reviews for: listing #150803ha - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Welcome to Seabreeze Casa and Nature Reserve
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 185 - $ 285 / night
    $ 1,149 - $ 2,000 / week
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Vacationer's Paradise!

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

Our group of seven had the most amazing time at Seabreeze Casa! Bea and Bob were very helpful in suggesting activities and grocery stores, and Bob even met us off the main highway to take us to the house. As others have mentioned 4x4s are necessary (we had a great experience with Vamos Rent a Car).

Seabreeze was perfect for our group, tucked away in the mountains with beautiful views, but only a short drive to the main road with restaurants and stores. The house and pool are well maintained, and we loved having the dogs keep us company. There is a horse stable where you can feed horses, and hiking paths Bob pointed us to.

Be sure to check out Tortilla Flats, and try the ceviche and coconuts they sell off the road!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Paradise

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 17, 2014

Our overall trip to Costa Rica was incredible!
A huge thank you to both Bob and Bea for letting us stay at this incredible home!
The views from Seabreeze are breathtaking. It would be hard to feel any amount of stress while staying here. Waking up, you are greeted simultaneously by the lush jungle and the Pacific Ocean.
Highly recommend a 4X4 vehicle to make the trip up the mountain to Seabreeze—Bob meets you out by Dominical and guides you up. Driving up the mountain for the first time was awesome, first time ever driving through that type of terrain and where the road ends is paradise!
The house was perfect for our trip, we all came to Costa Rica to simply relax and forget about our lives back home. The views both during the day of the beach and jungle and during the night of the starry sky are incredible. Although the beach is just minutes away, we did find ourselves simply enjoying the pool and its views instead of heading down to Dominical. Make sure to hike through the nature reserve and feed the horses along the way. We snorkeled and zip lined while we where here, which were less than an hour away and easy to get to. There are plenty of great restaurants up and down route 34 for when you don’t feel like cooking and do stop by and try the Ceviche posts throughout 34.
The house itself is fully equipped with any amenities one may need and it was able to house all seven adults comfortably. The house has a fully equipped kitchen, stocked bathrooms, and an abundance of towels, pillows, and blankets. They also provide some board games, movies, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. Both Bob and Bea are available if need be, and provide a cellphone.
Seabreeze was the perfect choice for our trip, and the hospitality provided by both Bob and Bea is immeasurable. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent property, enormous pool, fantastic views

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

Arrival at this property might get you worried. The last part of the road is terrible (4x4 essential) but perhaps only normal for Costa Rica. You are then greeted by 12 or more dogs all barking in unison - but they all prove to be friendly and harmless. You then pass the house of the owners, Bob and Bea, which seems as much designed for dogs as humans. Then you arrive at Sea Breeze Casa and realise the journey was well worth while. The pool, with an "infinity" edge towards the valley and the sea, is larger than many hotel pools with one really deep end. There is a large terrace with ample good quality chairs, tables and sun loungers, all in good condition. Everywhere inside is fully insect screened and large glass doors open on two sides. The bedroom is similar and, although there is air conditioning, we could see no need for it. We were only two, so did not use the second downstairs very large studio room. however this makes the property uniquely suitable for two couples giving the opportunity to be together or for each to have some time on their own.

Bob and Bea are always available (the cellphone provided will always locate them) but leave you in total privacy unless invited. The kitchen has everything you need including (to our delight) an espresso coffee machine complete with ample supplies of very good coffee. Everything is provided. Masses of towels, lots of food incidentals, dishwash tablets, paper towels, etc. And above all, everything works - even the wifi internet access - all the time - a miracle for Costa Rica!

Of course it is all clean and well maintained. There is no mid-stay maid service which suited us fine. Bob did whatever pool maintenance was required at times to suit us. The dogs are no trouble if you can put up with the very occasional short outburst of barking and a few of the less timid ones will visit you at the house from time to time. One of them likes to be temporarily adopted by the tenants - as happened with us for the whole of our stay.

The supermarket in Domincal is good and the two at Uvita (15km further on) are among the best on the Pacific Coast. The only thing sadly lacking was a nice beachside restaurant for a casual lunch under the palms. These seem to be confined to the more northern parts of the coast.

