reviews for: listing #15326 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Magical Waterfall Estate - Mika Taki - In the Heart of Hilo
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Reeds Island
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $189 - $204 /nt
    $1,323 - $1,428 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Middle of Paradise!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

We truly loved our stay in Hilo and in the house. The Japanese architecture, design, décor - done with such exquisite taste - made our experience very special. We have lived and studied in Japan and thus it was all the more meaningful to live in this space for 7 days - in the middle of Paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We had a wonderful time touring the Big Island. The house was very clean. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unique!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

You have a beautiful house here. We enjoyed staying here so much. We really appreciated the uniqueness of your house & all the little things that made our stay enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Beautiful home. Thanks for sharing it with us. everything was perfect. The hot tub after our 18km hike to see the lava was so nice!!! Sleeping with the frog's song was lovely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beauty & location can't be beat

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

The photos are nice, but the house is even better! Our family of 5 arrived on a sunny afternoon (arrive in the daylight, because it gets dark here). The location is so convenient (walking distance) to downtown Hilo, yet it feels like you are miles away. The drive through the neighborhood is lovely with the one lane bridge, lush foliage and orchids and tropical flowers everywhere. Once inside the house, our kids were excited trying to determine which room to choose. Each room has its own bathroom and is beautifully decorated in a Japanese motif. The bedding is luxurious and the beds were very comfortable. I slept well once I got accustomed to the jungle sounds (rain and chirping coqui frogs). The owners have decorated the home with wonderful details and provided many conveniences: beach shoes (some beaches are rocky), beach towels, guide books, even a welcome basket with coffee and goodies. We enjoyed visiting the property's waterfall, but be sure to wear bug repellant. I loved walking around the neighborhood admiring the flora and fauna and met some very friendly neighbors who shared Hilo history. We discovered a few local restaurants worth mentioning: Tina's Garden Gourmet Café (amazing Thai food with lots of organic veggies), Moonstruck Patisserie (the best croissants outside of Paris) and Pineapples (delicious fish & chips and great live music -- make a reservation). Many local attractions are nearby: several waterfalls, Banyan Drive, Coconut Island, snorkeling with turtles. This home is a gem!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing rainforest/zen escape in Hilo!

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

Our family of 4 spent 3 wonderful nights here near the end of June. The place is tremendous...clean, well appointed, & decorated beautifully. The rooms, hot tub, & kitchen made for a superb family base while exploring the east side of the island. We did not want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Serene Sanctuary!

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

Mika Taki was the perfect finale to our Big Island trip. Tranquility is evident everywhere! Thank you for sharing your serene sanctuary. Many precious memories were made here. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Place!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Mika Taki was a perfect place to stay - Beautiful & Private. I've never slept so well! We really appreciated the use of all the little extras. Thanks for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything We Need!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Very nice house & well furnished with everything we would need. We didn't spend many daylight hours in the house, we came to see Hawaii. Were not disappointed with either.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 20, 2014

Such a wonderful place to stay during our time in Hilo. Perfect location and home for our visit. Thank you for sharing this amazing place with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing House!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 13, 2014

Had an amazing time in this amazing house! Thanks for sharing this place with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time - Perfect Home!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Dawn and I have had a fantastic time exploring the island. Thanks for having the perfect home for us to visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait to Come Back!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

This is our third visit to the Big Island, but first time staying on the Hilo side. We were looking for a different experience and could not be happier with both our choice of the Hilo side as well as this beautiful home. With seven in our party, this place is perfect. We love the waterfall and, yes, even the frogs! Thank you Jamie for all your hospitality and for making us feel at home here. I can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Island Home!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

What a n amazing and beautiful island! We visited Oahu and the big island, and both were filled with great people and wonderful places to visit! And to make our trip even better was this perfect island home! Thank you for sharing this home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mika Taki is "Hawaii"

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Mika Taki was "Hawaii"! Our first and likely only trip to these beautiful islands was everything we'd dreamed of as 'Hawaii.' Beautiful location for the perfect home base. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

.Wonderful! Magical!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

Thank you for providing such a wonderful, magical place to stay. It was a perfect size for our family of eight to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We will always cherish the memories we made here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

Thank you, we had a wonderful vacation at the Mika Taki. It is a beautiful home and suited all our needs and more. Should we ever get back to Hawaii we wouldn't hesitate to call you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Pleasure!

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

I have just returned to Japan from Hawaii, I and my wife and my friends were great plasure staying Mika Taki. Mika Taki was the best impression in that we have used until now.
We would like to stay you next time.

Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful home. Swimming in the waterfall was a lovely experience and topped off our amazing stay in Hilo. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What Luxury!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

What luxury! Even better than the photos & video. Your place is beautiful & so well equipped. We also loved the whirlpool & the waterfall. This is a fascinating place to visit. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Amazing!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: November 19, 2013

It was beautiful and amazing - Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

Just wanted to thank you for a wonderful stay, we completely enjoyed your house and all the amenities provided! All the beds were so comfortable and the kitchen had everything needed to cook great meals! The Hawaiian jungle atmosphere was a nice change for us and this property provided a perfect setting! Thank you, again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rain Forest Experience

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Mika Taki for one week. We enjoyed our stay there. The home is located right in the rain forest, and was a unique experience. We were greeted with a nice welcome basket when we arrived and there was a binder full of very helpful information. We were close to town and only about 10 minute drive to the ocean.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will Want to Stay Again

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

I wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay—the house was just as advertised. Our daughter had rented a property just a few doors down the road (“The Falls” property) where we had the wedding, so Mika Taki was very convenient. We have rented houses all over the country through VRBO and Mika Taki was certainly the most well-stocked of any we have stayed. It truly felt like we were staying in the home of a friend. If we return to Hilo in the future, it will definitely be the place we will want to stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Delight!

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

This house has been a delight. The first house we were in was horrid (it would be nearly 100 in the house when it was only 71 outside) so thank you so much for this beautiful relaxing home. We have 8 days in hotels and then we are back on Reeds island at a different home. I hope it is even half as wonderful as yours. Again thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mika Taki Was Fabulous!

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We made it safely back to the Mainland. Our vacation was very memorable and our stay at Mika Taki was fabulous. We rented three different houses on several islands and our favorite was yours. The welcome basket and little extras, like body wash are a very nice touch. I read your guest logs upon arrival and was concerned about the dryer from a comment several weeks before our visit, but not to fear, it worked wonderfully and there was an emergency number posted on the desk, just in case.

Mahalo for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Too Spectacular!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

This house is almost too spectacular to review. I kind of want to keep it a secret so it stays our little hidden gem. This 4 bedroom 4.5 bathroom house is situated just a few blocks from the main Hilo area but is far enough away to feel secluded. You’re surrounded by lush tropical rainforest that bursts to life every night. The froggy noises are so loud that light sleepers might have a difficult time sleeping. It felt really fun for us though since it’s unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. The home itself is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need on your stay. Another amazing bonus about this place is the private lagoon with waterfall. It’s spectacular. You could probably not leave the house for a few days and just lounge by the lagoon, BBQ, and be perfectly content with life. The lagoon has big tadpoles, prawns, and tons of little fishies that were fun to watch. It’s a tad on the chilly side but a nice relief from the warm weather and humidity.

We’re talking about renting this place out for our entire family some time soon. It’s really one of the best rental properties I’ve ever experienced. Leaving was the only thing I didn’t like about it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the House

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Aloha Jamie,

We loved the house. It is beautiful and quiet, exactly what we needed. We really miss Hilo already. We will definitely want to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Our family had a wonderful 2 weeks on Big Island and Maui. Your Mika Taki is very large and absolutely beautiful. There were many very thoughtful touches throughout the house. Though located in town, the house offers much needed peace and quiet. We love Hilo side of the Big Island. Thank you again for allowing our family to stay at your beautiful property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Five stars Hardly Qualifies - Extraordinary Home and Oasis

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Fortune guided me to this extraordinary retreat. On a whim I ventured into 4 bedroom rentals, and to my delight found MIKA TAKI. Same price as three bedrooms but several dimensions above. The quality, the care, the thought of design are at every step and it is a very large space. My family did not see the photos and had no idea what was in store. And like kids they bopped from one room to the next, delighted...simply delighted.
Jamie and Noi -- know what luxury is (from quality beds, appliances, design, lighting) but they clearly design this to be a unique, graceful space that resides in nature and compliments it.
Thank you! Thank you!
We enjoyed the hot tube, the large sectional couch, the TV room, the walks in the neigborhood, the birds and coqui - the private swim in the secluded, chilly lagoon, and more.
And we had a friendly B&W kitty welcome us home every day and every morning. Our person butler - We called him Tux-

Joyous time - We will return.

Mahalo - aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

What a uniquely Beautiful place. Rarely does a place outshine its photos. Lovely!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful House! We Loved it!

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We stayed 3 evenings at Mika Taki and loved this beautiful house!! It did rain a lot while we were there but I loved hearing the rain and all the coqui (frogs which actually sound like birds chirping). I did use ear plugs at night and had no trouble sleeping. My husband on the other hand liked going to sleep hearing the coqui. The house had everything we needed for a wonderful stay! It was close to Hilo's Farmer's Market (on Saturdays), Waterfalls and other interesting sights. We would definitely stay here again if we are able to get back to the Big Island someday. Jamie, the owner was fantastic to work with! She was responsive, kind and very helpful! Thank you for allowing us to stay at your lovely home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is absolutely beautiful!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Date entered: 11/25/2012

Aloha Jamie!

