reviews for: listing #15339 - Mendocino, California House rental

Mendocino 43 Acres Lagoon/Ocean View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $210 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Manchester by the lagoon

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Pro's Very, very, very private and quite. Large rooms with a good layout. View from every room. Single car garage if you like that. Large screen satellite TV. Large spa (which I had to drain on arrival, no big deal) it was good for the remainder of the stay. The local market hardware store (S&B) was OUTSTANDING! Less than a half mile walk, fresh produce, butcher on site, designer wines, beer, good selection of hard stuff. No need to bring groceries at all. Prices were more than fair for the coast. We only ate out once for lunch at the Point Arena Wharf, the Chowder House and Tap Room. Black Cod was good.

Con's Cell phone coverage is very spotty, typically 1-2 bars. WIFI was really not an internet at all with no upload and download at .75 Mbps, it was way slower than dial up. Ok maybe you don't come to a setting like this for internet, but at home I download at 80Mbps and upload at 40Mbps plus so I had visions of surfing the web in the spa, but not.

Comments No direct access to the beach from the property, you have to drive 5 miles north to Irish Beach of south 2 miles to coastal access (.6 miles over dunes to the ocean). Location was accurate but easy to miss. Listing photos are accurate, although there is a new spa now. The property needs a little handyman stuff, some of the windows were missing screens, and I had to glue a kitchen tile on that fell off, but nothing big. For our needs, it was the perfect compromise to not being able to get to our own primitive cabin in the woods, so this was upscale with power, LP gas, and hot water.

Would recommend to anyone wanting absolute peace and quite, with a great view but no internet.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the thorough and very descriptive review! It's so nice of you to take the time to share your thoughts and we appreciate your kind words. I'd like to add that we have had trouble very recently with the internet, but that we are working on it and ordinarily our service is very fast and reliable wireless high speed. Also, there are several beaches nearby and not all of them require climbing over the dunes. Thanks again, and please come back anytime! We loved having you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect home away from home

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at Mendocino Manor and absolutely loved it! The six of us had plenty of room(4 adults and two children) along with two dogs who had a ball. The house was spacious and clean and was equipped with every thing we needed to cook, clean, do laundry, etc. The view is beautiful and the spa was so enjoyable. There is a grocery store a minute or two from the house which was very handy. Irish beach was really neat, we had tons of fun climbing on all of the built up drift wood that was collected on the beach. Point arena is also very close and the drive is beautiful! Kelley was such a joy to work with, and we met the new owner upon arrival who was very nice as well. We highly recommend Mendocino Manor to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mrs

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Charming home on a huge private parcel; no neighbors can be seen from the house. The house is a bit rustic, but cannot complain for the price; an excellent deal. Our dog, Goose loved it! The view is sooo much better than the photo allows. We saw different owls flying by in the evening and a deer strolled into the yard, very beautiful. Lots of fun stuff to do near by and Irish beach was lovely. We had an excellent time and plan to come back. The owner and caretaker were very friendly:)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

We loved the house. It was spacious and homey. Plenty of room for husband, me, and our daughter and her husband. We found the kitchen to be generously supplied with everything we needed for preparing meals. The nearby grocery store had all the groceries we needed. There is a multitude of nearby places to explore and upon returning, the house was so comfortable for relaxing. We had dinner at the Chowder House in Arena Point one night and just loved it. Ate on the deck and enjoyed the surfers and the sunset.
I didn't want to leave Mendocino Manor; hopefully we will be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wedding bliss . . .

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

We arrived the day before our wedding ceremony held on the cliffs overlooking Mendocino. My 12 year-old son came with my fiance and me to witness and celebrate the event. We enjoyed the quiet hide-a-way. The owner was generous and accommodating and the property is really lovely. Thank you so much for fabulous memories . . .

