reviews for: listing #15057 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Great Seabright Beach Home at the Center of All
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $260 - $350 /nt
    $1,820 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic place!

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We stayed at this rental for four nights in January 2008. We have rented several properties before including some in Santa Cruz and we thought this one was great. It is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable (great beds!) and very clean. We loved the view from the deck and the kids loved to sit watching the ocean from the breakfast nook. The owners were very accomodating and helpful. Hopefully we will manage to visit the area again soon and if so we will definitely be in touch.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 21

 

Great Girl's Getaway Weekend Location

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

6 happy women just returned from a 3-day mini vacation at this beautiful, spacious, almost beach-front home, where we celebrated 2 March birthdays. What a treat it was for us to have such a pretty place. It has plenty of room so everyone had her own space if needed. Great kitchen. Awesome crow's nest deck. For 6 women, there are 3 bathrooms, great feature. We walked to the Seabright Brewery (about 5 blocks away) good food, live music, and full bar. We found a local place (2 blocks away) , where they make a great martini and have a pool table (Brady's or Grady's??) We loved having the garage so parking was never a problem. The entrance to the beach was just steps away and an easy walk to the beach. It's a great place. I did get a mini workout climbing the stairs to the 2nd floor where the kitchen, living, sun rooms are located. Thank you Denny, we sure enjoyed our visit!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A World Apart

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We're not from far away, but Santa Cruz is a world apart. What a great month we had on Mott Avenue – Seabright State Beach walks almost every day, high tide or low, the sound of waves crashing (or not), star-filled night skies, the full moon casting its magical blue glow. It was fun to be able to walk to the Boardwalk and past the amusement park if the tides were right. The house itself is neat, comfortably furnished and well equipped, especially the kitchen, obviously stocked by cooks, including lots of cookbooks. The house also has ample lighting options, something we book readers appreciated, and the best instruction notebook of any VRBO rental we've been in (and we've rented a lot of VRBO houses). The roof deck is a great asset, too, with a propane grill. And all of the above comes without getting in the car! Then there are nearby redwood hikes galore, excellent farmers markets (even in January!), diverse dining options within minutes, eclectic downtown Santa Cruz with its interesting shops, restaurants and museums. Kudos and gratitude to Denny and Bob for knowing how to be such exceptional hosts in absentia but always helpful if we needed them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place to stay very close to the beach!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

This house is a great place to stay. It has a really nice layout with the bedrooms on the first floor and the living, dining and kitchen on the second floor. You can see the beach from the breakfast bar windows and the outdoor deck. The house is very comfortable and nicely decorated. Seabright Beach is a very short walk and you can also easily walk to the Boardwalk and Wharf in one direction, the harbor and restaurants in another direction and the Seabright Brewery, Betty Burger, and other restaurants in another direction. I would highly recommend this house as an excellent place to stay in Santa Cruz. It has it all!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Santa Cruz location

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here quite happily for a full week. Everything in the description was spot on and we felt very much at home. The bedrooms are on the first floor, with the kitchen and large open living space on the second floor -- a kind of crow's nest with lovely views and an outdoor deck. It really is just steps away from Seabright Beach, a great spot, and a short walk to the Santa Cruz boardwalk and many fun, local restaurants. We would highly recommend it! If we find ourselves in the Santa Cruz area again, we would try to rent it again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic, very close to beach, lovely views

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

This place was fantastic. I would stay here again. The porch is lovely and relaxing. There are plenty of linens and the kitchen is well stocked. It is really very close to the beach, and a very short walk to the boardwalk. In my opinion a perfect location. No parking restrictions plus a garage. I didn't use the jacuzzi but it is enormous. I highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couple from Ohio

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

The house is definitely as described in both words and photos. The mornings were cool and we watched the bay while sipping our morning coffee. Did a jacuzzi in the evening. Walked down to Aldo's restaurant at the Harbor for breakfast and then out to the lighthouse. There were pelicans flying by and cormorants diving for fish. Got to use the kitchen and it's got everything anyone would need. The place was immaculate. Anyone interested in a romantic getaway couldn't ask for better.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We Love This House

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Ahhh, Bob & Denny, we just love your house so much! Another relaxing stay. Thank you so much for allowing us to share it, and we hope to come back again next year.
Phil, Ingrid & family
Beckenham, U. K.
p.s., Linda's Seabreeze Cafe still rocks!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2008