We have arrived at the estate and it is absolutely
beautiful! Mahalo for providing such lovely accommodations!
We are so comfortable and at home. Can't wait to get out and
start seeing more of the island.

Mahalo again,

Guest city-state/province: Pittsburg, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous Home

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

The home is absolutely gorgeous!! Clearly designed with a lot of thought and attention to detail. With all the beautiful vegetation it feels so private and yet you are so close to everything. I slept so well … falling asleep to the sounds of the "jungle" and/or the rain falling. The owner was very responsive every time I emailed with a question We appreciated all of the suggestions and we really squeezed in a lot!! Visited Volcano National Park, Akaka Falls, the Botanical Gardens and the wonderful Hilo's Farmers Market. Only sorry we were leaving the next day so we couldn't purchase food at the market!! We enjoyed Pesto's Cafe so much for dinner our first night that we returned for lunch one day. I'm not sure where I got the recommendation, but when we were at the Volcano we had lunch in a delightful place: Cafe Ono. Just be aware, the trip down to see the waterfall is perilous ... very narrow, steep slippery path.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home is absolutely gorgeous!!

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

Date entered: 11/10/2012

Aloha Jamie:

Your home is absolutely gorgeous!! Clearly designed with
a lot of thought and attention to detail. With all the
beautiful vegetation it feels so private and yet you are so
close to everything. I slept so well … falling asleep to
the sounds of the "jungle" and/or the rain falling. By the
way … "who" all is out there making those noises, one could
be anywhere!! Thank you for allowing us to stay in your
home and for all of the suggestions, we really squeezed in a
lot!! Visited Volcano National Park, Akaka Falls, the
Botanical Gardens and the wonderful Hilo's Farmers Market.
Only sorry we were leaving the next day so we couldn't
purchase food at the market!! We enjoyed Pesto's Cafe so
much for dinner our first night that we returned for lunch
one day. I'm not sure where I got the recommendation, but
when we were at the Volcano we had lunch in a delightful
place: Cafe Ono. If we return to Hilo, we will be sure
to get in touch with you again!

Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Chapel Hill, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Yes, definitely a memorable stay

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

Date entered: 11/01/2012

Yes, definitely a memorable stay. Your home is gorgeous, and Adan was very responsible for any needs. Each bedroom with its own bathroom was a huge draw and everyone had their privacy or togetherness as desired. Internet connection was great so either laptops, iPad, or smart phones were going. The World Series was occurring during our stay so we made our activities based on the games (of course we're all Giants Fans). Thank you for the crib for our grandson, he slept well, just as we all did to the sounds of the critters. All in all, couldn't have been better.

Thank you, aloha!

Guest city-state/province: Gilroy, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 years later

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

We stayed here five years ago just after our wedding and I STILL think of this place. The pictures do not give this home the credit it deserves. This is more than a place to stay like a hotel room, it is a vacation all in itself. Sit, relax, listen to the beautiful sounds of nature. One day we will be back to visit your hidden treasure.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best experience we could have ever had

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Date of Comment: October 21, 2012

Jamie & Noi,
After being deplaned in Chicago and losing our luggage for
24 hours, we finally arrived at Mika Mizu at 8 pm (where we
still had no luggage). The cottage was amazing so nothing
else bad that happened all day mattered. It was very clean
and very homey. We loved snorkeling in Hilo and each
shoreline we stopped, driving around the whole island.
Thank you so much for the best experience my husband and I
could have ever had on our honeymoon. We very much do not
want to go back to reality in the 40 degree below and rainy
weather in Wisconsin. Someday we hope to return!

Guest city-state/province: Waupun, WI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Like living in your own private forest!

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

My daughter and her family took me to Mika Taki and we were all even more delighted than we already thought we'd be from the wonderful photos. The home is beautifully furnished, decorated, and fully equipped to meet all your needs. Even though you are a five minute drive from downtown Hilo, you feel like you're off in a private forest. It was relaxing, peaceful, beautiful, and we hesitated even to leave Mika Taki to go sightseeing! My family loved swimming by the waterfall, my son-in-law built a prawn cage and we had bbqued prawns. (He left it there for future guests to use.), I - with horrific insomnia generally - slept better than I have in eons. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for a month! BTW, we live on Maui - also very beautiful - so if we were that thrilled with Mika Taki it really means something!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! The jewel of the crown MIKA TAKI

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

Date entered: 09/16/2012

Jamie & Noi,

Wow! This word summarizes all or feelings and impressions
regarding this wonderful summer house. There were so many
things that impressed us... the welcome basket, all the
amenities, all the Asian details that give this house a very
homey touch.
All of us, wished we could stay for a couple of months
here, but reality called us and under torture "must" return
to our homes in Germany .
We take away with us very nice memories from this Hilo
visit, particularly, from the jewel of the crown MIKA TAKI.

