reviews for: listing #1501 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

Seabreeze Duplex- Bright & Airy (3-6 Bedrooms)
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  West Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Spacious place!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

Enjoyed our quick trip- plenty of room in both units, clean and well equipped. Appreciated the wagon and chairs to use at beach- a couple blocks away- would stay again on a long-term rental-feels like a "home" I did miss being directly on the ocean for our short stay but the price was definitely worth the short walk-gorgeous beach and lagoon on the other side! Great owners to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

upper unit

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

Everything was very uuean. The location was extremely good for us. Liked the new sofas.Look forward to returning. Amenities were well described.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our stay at your home. It was comfortable, clean and well equipped. The beds were comfortable. The beach was wonderful, not too crowded. The house is at a nice location, between lagoon and beach. My sister and I enjoyed taking long walks on the beach in the early morning and found many treasures. We would go back to this home in a heart beat! Hope to go again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Pennsylvania Snowbirds

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

Gulf Shores became our adopted town two years ago when we retired and decided to escape Pennsylvania winters. We chose Seabreeze in order to be close to the beach and close to relatives who also winter there just 1 ½ blocks away on the banks of the lagoon. We’ll be returning after Thanksgiving this year for a 4 month stay – we are anxious already.

We especially like the upper level – it’s so bright and cheery. The southern-facing windows provide a limited view of the Gulf surf, also only 1 ½ blocks away. Northern and western windows provide a view of the little lagoon. We enjoy walking on the beach but on those days when it’s too windy, Lagoon Avenue offers shelter for walking or biking. Another path we like to hike is in Bon Secours National Wildlife Refuge. It commences at the Refuge parking lot on the south side of Route 180 and winds through the woods and over the dunes to the Gulf which, at that point, is open space.

The kitchen is so well equipped that we don’t hesitate to have several dinner parties during our stay. All of our guests have commented on how lovely the unit is and we all appreciate how the open floor plan, bar, and large dining table facilitate mixing. This year the new white leather sofas were a wonderful surprise.

As we’re in Gulf Shores for 3 months, we commit time to local community activities and volunteering, but also find time to shop and dine out occasionally. Shopping of every variety can be found along Route 59, in Foley, Daphne, Fairhope, and Spanish Fort. While the women are shopping, the men enjoy touring the USS Alabama in Mobile and the Naval Air Station Museum in Pensacola.

Although we love cooking and sharing meals with our relatives, we have favorite dinner spots – Big Fish in Orange Beach, Jesse’s in Magnolia Springs, Gelato Joe’s in Foley, and Moe’s Barbeque in Orange Beach. We also love getting fresh sweet oysters from Aquila fish market on the Bon Secours River and having a couple of oyster fries during our stay. When our stay has ended, we take all of our leftover food (unopened and prepared) to the zoo which welcomes all donations .

This review would not be complete without conveying what a pleasure it is to deal with John and Janice Padbury who own Seabreeze. From the first time we spoke with them in 2011, they have been more than accommodating and personable– we consider them friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

May vacation

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

Our stay was absolutely incredible! The house was beautiful, and I loved the central location between the beach and the lagoon. I was able to do some fishing and the girls stayed on the beach. We all had a great time and would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Break Getaway

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We had a great time at the Seabreeze beach house. It was great for our girl trip and nice to have both duplexes because we had so much space for food and everyone's belongings. Te walk to the beach took no more that 5 minutes and the balcony was great. I'd definitely go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful relaxing vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had two families and took the whole duplex. WE were pleased with all of the amentities that were near and the location to the beach. It took us about 3 -5 minutes depending on how much gear we took. The owners keep the property stocked with everything we needed for cooking and the supply closet had items needed at the beach. WE did take some of our own beach chairs just because we had so many people. Washer and dryer were an added bonus so we could wash the beach towels daily if needed. We cooked 3 of the nights we were there and went out to eat 3 nights.The duplexes are very homey and comfortable. Everyone found something to do whether it was watching the Olympics, relaxing and reading or playing games at the large dining room table. It is a fabulous place to vacation and I hope to stay here again next year. Thanks very much to the delightful owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome vacation rental!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

My family and I rented both units of the duplex for a week. Everything in the house was very nice and made us feel like we were in a "home away from home." The beach is about a 5 minute walk or a 1 minute drive (there is parking right across the street from the ocean.) We were very close to shops and restaurants. Overall we had a great stay and would love to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Seabreeze! The house was very nice and clean. House is a short walk to beach. Beach was beautiful! The Padbury's are great and a pleasure to do business with. Definately will stay at Seabreeze the next time we visit Gulf Shores. Thank You Padbury's!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Seabreeze

