reviews for: listing #15282 - Amelia Island, Florida Villa rental

Gorgeous Summer Beach Villa, Prestige Property Winner 2013
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Summer Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,450 - $2,050 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 6, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

This condo is gorgeous! Quiet, clean, nicely appointed with lots of space.
Three couples stayed here very comfortably. The pool is only steps away and we had it to ourselves much of the time.
A great place for a vacation!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great condo!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

This is a great condo with tons of space. My husband and I stayed there with our 2 kids and my parents and we had plenty of room. We had a few rainy days and it was nice to relax inside the condo or the bedrooms or the wonderful screened in porch without feeling cramped. It was really nice to have spacious bedrooms and everybody had their own bathroom. We also enjoyed having games for the kids to play.

Fernandina Beach is great and we loved the Salty Pelican Bar & Grill and walking around downtown. We also enjoyed the beach and the Jacksonville Zoo. The Beach Club was nice and we used the workout room there.

I would highly recommend this condo. The elevator was great too for bringing in groceries and luggage up to the second floor. Very comfortable, clean, spacious and had everything we needed for our home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time at Summer Beach Villa, Amelia Island

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Katie, I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed Amelia Island and our stay in your villa. The weather was great and we had a lot of fun going to the beach, relaxing at the beach club pool and enjoying the many restaurants on the island.

Your villa was just perfect for the 4 of us, spacious and light, very well appointed and exactly as shown on VRBO. The location is so quiet yet has easy access to everything we needed. With 2 older teenagers, having 3 bathrooms was perfect, plenty of space for everyone.

The beaches in April were wide open and very easy to access with a quick 5 minute walk. Perfect to run on at low tide in the morning (if you like to run or walk). The beach club was very convenient and allowed for the best of both the beach and a pool with lounge chairs and facilities.

Amelia Island was a bit of an accidental vacation for us. We always go somewhere warm over school vacation but this year, due to some commitments on each weekend of school break, we only had about 4 days and needed to depart from 2 different locations. For whatever reason, Jacksonville had some very affordable flights and was close enough to North Carolina (where we needed to be at the end of our week) that it became our choice for this year. We are so pleased that circumstances fell this way as Amelia Island was just a perfect spot and fit for us.

Thanks very much. We hope to be back sometime in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FABULOUS!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation here! The weather was cool and rainy but we had a fabulous time. This is a beautiful, warm and quaint villa. It is more wonderful than the description on this site. This is beautifully furnished place, has all the amenities you will need and more. It truly has all the comforts of home and more! Our family all agreed that we would love to come back here again and rent this great place. The wonderful added amenity of being able to use the club was a real treat. This is a true dream house!
We contacted the owner's one evening when we were having some issues with the cable TV and they were very responsive and helpful. We solved the problem quickly with their assistance.
There is a lot to do on the island with wonderful restaurants, bike trails, shops in Fernandina Beach and gorgeous beaches. Even though it was a cool and bit rainy time of year when we were here, we had a great time!
Can't wait to return when the weather is a bit warmer to partake of the wonderful screened-in porch!! Grab this place while you can!!
Thank you for a great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Villa, Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

If you are looking for an outstanding family experience, you just found your condo. We have stayed in a number of condos with our family over the years, probably at least a dozen different condos and locations, and this condo and this villa arrangement are THE BEST in our experience. First of all, the villa is spacious, comfortable, and just plain beautiful. The bedrooms are all good size, especially the master bedroom and master bath. Access to the screened-in porch that runs the length of the villa is available via the master bedroom, or the theater style family-room-living-room, or the dining room; three different doors to the porch. Beautiful and big kitchen, well-equipped, comfortable family-eating space in the dining room and/or the screened-in porch, and a washer and dryer with very handy access; everything clean and well-maintained. From the couches in the family room to the dining room chairs to the seats on the screened-in porch, they are all VERY comfortable seats. We particularly enjoyed the screened-in porch, quiet and relaxing; internet access was exceptionally quick (we love to share pictures right away; my wife took 400 in a week!); the bikes, right there in the garage, and the flat and scenic bike paths, great. 'It's not a toy,' yet the use of our own elevator made move days in and out so easy, and frankly, made access to the pool (right there in the villa complex) or the waterfront beach club, or the huge range of fine dining experiences on the beach and in Old Fernandina, very, very quick and easy, especially for sunrises and sunsets. Seriously, this place is amazing. If I could rate this place a 10, I would give it a 12. Guess I'll have to settle for five (stars). Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Pictures do not do this place justice. Much larger in reality than it looks in the photos. Perfect layout for families or friends with the Master Suite on the other side of the unit away from other bedrooms. Wonderful wraparound screened-in porch accessible from 3 rooms and was always comfortable to sit out on. Exactly as described and reviewed by others. Unit was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated with all the amenities and extras you might not expect. Location was excellent; mere steps from the community pool which was never crowded and a 1 minute drive or short walk/bike ride to the Beach & Tennis Club oceanfront pool & beach access. Had neighbors, both permanent and guests but never heard them. Having only a few buildings in the enclave kept down the noise and traffic. Owners are exceptionally nice and very helpful. Plenty of instructions and nicely detailed notes around the unit tell you how to operate everything and things you need to know. TVs, stereos, appliances all worked great. Even the elevator directly from personal garage up into the unit was nice; helped with loading and unloading luggage and groceries. Cannot say enough nice things about our stay. Would definitely recommend this as one of the nicest places we have ever stayed anywhere and we would consider ourselves pretty discriminating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good times on Amelia