We shall return!!!

Guest city-state/province: Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This most secluded, exotic lovely home

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Date entered: 09/11/2012

Thank you for sharing this most secluded, exotic lovely
home with us.
Your home is a hidden treasure and we appreciate all its
facits.
The entire family was able to enjoy the Big Island & a
relative's wedding in high style due to your generosity.
home is planned with everything needed when we were so
far from home.

Thanks again.

Guest city-state/province: Las Vegas, NV

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A waterfall in the back yard!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

Date entered: 09/05/2012

Hi Jamie,

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed staying at Mika
Taki. Hilo was an unexpected delight – very real, casual,
and non-touristy – and our weather was great. The
neighborhood of the house was spectacular – like living in
the middle of a rain forest but just a short walk to
downtown and the waterfront. And the house was beautiful –
much more space than we needed, private, very comfortable,
and quite special inside and out (4 bedrooms, a bathroom for
each, and a waterfall in the back yard!). Hawaii is very
far from Ottawa but I’m sure to want to return to the Big
Island, Hilo, and Mika Taki.

Thanks again for everything!

Guest city-state/province: Ottawa Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Majestic Waterfall down below

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Date entered: 09/03/2012

Our stay at Mika Taki for the past 3 days has truly felt
like living in Paradise! From the Majestic Waterfall down
below to the serenading sound of birds, we can truly say we
have experienced Hawaii. Thank you for sharing this
wonderful home with us, it has been an amazing experience!

Sincerely,

Guest city-state/province: Clermont, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have a beautiful, well-thought home

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Date entered: 08/15/2012

You have a beautiful, well-thought home. We felt right at
home. Thank you for the welcome gift. Much appreciated. The
visit gave us the ability to re-connect with our Hilo family.
Felt this was a great base for most of the activities.
Sad to leave... it's my birthday too!

Guest city-state/province: Chicago, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best vacation home that we have ever stayed

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Date entered: 08/12/2012

Mahalo!

This is the best vacation home that we have ever stayed.
It's quite spacious for 7 of us. We can see the hosts
really put the mind to deco the house. We enjoyed it even
just staying in the house. Although most of the activities
we attended are at the Kona area, we still think it's worth
the drive.

Guest city-state/province: San Jose, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We felt like we were at home

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Date entered: 08/04/2012

Thank you for the nice gift basket that welcomed us when we
arrived. We felt like we were at home. We spent seven days
exploring this beautiful Island. The beauty of nature will
surely bring us back!

Guest city-state/province: Quebec, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So well equipped

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Date entered: 07/27/2012

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to stay in your
beautiful home - so well equipped & with a very welcoming &
relaxing atmosphere.

Granny!

Guest city-state/province: North Yorkshire, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We're sad to leave Mika Taki

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Date entered: 07/27/2012

We've had an unbelievably relaxing yet invigorating stay
in your home. We immediately felt settled and content and
thought your home was beautiful.
It was a great base to explore the Big Island.
Everything we needed was available in the house, all five
of us had plenty of time to relax.
We're sad to leave Mika Taki.

Guest city-state/province: North Yorkshire, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Back to Hilo

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

It has been a long time since we had been back to Hilo. We needed to reconnect with family and friends as well as the volcanoes, Akaka Falls, etc. Mika Taki was the perfect place for the visit. So much better than a hotel. I can't begin to list the advantages and the overall experience that we had here. Even when it rained the house is peaceful and comfortable. It has all the amenities and more. The owners are informative and have the logistics well thought out. We will place this at the top of the considerations list when we come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house was wonderful

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Date entered: 07/29/2012

Your house was wonderful. We loved it and we have had a very
memorable week.

Maholo.

Guest city-state/province: England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I had an absolutely great time

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

June 29, 2012

I will miss Mika Taki, but I had an absolutely great time.
It was fun staying here and exploring Hawaii Island. It was
a great way to celebrate my Opa s Birthday.

Guest city-state/province: Angel Camp, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is an absolutely wonderful house

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

June 28, 2012

This is an absolutely wonderful house. All of us enjoyed the
experience of living in This and exploring this quaint
Island. This was our way of celebrating my husband 70th
birthday with our kids and grandkids.

Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Angel Camp, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow, wow, wow!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

Wow, wow, wow! We were speechless as we arrived and
explored the house. And of course, our first adventure was
down to the Waterfall - what a trip. Mahalo nui loa for
providing this beautiful hale in Hilo, we are blessed to
experience the serenity and peace of Reed Island at Mika Taki.
What a wonderful gift.
With warm Aloha,

Guest city-state/province: La Selva Beach, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house is a haven of tranquility

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Aloha from Tampa, FL. Your house is a haven of tranquility
- Thank you for sharing it. We also echo the thanks for the
gift basket and the kitchen supplies - So helpful! We
recommend Blue Hawaii Helicopters, Fair Winds for snorkeling,
the Botanical Gardens - All great excursions.
Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hated to leave such a beautiful place

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

Thank you for the opportunity for our family of 6 to stay at
your beautifully decorated home. We hated to leave such a
beautiful place. Good blessings to you.

Guest city-state/province: Monrovia, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for entertaining my Japanese relatives

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

Aloha from New York, New Jersey & Japan. Thank you for the
wonderful hospitality of your home. It couldn't be more
perfect for entertaining my Japanese relatives (Right down to
the dishes). We all enjoyed our stay and the Big Island was
perfect. "Mahalo"

Guest city-state/province: New York, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Priceless

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Wisconsin and Michigan does not offer the frog then bird
serenade we received. We are several generations and there
was serenity in each nook and cranny. Magical. Our souls are
refreshed and restored. Whether a cool plunge by the
waterfall or the suggested warmth of the fireplace or the
sweet air through the venting system. Priceless.

Guest city-state/province: Green Bay, WI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We'll BE BACK"

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

Went to the top of Mauna Kea. It just seems like there's
way too many stars! Look for the Big Dipper or Orion and
they are hard to find because of so many stars. Visitor
center has a star talk at 6.30 and then they set up very
cool telescopes. The viewing is amazing Jupiter, Moon,
Nebula etc...
Helicopter ride over volcano - Sweet. Saw sky lights &
Flowing lava of hillside of Puulo vent. You can also see it
with good binoculars from the end of highway 130. Bring
flash lights & good shoes.
The WaterFall below the house was really a double
waterfall - Take the plunge it's cold but you have a hot
shower & hot tub at the top of the walk. Do it!
Richardson Beach State Park always fun - millions of
turtles. Also saw HI monk seal there. It's at the south
end of where 11 & 19 come together. Just by the coast & go
south until almost the very end of the road. Snorkeling
good there too! Enjoy HI.
Aloha!
"We'll BE BACK"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This house made it unforgettable

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

This was our 1st time on the Big Island, and this house made
it unforgettable. This is an awesome island with its
volcanoes, rain forests, pastures, beaches etc. Thanks for
making our stay a good time.

Guest city-state/province: St Louis, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed & are going to miss Mika Taki so much!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

We enjoyed and are going to miss Mika Taki so much! Thank
you for sharing your beautiful home with us and for all of the
thoughtful amenities. We stayed in the back bedroom and are
buying a Tempurpedic mattress as soon as we get home! Great
base camp for an amazing trip.

Guest city-state/province: St Louis, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A special place to celebrate our 50th anniversary!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

What a special place to celebrate our 50th anniversary!
Mika was way beyond our expectations, delightfully
accommodating for our large family group. Thanks for sharing
your home with us. We hope to come back next year.
Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Heathrow, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most Amazing House

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

My daughter and I spent a glorious week in the house. It is everything and more that the description, pictures and reviews depict! It is definitely magical and the location is wonderful. You feel like you are in a jungle, so remote, yet you are minutes to downtown Hilo. The Japanese motif is beautiful inside and out. I spent many beautiful moments sitting on the deck off of the media room, listening to the river, the birds and the rain fall. It is a place I would like to come back to.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Surrounded by the lush vegetation

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Date entered: 05/15/2012

Thanks, Jamie. Our stay was fantastic! I didn't get to leave a comment in the guest book, but I would have written so many accolades. I loved the feeling of being surrounded by the lush vegetation and the river is beautiful! The house is so peaceful. My absolute favorite place was the deck area off of the media room. I sat there many times listening to the rain fall, the river rushing by and watching all the beautiful birds!

Mahalo!

Guest city-state/province: Amherst, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is wonderful, more than I imagined

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Date entered: 05/10/2012

Hi Jamie,

The house is wonderful, more than I imagined. Thank you for everything! I met Adam yesterday. Everything is going very well.

Take Care,

Guest city-state/province: Amherst, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Too good to be true

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Hilo is an old sugar plantation town and it is on the wet side of the island. There are not many places to stay but the Maki Taki is a luxurious home that the owners have invested an enormous amount. It has 4 bedrooms, 4 private bathrooms, a hot tub, full kitchen with every utensil known to mankind. It is a short walk down to a terrific virtually private waterfall which is swim-able underneath. There are some great excursions on this side of the island and I consider it a must to visit it. The owners are very easy to work with and give a good value. I recommend this beautiful Hilo home without reservation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is a destination in itself

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Date entered: 08/19/2011

Thank you so much for the gift basket. We enjoyed the coffee through out our stay. The house is a very special place and a destination in itself. Our grand daughter enjoyed the pond. We all loved the hot tub. The tub was especially refreshing after hiking the volcano trails and zip lining.