We had a great time in this beach house! The location of this house is great and the house is beautiful!
Tames and Pat
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Present

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

We love your house!!!! I brought my parents here for a Christmas Present and am so glad I did. Our original plan was just to stay until Sunday, but we were having such a great time and enjoyed the house so much we extended our stay another night. The weather was great and we enjoyed hanging out on the patio. Love that fact that we are so close to everything. Thank you so much for letting us stay in your awesome home for our mini vacation! We hope to be back soon and definitely recommend your home to our family and friends!
Thanks again! Dawn, Sacramento, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Brought Home Great Memories

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

THANK YOU! We had just a phenomenal time at your home. We can't wait to rent it again. The proximity to the beach was perfect. We thought we'd be a bit further back...being that close was such a treat! Mostly, we enjoyed the rooftop deck. We were on it every morning and evening...and it was perfect for watching the meteor showers on Wednesday evening...we had the kids out there until 12:30am watching...
Funny note, on the day we arrived, our kids (ages 9 and 6) ran upstairs and our youngest yells out "there is a huge tv!!) we were so comfortable in your home! Thanks again so much! We brought home great memories.
Kristin, Novato, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Emli’s Sweet 16

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

Me, my family and a few close friends had an AMAZING weekend. We loved how close we were to the beach and the Boardwalk. The house had everything we needed for the weekend. We loved the house and the view. Thank you so, so, so, so very much.
Emily - Ceres, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 8, 2009

LOVE THIS HOUSE"

"We just spent a week in this house..it was FANTASTIC! can't say enough about this place. It really is about 100 steps walk down the street to the entrace to Seabright Beach. The home is kept up incredibly well. We enjoyed the rooftop deck every morning for coffee and every early evening for cocktails. We even had the best place to watch meteor showers one night. We would rent this home again in a heartbeat..it's such a great deal!! There are great restaurants walking distance and you can walk to the Boardwalk in about 10 minutes. Our kids loved the home as well, and we had plentyof room for visitors. The neighbood is very quiet at night and the homes in the neighborhood are all kept up so well and manicured..This is a true treasure of a vacation home!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LOVE THIS HOUSE

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

We just spent a week in this house..it was FANTASTIC! can't say enough about this place. It really is about 100 steps walk down the street to the entrace to Seabright Beach. The home is kept up incredibly well. We enjoyed the rooftop deck every morning for coffee and every early evening for cocktails. We even had the best place to watch meteor showers one night. We would rent this home again in a heartbeat..it's such a great deal!! There are great restaurants walking distance and you can walk to the Boardwalk in about 10 minutes. Our kids loved the home as well, and we had plentyof room for visitors. The neighbood is very quiet at night and the homes in the neighborhood are all kept up so well and manicured..This is a true treasure of a vacation home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

family vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2008   Date of arrival: June 5, 2008

WOW!!!!!! What a great house, great location, only a short!! walk from the beach. The house has all the ammenities and more. Very comfortable. Would strongly recommend renting this property for a relaxing vacation. Close to downtown, shopping, Wharf.
The house is stocked with everything you could possibly need. Even has beach accessories, i.e. umbrella, towells, chairs, cooler. We will definately be back.
Denny and Bob, thanks for sharing your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A memorable vacation

Review submitted: February 19, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We arrived with 3 adults and 2 small children at the vacation home and found it just as it was shown on the pictures. The place is very organized, well decorated and offers a nearly perfect location right by the seabright beach entrance and walking distance to the boardwalk and harbor. The garage was a real plus as we didn't have to deal with any parking. The hot tub was fun after a long weekend on the beach and boardwalk and the spacious walk in shower with the rain nozzle felt so good when rinsing off all the sand. We stayed in February and had perfect whether. We were able to do some bon fires on the beach, which is just a half minute walk down the street. The patio was also great for listening to some relaxing ocean sounds. And in the evening, all the dimmer and ceiling lights provided some real cozy ambience. Everything just felt real luxurious and very comfortable. The massage chair was also a great hit. Now we can’t wait to go back in October.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 20, 2005   Date of arrival: December 1, 2005

Please go to Vacation Rental at Seabright Beach web site (address on previous page) and click Testimonals to see guest comments.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review