reviews for: listing #15290 - Waikoloa Beach Resort, Hawaii Villa rental

Premium PLUS at Hali'i Kai! Some Spring Dates Open!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Hali'i Kai
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $149 - $600 /nt
    $1,000 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 23, 2014

We stayed at this lovely condo for two weeks. The discounted golf was excellent. You can walk to the Hilton. It was quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed our vacation there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream vacation

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is our second time staying here and we can't imagine staying anywhere better. Every morning we had breakfast on the patio overlooking the gorgeous ocean. The 3 bedrooms were a perfect fit for our family of 6. We absolutely love the pool area with sunset views. They have tightened up the rules at the pool area since our last visit. No outside drinks was a bummer since their drinks were really high priced. The property is beautifully maintained and up to date. We had a plumbing problem that was handled immediately. We'd love to see a nice propane grill on the patio as the bqq at the pool was often taken and we'd have to wait. We love this rental and do tell all our friends that it's the only place to stay on the big island. We used the hilton lagoon to teach our 5 yr old granddaughter to snorkel. We went zip lining in Hilo shopped at kings and queens shops. Mostly ate at home. Went to a beach everyday. We hated to leave even after a two week stay. Loved every minute . Thank you sandy, for finding this place for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing weekend

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The rental unit was nice and clean.
Good Location to pool and fitness center.
Beautiful setting off the golf course.
We had 2 minor problems, toilet in 2nd bathroom
and tub drained very slow.
Dishwasher in kitchen did not release the soap during the wash cycles.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good location, unresponsive management

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was very unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We arrived and the remotes for the tv's didn't work, 3 lights were out. No one at the property manager answers the phone or responds to messages. Sent e-mail the day we arrived re: lights, batteries and broken chair. Received response that someone would be there the next day to respond to issues. Never received a visit from anyone and no further responses to e-mails or voice mailes.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location, poor condition

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great space, wonderful location! Carpets dirty,lamps in guest room broken,,hair dryer in guest bath burned out, toaster damaged, pots and pans warped making cooking difficult. Unit needs painting.

Manager responded on 2/28/2014:
I'm sorry the guest didn't contact us during their stay. We would have been happy to supply a working hair dryer and toaster as well as repair broken lamps. The other items will be addressed during our upcoming Spring Cleaning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Never enough time!!!!

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Mahalo Sandy, we hope you have a great 2014 and we also hope to return to Hali'i Kai some day soon!

Manager responded on 12/4/2013:
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tired Condo but Beautiful Location

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Just returned from 2 weeks of vacation at Hali'i Kai Likeke Kane Kai. This condo has great potential but unfortunately it doesn't seem to be well cared for. Carpets need to go. Broken microwave handle and toaster, scuffed walls, fans needing repair, torn lanai cushion, George Foreman grill when there should be a proper BBQ etc. It took a week to have our toilet repaired and tub unclogged as well as fans sorted out. Fortunately, the location made up for what this condo lacked. We were exploring beaches and attractions everyday so at the end the day, a glass of wine on the lanai or a swim in the gorgeous pool was all that was needed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Book This Condo and Be Happy!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We were exceptionally pleased with our condo, its location, its cleanliness, its layout, its accommodations and features. The ocean view is really an ocean view. We will book again!

Manager responded on 6/28/2013:
We're so happy to hear that the changes we made to our housekeeping services have brought our guest's experience back to the standards we have always strived for. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this area!!!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed our time fully! Our family has been coming to the Big Island the past 13 years and feel we have found our home away from home! The only concern was the nonfunctional fans in the master and living rooms. The pool and bar and grill are terrific! Staff is friendly and eager to help in any way! Planning on next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Halii Kai Jan 2013

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Dryer didnt dry properly. Complained to Sandy rep but received no call back. Towels were mildued. Dust and dirt in places that were less accessible. The entire site is non-smoking and this caused issues with 2 of my guests. Smoking area a long walk.