Guest city-state/province: Lompoc, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice visit! Thanks!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

Date entered: 11/22/2011

Very nice visit! Thanks!
My family and I were here for the big celebration of the 50th anniversary of the founding of the U. S. Peace Corps. I trained in Hilo, February - April, 1964, at the old hospital at Rainbow Falls. Lots of good memories of my time in Hilo way back then.

Guest city-state/province: Okemos, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very nice visit! Thanks!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

Date entered: 11/22/2011

Very nice visit! Thanks!
My family and I were here for the big celebration of the 50th anniversary of the founding of the U. S. Peace Corps. I trained in Hilo, February - April, 1964, at the old hospital at Rainbow Falls. Lots of good memories of my time in Hilo way back then.

Guest city-state/province: Okemos, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your shinning rainforest paradise

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

Date entered: 10/27/2011

Thankyou, thankyou thankyou ... for sharing with us your shinning rainforest paradise. We hardly wanted to leave the house as we were in awe of and comfy in, our surrondings. This has truly been an incredible few days and we wish we could stay longer.
Many thanks for sharing this special place with us!

Guest city-state/province: Belair, South Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The thoughtful extras are everywhere

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

Date entered: 09/26/2011

Greetings and a million thank yous for a perfect Hawaiian home. The house is peaceful and welcoming in everyway. The thoughtful extras are everywhere and truly appreciated. The maps were so helpful in locating points of interest. The gardens, patio and hottub were wonderful and enjoyed. We are leaving it (with regret).

Mahalo!
Guest city-state/province: St Louis, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The thoughtful extras are everywhere

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

Date entered: 09/26/2011

Greetings and a million thank yous for a perfect Hawaiian home. The house is peaceful and welcoming in everyway. The thoughtful extras are everywhere and truly appreciated. The maps were so helpful in locating points of interest. The gardens, patio and hottub were wonderful and enjoyed. We are leaving it (with regret).

Mahalo!
Guest city-state/province: St Louis, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Appreciated it to the last second

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Date entered: 08/27/2011

Thank you so much. We really enjoyed staying here and appreciated it to the last second.

Guest city-state/province: Tustin, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This place ROCKS!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Entered: 08/20/2011

Thank you so much. I want to come back soon. This place ROCKS!

Guest city-state/province: Lompoc, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stunning Location

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

Date entered: 12/02/2011

Jamie, thank you for the use of your awesome home. It's a
stunning location and your house provided really nice
amenities. Monica and Adam were great support. Adam quickly
responded to every question I had. We also had many great
Puna adventures we would love to tell others about.

Mahalo, our very positive testimonials will follow soon.

Best regards, Vince
Guest city-state/province: Orange, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a homeaway gem

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

I base by bookings on reviews, and in most cases feel a responsibility to add my two cents in. In this case it is an honor to write a review for this property. As a vacation property owner / manager and real estate professional, I know what to expect and have very high standards for homes that I book. This property, home and the owners exceeded every expectation.

Located in a "real" neighborhood, just outside of Hilo over a little one lane bridge this home gives you the feeling that you are really a local. For the time you are there, you really are home. We arrived a little early, and had the pleasure of meeting the owners, who take exceptional care of their properties and also were so nice. They took the time to talk to us about Hlio, share some of the fruit they had picked from the property and give us some info about the property. Little Louise (the cat aka Kitty or Oreo) was also there to say hello.

The waterfall is a bit of a hike to get to, but our 70+ Mum from London was able to make the walk w/ us and we all enjoyed the pool and the waterfall. Louise also joined us on our hike down scampering down the hill and then back up w/ us.

Hilo is a WONDERFUL side of the island. I had been discouraged from going by some folks on the Waikoloa side saying that it was lost in time, and the frogs were loud, blah blah blah. I almost did not book, but went with my feeling and went ahead. I am SOOOO glad that I did. I love Hilo, the people and the beauty of this side of the island. It felt real, and not manufactured. It felt comfortable, and welcoming and what I imagine Hawaii should feel like. It is NOT touristy in any way, and they do not allow new hotels to be built, hence the preservation of "old Hawaii" .. Honestly, it is fantastic! If you love nature, walks, shopping local, green/ rainforest feel, beautiful drives, and getting off the tourist path you will love this side of the island too.

