reviews for: listing #15257 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

4-7BR Luxury "Cayman Castle" w/ heated pool
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  East End
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $8,960 - $9,940 /wk

sort by:

family birthday celebration

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

The castle was great UNTIL it rained. Our family rented the castle & guesthouse. We were in the guesthouse & on our last day water poured in thru the windows & water leaked from the ceiling fan in the center of the room. We spent our last day in Cayman cleaning up large amounts of water dripping from the ceiling fan, kitchen & windows. I would NOT recommend anyone staying there unless this is rectified. We were not told that the place leaked before booking the house. If we knew about the leaks, we may have chosen to stay somewhere else

Owners response: This large family stayed for two weeks...and enjoyed great weather until day #9 when the heavens opened (tropical storm Beryl formed over top of Grand Cayman). Cayman had record rainfall of 13" in 2 days(!!) and it rained sideways..the schools closed and government buildings shut down. The Castle & Guesthouse are in east end and the rain & wind came from the east..so it was sideways against the sliding doors and windows and leaked under the sliders-- the guests used towels to soak up rainwater--and we sent out maids to do the towels for them. We also had a roof drain blocked which caused a ceiling leak--so our roofer and contractor went over and unplugged that clog..so the kitchen roof stopped leaking. We also caulked the doors...It was just a rotten final 5 nights in Cayman for this family...so I offered to send them to the Lighthouse Restaurant for dinner ($1,000 limit) even though the second week I discounted for them almost 30%. They didn't accept the offer...and only after they left the island, posted this abysmal review of the house (1 star?) AND demanded a refund. I did what I could do for them while on island and offered a nice dinner as a kind gesture of condolence for the weather. There is just no way to please everyone. I am sure they will want to submit more negative reviews. Please read the 5 years of good reviews and understand that some people can never be happy when the weather turns bad like it did. 13" of rain is almost half the annual rainfall for the east end historically!!

CORRECTIVE ACTION: I flew down as soon as they left..hired a roofer and contractor and completely removed the second floor roof and re-sloped the decking, installed a new membrane and drains...we also siliconed around the sliding glass doors--but in a 30mph 1"/hr sideways rainstorm...sliding door tracks will spill over...I am glad that we only have 1-2 of these storms a year.

Helpful votes: 23 / 28

 

Cayman Castle

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

The stay at the "Castle" was outstanding. (We rented the castle and guesthouse) It was March of 2009 and it was our chance to bring family and friends together in one great location. Our kids; grandchildren and friends enjoyed the spacious accommodations that allowed all of us the opportunity for both privacy and socialization. The rooms were comfortable and the location great for water sports (swimming (ocean and heated pool), kayaking, snorkeling and kite surfing!) We have been renting in the Caribbean since 2002 and without question Jim offers the most personalized of services. PS: My grandson, now nine, has a goal to one day buy the castle, top that for a recommendation! Bill from Massachusetts

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

COULDN'T BE CALMER / COOLER THAN AT THE CASTLE!!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

I spent my honeymoon at the Castle and Guest House in 2008 (Hurricane Paloma) ...we had all ages and mobilities of folks staying - the week was ideal - so easy for an 89 year old to enjoy ... and safe for the little ones .... Hurricane (Cat 3+) did not even touch us - round castle and watertight ... amazing ... The ad understates the experience you will have - The exclusive location of this heaven keeps us coming back (5 trips so far) ... the staff at the dive place next door are incredibly helpful - nice to be able to walk there! and to Vivine's Kitchen!! And some of the best snorkeling is a swim from the personal dock - Also, close to Rum Point, and Kaibo - wonderful wonderful vacation spot - all the amenities with the requisite 'turn off button' from crazy East Coast lives .... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beyond words!!

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

We stayed at the Castle in June 2011 and would definitely recommend it! There were 7 of us: my husband & I and our grown children and their significant others. The main castle was better than we expected. The view from the decks was incredible and you can comfortably spend all day out there. Our group enjoyed using the kayaks, fishing and snorkeling. The interior of the house was very nice and comfortable for a group of our size. It is a bit of a drive from town but there are several good restaurants and grocery store nearby. Jim, the property owner/manager, was very responsive to any questions that we had before and during our stay. We definitely plan to stay at the Castle again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Magical Wedding

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We stayed at the Castle in April 2011. Our daughter was married on the beach and her reception was held at the Castle. We hired Mise en Place to do the wedding catering - they did everything for us - I did not have to worry about a thing. Reno was the person I dealt with. The Castle accommodated every single one of our wishes - beautiful home to celebrate all the events of a wedding - plenty of space for40 people to be entertained - it is a first rate place - we could not have asked for one thing to be different. The pictures on the website are exactly as they appear - I only wish I had another daughter to get married there....the entire week was magical!!!