Would we go again? - Yes. Would be recommend Sea Breeze to others? - Definitely.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Seabreeze Casa

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

Bob/Bea want to thank you for opening up your beautiful Casa to us. I would just want to say 1 that some screens need to be repaired so the a/c would not of had to be used all the time in bedrooms, also had to skim pool for the first couple of days because filter system was down for repairs,once repaired all was good. The pool/patio with those views(birds,monkeys and especially the sunsets while sipping Champagne in the pool) was spectacular. We had a ball with the dogs especially Tara(hope she is not missing us to much). Feed the horses down at the stable. As far as dinner we had good food at Tortilla Flats(Surf town)excellent Coconut Mahi Mahi, Fried Calamari appetizer and PastaCalamari in a cream sauce. If anyone has a thing for Wings go to Jolly Rogers try the Basil-Parmesan wings,fries awesome. Please say hello to Wayne,Ralph and Storm the owner you will not be disappointed I guarantee it. Bob/Bea Thank You it was the BOMB The Pollock's/Cerasoli's

Owners response: It was a pleasure having Francis and his group here. We look forward to a return visit. We appreciate it when our guests take the time to write a review. The reviews give us information to inprove the Sea Breeze Casa experience. There was some confusion about the pool filtration system. The main pool pump for the filters and the infinity egde pumps were both running perfectly during the entire stay. There is a third pump for the jacuzzi jets which was out of service. We serviced the pool twice during this period and made sure the pool chemicals were properly balanced. Feed back from our guests allows us to fix any problems that are new or that we overlooked. Coming home from vacation is usually pretty hectic and it is great when travelers make the effort to review the property. Thanks! Pura Vida, Bob and Bea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in Costa Rica!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Seabreeze Casa is truly a bit of paradise. Our stay there exceeded the already high expectations we had from reading the previous reviews! The house and pool are even nicer than the pictures and everything was so comfortable. I thought I would never find a master bedroom as beautiful as the one we have at home but I was wrong - the Seabreeze master is unbelievably beautiful - big, with windows surrounding you so that you feel you are living outside and cool breezes at all times! We had our daughter and her husband with us and they enjoyed the complete privacy of the lower level. We loved the casa so much that we only left twice in 6 days. Everything we were looking for was right there - the birds, the animals, the water, the quiet (except for the sounds of nature!), the view. And Bea and Bob were so wonderful - there when you needed something but very respectful of our desire for solitude and peace. We are bird watchers and Seabreeze was heaven for us with birds coming right to the house! To say nothing of the wonderful Capuchin monkeys!! The road into the house is a bit of a challenge but if you have 4 wheel drive you should be able to manage fine and it is certainly WORTH the drive.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Both Worlds...Mountains and Beach

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Bob and Bea were wonderful hosts starting with showing us the way at 9:30 at night and then giving us 2 bags of groceries because we didn't stop on our way. 4x4 rental is no joke, but we enjoyed the off roading adventure. Pool and house were wonderful and spacious...I swam laps every day and our son was in starting at 6am. Two of the days we didn't leave the house at all because the views and poolside chairs will draw you in. One night we turned all the lights off in the house and laid out in the lawn chairs and looked at the stars. Download a star chart app...so beautiful with no light pollution. Take all the tours Bob recommends and eat at The Dome in Uvita. Bea's dogs and critters kept us company. I would highly recommend this house and Dominical. This was our first trip and we will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun for the whole family!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

I love reviews that give you tips and hints so here it goes....the property is amazing and Bob and Bea are great hosts. Bob met us at 9:30 at night to follow him up to the property. We didn't stop for groceries but they gave us stuff to make breakfast the next morning. Do the tours they recommend. Renting a 4x4 is no joke, but our kids loved the ride in and out to the house. We felt like like we got the best of both worlds....jungle and 20min to the beach. Two of the days we didn't leave the deck or pool. I am a swimmer and brought goggles and cap and swam laps every morning. The Dome drive through restaurant in Uvita was our favorite, the chef is Jamaican Canadian. Bring friends and enjoy a super laid back Costa Rica. Finally, download a star gazing app on your phone, turn out ALL the lights in the house and lay on the pool chairs with your kids and pick out all the constellations. With no light pollution on the mountain it is an amazing thing to do with your kids. Thank you Bob and Bea (and Tara our favorite dog).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SeaBreeze Casa is a private, quiet paradise oasis!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 25, 2013

We were blown away by how clean and well maintained this property was. Bea and Bob felt like family and did everything possible to make sure we were taken care of 100% (to include picking up groceries for us). The house is large, open and amazing, w/panning vistas and very modern and stylized fixtures. Lots of tropical reptiles, birds and other wildlife on the premisis! Be prepared to encounter plentiful (large) insects (this close to the equator). Consider bringing friends, because there's plenty of room for company. Have fun!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Loved Seabreeze Casa