Start off your Hilo adventures by booking this property, or one of the sister properties owned by the same couple. You will be so glad that you did!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to our return

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Thanks very much. We had a wonderful time! We look forward to our return to this or one of your other properties. You've done a terrific job. Thanks! Lynn

Sent from Lynn's iPad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It really was magical!

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful home and we would have loved to stay longer. Each bedroom is lovely with its own unique decor (all Asian-motif, but each room has its own look and feel.) The kitchen is my dream kitchen and that was pretty tough to leave.Everything was sparkling clean and there was a vast array of condiments (all the spices, sauces, olive oil et al really add up when you're buying them all for only a few days of cooking.) These folks have done a wonderful job selecting art throughout the house. There are beautiful hard wood floors and just a wonderful feel to the place. But they're right that it's likely not a kid friendly place. Be aware that the falls and ponds are only accessible via a steep, slippery path (with many warnings and a locked gate.) We have some mobility restructions an were not able to make that climb. The water is not visible directly from the house. You can hear it...just not see it. With that said, that wouldn't stop us for a minute in staying there again. It's a handy location to all of the eastern side of the Island. And Hilo and the Hamakua Coast is a too-often-missed aspect of the Big Island. It's laid back and very 'old Hawaii.' I don't know if the owners are aware of it, but a young black & white kitty has taken up residence in the yard. She's quite charming and was named Oreo by a previous guest (according to the guest book in the living room.) It was actually rather charming to have a welcome committee every time you came home! We picked up where the previous guests had left off and put a bowl of food out in the morning. We found a box of kitten chow there when we arrived and replenished it before we left. Be sure to time your visit so you can shop for fruits, vegies and great local products at the famous Hilo Farmer's Market on Wednesday and Saturday. The Hilo Bay Cafe also turned out to be our new favorite restaurant in Hilo. Located in a strip mall with the Walmart, the food was terrific (nice preparations, local ingredients), it has a full bar, good service and just a very nice dining experience. Good restaurants are still very limited on this side of the island, so take advantage of the house's beautiful kitchen and the excellent KTA supermarket just past the Hilo airport. With the addition of the farmer's market...you're set! Even though this is a big house, there were just two of us. But it didn't feel too big...just luxurious. We had guests for dinner one night and it was a fun place to entertain.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was spectacular!!

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

Thank you so much!!! We had such an amazing time and the house
was spectacular!! Everything was so beautiful and made for
the perfect vacation!!! Thank you SO much!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful, wonderful experience !

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

What a wonderful, wonderful experience we had. Such a
beautiful home and so many little touches to make guests
fell welcome and taken care of.
We had so many feasts prepared in the beautiful kitchen.
The waterfall and the hot tubs were definitely enjoyed. And
the night time sounds were so peaceful. Probably the best
surprise, though, was the beautiful little black and white
kitten, who kept us from getting too lonely for our own
pets.
Many thanks. We are already looking forward to our next
visit.
guest city-state/province: St. John's, NL Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was truly magical

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home with us. It was truly magical for one week. It really is true about the house having all the things needed to feel like home. Hilo is gorgeous. This truly is a magical place. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the amenities of home

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

We arrived late Sunday evening & were unsure of what to
expect only to find a beautiful home set right in the middle
of paradise. It took sometime getting used to the "jungle"
noises at night, but after a few nights it became
comforting. We had all the amenities of home. The
proximity of your home provided easy access to the sights of
the Big Island. We were able to experience the culture of
Hawaii without the typical hustle & bustle of tourism.
Thank you for making this our best vacation to date!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the Amenities

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We truly enjoyed your beautiful home. Very peaceful &
relaxing. Love listening to all nature's sounds in the
evening. Enjoyed the hike to the waterfall. Very beautiful.
Your home was truly comfortable for us. We had a lovely
vacation. Mahalo.

Wasilla, AK

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family loved it all

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

06/25/2011

Mahalo for your home - it is beautiful. All the details one
would need for a relaxing vacation. Our family loved it all.

Pearland, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lush Tropical Setting

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

August 6-9, 2011
Beautiful house in the lush tropical setting - it was perfect. The waterfall was a bonus! Many thanks for the kind welcome and perfect accommodations.
We are sad to say good-bye
from Carmel, Indiana USA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Our stay in your beautiful home was the perfect way to start our honeymoon! It is such a peaceful and restful spot, which was much needed after the hustle and bustle of our wedding. We especially loved hearing such diverse wild life - from bird songs during the day to the night sounds of bull frogs and other peepers. Waking up to the sounds of the waterfall below was so wonderful! The house's proximity to town, yet its feeling of being in a remote rainforest, was so lovely. Thank you for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Every other year my family spends vacation together. This trip to Hilo in your hme was the ultimate vacation. Your home is beautiful - all your decorative touches and great supplies (lanterns, snorkeling equip.). Thank you so much for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise on an Island on the Big Island

