reviews for: listing #15184 - Breckenridge, Colorado House rental

Ski Lynx Lodge -Featured in Log Home Design, Feb. '07
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  19
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $600 - $2,100 /nt
    $3,600 - $14,700 /wk

sort by:

Awesome place to spend your vacation

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

The house was more than we could expect. The place is absolutely amazing. We planned to go as a group of 15 but only 11 of us could make it. We had a blast. The house was prepared and cleaned for our arrival and all issues were taken care of immediately. We had no complains. The communications with the owner was great. Everything worked out great. This will not be the last time I’ve rented this property. Strongly recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Owner’s properties several times in the winter and the Ski Lynx Lodge is by far the best. We find the arrangement perfect for 3 families because each of the 3 levels is occupied by one family. The amenities are well stocked as is the kitchen. Wifi allows us to work or just stay in touch. The open area of the main floor, dining room and kitchen allow plenty of space for all. The lower level is immense with the game and entertainment area and living quarters. We use the hot tub and BBQ in the winter. Any minor problems that arose were taken care of by the caretaker in prompt fashion. The owner is very pleasant and easy to work with. This is our favorite ski spot and we plan many returns.

We recommend this property for any occasion - - you'll not likely be disappointed and probably be pleasantly surprised.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great 50th birthday Week!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Marvelyn's home is a wonderful place to share the mountains with another family. We had four adults an five teenagers...everyone had their own room. The home and its appointments were more impressive than the photos can present. She has done a great job with this home and the setting.

Maps and guides to all activities in the surrounding area are stocked in the home and the kitchen is suited for preparing almost any meal you wish to enjoy. The entertainment system gave us a great experience as we enjoyed watching the Olympics at night. Our days were very active with biking, hiking, dining, mountain biking, golf, sporting clays, and just about any activity two families can pursue.

The home's configuration allowed for kids to gather and hang out downstairs, while adults relaxed upstairs.

Each morning brought new small animals to greet us from the meadow behind the house. We joked about the movie "beyond the hedge" when a group of small chipmunks and squirrels attempted to steal cheese and crackers during our relaxation in the hot tub.

The outdoor grill area was a great place to relax during summer evenings.

The service and maintenance team responded quickly to the smallest request.

This house lies above 10.000 feet so drink lots of water. We slept well on the comfortable beds. Since this home is not located in town, most activities are a short drive. This actually adds to the experience since we travelled to this home to "get away".

This is a great home, operated by a wonderful owner and responsive local support team. -- Todd and Kristi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Talk of the Town.

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Simply Marvelous! My entire family would more than agree. This home gave us the cozy mountain home feeling during my 50th birthday week. My family consisted of all ages and everyone had a great time. Marvelyn spared nothing as far as entertainment and amenities. We got up each morning early, drinking coffee and hot cholate drinks while watching the animals feed. The views from the outside decks and the views from the inside of the house were awesome. Her home is super clean and full of amenities. Words, nor can the pictures provided in her ad describe the aviance that was shared. Marvelyn was easy to reach when we had questions and she is super friendly! I recommend this property to anyone who is particular, appreciates beauty and enjoys life.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ski lynx lodge review

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We spent two weeks at the ski lynx lodge recently, entertaining friends and family. The home is truly exceptional and lived up to all our expectations. It is conveniently located (just south of Breckenridge) to hiking, flyfishing (Mountain Angler on Main St. in Breckenridge is a first rate guide service), shopping and excellent dining (favorites included Modis, Blue River Bistro and Amazing Grace for breakfast). The home was beautifully furnished, and the kitchen was well equipped for the nites we chose to eat in. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would strongly recommend this property if you plan to stay in the Breckenridge area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Blue River Convert

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

My family and I have vacationed the last several summers in Breckenridge. When my procrastination in booking our trip this summer led to not finding availability in our usual Peak 8 area, I became concerned at the thought of having to stay off the beaten path.
Well, after staying at the Ski Lynx Lodge, I've decided I actually prefer being off the beaten path. This very nice home sits in a good spot providing great views and privacy while being only 10 minutes from town. You get the best of both worlds - a quite beautiful setting to relax and Breckridge's charm, shopping, restaurants, and activities just minutes away.
One thing to know about this home - There are three bedrooms on the lower level that share one bathroom.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic Summer Vacation!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The Ski Lynx lodge turned out to be every bit as awesome as all the pictures and other reviewers said. Our extended family group of 13 had plenty of room with three floors, multiple deck/porches, and six bedrooms. Bedrooms/beds were comfy. We were hoping for some "woodsy" seclusion and this home delivered with, what felt like, a mountain meadow of our own. (There are other houses nearby, but you wouldn't know once you get inside the home or on the decks) The location, six minutes south of Breckenridge, provided great access to shopping/dining/activities and some great hiking trails. Large hot tub was used nightly and pool table & foos ball turned out to be big hits with the kids. Any complaints we had were very minor. Marvelyn was easy to work with and a good communicator. Slight warning if altitude bothers you... Blue River is about 10,400 ft. (I was the only one who had a problem in our group of 13.) We would absolutely rent this home again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OMGosh - much better than even the (amazing) pics!