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Seabreeze Casa was a perfect rental home for our vacation. The pool and view were absolutely breathtaking. The house is big and beautiful with windows all around, clean, and everything in it is of top quality. Bob and Bea are two of the kindest, gentlest people my husband and I have ever met. They are always available if you need anything, but never intrusive. We stayed for 7 nights with my parents, our two daughters, and my adult niece. There was plenty of room and comfortable beds for all of us. I was amazed at how well equipped the house was. Any pan, utensil or small appliance you might need in the kitchen was there, as well as hand soap, bar soap, laundry soap, dishwasher soap, garbage bags, straws for smoothies and pool towels. There was even a hair dryer in the master bathroom. It was nice to have air conditioning in the lower unit and master bedroom. The main living room did not have a/c, so if you have a bigger group, some will be sleeping without air. There was a large fan, though, so it wasn’t too hot for our older daughter and niece. Our kids loved petting all of the dogs, and visiting the horses on the property. Two of Bob and Bea’s dogs would come down to visit us regularly, which we thought was fun.
The pool was quite large, and we spent a lot of time in it. We had visits from capuchins and toucans during the week. We got a kick out of the toads that would show up after dark and “talk” to us with their strange croaks. The road to get to Casa Sea Breeze was an adventure, and took about 20 minutes, but was worth it to stay in such a beautiful setting. We never worried about whether our belongings would be safe. We loved watching the sunset on the ocean with our cocktails and cooking dinner in the Casa. Bob and Bea gave us a great recommendation for where to buy fresh fish, so we grilled fish and shrimp three of the nights we were there.
It was our 4th vacation in Costa Rica, but our first in the Dominical area, which we loved. We explored many of the beautiful, secluded beaches. Bob and Bea had a boogie board we could use, and we had a blast. Hacienda Baru was interesting. The Osa Mountain Canopy tour was fun and exciting with spectacular views. Don Lulu’s Nayuaca Falls horseback riding tour was a huge hit. If we are ever in the Dominical area again (and I hope we will be, someday), we wouldn’t hesitate to stay at Casa Sea Breeze! Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home, Bob and Bea!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect trip, better than advertised, would stay again!!!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for eight days and it was better than advertised!! The extra 15 minute 4x4 drive is well worth it. The property is actually nicer in person than the photos indicate which is rarely the case. Bob and Bea are fantastic hosts who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Many days we didn't even venture out because the setting and amenities were better than any beach you can visit. I will definitely here stay again if possible on future trips to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Vacation in Paradise!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We stayed at Sea Breeze for 9 glorious nights over the holidays, and loved every minute. The house was perfect for our family of four. Our son & daughter stayed in the studio apartment (they loved having the privacy!) and my husband and I treasured the huge master bedroom (wrap around windows with nature views to die for!). The pool was fantastic and we spent many hours relaxing and loving the view that went all the way to the ocean. The bathrooms are gorgeous and the two sets of washers/dryers are very handy. The house is elegant and spacious, and also very comfortable.

We found staying at Sea Breeze in Dominical to be ideal: very relaxing yet tons of adventures to enjoy within a short drive. We went zip lining at Baru Wildlife Refuge, horseback riding and swimming at Nauyaca Falls, swimming at the beautiful beaches nearby, and exploring Manuel Antonio Park. The kids loved meeting all of Bea's rescued animals and brought Terra (one of the dogs) home to sleep in their room! We also loved eating at Tortilla Flats and Jolly Roger.

The drive to the house is an adventure (4 wheel drive vehicle is a must!), but we felt very safe there. Bob & Bea's home is just down the road, and they are the most wonderful hosts! They were never intrusive, yet always available to give advice or a recommendation. They even supplied us with a cell phone to give them a call in case of emergencies!

We will never forget our time in paradise at Sea Breeze, and absolutely plan to return! Many, many thanks Bob & Bea.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Truly Wonderful Paradise

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

What a truly wonderful, peaceful vacation we had at the Sea Breeze in Costa Rica!! Bea and Bob are just wonderful people, always answering our questions, giving us much needed insight on excursions, where to get groceries, where the paths in the reserve would lead, etc., but never pushy or intrusive. The Sea Breeze was so much more than we had hoped for! We were a party of two couples, and we found ourselves going out for a few hours but then always wanting to come back "home" Sea Breeze is very clean, efficiently set up and organized. We did alot of our own cooking. Why not with all the fresh fruits and vegetables available. Every time we looked for some utensil, the kitchen was stocked with it. Even a powerful blender for wonderful smoothies! The patio and pool is where we spent alot of our time. The pool is so clean and wonderful, very refreshing. I think Bea and Bob thought of everything, because the pool would be great if you had your kids or grandkids there, yet deep enough along the back for adults. You couldn't ask for a better setting for your "vacation home" We loved seeing the monkeys, Toucans, all the beautiful butterflies and other birds. Their family of dogs would venture down to see us each day, one or two at a time. A couple of them even grew to like us and became regulars. Bea's recommendation for ziplining was great. We had a fun time, felt very safe and learned alot. The guides pointed out a couple white face monkeys on our hike, but we just smiled, because we had seen so much more in our own little paradise. There were 8 runs which was just enough! We would often venture out for lunch, and explore a little, but it wasn't very long and we were all ready to take the jaunt back up the mountain. (You definitley will need the four wheel drive) The guys loved their early morning walks, and would return exhausted but excited about where they had explored and what they saw. We found everything to be exactly as it is stated in the description of the Sea Breeze, but it is so much more. Would recommend this place to anyone. We will definitely be returning. Thanks Bob and Bea for such a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful week

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

Want to thank Bob and Bea for opening their beautiful home and a very small part of their lives to myself and my family. Beautiful home, surrounding jungle and people. Our personal favorites.... listening to the many sounds of the jungle....gazing at the thousands of the stars.....watching the toucans, monkeys and many different species of birds.....being greeted by their dogs....the view....the pool....the peacefulness....u can't go wrong by staying here....u can just enjoy!! Best wishes to Bob and Bea....they are living their dream!