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We absolutely loved this property. This was a Christmas gift that we gave our children. Right from the start, the directions were very clear, from the airport, to unlocking the gates and doors and we felt very secure. The property was very clean and close to grocery stores, Farmers Market (which is a must see), and what became one our favorite night time stops, Kozmic Kones. We wanted to save as much money as possible so we took full advantage everything this property provided to us (i.e. gas grill, cooler for when we went to the Black Sand Beach, kitchen appliances, the lanterns to the volcano for our night visit to see the lava, unbrellas, etc.). After a long hike through the Volcano National Park, we all relaxed in the Jacuzi with the wine that you provided us in the lovely gift basket. At night we felt like we were living in the "jungle" with all the lovely sounds from the frogs, birds, rain and waterfalls. I recommend this property to everyone staying on the Big Island. We miss it already!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Place!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This place is awesome! Wish we would've rented out this place for an entire week. I hope that we can return again. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lush Tropical Setting

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Beautiful house in a lush tropical setting - it was perfect after our 5 days of beach & sunshine on Kohala Coast! The waterfall was a bonus. Many thanks for the kind welcome and perfect accommodations. We are sad to say good-bye.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Come True

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Our stay was absolutely wonderful and this beautiful house was a dream come true. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Falls

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

Loved our stay at Mika Taki. The house is beautifully decorated. Everyone loved the swim in the falls. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Home

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

After 7 days in Kona, we finally made it to Paradise. We probably spent an hour just exploring this fabulous home. You've really done a fantastic job creating a zen & welcoming space. Plus points for having left over goods in the kitchen - it's always wonderful to not have to buy all new spices to cook. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home. We loved our stay on the jungle side.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oasis in Hilo

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We had a wonderful 12-day stay at Mika Taki! The house and surroundings have such a peaceful, relaxing energy. We loved swimming under the waterfall. This house is our new standard for vacation rentals - everything we could possibly need is provided, plus high-end appliances and we're now gonna have to install a Japanese soaking tub in our house when we get home. We loved it! Thanks for a wonderful retreat at this oasis in Hilo! Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing House

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Such an amazing house & location. Best & most serene place we've stayed on vacation. We'd recommend this to others in an instant.
Thanks for the use of your wonderful home.

Mika Taki is filled with grace & beauty. Truly a retreat to enjoy! Thank you for your hospitality. Mahalo. PS the gift basket & well stocked cupboards were an unexpected but welcome surprise. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Vacation

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

We truly enjoyed your beautiful home. Very peaceful & relaxing. Loved listening to all nature's sounds in the evening. Enjoyed the hike to the waterfall. Very beautiful. Your home was truly comfortable for us. We had a lovely vacation. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

If Paradise looks like this we will enjoy to be there. Thank you for every attention. This is so peaceful and relaxing. We really appreciate it. I hope we can come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magnificent!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

What a magnificent house you have. It has truly met with all our expectations. Even the frogs have their place in the surroundings. It is very peaceful and private. Thank ou for letting us all stay here. Hopefully one day we will rturn.

We shared your house with a family from New Zealand, and it could not have been more fun, gracious and comfortable. Not only are all possible amenities here, but the extra touches are charming. The waterfall is indeed magical, too! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hilo for 5 days

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

We have been to Hilo and the Eastern side of the Big Island many times without staying overnight. We wanted to rectify that situation as we enjoyed ourselves on those visits so we booked five nights at Mika Taki. Are we glad we did!! The house is fabulous and having more time to explore greater Hilo was a brilliant plan. The house was a lot more than the two of us really required but the stocking of the kitchen and the décor of the interior was just what we needed. The house is so well done that the visitor feels at home right away. We never even went to the drug store. A trip to the market the following morning and we were all set. Here we were concerned about having some coffee in the morning, so much so that we brought our own from home. No need. Louise greeted us at the door as we were dealing with the lock. Louise is the friendly cat as we learned from the housekeeper later in the stay. Be sure to feed Louise and her mates. Finding this place on a rainy dark night was not a problem as we knew what the mail box looked like. Next time we will go for the smaller property Mike Mizu next door. If the rental car agency wants to give you a big boat/bote/barge of a car, say NO! The driveway and the big barge were not a good match.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

Thanks so much for your prompt handling of the security deposit. We had a wonderful time in your home. It was the perfect size for our family. We love to cook and particularly enjoyed the well equipped kitchen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best on the Big Island!

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

Just wanted to thank you so much for letting us rent your house. Of the three houses we rented on the big island, yours was our hands down favorite. Your house was the topic of conversation during and after our trip. We hope to return soon! Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review