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

One word. Wow!

The detail. The finish. The ease of living. The location. 5 easy miles from the heart of Breckenridge. The warmth. THE EXPERIENCE.

ALL absolutely amazing!!!!

I spent a week in the week in the Ski Lynx Lodge as the organizer of a family reunion. Like many Americans, we all live in separate areas of the U.S. (world actually). It has literally been years since we've all been together under one roof. Simply stated, we couldn't have selected a better rental home for our reunion!

The Ski Lynx Lodge, and the owner/operator, Marvelyn, are nothing but amazing! Truly top-notch. Prior to the visit, it was an absolute joy to interact with Marvelyn (via email). She is extremely helpful with trip planning - and ever so responsive.

Upon arrival, it was truly one of those 'wow' moments in which you run around looking at each room with your mouth half-open in amazement. The detail and attention-to-detail with the craftsmanship are truly top-notch! I've toured many, many log homes in CO, and the Ski Lynx is absolutely amongst the best!

Furthermore, we've never stayed anywhere which is as well furnished and well stocked as the Ski Lynx lodge. Absolutely every utensil you would ever need. Enough plates and silverware to feed a small army. Napkins. Paper Towels. Toilet paper. Toiletries. Everything you need - seriously!! Even a full variety of spices for cooking. By far, the best stocked house/condo I've ever rented. It's literally like walking into someone's house (it is actually), minus a cold gallon of milk in the fridge :-)

The lodge itself is a very easy 5 mile drive from Breckenridge. No hills or significant hair-pin curves between main street Breck and the home. Truly the best of best worlds .. easy to get to Breck (and many areas in Summit/Eagle county), combined with a true outdoors experience.

As a parting thought to this review - my family and I stayed in the Ski Lynx Lodge well over two months ago. Whenever I speak with them over the phone, they still RAVE about the lodge and our overall experience!! Now tell me, is that family memories are all about? We certainly think so!

Thank you, Marvelyn, for creating such an amazing experience. We will certainly be back!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Stunning Getaway

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

The Ski Lynx Lodge is a classy, gorgeous, spacious getaway. I recently stayed there for a retreat with nine other people. We had plenty of room for us all. The accommodations lent themselves to a spirit of relaxation, and the views were stunning. Each room had its own porch (some big, some small), and the view outside my room made me feel as if I was in the mountains far away from people. I look forward to returning to the Ski Lynx Lodge as soon as we can!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

A retreat away from home with a majestic view of the wilderness. The home was extremely comfortable with a nice attention to detail.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible Ambiance

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ski Lynx Lodge last week with nine of my colleagues. It is a quintessential mountain home that has an essence of peace that perfectly aligned with the purpose of our gathering. The owner has been our host for this annual meeting for the past three years and our experience has always been excellent. When I called about a minor maintenance issue, someone arrived within 15 minutes to resolve the problem. I highly recommend the Ski Lynx Lodge.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific Experience

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

Our coaching organization gathers every year for a Summit in the Rockies, and we've been enjoying Marvelyn's hospitality for several years now. Ski Lynx Lodge is a terrific retreat spot for groups of all kinds. Everyone loved the stunning views and beautiful atmosphere of this majestic lodge. Thanks Marvelyn!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Escape

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

This house has it all. Every need is anticipated, every luxury included. My family spent a week at this beautiful home, and had our all of our expectations exceeded. As soon as you walk into the house you realize that you are in for something special. The living areas are open, inviting and well appointed; the bedrooms luxurious yet welcoming. The one time something didn't work--the coffee maker--it was replaced immediately. After a day in Breckenridge or the surrounding area, it is great to be able to come home to such a wonderful home and relax. We shall not soon forget our week, and look forward to returning. We've rented many homes, but this one stands out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing house!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Our party of six adults was lucky enough to stay at Ski Lynx Lodge for a week in late June and couldn't have picked a better house for our vacation. It was the perfect way for us to enjoy all that Breckenridge offers while staying in a property that had the feel of a 5 star resort. We truly have nothing but great things to say about this extraordinary home and our experience working with the owner. Everyone in our party would agree that Ski Lynx is an excellent choice for anyone looking to find great views of the mountains, a ton of space, privacy just outside of town, and top of the line amenities. You definitely won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Your house is amazing!!!!!!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We had an amazing time this weekend! Thank you very much for sharing your place with us. It is a beautiful house and we feel very lucky that we found such a jewel. The whole group loved the accommodations and the birthday girl couldn’t have been more pleased. She loves kitchens and all she wanted to do was cook for everyone because she loved your kitchen so much. Thank you again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ski Lynx Lodge is the BEST!!!