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday week

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

This is our 3rd time we rented from the owner. The best part of staying here is the access to the private beach. New to our vist at this property is the hot tub. So enjoyable. We travel with our 2 dogs and find this property so welcoming and spacious. We hope to be back again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Esquivel's Spot

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

WOW - what a great place. It was so clean and ready right on time. We were so impressed with the open layout of the home, the little touches that made it like coming home, and such a well stocked kitchen. The owners were great to work with and were super friendly. The dogs had a blast in such a wide open space. If you want peace, seclusion, and a beautiful view, this is the place for you!! The private beach access was wonderful. We all had a blast. Mom, dad, three adult children, two significant others, one beautiful grand baby, and all the dogs.....not ONE complaint from anyone. PRICELESS family time. Nothing beats sitting in a hot tub while watching the sun go down on the water. We will certainly be staying again soon!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, Lisa! We can't wait until your return. It's certainly heartwarming to hear about such a close, fun family gathering, and we are privileged to provide our vacation rental home for such a happy occasion. I'm so glad you were so comfortable and pleased. Until next time, all the best, Kelley

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

3 day relaxation

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Just a little r & r in Mendocino for my wife, myself and daughter.
Cozy and quiet cabin(more like a house). Enough room to fit a 2nd family. We had everthing we needed: washer,dryer,stove,microwave, and every kitchen utensil that was necessary. It had 4 beds and a shower and bath. The wood beam ceilings are beautiful. The place was clean as a whistle.We used a couple of space heaters and blankets and snuggled up and watched the the beach and water from the large glass doors in the living room.And took a dip in the 104degree hottub went it got dark.
Walked the trail by the house and saw 3 deer and a beaver. Plenty of wild life: chipmunks, hawks and nearby farms with lambs,cows and goats. I took some great pictures of the beaches.There are walking trails and beaches everywhere.Bought some gifts in downtown Mendocino and the coffee at the organic coffee store was the best I had in 6 months. Found some good wine and at a decent price at the liquor store across from the general store in Pt. Arena.
A little treacherous driving around Mt. View Rd., I should have driven up rte 1 which is a little less scary,plus you could stop by and see one of the early Russian settlements.
Drove to a large garage before Pt. Arena and a lady had a consignment shop there with old furniture and miscellaneous items. Fun and old stuff. Found some old ball jars for canning and my wife picked up some jewelry.
Drove to Geyserville and had a fabulous lunch at Diavola. There are wineries in every direction and stopped to pick up a few items at a 100 yr old store across from Diavola.
What a GREAT weekend!
I have stayed in a lot of fancy 5 star restaurants and hotels traveling to work on my food and wine blog.
Every once in awhile you have to get back to your roots and see nature and find peace and quiet away from the city and technology.
Kelley's place was right in the heart of it. Simple, restful, quiet, and close to everything I needed.
THANKS Kelley for a delightful weekend ! It was nice to be alone with my family and show my daughter the beauty of this world and to meet other people.
Will be back again.
Next time with more friends and family...
Steven.
Steven,Kathy,and Kierann

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Wow, Steven, you folks know how to have a good time! How exciting to hear about the beaver on the property, and thanks for all of the great tips. I'm just sorry the propane fireplace was acting up during your stay. Please be assured it will be more reliable when you come back! In the meantime, thanks again and hope to see you soon! Warmly, Kelley

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Needs a little work

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Hi,
First I must say that Kelley, the owner is very kind and sweet, and checked in with us about our stay. Feel awful to write a negative review, since most others are all great. Maybe my family and I are just too picky??? The price was good for us though. The location is indeed quiet, and did see deer one morning, but the view from the house is quite far away, unless you take the short trail to the bench area. Restaurants we tried were in Point Arena - a short drive away, but we were disappointed with the both we tried, Chowder House and Pheonix - not good at all, in fact awful! The house needs some TLC, new curtains (that actually open and close) a carpet clean, and kitchen needs thorough clean (the cooker hood was awful and even had cobwebs in it),and I had to clean everything before using it, and light fixtures need bulbs, and plugs in bathrooms needed to be fixed. Having the open bathrooms actually in the bedrooms was a little odd, but worked, although there is only one shower, the other room has a bath tub, so we had to shuffle around in the a.m.'s for everyone to get a shower.. The hot tub lid was extremely heavy, and took 3 of us to lift it off, but nice once you're in, looking at the stars. Fully stocked, plenty of towels and bed linens. The fireplace took the chill off the rooms. For the price is was fine, and wanted to like it more. Sorry.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: I appreciate your candidness in admitting that you might be "too picky", Elaine, as most people remark about how very clean Mendocino Manor is. I was also surprised by your negative review of the restaurants you mentioned, as our guest book is chock full of compliments about both the Phoenix (some say it's as good as any restaurant in S.F.)and the Chowder House. I do want readers to know that the curtains do open and close, and we have ordered a new hot tub cover and will be sure to stock up on light bulbs. Sorry for your inconvenience...it sounds like you just didn't have a good trip all the way around! All the best to you and yours, Kelley