Manager responded on 1/31/2013:
This guest asked us to compromise the smoking policies and laws for them. This is not something we are able to negotiate in an effort to maintain the pleasure of future guests who prefer a non-smoking property. We did offer to bring fresh towels, however they declined. This guest stayed with us last year, however this year they returned with smoking companions who apparently weren't happy with the non-smoking rules.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A little tender loving care!!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
with improvements we would stay and recommend to everyone.
We have been guests at Halii Kai frequently and the 10H unit had the best view of all of the units that we have stayed in. Unfortunately it needs some "attention" and I wanted to let you know of some specific things that need to be addressed in the very near future for enjoyment and safety of the future guests.
1. The sliding door to the patio never locked no matter how hard we tried. The screen door also has lost it's rollers on the bottom and despite being quite properly in the tracks, it does not slide smoothly at all.
2. The sink on the left in the Master Bath does not drain at all with even a slight trickle of water flow. Beth and I shared the sink on the right but I thought you should know if you have not been told of this previously.
3. The Master bath also a drip or condensation problem about the same sink on the left. This drips down to the floor and will be a problem in the future.
4. The Master bath middle sink light (sconce) is out as well as either bulbs or lamps in kitchen (3 of 4 can lights). The lamp nearest the patio door did not light. The lamp in the Master bedroom nearest the window does not have a switch to turn it on (we did try the wall switch). The front porch as has a lamp out. We did not purchase new bulbs for all of these issues for fear that others may have tried and it could be an electrical thing. This is going to be an issue sooner than later if other lamps do not work.
5. The left window in the Master bedroom does not slide as we often try to open the windows to reduce the need for A/C for the units we rent. I know how expensive it can be living in Nebraska.
6. The Pans in the kitchen (basically there are only three) sorely need replaced. One is warped beyond usage and the others are severely outdated technology.
7. We were really dissappointed by the shape of the carpets (very dirty) and the amount a dust in the unit.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Waikoloa half week

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall the condo was great. We had a few hiccups upon arrival but Sandy worked to fix them promptly. We expected a better grill but had to settle for the electric George Foreman. The place was clean, but being kamaaina who prefer shoes off while in the home, we thought the floors could have been mopped better. Yet we had no major complaints and the condo served as a good home base for all our activities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely setting - property needs maintenance

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Fabulous location and wonderful views from the lanai and very nice ocean club. - the property is desparate for a deep cleaning, some loving care and maintenance. Dirt and dust behind the beds, on picture frames, shower needs mold removal, soap and calcium stain removal, masterbedroom bed squeaks every time you only sit on bed. Sleeping is impossible. it squeaks so badly when you turn from one side to the other. Blankets are torn and need to be replaced.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A beautiful first trip to the Big Island

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My only somewhat complaint would be that there was no master shower door (was broken leaning against bathroom wall) and the oven did not work. Other than that we loved the condo and will definitely stay there again

Manager responded on 12/3/2012:
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! While the islands are beautiful, their remote location can delay obtaining parts needed to make repairs. The shower door has now been fixed. We look forward to "Making Meaningful Memories" for your family again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, lovely area.

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Only problem was that glass door from shower in master bedroom was propped up against wall in bathroom in a dangerous way . One guest nearly tripped over it at night. If it had fallen on someone this could have been very bad.

How about an electric jug for boiling water?

Screen door to deck needs maintenance.

Beds too soft.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful location - condo needs some maintenance

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The condominium is well located, nicely layed out, and has a nice view of the ocean. However there were some serious maintenance items that had a negative effect on our experience. When we arrived the oven light was on and would not turn off. We discovered that the oven did not work - we had a week of gourmet cooking planned so this was a DISASTER. Nobody came to look at it and we had no manuals available. Sandy told me that she would try to get someone within the week but we never heard back otherwise.