Jim, Karen, Kevin and Mike

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New friends.

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

This was our first time travelling to Costa Rica, and it won't be our last. We travelled as two couples and found Seabreeze Casa to be ideal. The house lends itself perfectly to entertaining, with a great well equipped kitchen, huge poolside patio, gas grill, indoor and outdoor dining areas and that unbelievable pool, but also with two separate living areas it had plenty of privacy, too. We would gather in the main kitchen to prepare breakfast (try "homefries" made from yucca) and plan our excursions for the day, and return in the late afternoon for a soak and swim in the pool before dinner. We had a great time grilling and experimenting with new drinks. We left a recipe for "La Bebida de la Casa Seabreeze" in the Guest Book. You'll have to rent the house to get the recipe. You won't be disappointed!

The only problem with this part of Costa Rica, is that there are too many things to do!! You just have to zip line, Nayaca Waterfall is too close to skip, whale watching at Balena, hiking Hacienda Baru and just poking around Dominical and watching the surfers can't be missed. I almost felt guilty leaving this great house every day. Next time, I will spend more time floating in the pool, and less time doing "things".

When you come, go over the Cerro de la Muerte (Mountain of Death) and through San Isidro. It is very scenic and the road is good. Give yourself plenty of time and see the sights.

As wonderful as Costa Rica is, the best part of the whole trip was meeting Bob and Bea and their "family". You won't find two more genuine and caring people anywhere. Even after we had checked out and were heading back to San Jose, we ran into Bea in San Isidro on her 4 wheeler and she made sure that we found all of the last minute items that we needed. We look forward to returning and rejoining our new friends in Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay!!!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We stayed from May 25 to 31st. My wife and I came from VA and met with some of our Tico friends in San Jose and drove to Dominical, Bob was waiting for us at the side of the road, by the way it was almost 11pm… he escorted us to the Sea Breeze Casa. What a wonderful place the view is amazing, the air is so pure, the pool was warm and wonderful, monkeys, toucans, horses, it’s just the perfect place to relax with your family and friends and enjoy what the environment has to offer. Bob and Bea are great people and were always available to meet our needs, and they went out of their way to do so in one or two occasions. Great house, wonderful people!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time in Dominical

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Thanks so much for the great stay. Our family, Mom Dad Grandpa and three kids ages 1,2,and 8 all had a wonderful time at your home. We loved the layout of the house, grand pa had his own space in the apartment like first floor. The house was extremely well appointed, stocked with all kinds of thoughtful details. There were cards, books, music, flashlights, pool toys, straws, coffee, spices, plenty of plates, pots and pans, a great blender for banana smoothies. Fresh bananas outside. The wildlife was great monkeys visited twice daily, horses roamed the property, the kids feed turtles, great bird watching in the mornings, the toucans were fun. The pool was the highlight for the kids and dad as well. The view from the pool patio area was awesome. The hosts Bob and Bee were great! They were always available and helpful. Always thoughtful and kind. We always felt supported but never intruded upon. We have traveled to CR and stayed in the Dominical area five or six times and have rented through VRBO multiple times. This was the best house we ever rented. The drive to the home is a good 10 minn of the main road and 15 to 20 minn to Dominical total. There are lots of great beaches several waterfalls all within 30-40minn of the home. Great surfing at four different breaks within 10 miles and lots of great people to meet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation ever!!

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

What a beautiful property and beautiful owners. We loved every minute of our time staying at the Sea Breeze Casa. We were leary about booking a vacation on line in a different country, but rest assured, there were no issues. The house was so clean and open, perfect for our family. Cooling off in the most amazing infinity pool was a perfect way to end a perfect day in Costa Rica.

The sounds, sights, and smells were so amazing. I have never seen better views in my life. We got to see an abundant amount of wildlife which was great entertainment and the owners were so welcoming and thoughtful. My children loved spending time with Bea!!!!

Our only regret we have was leaving this place, and we hope to go back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

don from nantucket, ma.

