reviews for: listing #15206 - Venice Beach, California Studio rental

Modern Studio with Full Kitchen, 1 house from the Beach
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $90 - $125 /nt
    $600 - $800 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,750 /mth

sort by:

Great stay, great value

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, and the studio suited my needs perfectly. Though small, the studio had everything I needed for a one week stay, and the location was perfect. I timed my walk from door to beach and found it to be 45 seconds! The location provides a great base for seeing other parts of LA and Southern California; as well as being near to Marina del Rey, Santa Monica and LAX, the freeway is close by for more distant exploring. Some of the criticisms elsewhere in the reviews I did not find to be true. The weekend nights were a little noisier than weekdays, but that is to be expected: the unit is very close to the bars and restaurants of Washington Blvd, so it's understandable that there may be some noise as people return from their night out. As for the parking, it became a sport to find a good spot on Pacific to park, and whilst it is busy there, I never came home to find there was nothing available, and the furthest I ever had to park was about 3 minutes away. My advice for visitors is to check the street cleaning signs carefully: as long as you are on the ball, there is no issue.

I found the owner to be incredibly reliable and accommodating.

I'm already saving my pennies for a return visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: We thank our guest for her positive and instructive review and her kind words
We are proud of our units including this specific studio
While not large in size, it still has a full kitchen,a large full bathroom with a jaccuzy bath, and an attached private patio
Very well located

The guest was a delight to meet
We will surely be happy to accommodate her again and hopefully in the near future

Tovi
Owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pay The Extra Money, And Stay Somewhere Nice

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

The unit is small, but the location is great. IF you dont mind the constant noise from drunks walking up the alley way, and if overhead, upstairs noise doesn't bother you, then this is the place for you. That being said, it is NOT a quiet, relaxing place to be.

We arrived in Venice at about 8:30pm. When Tovi(the owner) arrived to meet us at the property, she informed me that the parking space in the garage, was NOT available for a"couple of days because someone else was using it". Should i have argued this with her, there, on the spot? YES. but my girlfriend and i were exhausted, and needed to get dinner and rest. Tovi assured me that she "saw some parking on Pacific avenue, right around the corner", and i have no doubt that there may have been some at some point. However, after going to the store for cleaning supplies(to clean the unit) there was NOTHING available. Long story short, i parked in a spot, that ended up getting me a 280$ tow bill and a 93$ ticket. Is the place i chose to park Tovi's fault? No, of course not. I can only say i was beat, and that the "no parking after 10am for street sweeping, or after 7am on school days" sign wasn't exactly clear to me, i don't have kids, so the school day thing didn't "register" with me, and i did get there before the "street sweeping") by the time i found the spot a few blocks away. What is Tovi's fault is that i had to park elsewhere, because she didn't honor our contract, and provide me a parking space. At this point she is retorting that she will "refund" me 30$, 15$ x2days, for the unavailable parking, because "that's what she charges" for parking, although there is NO mention of that on her description for the place, and it looks as though she has taken the "parking included" off the description as well. I have copies of the original description with all of these on it. I actually wouldn't have even gone with this property if it didn't include parking. Ive stayed in Venice tons of times, and this was the first time i didn't go with the hotel where i normally stay.

Yes, i could have gone somewhere else, as soon as i realized that it wasn't what she promised, but the trip was paid for in advance. If i had the kind of money to wait for my refund, i wouldn't have stayed here in the first place. It was late, and i was tired. Maybe she was hoping i was gonna be too tired to argue, who knows.

Spend the extra money, and stay somewhere nice. She has really nice properties. This one is NOT one of them.

Recommended for: people with disabilities

Owners response: The unit is a modern studio with a full kitchen, jacuzzi/shower tub and attached private patio
The location is also excellent, 1 house away from the sand by the Venice Pier next to multi million dollars houses

Nothing in the review refers to or covers the unit itself, which is beautiful, although small in size

The long review is all about the guest making a mistake and parking his car on the only part of the street that is restricted
The signs are very large and clear that there is no parking after 7 AM in that specific area. All the rest is unrestricted

It is obvious that the review is calculated to interfere with our business and harm it, only because the guest has to take responsibility for his mistake and pay for illegal parking

Unfortunately we also realized after he left, that a pair of expansive bikes, that we keep for our guests, disappeared from the garage during his stay

His complaint is also about noise in the "ally"
The interesting fact is that the guest knows and likes the neighborhood since by his own words he stayed many times in a hotel that sits on the same ally directly across


First, the guest fails to tell the true facts-that he was allowed to park in the garage, and did park, for 4 out of the 6 nights that he stayed

The unit does not come with parking as demonstrated by the listing
Parking can be gotten if it is available and if you pay for it
There is ample parking on the streets 2 minutes away
The majority of our guests who rent the studio do not use the parking spot even when they have cars

The guest paid the lowest rate and did not pay for parking
He exchanged numerous e-mails with us since April and never mentioned his need for parking
However, when I checked him in he asked where the parking space is
Now he claims that he chose the studio only because of the parking while
in his emails with us he claims that he chose the unit because it was cheaper than his regular place

The guest exchanged with me quite a few text messages during his stay and never complained about noise or demanded that we pay for his tow
As a matter of fact he wrote the day after: "I was so tired last night I did not realize today was a "school day"...ugh.
HAHA ITS OK THO"

Only at about midnight, a few hours before his checkout he decided to complain about his ticket and noise

Hopefully this response fully explains the reviewer's motive

Tovi
Owner

Helpful votes: 10 / 14

 

Great Location and Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

My time at this rental one house away from the beach was truly amazing. The owner made the stay pleasant and stress free. I was greatly impressed with the accomodations and plan to come back in the fall! The value would be hard to beat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect space for a single traveller!

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

excellent location, fantastic and helpful hosts! this space has everything you need including full kitchen, washer dryer and dish washer! it even has a small patio and bbq. Though i didn't use the bbq I did sit out on the patio and read. Quick walk to the beach, Abbot Kinney and even Santa Monica & Marina Del Ray.

One of the highlights was the garage parking attached to the unit. Was perfect as I usually got in after dark and didn't have to worry about walking blocks to get home. Thanks Tovi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: We are glad that our guests love and appreciate the beautiful all inclusive unit and location
You really get value for your money
The unit was designed and renovated with beauty and efficiency in mind

Tovi
Owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review