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Ski Lynx Lodge is the best!! Our family of five, rented the home in late July and had an absolutley amazing time there. Even though it was a small group, the house was very homey and we all had our own suites! Obviously, the house can sleep many more people and surely would be just as comfortable.
The kitchen was my favorite room and was very well equipped and a joy to cook in. Our kids loved the pool table and hot tub. The radiant heat floors and fireplace kept us warm on those chilly nights. We did have one issue with the hot water (hey,it's a house, it happens!) and the two workmen we dealt with were very nice and quick to help. Before you knew it we were up and running again. The landlord was very pleasant to work with and responded to my emails quite quickly.

The house is on a lovely, private street and is only minutes from Breckenridge. I highly recommend this vacation rental, you will not be disappointed. We hope to return, as soon as we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family get together

Review submitted: October 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

We enjoyed staying at this house very much in Aug '09. The house and furnishings are fantastic. Plenty of dishes, bowls, glasses. Every day we'd open a draw or a cabinet in the kitchen or somewhere else and we'd find things we had missed in the past. Having so many spices for example and the artificial sweetener (for my coffee) available in the kitchen was a nice touch. Having also a few board games available to play with the grandkids (dominos, cards, etc.) was also very much appreciated.

We also enjoyed the beautiful red fox walking by the back of the house a few times in the evening - nice treat!

There were great places to hike or explore nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 26, 2009   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

The Ski Lynx Lodge is an absolutely amazingly beautiful and comfortable place! We spent a week there with our families and had a small wedding reception there also. It was exactly as we hoped for and more. The amazing scenery and custom work in the house is unbelievable. The rooms were all very nicely decorated, cozy and extremely comfortable. The homeowner was great to work with and was nothing but accommodating to us through the entire arrangement. We couldn't have hoped for a better place to have our wedding and spend time with our family and friends. We cannot express enough how much we all enjoyed our time at the Ski Lynx Lodge and hope to return sometime soon! Thank You.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

What a beautiful house Ski Lynx Lodge is! We had a family reunion there and could not be happier with our choice. Everyone loved staying there. The house is extremely well appointed and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the state-of-the-art entertainment system in the great room and the pool table in the game room. Ski Lynx is the most upscale and best furnished vacation home we have ever stayed in. We definitely give it the highest positive rating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ski Lynx Lodge

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

We enjoyed the home tremendously.
It is well located, very well maintained & suited our three families with children very well by providing separate game facilities & sleeping arrangements.
I heartilly recommend it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

The Ski Lynx lodge is a beautiful home, however we were treated unfairly with our deposit and cleaning fee. There were only 13 of us staying at the home, and we invited 12 additional friends and family over on Saturday for a very small, intimate wedding ceremony. The website advertises that the home can accomodate up to 23 guests, so we didn't think that having this quick ceremony and dinner would be an issue. The owner must have had a neighbor checking on us, because she decided to charge us an "event" fee of $500, even though there was nothing in the contract about such a fee. Also, we were charged an additional cleaning fee, even though we left the place in better shape than we found it. Not to mention that the carbon monoxide detectors in the house kept going off all weekend. Our family will never rent this home again, and we have warned all of our friends who were interested in booking the Ski Lynx Lodge.

Owners response: I would like to say that I regret any ill feelings and misunderstandings that occurred because of this exchange. I did explain to the bride why I was withholding a portion of her deposit.
Yes, I did charge a $500 event fee, which is what I charge for all events that exceed the number of guests staying at the lodge (and stated on the lease) which in this case was 14. I am very clear about this when asked about having a wedding or party at the property.
Ski Lynx Lodge is on both a well and septic, plus we built it for our family, so I do take extra care with it.
This group did not tell me about the wedding, but did leave their printed programs for the guests. When I asked the bride how many were at her party she explained there were 26 total guests.
I asked a management company and was told I was within my rights to withhold the entire damage deposit of $1,000. Because the wedding was within the parameters of what I would have allowed if asked, I opted to charge the event fee only.
There was no additional cleaning fee. When a guest stays for 6 or fewer nights they are told they will pay the short term cleaning fee, and that is what was paid.
The carbon monoxide detector is less than a year old, but was malfunctioning. Maintenance did respond immediately to this issue.
Marvelyn Gadowski

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 26, 2008   Date of arrival: December 16, 2008

We loved the house. It is large, clean, comfortable, well equiupped, and wonderfully decorated. Our family was so satisfied we plan to go back when we can. Try it you will love it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: December 10, 2008   Date of arrival: December 3, 2008

We rented this home for a family reunion/ski vacation. It is abosolutely amazing! It was decorated beautifully, immaculately clean and absolutely huge! The radiant heat floors kept the home so warm and the kitchen was stocked with everything you could imagine.

I highly recommend this home for any group or family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review