reviews for: listing #15101 - Lake Norman, North Carolina House rental

What a View!! Perfect Family Meeting Spot. A Real Vacation!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,875 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Place

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Dear Brent-

I wanted to e-mail you personally and tell you what a great time we had at the house. We consist of Charlie and I (two widows married just over a year ago) my three children (a nurse 25, a Marine 22, and a college student 20) Charlie's 4 children (an art exec for a newspaper in Arizona, and his wife an editor and their daughter aged 2, his son a teacher in India, his son a book binder, his daughter a mom of 2 kids 2 and 2 months, her husband a computer program designer). We are quite an eclectic group and there was something for everyone!!!!

We swam ourselves silly, visited until all hours, ate ourselves sick and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Your beautiful home made every bit of it so very comfortable and charming. Your assistants who keep the place for you couldn't have been any nicer or more accommodating. I just want to thank you again. We hope to do the same thing very soon.

Thanks again,
Cindy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We strive on providing a clean, comfortable and safe place to swim and relax. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. Please take advantage of our home in the winter as well. Its every bit of cozy and comfy by the fire.

Brent

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Perfect Peaceful Paradise

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

Our family loved this home. The back yard is so beautifully landscaped overlooking the great dock and the peaceful waters of the lake cove. We enjoyed late afternoons around the picnic table on the dock while watching the ducks swim by. We experienced perfect weather
on the fabulous pontoon boat. It was a paradise like experience for us. Thanks again for perfect peaceful paradise vacation!
Denise

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Fun to the Max!

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

What a treat to find a home that fit our needs so perfectly! Our 3 sonsand their wives live in Richmond, VA, Charlotte, NC, and Columbia, SC. This was a great meeting place for Christmas! It was well equipped with everything we needed. We did a lot of cooking, had plenty of room, and really appreciated the top of the line appliances...especially the double dishwasher! The view was fantastic. We loved the yard and walking down to the dock and beach(that no one else seemed to have!) But the big surprise was how many fun things were there! It was cold outside but no one cared. The downstairs huge room with the pool table, arcade games for my "boys," we made Christmas ornaments for the tree we brought, and the toddlers couldn't believe there was a big toy box full of fun! (We could have never brought all of that!) We bought some firelogs and sat around upstairs enjoying the fire, Christmas tree, and the movies that were there! Not to mention the good bicycles and stroller! It was also a short drive to Mooresville with plenty of restaurants and we found a wonderful Christmas Eve candlelight service at the beautiful Williamson Chapel United Methodist Church. We had such a great time, I can't even imagine adding swimming, boating, fishing and more! We HAVE to go back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Wonderful Spring Break Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This house was the perfect, most relaxing vacation my family and I have had in a long time. We had our immediate family of 3, as well as 3 sets of grandparents and a few cousins and still had room to spare! The dock was our daily destination to either swim in the little beach area, read a book or fish. The kids (age 7) greatly enjoyed the video games in the basement and the playground in the back. We like the fact the home was on a cul-de-sac so the kids could play on their bikes and scooters without worries of passing traffic. I have recommended this place to many of my friends and will definitely stay in the future - should I visit Lake Norman again. Thanks so much for the lovely memories that we were able to make at this home. I can sincerely promise no one will be disappointed staying at this house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice House, Location, and Facilities

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

This house was used by five male adults as a base for fishing and golfing on Lake Norman. The location, house, and dock were excellent for this purpose. The location is on the west side of the lake, south of the 150 bridge. For those who have knowledge of this area, this gets you out of the congested area east of the lake.
All in all, I would highly recommend it to small groups and families.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just like it looks.

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

What a special Place! Our families met half way and we picked this as our destination. The boat was a deal for the week! NO PROBLEMS.
Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It really is a great view.

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Thank you for providing such a great place for our long weekend. Everything was so easy and the view was terrific! Even the recommendation for the Red Rocks was perfect! We are on our way home and will definitely be in touch again when we need a lake house getaway!



Thanks!

Karen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent for a relaxing vacation anytime of the year!

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Thank you Brent for providing such a great rental experience! Your home had every amenity - a beautiful kitchen and master bath, amazing view of the lake, board games, movies, books, gas grill, cozy fireplace and an easy to find location. Our ages ranged from 22 months all the way up to parents and grandparents and we all had a great time. Even though we stayed in the off season, it was a perfect relaxing weekend. We would recommend your place to our family and friends and will definitely be in touch to stay at your Lake Norman house again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't Wait to Go Back

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

I never do this but wanted to make sure that I gave some feedback on this place. Every year we go to Lake Norman and stay at a different home. NOT ANYMORE! This will be our choice from now on. Thanks for everything Brent!