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

i can not say enough as to how enjoyable our stay at this home was. the views- the pool - the overall experience was much more than what we could have expected. the host and hostess could not be nicer.
we were surrounded by wonderful animals is a very safe environment. wonderful kitchen and we could have been very comfortable if we had another family with us.this was our third trip to costa rica and we stayed at wonderful places, but this was the best by far. we will definately return
the listing was very accurate as well as the photos of the property. the home was sparkling clean and the owners could not have been more helpful. my wife and i would recommend this home to anyone

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Photos really don't do it justice

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

My husband and I and another couple recently stayed at Seabreeze for one week and HIGHLY recommend it for two couples or families. The upper floor contains a living area, eating area, large fully equipped kitchen, full bath with laundry and master suite which has a king bed and ensuite.
The lower unit has a living area, small kitchen, queen bed, another washer and dryer and full bath.
The infinity pool, patio, chairs and view are to die for!
Bob and B are lovely quiet people who will suggest places to see and eat. They are there if you need them, but they never invade your privacy. The animals on site are a treat as are the birds. As others have said, the road is quite the trek! You may to plan your day so that it only involves a maximum of one trip out per day.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 nights, ( 2 couples, early 30s) didn't want to leave

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

This place exceeded our expectations. I dont think you can get a better view and overall atmosphere anywhere in dominical, maybe in all of costa rica. Sitting by the pool, watching toucans and monkeys, fresh fish grilling, overlooking the ocean and a beautiful sunset, pina colada in hand. The interior was well appointed, which was hard to tell from the web pics. Owners are such good people, can recommend things to do. We liked the waterfall that you can slide down in uvita, ballena natl park, surfing in dominical, smoothies at cafe delicia. You really can drink the tap water. 2 of the dogs visited us from time to time, terra and vader, adorable docile creatures. We got used to the road after a couple of days, it is worth it. We're adventurous, but never tried driving it at night, so only one night ate a really early dinner out. We kept remarking how we wish we could bring our families back here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Jungle Experience

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

My husband, daughter (12) and I had an amazing and enjoyable time. The views were breath-taking. Bob and Bea were very helpful and nice. The property and villas were very comfortable, cared for and updated. It was more than we expected and hoped for!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We spent 16 days here and it was wonderful. The listing description is accurate and thruthful. The property is very clean and well kept. The main kitchen is fully equiped with all the amenities you might need. The owners, Bob and Bea, are very nice, helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. The rescued animals who leave here are lovely, especially the black lab Vader who loves to greet and play with visitors. Our kids loved him! I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truely Stunning

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Bob & Bea have created and maintain a true paradise in the hills overlooking Dominical & Manuel Antonio. First trip to CR for half of our party of 4, with a randonly found rental on VRBO, and am sure we could not have better anywhere. It is a beautiful home, surrounded by beautiful views, run by some outstanding people. They have birds galore, monkeys that troop through at their leisure, and dogs of all kinds that they have rescued. The 2 separate apartments work great for 2 couples, but can easily accommodate many more. The pool and the surroundings could intice you to never leave the grounds except to hike, but do travel the 5k from the paved road. It is an adventure in itself!
We all had an exceptional week - and wish Bob & Bea continued great success with all their endeavors. Definitely highly reccommend and look forward to return visits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home in paradise!

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

First of all, the owners of this property, Bob and Bea are fabulous hosts. A cell phone was provided for our convenience in the event we needed to phone them for any reason what-so-ever. Bob and Bea also gave us great restaurant and local activity recommendations, answered all of our questions, and made us feel right at home!

Words and pictures cannot begin to describe the beauty of this vacation home. It is truly picturesque! All amenities are generously provided to ensure your stay in this grand home is a comfortable one.

The Dominical locals were also extremely friendly and eager to point us to the best restaurants and hangouts. We had such an excellent time during our vacation that we already long to return to "tico time" and anxiously await the day that we do!

Thank you Bob and Bea for providing us the opportunity to stay in your lovely vacation home. Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Seabreeze is wonderful!

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

My wife and I decided on Bob and Bea's place for a honeymoon and we are ecstatic to have met them and stayed at Seabreeze. The place is exquisite and the photos do not do justice for the amount of work and effort that has been put into the place. Again Bob and Bea are spectacular hosts and went above and beyond to make sure our trip went well. The day we arrived we called and Bob came down to town to meet us and we followed him up to the place. The initial drive is tricky the 1st time but more than manageable after that, nothing to fret over. As we arrived the place was well kept and beautifully manicured. We enjoyed every moment. The power went out at one point do to heavy rains and made the pool a little murky but it was again nothing to fret over or anything unexpected... and again displaying his wonderful aptitude as a host Bob apologized for something that wasn't within his control anyway... a truly generous and wonderful host and they made our stay wonderful! If you have the opportunity to book this place by all means it is worth it, I have zero complaints and my only regret is we could not stay longer!

