reviews for: listing #1502 - Donner Lake, California Cabin rental

Lakefront Cabin on Serene Lakes
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Serene Lakes
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $500 /nt
    $2,100 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Great for large groups of all ages

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Wonderful home ! We had a lot of people ranging in age from 2 to 61. There is something and somewhere for everyone to go and have fun. No need to leave the house. Everything was clean and maintained. Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cal Alumni Skiers

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We found the home clean and fully set-up. Plenty of dishes and pots in the kitchen. Minor problems with heating consistency, 1st floor was cold and 3rd floor was too hot. Plenty of room to hang out while kids had a blast in the snow. The view across the lake was stunning. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cal Alumni Skiers

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We found the home clean and fully set-up. Plenty of dishes and pots in the kitchen. Minor problems with heating consistency, 1st floor was cold and 3rd floor was too hot. Plenty of room to hang out while kids had a blast in the snow. The view across the lake was stunning. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best of Serene Lakes

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

This is one of the best properties on Serene Lakes!!

I have stayed here twice in Winter and twice in Summer and we always have a great time. The property is clean and well maintained and suitable for several families or a large group.

In summer the sunset from the deck, over the lake is breath-taking and great place to sip a cocktail and BBQ after a day of swiming. hiking, fishing, boating or? The house is literally steps from the lake and also very close to the Ice House Lodge and community beach.

In winter the view is equally stunning over the froozen lake opening up a whole new winter adventure land. Sugarbowl and Royal Gorge cross country ski areas are a very short drive away.

What ever you enjoy, there is something fun for everyone year round!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The location and home are awesome!

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This house is awesome. Serene Lake is a fabulous spot for a getaway. I've been to this house twice, always in winter, and have not had a bad time. It is homey and comfortable, not sterile like so many rentals. I want to come back in the summer and get a feel for the lake right there.

The house is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay, whether it is the cooking utensils or books/movies to keep the family entertained.

In the winter my daughters have had a great time playing in the snow, whether it be sledding down the hill, building snowmen or having the mother of all snow ball fights.

You can't go wrong with a stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We went up with some friends and kids for a long weekend and had a fabulous time. It was a perfect place for a weekend away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cleaning deposit

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We stayed for a week in July, after we left we where told carpets had just been cleaned before us,so we had give up our cleaning deposit. The problem with all of this was that the carpet was so covered in dog hair that the baby could not be allowed to crawl on it. The place generally was filthy, with dead flys in the window sills, and grease all over stove.Watch out for your cleaning deposit.And the property was not well maintained.

Owners response: As the owner of Scottish Lakefront, the renter who wrote this review treated our cabin so poorly that our agency kept his deposit. As you see from his entry, he wrote the response to due to our agency keeping his deposit and asking him not to rent again. His group left our cabin a mess, with spilled soda, carpet stains and food on the furniture. This is our second home and we frequent it often, and we take excellent care of the house. I'm sorry this renter left a negative review, especially after he treated our property so poorly. You can ask me any questions the attached email. Thank you, Craig.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

Serene Lake reminds me of what Lake Tahoe used to be like in the late 70s, a gorgeous setting within easy driving distance of the Bay Area. My family and I had a blast skiing at Soda Springs (5 min drive) and Sugarbowl (10 min drive). This vacation cabin, unlike others I've rented, has all the amenities such as unobstructed lake views and access for snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, etc. Just open the backdoor and you're there. You can bring your folks, your own family and your sibling's family - each gets their own floor and privacy. Yet, there is the open mid-level area for relaxing in front of the view (or large screen TV - nothing like watching the local ski channel to get you excited about hitting the slopes) and enjoying the warmth of the cast iron stoves with a glass of wine in hand. Speaking of food, unlike most kitchens this one is fully stocked with utensils, you actually find useful when cooking sit-down meals. The dining area can accommodate everyone at the table. I can't wait to check this cabin out in the summer with my family for hiking, biking and swimming in the lake. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Serene Stay

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

What a great house! We had the best time at this cabin. It is very spacious and has all the comforts of home. Serene Lakes is beautiful!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a wonderful time

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

What a wonderful home to spend vacation with family and friends! We were here for a winter ski n snowboard trip, and the house comfortably fit all of us, 6 families! Packed with games, excellent kitchen, all working heater and appliances. The view was beautiful, and location was excellent, very close by Soda Springs Resort. Would love to come back in the future. Thank you for sharing this property with us!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anise , San Mateo, CA

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

My family just got back from the most wonderful few days at Serene Lakes Cabin. We have rented MANY houses before, and this was by far the best experience ever. The house is tastefully decorated, immaculately kept and in an amazing location. The layout of the house is great for one family or many. It is spacious, yet also very cozy. We are already planning on booking a week or two during the summer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

My family just got back from the most wonderful few days at Serene Lakes Cabin. We have rented MANY houses before, and this was by far the best experience ever. The house is tastefully decorated, immaculately kept and in an amazing location. The layout of the house is great for one family or many. It is spacious, yet also very cozy. We are already planning on booking a week or two during the summer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

What a wonderful home to spend vacation
with family and friends! We were here
for a winter ski n snowboard trip, and
the house comfortably fit all of us, 6
families! Packed with games, excellent
kitchen, all working heater and
appliances. The view was beautiful, and
location was excellent, very close by
Soda Springs Resort. Would love to come
back in the future. Thank you for
sharing this property with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

What a great house! We had the best time at this cabin. It is very spacious and has all the comforts of home. Serene Lakes is beautiful!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review