We had Tucca Restaurant cater for the rehearsal dinner and also went to their restaurant for dinner on our arrival. Ron (owner) could not have done more for us - food and presentation was wonderful.
Angela (caterer on the island) came to the Castle for a small dinner and again was more than pleasant. She and her staff cooked the food at the Castle and it was beautifully served. We also went to the Lighthouse Restaurant and had a very nice dinner even though we never wanted to leave the Castle.

I honestly cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay at the Castle was - I would love to have a family reunion there some day - there is not one negative thing about the Castle - I felt like a Queen!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation at the Castle

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We had a wonderful family vacation this past spring at the Castle. I would highly recommend this spot. Jim and his staff were so easy to work with and very helpful with things to do and see. We had our kids and grandkids ranging from 7 to 2 years and they are all still talking about it. We bought fish from Jim's neighbor Karen and grilled at the house. It was wonderful, fresh fish, family and quiet surroundings. The Castle is on the quiet side of the island. We liked this because we could go to the "tourist" side of the island to shop and sightsee then go back to our own paradise. The kids really enjoyed the pool and private beach. The pool is downstairs so it is easy to monitor children for safety. I would highly recommend this place for a family vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cayman Castle

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

This was the most luxurious and most relaxing vacation I ever had. The saying "Location, Location, Location" that pretty much sums it up. You never have to leave the property it has everything and more.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved the Castle!!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday in March of 2010 with 13 of our closest friends and had a ball! It was everything it appeared to be in the listing and the owner, Jim, could not have been more helpful. The Castle and guest house (we rented both) were extremely well maintained and equipped with everything you could need or want. The quiet and privacy on this part of the island was great, but there was plenty of activity within a short distance. We all would go back to the Castle in a minute!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptional Property

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Cayman Castle is the rare occasion where the property is even better than the pictures. Inside and out the Castle is impeccably maintained. The new kitchen is perfect for serving large groups/families. Each bedroom is a suite, so everyone has a private space to relax and call their own for the duration of your stay. The infinity pool and pool deck top off the views along the entire property. Sit out on the deck or lounge in the pool as you enjoy the ocean breeze all day and night. My wife and I had our small family wedding on the deck overlooking the water. We could not have picked a more beautiful setting for the ceremony or the pictures. There is also a small reef to snorkel marked by a pole just a short swim or kayak trip from your own private beach at Cayman Castle. There is not a single thing that will disappoint from the moment you pull into the Cayman Castle driveway. The East End of Grand Cayman is the perfect place to relax, while still only a short drive to the center of the action on 7 Mile Beach or Rum Point. This will be one of the best vacations you will ever take and your guests will tell you so all week long.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

caymanflow

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

I am a long time resident of Grand Cayman and I rented the Castle for a "stay-cation" with several friends who reside here as well as 2 pals from the US. We get so busy working our day to day lives that we forget how fortunate we are to live in paradise! The Castle experience gave us that deep appreciation for the beautiful sea right out our door- as well as the fantastic amenities- we did not leave the property- just soaked in the sunrises, sunsets and the beauty of Cayman- we are planning on making this an annual treat to ourselves. Thank you Jim

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This house was perfect for our 3 families that went. The kayaks were a blessing for keeping the teenagers occupied. We took masks and fins with us and they kayaked out and snorkeled. All of Jim's suggestions were great! I would reccomend using McCurley's for rental cars. They provide an easy way to get into town without going through the heart of downtown. If you're going to use the personal grocery shopper, I would recommend you specify a certain brand or mention you want an off brand. He bought the most expensive cheese, cookies, and pure maple syrup which we really didn't need. There were only a couple of problems with the house. One was the temperatures of the main floor bedrooms. They were always too warm for sleeping. The other problem (which is really out of anyone's control) is the power goes off during thunderstorms. They weren't even severe.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Chief

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2006

My wife and I were married at the Cayman Castle in 2006. We have returned each year on our anniversary week and have brought many different friends and family. Everyone raves about the place. The improvements that the owner has made in the past 4 + years truly demonstrates his committment to the property and his guests. The property is always exceptionally clean. Not only do the photos accurately depict the property, they bring me back to some wonderful times. The owner has always been very helpful whenever I have asked a question. I highly recommend this property to anyone who wants a truly memorable vacation on Grand Cayman. (just please don't go on our anniversary week)

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review