The Simmons

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sunny September

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

What a perfect week! The house was spacious and the beach perfect for my toddler and infant. Three things happened daily during our vacation...we used the swing set, swam in the lake and took a boat ride! We were so spoiled. Thanks for you hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks! Brent

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing family retreat

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

What a welcoming, comfortable setting!! This house has all that one needs. Plenty of games, books, and distractions for the entire family. Though deceptive in the pictures, the size of the house easily fit our family of 8. House amenities excellent. Very quiet neighborhood setting with virtually no traffic. Isolated cove. Stores and church are close enough to drive. The lake is typically busy on weekends, but almost no boat traffic though the week. This would be a definite consideration for us to repeat!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation home and boat

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We rented this beautiful house with a great location and wonderful view. However, we did have a big problem with renting the boat. The day we were supposed to rent the boat, it wouldn't start. Before renting the boat, the owner assured us the caretaker took care of the boat. In reality, the caretaker did not take care of the boat. As a result, we did not get to use the boat until 2:30PM. When we asked for an adjustment on the rental fee, we were told no adjustments would be made for mechanical problems. We have rented other boats and never had this problem. It ruined our vacation. I would advise you not to rent the boat from the owner. There are many marinas around.

Owners response: I do not believe this "ruined" their vacation. They wanted the boat for only two days out of seven. "In reality" they got three days. Things happend beyond my control. The radio was left on and it was a dead battery. My repair person was there promptly and fixed it in a timely manner. We even gave them an extra day! The extra day turned out not to be up to their satisfaction as the weather was not perfect. When we were asked for an adjustment for the "inconveinence" we said no. I'm a reasonable person and the majority of our guests are as well.

At the marinas you're charged for a full day and that means you have 8 hours, not to mention its more expensive. Our boat is available at the dock in the backyard from 6am to 8pm to use at your conveinence. Yes 14 hours. And if you rent it for the full week its currently only $1100.00 (subject to change). If you are considering our house and boat I promise that we will do everything in our power to make sure you have a comfortable and pleasant experience.

Thanks in advance for renting our home, You will not be disappointed! :-)

Brent Smith

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay! Everything was as listed.

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My 4 kids spent hours in the game room and hours on the beach and water. Thanks Brent for sharing your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Amanda. Hope to see you again! Brent

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magnificent View

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2009

This lakehome has a magnificent view of the lake from the dining, living, and two bedrooms...so close you can enjoy watching the Canadian geese playing while drinking coffee on the upper deck or lower patio. The appliances are top of the line and the kitchen is just the right size for Christmas dinner as we had. With three bedrooms up, the master queen and at the other end of the house two rooms each with two twin beds, there was plenty of sleeping room. Downstairs there is another master and a futon in the huge greatroom. We enjoyed the large coffee table to play games, cards and to put a family puzzle together. But there is also a large screen tv with playstation games for those interested. We went during Christmas, I set up a small tree in the corner and we had our family holiday together in this lovely home. We created many memories here. There should be more photos to show the cozy factor of this home...outside is a lovely child's swing/climbing set and if you go in the summer the house looks perfect for water toys. We hope to be able to return soon. Thanks for sharing your home with us this Christmas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

Dear Brent- I wanted to e-mail you personally and tell you what a great time we had at the house. We consist of Charlie and I (two widows married just over a year ago) my three children (a nurse 25, a Marine 22, and a college student 20) Charlie's 4 children (an art exec for a newspaper in Arizona, and his wife an editor and their daughter aged 2, his son a teacher in India, his son a book binder, his daughter a mom of 2 kids 2 and 2 months, her husband a computer program designer). We are quite an eclectic group and there was something for everyone!!!! We swam ourselves silly, visited until all hours, ate ourselves sick and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Your beautiful home made every bit of it so very comfortable and charming. Your assistants who keep the place for you couldn't have been any nicer or more accommodating. I just want to thank you again. We hope to do the same thing very soon. Thanks again, Cindy Rice

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

The House was AWESOME!! So quite and relaxing. There was 5 of us there, each of us had our own space. We all hope to go back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

This lakehome has a magnificent view of the lake from the dining, living, and two bedrooms...so close you can enjoy watching the Canadian geese playing while drinking coffee on the upper deck or lower patio. The appliances are top of the line and the kitchen is just the right size for Christmas dinner as we had. With three bedrooms up, the master queen and at the other end of the house two rooms each with two twin beds, there was plenty of sleeping room. Downstairs there is another master and a futon in the huge greatroom. We enjoyed the large coffee table to play games, cards and to put a family puzzle together. But there is also a large screen tv with playstation games for those interested. We went during Christmas, I set up a small tree in the corner and we had our family holiday together in this lovely home. We created many memories here. There should be more photos to show the cozy factor of this home...outside is a lovely child's swing/climbing set and if you go in the summer the house looks perfect for water toys. We hope to be able to return soon. Thanks for sharing your home with us this Christmas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

another great review go to www vacationfunllc com

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

Brent...I can't seem to get logged in to submit this...can you? Thanks...