Thanks again Bob and Bea... we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great time

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

my husband and i and most of our children and grandchildren spent a week wth bea, bob, and the critters. We all had a wondrful time. the accomadations were lovely and our hosts took every care to help us. we love costa rica and bob and bea and would love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Casa Seabreeze Defines Paradise

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

I have been vacationing in Beatiful Costa Rica for over ten years and have stayed at many vacation rental properties all over the country but none of them compare to Casa Seabreeze. The house is gorgeous, the pool is breathtaking, the view of the pacific ocean is unmatched and Bob and Bea are absolutely some of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. They go above and beyond to make sure your vacation is everything it should be. We had some car trouble on our way to the Casa, I gave Bob and Bea a phone call and they came and picked us up minutes later, made sure we had breakfast in the morning, took us to town to get supplies, helped get us another vehicle, ect. The wildlife we encountered during our visit was a lifetimes worth, toucans, scarlet macaws, parrots, aracari, parakeets, hummingbirds, lots of monkeys, turtles, horses and one of my favorites, Leo the resident kinkajou!! The kitchen is ideal for cooking up your fresh catch( they also have a grill next to the pool for an outdoor barbeque). I am a chef so I was very happy about that! They also have an espresso machine!! I love Casa Seabreeze and will be returning for another visit!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Jungle Magic

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

This was our first time in Costa Rica and also the first time we rented a home. After scouring the internet we decided that Sea Breeze Casa was the place for us so we made our reservations. Bob and Bea told us that a 4WD vehicle would be essential for our trip. It’s a 5 Km drive on a steep, hilly, winding gravel road. We unknowingly received a 2WD from the rental car company. We made it to the Casa but found it impossible to get back out. This could have been a disaster. My wife was already in love with the place and said it was exceeding her expectations. Men reading this know the value of “exceeded expectations”. I had to find some way to make it work. I called Avis and they said they would do their best to get us a 4WD. Bob and Bea, being the wonderful Hosts that they are, helped us make it through our “transportation handicap” until the 4WD became available. Bob’s and Bea’s flexibility and willingness to work around our rental car problems was a saving grace! We cannot say enough good things about Bob and Bea! The Casa has a great filtration system so there is no need for bottled water. The Espresso machine was great. Grinding fresh coffee beans and enjoying the sunrise overlooking the jungle with the ocean in the distance was amazing. There are 90 plus acres of private nature reserve with great trails for hiking. The swimming pool was fantastic. The house has all the comforts of home and is truly a home, not a “rental”. I have to mention that Bea is an animal rescuer. She has rescued numerous horses and dogs as well as the local Costa Rican Jungle wildlife. She was willing to share her experiences with us and we were able to see a troop of monkeys, numerous tropical birds, and a variety of wild reserve animals. She also allowed us to meet a couple of her very special wildlife rescues who still reside with them. It’s rare to find someone with such a large heart for animals and the well-being of the world in general. The world needs more people like Bob and Bea who are wonderful stewards to the land and to the other creatures who share our world. Bob and Bea were happy to answer our questions pertaining to activities and local “not to be missed points of interest”, but were never intrusive in any way. They gave us a local cell phone so if we needed help with anything or had questions they were only a phone call away. We will be booking the Sea Breeze next year. There is something to be said for “exceeded expectations”.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Complete Package

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Vacations are great. But the challenge for me has always been getting to my destination. And even though we drove directly to Bea and Bob’s place from San Jose, it was only because we had great direction, printed map and GPS. The last 15 minutes of the drive is an adventure in itself. But if you truly want to be where all the animals are one has to take the road less travelled. We were greeted by warm smiles and every animal you can think of. The house is huge, luxurious, well maintained and clean. The infinity pool is fantastic and the views are breathtaking. Everyday there was a different animal encounter. Monkeys, kinkajous, wooly possums, horses, frogs, toucans, butterflies, humming birds and geckos … and they were all on the property. I think the best part of staying at Sea Breeze is the wealth of knowledge and warm-hearted kindness that came from Bea. We asked many questions and always got great advises on where to buy food, the best restaurants, beaches, waterfall hikes and her knowledge about the area and animals was fascinating. We spent one week at Sea Breeze and one week at another place and I tell you the difference was night and day. My advises is spend your days exploring Costa Rica but there is nothing that comes close to Sea Breeze as a home base. I hope to return someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Secluded Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

My wife and I are retired and love to go birding in Central & South America. We feel extremely fortunate to have booked a one-week stay at the beautiful and secluded Sea Breeze Villa. High on a ridge above the Pacific with a private infinity pool and all the modern conveniences complete with a great fully equipped kitchen, wonderful bathrooms and consistent hot-water with walk-in showers (exceptional in our travel experiences). AC in the large master bedroom made sleeping in the tropics a dream. We are birders and numerous species were passing through the trees surrounding the villa, making viewing an exciting pleasure. The owners are located nearby and handy for any questions or assistance if required but far enough away so that you are enjoying this corner of tropical spendor as your own. Sunsets on the Pacific border on a religious experience. Do not be intimidated/disuaded by the gravel road to access the villa, just be sure to have a 4-wheel drive vehicle. The location, facility and the friendly helpful owners all create a scintillating unforgetable experience. We would strongly urge others to seek out Sea Breeze for a most memorable Costa Rican vacation visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Stay at Casa Sea Breeze Estate