Other issues - The 6 foot master bathroom shower door detached and fell on me (all OK though), the latch to the outside sliding glass door did not work well, and there was a line of mildew (?) or something else grungy in the guest tub. Other floors were in need of mopping - we did this ourselves. A warning - there is an additional "resort fee" that you will have to pay that is not in the condo advertisement.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

happy with the place but unhappy about Price

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
we liked our stay,but I am still unhappy about the price I paid because there was a $800.00 discount the day after thanksgiving and Sandy would not give us the specisl price. We rented the condo the first days of November-

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Halii Kai June/July 2012

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall stay was great! Love the location and experience. A few maintenance issues came up during our stay however that were less than ideal. We had a great time though!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Already planing our return trip!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was our foruth stay with Sandy at Halii Kai and as usual it was terriffic!
Thanks Sandy, and we will be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
WE very much enjoyed our stay, but loved the golf expecially the reduce green fees for renting this unit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall review of our rental experience.

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Staff professional, location perfect, pool area awesome. Very dissapointed in the fact that light bulbs were missing in several lamps, no lights above dining room table (thus you needed to turn on way too many other lights to see), less than one roll of toliet paper was in each bathroom, no dishwasher soap. Of course we knew we would need to purchase items, but not enough for the first evening was disheartening. Overall deposit way too high, the second condo we rented (there were 12 of us) was lower and partially refundable ($40 for pool keys should be included in fee and completely refundable and/or disclosed). Fan in laundry room needs to be replaced, it sounds like an airplane is landing on the roof. We left most of the laundry done, a partial refund of our deposit should be considered.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was our second stay in the same unit and that was not coincidence . We really enjoyed the unit 10H for its location on the property , view , lanai and proximity to the pool area. We had our whole family in the 3 bedroom unit and felt the rooms were very spacious and the overall feeling to be quite welcoming . The Lanai could use a Barbque , as other units have them but other than that the unit has all you need for fun in the sun . Snorkel gear , boogey boards , coolers , towels and other daily necessities are all stocked in 10H. Once again we had a great stay and will be looking forward to returning to the big island and more to the point HALI I KI soon !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Where does one begin....the entire property was amazing. The condo was perfect, the view was gorgeous and the sunset!!! WOW! Never seen anything like it. Our husbands golfed, us girls relaxed, and shopped. We did some sight seeing, rented scooters, relaxed by the beautiful pool, BBQed some nights and went out for others. Was the perfect holiday in so many ways. THANKS for the memories!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Island Find

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My wife, daughter and my daughter's fiance spent 9 days at Waikaloa resort, staying at the Hali'i Kai unit 10H. The property was clean and had plenty of room for the four of us. It actually could have accomodated at least two more. The best part of the Hali'i Kai property is the pool area and outdoor restaurant/bar. There are great ocean views and the food at the restaurant is as good as any on the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Break

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The location of this unit was amazing--ocean and golf course view from the lanai, and a short walk to a very nice pool, exercise room, and pool-side restaurant (good food and friendly staff). The unit was well appointed and had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. We were also very pleased with Sandy Vacations. We called them ahead of time to learn more about the area and they were courteous and helpful. Everything went smoothely with the reservations, payments, arrival procedures, etc. I would recommend the Waikoloa Beach Resort area and this unit in particular as a great place to stay on the Big Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful break.

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great property. Great price. Exceptional location.
Because of the above, this property is heavily booked.
Unit 10 H could have stood a good "deep" clean.
Great company to work with. Very responsive.
This company has likely responded to this concern
already.

Manager responded on 1/18/2012:
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place for a family vacation

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
From a big picture standpoint, it was a fantastic vacation rental. With three bedrooms and two full baths, as well as a full kitchen and large living room, there was easily room for our five-person family. Furthermore, we brought my wife's parents since we had enough space. The kitchen was nicely appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The clubhouse was really nice, with a wonderful pool area, restaurant and workout room directly overlooking the ocean.
The condo overlooks the 7th hole of the Beach Course, with the ocean on the other side of that. The entire Hali,i Kai condo development was beautiful and enjoyable to walk through, very high end. Easy access to the Hilton lagoon for snorkling.
A few very minor negatives - several light bulbs were out or missing, including at the front door, but was replaced immediately upon request. Lastly, the carpet in the living room has been mistreated, and has stains that detract from the experience.
Sandy Vacations was wonderful to deal with, and extremely helpful, having located some boogie boards, beach chairs and coolers for our use. I would very definitely recommend both the condo and Sandy Vacations to friends and family, and will look to use them on a return trip to Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
our second stay here and can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is the perfect family getaway home. The location is perfect with a beautiful view of the ocean. The housekeeper was super helpful upon arrival she gave us tips and advice. The pool area is the best we have ever seen. We spent hours there lounging, BBQing, playing dominoes. It could not have been better. Could use a larger BBQ at the condo. Thanks Sandy!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious, luxurious condo