This lakehome has a magnificent view of the lake from the dining, living, and two bedrooms...so close you can enjoy watching the Canadian geese playing while drinking coffee on the upper deck or lower patio. The appliances are top of the line and the kitchen is just the right size for Christmas dinner as we had. With three bedrooms up, the master queen and at the other end of the house two rooms each with two twin beds, there was plenty of sleeping room. Downstairs there is another master and a futon in the huge greatroom. We enjoyed the large coffee table to play games, cards and to put a family puzzle together. But there is also a large screen tv with playstation games for those interested. We went during Christmas, I set up a small tree in the corner and we had our family holiday together in this lovely home. We created many memories here. There should be more photos to show the cozy factor of this home...outside is a lovely child's swing/climbing set and if you go in the summer the house looks perfect for water toys. We hope to be able to return soon. Thanks for sharing your home with us this Christmas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's all good.

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

Lake Norman and the home were perfect. The owner and caretakers went out of their way to make sure we had anything we needed. The boat rental worked out great as we took advantage of the lake and did a lot of tubing, with some skiing and wakeboarding. It was one of the most pleasent and enjoyable vacations to date.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Dear Brent-

I wanted to e-mail you personally and tell you what a great time we had at the house. We consist of Charlie and I (two widows married just over a year ago) my three children (a nurse 25, a Marine 22, and a college student 20) Charlie's 4 children (an art exec for a newspaper in Arizona, and his wife an editor and their daughter aged 2, his son a teacher in India, his son a book binder, his daughter a mom of 2 kids 2 and 2 months, her husband a computer program designer). We are quite an eclectic group and there was something for everyone!!!!

We swam ourselves silly, visited until all hours, ate ourselves sick and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Your beautiful home made every bit of it so very comfortable and charming. Your assistants who keep the place for you couldn't have been any nicer or more accommodating. I just want to thank you again. We hope to do the same thing very soon.

Thanks again,
Cindy Rice

Owners response: Thank you. That is why we are fully booked every summer and a good part of the year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks

Review submitted: May 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 21, 2009

Hey Brent,
I just want to thank you and you family for use of your house. It was the most relaxing atmosphere, and the set-up provides any need you may have..it has an incerdible homey feeling. we hope to rent again ..i have to say it was one of the most beautiful spots on that lake ...you have yourself a "gem" ...thanks again...Beth

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Beth. We try our best to make it a truly relaxing vacation. Your right about the "gem" because it is the perfect spot. The pictures on the website don't come close to showing how special it is. Thanks Brent

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our Christmas

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

Very nice house, spacious, great kitchen, beautiful yard with dock on Lake Norman. Nicely decorated, looks smaller from the outside, but large enough for at least 2 families. Very quiet area in a neighborhood of homeowners.

A few things went wrong, but still had a great trip. Laundry room water line needs unclogged. Fireplace flue needs repaired downstairs. Cleaning could be better with cobwebs.

Nice bikes available to ride on quiet roads. Maintenance family is very close to help with problems. Would like to have cleaning supplies to clean instead of carting our own. Cars tend to get overloaded on vacation.

We spent Christmas week at Lake Norman awaiting the birth of our first grandchild. She finally entered the world 12/22. This was a wonderful house to have a new baby with her family stay each day. Since cooking in was a must, the kitchen and dining area was more than adequit.

Thank you for the nice experience at your house on the lake for our first time. I highly recommend it, and hope to rent this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you I'm glad you want to come back! We have corrected the problem with the laundry line. The damper downstairs in the fireplace is broken and will be repaired. We encourage our guests to use the fireplace upstairs. There was no one in the house for a month which is why there were some cobwebs. Cleaning supplies are the renters responsibility but we may change that. There is plenty of parking at the house. (I think the reviewer was saying they did not have enough room for cleaning supplies in their car)
Thanks Brent

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: May 28, 2008   Date of arrival: May 28, 2008

The House was AWESOME!! So quite and relaxing. There was 5 of us there, each of us had our own space. We all hope to go back again!

Owners response: Thanks! FYI to potential vacationers, this really is the perfect spot!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2008   Date of arrival: March 10, 2008

We truly loved this place. The pictures on the internet did not come close to showing how beautiful it is. Thank you for allowing us to stay, we will be back!

Owners response: Your Welcome!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Family Holiday

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Four generations of family enjoyed a cozy Christmas holiday week at this terrific lake house. Very clean, very well organized - the attention to detail and thought for our comfort was obvious. The youngest of our family enjoyed the special treat of bikes to ride, games to play and G-rated movies to watch. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac street with nice playset for lots of swinging and sliding. Men loved watching sports on the big screen downstairs. Cooking in this gourmet kitchen with the best grade of up to date appliances was a joy--great grill on the deck. Top quality upgrades in both decor and fixtures make this a bright and modern home with plenty of room for everyone. Excellent value!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

PERFECT!!!

Review submitted: November 2, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We had two familys meet half way from Florida and Michigan. What a blast! If you want to get away without the stress of having to do this and having to do that, this is perfect. Loved the big porch and views of the boat traffic far off in the distance. Renting the boat was the way to go. The house was so clean. Thanks for sharing it with us. We will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2007   Date of arrival: July 24, 2007

This truly is a perfect Spot! Thank you so much for sharing you beautiful home and making our vacation a true vacation.....We will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review