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

What a wonderful vacation home! So close to the beach and in a very quiet neighborhood. It was roomy and comfy - just right for our family. We are looking forward to next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Stay at the Seabreeze

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Our stay was excellent. Everything was very clean. All the prior arrangements (receiving keys, deposit etc.) went very smoothly and had no problems. The house was located very close to beach and was equipped with everything you could think of.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

vacation

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

It was a very nice home in a great location. What I was looking for was a quiet vacation on the off season. Other than the stampede of girls above, it was that. It was a little unsettling that when they walked, the house swayed & shook. I would stay at the unit again only if I was able to get the upstairs one.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Loved Seabreeze

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We loved Seabreeze! It has a fully stocked kitchen and is in a very quiet neighborhood. Short walk to a wonderful, non-crowded beach. I would stay here again! All the comforts of home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great House, Great Beach

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

The home is everything it is described to be- clean, close, comfy and well stocked. It is located down the beach and away from the high rise condos in a quiet area. The walk to the beach was short and the road leads right to the beach access. The storage room is well supplied with beach needs-chairs, umbrella, toys, cooler. It was about a 45-60 minute drive from the Pensacola airport and easy to find with the given directions. John was wonderful to work with and the paperwork and keys arrived in a timely manner. I would highly recommend a stay at The Seabreeze.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome time!

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

My family and I (8 of us) stayed in this house the week of Memorial. The house is clean and beautiful! Restaurants,grocery stores, and other entertainment were close by. The beach was easily walking distance (1.5 blocks away). There is also a closet downstairs that has beach chairs, tubes, ice chests, etc. Everything we needed was right there!

As for the owners/property managers, they were very accommodating. The keys didn't arrive on time but they managed to leave a set of keys inside the house for us.

Overall, great stay!! The weather was cooperative as well. I would recommend this house to anyone looking to stay in the area!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Only weather could have been better!

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Stayed month of January 2010, coldest January in 40 yrs! Home was comfortable, close to beach but away from traffic. Home was clean and equipped with everything needed for stay. Owner stayed in touch to make sure we were comfortable. Definitely would rent again and recommend to anyone thinking about traveling to GS and looking for a great place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

This was a wonderful location for our holiday getaway in late December. The perfect distance from the beautiful beach and it sits on a quiet street with little traffic or hoopla - ideal for families with little ones.

The house itself is cozy and warm and everyone raved about the beds (super comfy!).

This all matched so well with the Padburys who were delightfully easy to work with.

We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just as listed

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2009

This was a great place for us to stay. We hope to be able to go back next year.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Above Expectations!

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

This is the first time we had rented a house, so we were a little unsure as to what expect. We rented the lower unit of this duplex. It was so much better than we had expected. The house was very clean and had everything you would need. It was great to have a washer/dryer and a full-size kitchen. It was close to the beach which was great for the kids. It was within driving distance to Pensacola to see the Blue Angels, Mobile to see the Alabama Battleship, and to go golfing. We would very highly recommend this house to anyone who would be going to Gulf Shores!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We rented both the upper and lower units the last week of March and found them to be very comfortable, convenient and perfect for our family of kids and grandkids. We would recommend Seabreeze to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Gulf Shores area.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

A group of us stayed in the upper unit of this duplex. It was everything and more than what was orginally described online. It was amazing! It was in a quiet area, but just close enough to the beach. There was pleanty of space for all of us. The owners were great people, and communicated very well with us. If we have another opportunity, we would definitely love to go back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed in the lower unit for a week Feb.19-26th. It was wonderful. The Padbury's were great to work with to make our trip happen. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

beach trip

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

the house was large and clean. everything worked great. the beach is a short walk away. we enjoyed our stay very well. we might even be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 2, 2007   Date of arrival: April 2, 2007

We loved your home and had a wonderful time. I hope to rent from you again soon. I have already told many people about this place. It was perfect for what we needed. Thank you very much for working with me on short notice to get it rented for our vacation.
Thanks again,
Sabrina

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 18, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

We loved your home before Ivan and love it even more since. The updates you have made only make the home more warm and inviting! Very spacious and comfortable with all the amenities of home. A nice, short walk to the beach and the bay make this home convenient for a family. Thank you! The Werner's, April, 2005

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

What a wonderul winter we had at SeaBreeze. The accomodations were great. This unit is nice and spacious,well maintained and is truly a 'home away from home'. We are looking forward to spending 3 winter months here in 2006. A BIG thankyou to the Padburys!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review