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My husband and I, our two kids, and my parents vacationed together at Hali'i Kai Likeke Kane Kai in July 2011. The condo was spacious, very tastefully furnished and clean. The kitchen was well-stocked with useful items, and the bathrooms also had helpful amenities including some toiletries. The clubhouse and pool provided a fun and relaxed atmosphere. The food in the restaurant was also good, although the service could have been a little friendlier (it wasn't unfriendly, just not overly friendly.) I was also impressed that I was never hit with a sales pitch when we picked up our coupons/complimentary drink vouchers in the sales office. The front desk staff and sales representatives were very nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation place

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We all loved the condo and its location! Sandy was great to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Manager responded on 7/21/2011:
After speaking with this guest, the Services from Rental Manager rating is in reference to the on-site office staff and their registration procedures.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset at the Pool!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had a fabulous stay at Sandy's Hali'i Kai unit. It was a quiet location, nice unit, had a comfortable bed, well-equipped kitchen, friendly neighbors, and nice view from the patio. The best part of all was the fantastic pool and workout area. Sunset at the pool was absolutely spectacular. Because it’s quiet and has “no splashing” rules, etc., this is a great place for couples or families with mature kids. Sandy was very helpful. She helped with our other reservations, arranged for an early check-in so our food wouldn't spoil, and was always easy to reach.

There were a few frustrations (there was no dishcloth or sponge, lots of little things didn't work: soap dispensers, phones, check-in procedure, fridge wasn’t cold enough to keep food the first night because it was turned down - which was understandable but still frustrating for us, the front door code reprogramming procedure), but once we got settled in, none of it was a problem or really mattered. The beautiful surroundings help the "aloha spirit" take over, then there is nothing to do but relax and enjoy!

Thanks for the lovely stay! We can’t wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks Again Sandy!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was our third stay with Sandy at Hali'i Kane Kai and as
usual it was wonderful!
The place is very well equiped and clean with wonderful views of the water and susnet and its just a two minute stroll in the lawn to the pool and club house. The yard off the patio makes for hours of play time for the kids all the while in full view of the living room and kitchen.
Sandy is terreifc. She is friendly and helpful and provides a wealth of local information for those not familiar with the island.
We are already planning our return for next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Views!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed our stay and especially enjoyed the views from our lanai of the ocean and the passing whales. Great location and the grounds are meticulously looked after. However, the unit itself could use some new furniture in the living room (somewhat uncomfortable) and new carpets (stains. Sandy, the manager, was great. Our coffee maker broke down and within hours, Sandy had it replaced. Beds were very comfortable. Would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Brilliant holiday!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We entered Waikoloa Beach and wanted to stay forever. The resort is beautiful and the accomodation amazing. We enjoyed watching whales and dolphins frolic in the water - sometimes not far from shore. The villa was lovely with everything we could want.
Sandy was very responsive to all our questions and requests.
We are already planning a return trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 nights in Hali'i Kai

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The suite was nicer than we expected and certainly nicer than the first part of our stay with another condo in Kona earlier in the week. We were disappointed to only have 3 wine glasses (we were 4 adults) to enjoy wine with our dinners and the carpets in the main dining table area could use a good cleaning. Otherwise, very satisfied with the property and the amenities at Hali'i Kai. We would return again!