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

The home was beautifully decorated with lots of amenities....great for a family.
Weather was too cool to use the pools, but we substituted the fine restaurants in the area for that activity.
Walk to the beach was difficult for one of our couples with mobility limitations, but my couple enjoyed the walk through the trees to the beach.
Katie was a delight to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our family had a great time at the villa. It was beautifully decorated, very suffiently stocked with everything we needed...we just added food! There were lots of extras for us to use as bikes, pool floats, beach chairs,high chair and baby bed, etc. The pool right across the street from the villa was so accessible for us as we had grandchildren of all ages! The availability to use the owner's membership to the pool and ocean club was a great plus. This was my first experience renting on the internet and I must say, I was a little anxious....however, when we drove into the area and walked into the villa, no more anxiety. It was wonderful. We experienced a great family time and would do it again! The only drawback I would say might be that the villa is on the second floor and you have to climb inside stairs. If you have little children, this might be a problem if they like to climb stairs! However, there is an elevator so that helps with loading and unloading. Amelia Island has a lot of good eating places and the historical area at Fernandina is really nice. Our favorite place was the ice cream shop! This is a great vacation location and a great place to stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our new favorite place to go!

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We went to Amelia Island for the first time last Easter and I just booked out trip for this Easter! The condo was amazing. So well taken care of, with anything you could ever need. We didn't have to over stuff with the car with all the things we would typically need for our 4 kids and it was so nice! Amelia Island is not overly commercialized so we had a nice quiet and relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Katie,

Your villa was like a home away from home. We didn't want to leave! We loved everything about it. So spacious and so nicely decorated. See you next October :)

Tony

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a family!

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This place had plenty of room for our family of 5. It was great having the three full baths. I can't think of a single thing I would change about it. Very clean and beautiful decorations. The open floor plan made it great for visiting and family time. It was nice having all the board games to choose from. All the linens and towels were in great shape. The pool was right out front and very private. It was great being able to walk to the beach every day. It was a real bonus to have access to the Beach Club. Our kids were in heaven and have have already asked if we can come back next year. Owner was easy to work with and answered all of our questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Worth the extra money :)

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Our trip to Amelia was everything we had hoped it would be. What a charming Island! This Villa was spacious, clean and had everything Katie had promised it would have. She was also very professional to work with. We loved walking to the beach every morning through the shaded oaks. The bikes in the garage were a real perk. The gated community was meticulously maintained. We can't wait to return. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us. We will certainly be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation Stay at Summer Beach in Amelia Island

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We enjoyed our vacation in Amelia Island and found this Villa to have everything we needed and more. The home was very spacious for our family of five and it we found it clean and beautifully decorated. This property had several bicycles available that we enjoyed using on the nice biking/walking trail located across the street. The pool was right outside the front door and the beach was a short drive away. It was nice to have access to the Beach Club pool and amenities, as well. The owners were helpful and provided us with information on Amelia Island prior to our arrival. Thank you for sharing your home, Katie.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great family place

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The villa was perfect for our extended family, with it's access to both pool, beaches, golf courses, and dining! Kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need! I would highly recommend this to friends and family wanting to stay on Amelia Island!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great find

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

The photos don't do this property justice. The overall floor plan of the property is ideal, as the kitchen opens to the living room and dining room, allowing guests to stay together during meals and while coming and going. In addition, there are a ton of toys/bikes/supplies for children which is useful. our 2 year old was able to use the highchair and pack n play without issue.

The pool is steps from the front door. Even on a holiday weekend, it was mellow. If the local pool isn't big enough, simply walk down to the main pool at the resort, and hang there. There is also access to the beach from multiple convenient points.

Lastly, Fernandina is about a 10 minute drive, which has all of the dining options (as well as a great coffee house, ice cream shop, bookstore).

Amelia Island is a great place to vacation, quiet enough to be peaceful, with enough to do to keep you entertained. The house is great, from size to location to amenities

(only negative I can even think of is that the internet access isn't wireless, but since it's in the open kitchen, it was totally fine)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 7, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We recently rented the Foltz's unit and another villa in the same complex for a family reunion and had a great time. The unit was very well equipped, well furnished and lived like a home. having 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms allowed everyone to have their own privacy. The screened is porch was an added bonus.
We enjoyed spending time at the pool, which was just steps away, and most of the time had it to ourselves. The beach club was very nice and allowed for easy access to the beach. We played tennis, used boogie boards, walked, but mainly relaxed. We would highly recommend this property! Thanks again for sharing your home with our family. The Schroeders

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We cannot wait to go back! Our children (ages 4 & 6) said Amelia Island is better than Disney! We could not agree more. If you want to go somewhere and TRUELY relax - this is the place. The beaches are great for shell collecting and even finding sharks teeth! Definately a place to spend QUALITY time with your family and friends. WE LOVED the condo and vowed to make this a yearly family tradition. Thank you so much for making your home ours for a little while.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review