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Dear Bea & Bo

Thank you for our wonderful stay at your Casa Sea Breeze Estate.
You are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home in Costa Rica.
What a beautiful home, more than what we anticipated The studio apartment was a great feature for our guests still giving us complete privacy. The house was equipped with every amenity & Bob and Bea were there anytime we needed. Kind and helpful but not invasive in any way. Awesome People!
The gorgeous infinity Pool and 90 acre reserve located close to the top of the mountain at a perfect elevation provided us the most comfortable temperature day and night. No AC or swimsuits required in this private setting, only occasional visits from Vader the 140 lb black Lab and morning check-ups from Romo & Rembrandt, the Chihuahua and Dalmatian.
We enjoyed our evenings by the pool. The stars in the sky along with the sounds of the jungle and the kinkajou (Leo) and friends communicating with each other were awesome! If you watch carefully you might see Leo the kinkajou come for his late night visits. It was very comforting to find out that the late night thump on the house was just Leo coming for a visit and not something unwanted!
Our mornings were awakened with the sounds of the Jungle,Toucans & Various exotic birds. I wish that we could have recorded these sounds to bring home with us. It was fun taking pictures of the white faced monkeys that appeared twice daily. We also met the resident opossum Geronimo. Not to forget your beautiful horses grazing in the valley. I loved feeding them bananas and watermelon rinds.
Thank you for the Quad ride down to the river. We enjoyed watching Vader, Romo, Tara, Rembrandt, Dooley, Bobby and Emma you’re beautiful pack play and swim in the river. The ride up the mountain to Lagunas was spectacular!!
We often stayed at the house for a day and then ventured down the hill for an ocean adventure or road trip in between. We dined at Coco’s in dominical (awesome nachos), and Tortilla Flats always serves great food. We Visited Domical and Uvita Beach & walked along the Whales Tale at low tide.(can also snorkel there)
Day trips to San Isidro, and exploring the beaches & coastal towns were exciting! The People are very friendly & helpful and the Food is alway reasonably Priced. We look forward to coming back to your paradise
It was a pleasure to meet you both.Your rescue efforts over the years with your Dogs, Horses and Wild animals should be highly commended
Cheri & Hugh

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantabulous

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

What you see and read here is what you get, and then some. The property was very well-maintained and clean. It is in the mountains, up this twisting, turning, rugged road (4-wheel drive necessary) which is a bit hairy, but well worth it because the casa is beautiful with amazing views. It’s owned by this wonderful couple, Bob and Bea, Americans who have lived in CR for the past 12 years. They are an amazing couple. Not only do they maintain and rent out this gorgeous home, complete with an amazing infinity swimming pool, but they also rescue injured and abandoned animals, a few who still live with them. We met Leo, a darling kinkajou, and Geronimo, a wooley opossum, and several friendly dogs. They also have horses, a turtle pond with huge turtles, giant bird cages to rescue hurt birds (while we were there they had only a couple parakeets), toucans & other exotic birds that often come to visit and some capuchin monkeys that come and “steal” the bananas they put out. Bob and Bea were always there for our every need (and even anticipated a few things) and supplied what was needed, often before we had to ask; at the same time allowing us our privacy. The highlight of my trip was the day we chose to go with Bea up in the mountains on ATVs to visit some local Costa Rican families. That was the day we had torrential rain so we got absolutely soaked, but it was so much fun. The families we met spoke little or no English so translating had to be done by Bea, but they were the warmest, friendliest people – gave hugs to us all. By the time we got home, we were soaked to the skin and our shoes were full of water and mud. But we had a ball! I could have just stayed here for the week we were in CR and been very content, but we did venture out. We saw the usual sights, but also visited a reptile park, Parque Reptilandia, on Friday, feeding day, which was very interesting. We had a wonderful dinner at Citrus in Ojochal & great ice cream cones at Ruby's, in the town of Dominical. We recommend all of these things. You can't go wrong at Seabreeze and we highly recommend you stay here. We definitely plan on returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Safe and secluded luxury

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2008

We had an incredible stay on top of the mountain. This is a great house with maybe the best pool in Costa Rica. Bob and Bea were great hosts non-intrusive but available to offer advice on what to see or where to eat. The house is a great find for those ready to explore rural rainforest living with the security of people who offer advice and security.

The house is set atop a group of hillside homes just outside of Dominical. This is a great region to explore with miles of beaches alongside paved highway running south of town. There is great zip line in Uvita and diving trips to Isla del Cano available right in town. This is a great house to stay home all day and seek adventure the next.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our favorite vacation

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

My family and my brother-in-laws family spent a week in the middle of July at this wonderful retreat. The property was large enough to house 10-12 people and still provided privacy for both our families. The property sits on mountain in the middle of a jungle with fantastic views of the ocean. It was great sitting in the bedroom looking through the glass windows at the panaramic views of the wildlife, jungle and ocean. The property is well maintained and has all the essential modern ammenties needed for a good vacation. Restaurants and shops are just about 15 minutes away. What a great retreat!!!