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

location great but property not

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Upon arrival we had to ask for several basic necessities. No garbage bags for container under sink, and when asked for one, we were given only 1. No facecloths, and when asked, we were given 3 (we were a family of 6). A remote for tv didn`t work. Several lightbulbs were burnt out. When checking under the beds upon checkout for any stray items there were socks from previous guests, and garbage and dirt. I guess they don`t vacum under the beds. The view out the windows would have been better if they would have been clean. We were told upon arrival there would be a pound of coffee as a welcome to the Island. That was forgotten as well. Upon checkout the cleaning service met us at the door, and he was very rude and abrupt. We tried out best to soften him and be friendly. Our Canadian warmth didn`t work on him. Hall`i Kai absolutely, but not the same property!!

Manager responded on 2/24/2011:
We are disappointed to receive this report after their departure as our on-site service can respond immediately. The guest arrived over 2 hours earlier than the scheduled check-in time. Though every effort was made to accomodate them so they could put food in the refrigerator and drop off their luggage, early arrivals will disrupt our ability to do a thorough inspection which may include checking lightbulbs and batteries. We provide a 'complementary sampling of 100% PURE Organic Kona Coffee' to enjoy during your stay, we do not advertise this as being a 'free pound of coffee'. Our housekeeping arrived shortly after check-out time and the guest departed nearly an hour late, though we were not rude it was necessary to begin cleaning for our next arrival. This is a beautiful property in excellent condition. We ask that our guests respect the arrival and departure times so we may properly prepare the property for your enjoyment.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Big Island Retreat

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We found Sandy Vacations Hali'i Kai (10H) property on the Big Island of Hawaii through Trip Advisor, and the property and our stay actually exceeded our expectations. Traveling with two small children (6 and 4), the villa's two bathrooms and three bedrooms, all outfitted with flat screen televisions, was a plus. The kitchen was large, well equipped, and the overall layout of the villa was perfect for our family.

While the property prohibits grilling on personal decks, the Ocean Club and pool area has a BBQ, great restaurant, and lava rock inspired pool overlooking the ocean.

While you have to pay $40 for key cards for entry to the property, Ocean Club, and for the use of these ammenities, it was well worth it--they were immaculate, well appointed, provided great service, and were never crowded (unlike the nearby Hilton and Marriott, which we visited, and which were both more crowded, including with visitors who were not staying at the properties).

For this (and other) properties, a rental car is a must to navigate Waikoloa and the island. We parked right in front of the ground level unit, which was very convenient.

During our stay, we found that we received the best discounts by booking via phone with vendors directly or via competing services. Shopping around saved us 25% to 50% off. We recommended the Ocean Sports snorkeling trip to the black sand beach; Dolphin Quest (adding on to the toddler program was the most economical, and we spent 40 minutes with dolphins not 10 minutes as promised); a luau (the Marriott seemed fine to us, but we're not experts); a trip to the Volcanoes National Park; and relaxing at A-Bay and nearby Hapuna Beach State Park (where the sand felt like silk).

Gas and food are expensive on the island, but Costco and Walmart were each great resources during our stay, but the nearby upscale marketplace offered really fresh food and convenience, too.

We hope to return to the island and ag

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I recommend this vacation rental

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We have already confirmed our return trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Did you have a good overall stay? Yes we did.
Was the vacation rental in a great location? Yes
Was the home clean and in good shape? clean, but I would not say in real good shape.The fan in the living room does NOT work.There is a broken dining room chair.There are several light bulbs that should be replaced.
Was the vacation rental management staff helpful? Roma, was very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The home was wonderful! Everything was the way it was described, and we enjoyed every minute of it. Whenever we had a problem, Sandy responded immediately and really took care of us. If we ever go back to Hawaii, we will be staying here again without a doubt. Thank you, Sandy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

you get what you pay for

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

This unit was chosen due to the cost, the view, location close to the pool and golf discounts. Unfortunately the owners are not maintaining the unit to the standards of other units in the complex. When we arrived we found the shower door to be off, the oven not working,a broken screen door, a floor mop in the patio door as a locking system and an extremely worn and stained carpet. We were promised that there would be a supply of standard products ie. hand soap, laundry soap. During our stay we had to purchase toilet paper, use our own hand soap (in addition to small amounts of soap provided the soap was very watery) and there was only enough laundry detergent for one load. I am not sure how we were expected to wash the towels prior to check out. The shower door was fixed while we were there and it was unfortunate that serviceman did not clean up (left window cleaner and towels on the floor). Although the view and location was wonderful we would not recommend this unit to friends or relatives. We look forward to staying at the resort Hali'I Kai again but in a different unit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful Sunsets!!"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2008

