. The view from the balcony was picture-perfect. We enjoyed a dinner on the balcony watching the tide and the beach-goers. Our 5-year wedding anniversary on the island was just perfect. We'll take many happy memories home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2003   Date of arrival: May 20, 2003

What a wonderful place for a get away!! All the attention to detail made this a very comfortable place to stay. Thank you for providing such a lovely place! The notebook of information was quite useful as we found our way around the island and to Charleston. We especially enjoyed our long bike rides. We'd love to make this a tradition and come every year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review