My kids liked the following: the dogs, the pool, the fresh bananas, the jungle, the frogs, the tucans, the wildlife and the nearby beach.

One of our families favorite vacations. We can't wait to go back!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

We spent 3 wonderful weeks at this beautiful property. What a treat. Home and pool are perfect and our hosts, Bob, Bea and critters could not be more accomodating. We can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We can't wait to return!

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

We stayed at Seabreeze December of 2009 for a week and would go back in a heartbeat, but for a longer stay for sure! Bea and Bob are the most gracious of hosts - available to meet all needs, but unintrusive. The casa is immaculate, the views unmatched; it truly is a sanctuary for both people and animals.
Definitely do the horseback ride to the falls at Nauyaca, and the zipline at Hacienda Baru - both outings were fun and gave us a good taste of the native Costa Ricans' appreciation of their beautiful environment.
We were with another couple and the complete living quarters on each floor easily afforded privacy. The house would be ideal for a family vacationing together.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2009

There is an amazing view and property is very well maintained with great trails teaming with local wildlife. House is very clean and everything is provided included wireless internet not that you will use it. Great place to stay since the Osa Peninsula is reasonably close (1.5 hr drive) and the town of Dominical is nice and quiet with beautiful beaches and nice restaurants. The owners are friendly and very accommodating hosts that are extremely knowledgeable about the country and local wildlife. You really cannot go wrong coming and staying here hopefully one day my wife and I will make it back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Vacation Home!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

When planning a friends and family trip to Costa Rica we found Seabreeze Casa on the HomeAway site, and thought it was amazing, not only was the Casa beautiful but the price for renting this home is amazing too. After contacting Bob and Bea about their property they were very helpful to us in answering questions about the area and activities that we were interested in.

This home sits high up on a moutain with the most incredible view of the valley all the way to the ocean, it is absolutely breath taking. My husband had been dying to see Tucans on this trip and had been disappointed until we stepped on to this property. We were able to photograph the most beautiful Tucans in the early morning and late afternoon, there were parakeets, bats, kinkajoos, and many more animals and insects that were great to photograph too. Bob took us on a hike on the property that was a lot of fun, they actually have their own waterfall on the property.

This home was the highlight of our vacation! It had every amenity that we could ask for, and some we would have never thought to ask for. We had a party of 9 people in the home, and had more than enough room.

This home is a great vacation place, it is secluded enough that if you want to kick back and relax with out having to leavetthe Casa, you can. It is also close enough to Quepos and Manuel Antonio Park that you can enjoy the wonderful the great outdoors of Costa Rica.

I highly recommend this home for anyone considering renting in Costa Rica. Bob and Bea are the best!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Some places advertise with all their beautiful
pictures and you want to go there but this place is
not only beyond your wildest dreams, it will exceed
them.. The house is emaculate and the pool is
unbelievable with the view of the jungle and the
Pacific. Bob and Bea are the best of hosts and will
bend over backwards to accomodate your every
need. It is private and quiet. I identified over 30
species of birds in one tree by the pool. Coatis are
plentiful and 6 Toucans along with 5 Aracaris visit
almost everyday. Jungle trials and waterfalls are
right on the property with a crystal clear jungle
pool to swim in. We saw two poison dart frogs.
Bob will show you the trails and is pleased to do so.
Bea rescues animals so she has several animals
including birds, dogs, horses, coatis and more. Her
heart is bigger than all outdoors. If this sounds too
good to be true, it is the truth. My wife, Donna,
and I stayed a month and didn't want to leave. We
felt a part of the family.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Celebrating our anniversary at Seabreeze Casa

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a week in the Dominical area. We rented the Sea Breeze Casa, which was about fifteen minutes away. We wanted to find a place well equipped, with a romantic setting (we were celebrating our 35th anniversary), lots of hiking and wildlife, and great sightseeing. We found it all.

We were so pleased with the house rental, and with Bob and Bea, the owners. The house was about 4 kilometers off the paved highway, very secluded, but was marvelously equipped and every bit as lovely as it was advertised. Bob and Bea's house was about 50 meters away, above and behind, and it was very helpful to have them close. They were hospitable but not intrusive; we wanted lots of time alone and we got it. The house has the most incredible view imaginable; the sunsets alone are worth the trip. The infinity-edged pool and the tree-top level master bedroom made it a wonderful romantic retreat for us.

Bob and Bea had a number of coatis that they were nursing back to health (they love animals), and we enjoyed seeing them up close. Their property (90 acres) is very mountainous, which makes for an awesome view, but also makes hiking very strenuous. Bob and Bea were wonderful to communicate with, do business with, and we feel that though we did not know them before renting this house from them, they are now our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review