This unit was way more than we had expected. We had stayed before at Waikoloa however at a different property. The unit is beautifully decorated and fully stocked with everything (except food of course) that you need. We especially enjoyed the lanai as it faced the ocean and we were able to spend every evening watching the sunset as well as morning coffee watching the whales. The club and pool area is fantastic. You are right on the water and the view is spectacular!!! Only concern when we were there is the lack of a grill. There was a community grill at the pool club, but it was usually being used and never worked properly. However we understand that Hali'i Kai has installed more around the property to help with this concern. We highly recommend this unit, we hope to get back to Big Island and enjoy it again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful condo"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

This was a beautiful condo in a beautiful development. The location was perfect for us with a view of the ocean, and just far enough away from the pool club area to not be bothered with lots of foot and car traffic yet close enough for even the little one to walk. The large grassy area off the patio was also great if you have children. The interior is decorated as any high end hotel would be, with little extras such as plush robes in the master. My only recommendation would be to provide some more dresser drawer storage in the middle bedroom. Additionally, the gold package for golf was a HUGE bonus! The pool area is gorgeous and having the restaurant is a plus that none of the other condo areas in Waikoloa has. We would stay there again in a minute and recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful Home in superb surroundings"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2008

The home was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was provided. There were towels and a complete kitchen and washer and dryer and dishwasher. The little patio was comfortable and shopping was close by. The pools were well maintained and there was a good restaurant and bar for lunch and snacks. We brought our grown children (3) with us and there was plenty of room for us all. We spent a week together at this house and had a lovely time - overall a great experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"book now!"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2008

gated community with gate tendant, perfect location, quiet, with beautiful surroundings.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"great home"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2008

Good and roomy house for a family reunion with lovely grounds, views and easty walk to the pool and gym.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Awesome"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2008

This rental has an amazing view! All the furnishings were very nice especially the Kitchen! We enjoyed many hours just sitting on the patio and taking in the view. It is the perfect distance from the pool and the walking path along the water. Highly recommend this rental

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Serene, Beautiful Property"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2007

Beautifully furnished townhome with lovely view. Top amenities--granite counters, flat panel televisions, blender for tropical drinkmaking. Attached garage. Stay here instead of the crowded, expensive hotel next door. Exquisite ocean side pool,sand-bottom jacuzzi. Poolside food and drink can be ordered. We're going back asap!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great place to stay!"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2007

We stayed in one of the units at the Hali'i Kai resort in May of 2007. The unit was more than big enough for our party of seven. We appreciated the washer/dryer unit as we made good use of it, considering we traveled w/two small children. The kitchen is large enough for two or three people to work in at the same time. We have stayed in other units through Sandy Vacations - I would recommend them highly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great experience."

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

We loved everything. The home the view and of course the weather. The location was great for our whold family. Made a 50th anniversary perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Vacation Destination"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

The vacation property was very spacious and very well equiped. The decor of the property was spectacular. The ammenities of the community were very nice. The fact that Sandyvacation had a gold membership allowed for large discounts on golf green fees. Overall I recommend this highly. Sandy is a fantastic lady to deal with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Absolutely the best experience!"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2008

Unbelievable beautiful, clean, and fully equipped condo. Our 2 year old twins enjoy playing at the pool and backyard grass everyday. The pool is just a short walk away. We definitely want to return here soon. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Loved It"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The condo had everything we needed and exceeded our expectations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Awesome!!!"

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

What a place, what a view, what a location.what great amenities. What else can I say. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Setting

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

The condo is exactly as described, very convenient for the pool. Beautiful views, nothing like waing up and having a cup of coffee on the lanai looking at the ocean. The beds were very comfortble and the kitchen is well equipped. We would love to stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review