reviews for: listing #14838 - Destin, Florida Condo rental

Book Your Spring Break At Gulfview! Free WiFi
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gulfview II
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $50 - $115 /nt
    $350 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We took a last minute family vacation to Destin in Aug 07. We had been to Destin several years ago, but it was right after a hurricane and the beaches were ugly and the weather was not good at all. So much to our surprise, it was absolutely beautiful!! The condo was great - great location - great price - very clean and neat - the beaches were awesome!! I would recommend this particular condo and this particular vacation spot to anyone and everyone. The BEST trip I've had since I was a kid and vacations were free!! :) I will return here at least once a year, as long as I am able.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Pleased!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Property was exactly as described, clean and well-maintained. The Matsons provided excellent customer service - as first-time vacation renters, we had several questions for them prior to and during our stay, and they were *always* quick with a helpful response. In fact, *they* contacted *us* once or twice to ensure that we were having a good time on our vacation! We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to stay at a pleasant place right by the beach without breaking the bank.

Restaurants we enjoyed during our first (but certainly not our last) stay in Destin: Another Broken Egg, Ciao Bella, McGuire's Irish Pub, Fat Clemenza's, The Donut Hole and Bruster's Ice Cream.

Had a blast on the SeaBlaster dolphin/snorkeling cruise. Thoroughly enjoyed shopping at the Destin Commons. And, of course, relaxing by the beach was amazing and just what we needed. :)

Thanks again, Russ and Stacey!

Owners response: Thank you so much! We really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation! We hope you will come back to Destin in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We love to stay here! The location is perfect, close to the beach great food and shopping!! The room is right next to the pool, the kids love that!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We really appreciate it. We look forward to you staying at our condo again! We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Keep Looking!!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We made our reservation at the last moment. The next day they said they were having computer issues and could not send us their "formal letter" with the info...so we just got a few of the codes emailed to us for the lockbox, beach gate, etc. Upon arrival we were disappointed - there was lots of grime built up in the cracks and crevices. The sheets were clean but not the comforters. Silverware had food crusted on it. The area around the toilet reeked of urine. The stove smoked profusely. The couch in the living room had NO cushion left in it. The bed was flat and hard and you could feel every spring. The ceiling fan overhead in the bedroom clanked all night. We wanted to use the hot tub that night, but the pools were NOT heated and kids in the complex were "swimming" in the hot tub. Also, there was a large group of people that had rented several rooms in the complex. They were walking up and down the complex drinking, smoking and shouting all night long. The next day we stepped outside the condo for a moment and when we turned around, we discovered we were locked out. We did not know that the door would open from the inside but would be locked from the outside. We found a number posted outside for management but they told us that they did not have ties to this unit. We finally got in touch with the owners who said the only other person with a key was their cleaning lady. She was not available. It seems foolish to me not to have some sort of contact for guests for issues like this! They had no way to help us or anyone for us to get in touch with for help. So the owners sent a locksmith who charged us to open the door with a credit card (the owners did reimburse us for this)! The owners suggested we keep the key in the lockbox to prevent another lockout, but we didn't feel comfortable keeping our possessions in a unit that previous renters knew the code for the key to access it. Saturday night we got into bed around 11:30 (again there were people in the halls making tons of noise)...and just a few minutes later we were startled by the sound of someone shaking the sliding door and trying to open it. Enough was enough. We packed up our bags and left shortly after midnight to drive three hours home. I would also note that this unit does not "overlook" one pool...it is RIGHT NEXT to it and there is NOT a view of the Gulf from any place in the unit. We wish we had saved our money or spent it elsewhere.

Owners response: We want all of our renters to know that we want you to be happy. Our first priority is our guests. We will help you out in any way. We send you rental agreements, our favorite resturants, places to go in Destin, etc. so you will knopw some of our favorite attractions. We also encourage our guests to contact us right away if you are not satisfied with something in our condo or anywhere else. We will work something out for our guests to their satisfaction. We want all of our guests to enjoy the condo and their vacation in Destin. Our unit is right next to a pool and you can look out the window and see the pool. There is two pools in the complex. One of the pools is heated, and there is also a hot tub. We hope you guys will consider staying at ouyr condo as we will make sure you have a pleasant experience. As mentioned earlier, if you are not satisified with something in our condo or the comples, we would hope that you would contact us immediately so we can work something out with you so that you will be satisified, and you will be able to enjoy your vacation at our condo and in Destin. Our main priority again is that our guests enjoy our condo and their stay in Destin.

Helpful votes: 27 / 29

 

Beach On A Budget

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

It was a great condo. Just a short walk to the beach threw the parking lot. Loved it. i will def go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. We appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfection!!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Oh wow!! This unit was perfect for a family of 5(2adults/3 kids). The location next to the pool made our vacation so relaxing. Our older kids could stay inside while mom and dad soaked up the sun and could still see them through the living room windows. Also being on the lowest level was nice for coming and going to the beach with no stairs to worry about. The trip to cross the street to the beach was a breeze even with kids. Inside the condo provided us with all the things we would need to relax! We will for sure be making another trip here next summer! Thanks from Texas!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

This is a beatiful condo in a great area. Plenty of room, and easy access for my mother in a wheel chair. Owners seem to have included everything to make stay feel like home. It far exceeded my expectations for the price. It really was perfect my family cant wait to return. I am recommending this condo to everyone I know.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: November 12, 2008   Date of arrival: November 12, 2008

Thank you for a wonderful week's stay in your lovely condo! The condo accomodated us all in comfort and the location is perfect. The owners were great to work with and we wish them all the best in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

This was our second visit to the condo. We love it because everything is so convenient. The condo is very nice and very clean. Communicating with the owners is very prompt and easy. The pool is the most convenient being right outside the door, our kids ages 12 and 9 could go to the pool alone and we could watch out the window! The beach is also very close and convenient for kids to come and go, right across the street. It is also an end unit which gives much more privacy and space!! We recommend this condo to anyone--especially with young/teenage kids!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Probably the cleanest condo we've ever seen! Easy access to the beach and pools. Lots of families at this resort too. Condo owners were very easy to work with and super nice!! We had a wonderful time and would most definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 16, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

We had a wonderful & relaxing time. Russ and Stacey went above and beyond to accommodate my needs & requests!
Thank you again and I will definately be staying there on my next trip to Florida!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 21, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Russ and Stacey!

We had a blast. This was our first time in Destin and we will definately be back. Your condo was perfect, clean, great beach acess, right in the heart of everything. We couldn't have asked for better accomodations. Thanks for letting us stay in your home on the Emerald Coast!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 18, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

April 7-15 2006
Russ & Stacey thank you for the use of the condo we had a wonderful time. The condo was clean and cheerful. The weather was beautiful. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 26, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

This was a great great great place to stay! The unit was amazing, spotless, and bigger than we imagined! The walk to the beach was literally just across the street, very short indeed. Everything we could think of was already there, we cooked 5 great meals with the pots and pans and the oven and everything else worked great. Best of all however, was the hot tub. Our typical schedule was get up around 10, head to the beach until we were tired or cold, and head right to the hot tub! I would recommend this condo to anyone! We're already dreaming about coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 31, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

What a great choice for our first condo rental ever! We spent a month in Florida and stayed in four different condos in the same price range, but yours was the nicest. It is very bright, clean, and well-maintained with a great location for seeing everything Destin has to offer. The beach, of course, is wonderful, and a short drive in any direction provides new areas of interest. We will definitely visit again if we return to the Panhandle.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 3, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Thanks so much for the nice accomodations during our stay in Destin. We loved the area and the condo. It was well equipped and very reasonably priced. Everything was perfect, including the weather. The beach is beautiful and just a few steps away. We will definitely rent this unit again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 23, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Russ & Stacey, Thanks for the winter vacation at your beautiful Condo. It was nice to get out of the cold for a month. Your Condo was perfect. It is nicely located near good restaraunts and only half a football field from the beach. The fact that it faced south made it cheery and being on the first floor was great for me due to my arthritis. The hot tub and heated pool were great and Nancy was able to take her morning strolls on the path right out the front door. If we ever get the opportunity to go to Destin again we will surely contact you. Thanks again. Ron & Nancy Drews Stone Lake, Wisc.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

Russ and Stacey, We enjoyed our stay in your condo even if it was cut short because of the hurricane. Your condo is very nice. It is well taken care of and very clean. It's in the perfect location. It has everything anyone would ever need. Thanks for being so nice to us. We will definately be staying here time and time again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 8, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

What a wonderful relaxing time we had staying here. It was easy in and out and the condo was very clean. The host and hostess answered our questions and called us to make sure everything was in order before we arrived. The price fit our budget and was nicer than staying at a motel or hotel. The beach was nice and clean and a joy to walk. Sunrise and sunsets were a must to see. Henderson State Park is just up the way and we enjoyed the hiking. This place was a hit for us and we will be back. Thanks for the use of your place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

The unit was very clean with all amenities needed. The owners were very nice and checking in and out was easy. We enjoyed our trip and even though tropical storm matthew visited and brought rain, we enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 6, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

What a find!!! We had a wonderful vacation as we usually do in Destin. The condo was perfect, very clean and very reasonably priced. We will definitely be renting this unit for our next trip. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 1, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

When we walked in for the first time we were so pleased with how clean and new everything was! The location is great,the beach is only a very short walk, with your own beach access. And being on the ground floor one of the pools is right beside the condo which is so nice. We wanted to stay in the old highway 98 area this year, it has an excited feel to it, with the gorgeous beach homes, joggers and open air retaurants, we loved it!
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 10, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this condo. It was immaculate and very well equipped with everything we needed. It's a quiet complex with clean common areas and beautifully landscaped grounds with fragrant flowering shrubs. (May) We loved the smell! It was only a couple of miles to several grocery stores and the Silver Sands Outlet Mall is one of kind! The beaches in this area are well maintained and the sand is sparkling white. We would definitely vacation here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

Dear Russ & Stacey,
We just wanted to let you know we had a great time on our vacation in your condo.
We enjoyed many of the restaurants and golf courses nearby. We enjoyed the sunsets on the private beach and found the condo to be clean, quiet, and well equipped.
We believe ,however, one of the best parts was how accomodating and friendly you and Stacey are. Definitely a place to return to when we visit Destin.
Linda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 27, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

Russ and Stacey,
Paula and I really enjoyed our time in your Gulfview condominium. You have all the comforts of home and more. Your unit is well appointed, spacious and very clean. Sitting down to breakfast and looking out at the pool and the beautiful landscaping is so relaxing. Being so close to the most gorgeous beach, steps away really, is beyond compare. Also, within walking distance to restaurants, not to mention the million dollar beach homes. Thanks for sharing your home with us. We will be back to Destin real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review