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great family vacation house

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in early January, 2012 ... it was a last minute arrangement when our other place turned out to be a dive. Very happy that we came here (3 adults, 2 young kids). Lots of sun, cheery, comfortable, in good repair and clean, large property to enjoy, fun sitting in hot tub after day of exploring the area. Went riding 5 minutes from here (Ross Ranch beach ride)- was quite enjoyable.
Recommend this house for anyone looking for a reasonably priced, well-located vacation rental in the Mendocino area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing with a Beautiful View

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful location for a long weekend. The house was spacious for our needs and we found it exactly as was advertised. We hope to come back soon.

Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girls Getaway!

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

Absolutely the best! This is our 3rd time back and we are looking forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Time - Beautiful Vista Views!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

“Comfortably Loved” is how we’d describe the home. We just returned from a 4-day weekend stay and found the home very enjoyable. The home is well stocked for your needs, just bring the groceries! Our Labs loved the daily multiple trail walks on the property. The benches on the bluff are a sweet surprise. It’s nice to sit and take in the beautiful natural soundings. Amazingly, we found the beds quite comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped, as well as the home. The views from the home and deck are beautiful. Irish Beach is worth the short drive, what a rarity to see and enjoy. Directions provided by owner were helpful in finding our bearings. The owner is a joy to work with and we had an easy transaction. The home is a get-away-from-it-all relaxing home, yet close to stores & shops. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Away from it all - and loving it!!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

What a great find, especially for dog owners!! We walked around the property quite a bit, and enjoyed the freedom from leashes for a few days! The beach nearby was fantastic (for walking purposes only), and access to the nearby supermarket was perfect! If you want an escape where you don't see or hear your neighbors, look no further! A definite return destination!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so very much for your kind words, Craig! I have to admit, I agree completely...if I were a dog, Mendocino Manor is exactly where I would want to spend my vacation! How nice that we humans can enjoy the gorgeous views, the serenity, and the access to Pt. Arena lighthouse, the six mile long beach, and the nearby charming Mendocino towns while our doggies have exactly what THEY want as well! Many happy returns, Kelley

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Loved our visit.

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

My husband and our two basset hounds spent a wonderful relaxing week at this terrific home. So peaceful. The view is fantastic. The beds comfortable. We loved exploring the area. Dear grazed in the side yard. Bunnies visited every morning. It was so private that the dogs could be out without leashes and they loved exploring.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review, Barbara! I'm so happy you got to see the bunnies too! The wildlife is so wonderfully tame there, isn't it? The birds and the bunnies and the deer all seem to feel so safe. You'd think with 43 acres to "play" on they'd avoid the house, but they don't. I'm so glad you came, and we'd love to have you and your dogs back anytime! Thanks for coming, and warm regards, Kelley

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WERE WE LUCKY!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Seldom, if ever, have I been to a more perfectly done rental. Very clean, with privacy & seclusion, but close to necessary stores and eateries. Pt. Arena is only 4 miles away, with beaches and the whole upper Mendocino coast quite accessible.
It is well laid out for 2 families. Rural but updated. Open design makes it cozy but very roomy. Large bedrooms are totally contained and separated by the living area, so even more privacy. Well supplied kitchen and electronics. View form the deck, hot tub, living area, bedroom are ALL vistas. You really feel the North Coast pastoral flavor. A glass of wine is all you need to add. The bench is worth the walk even if the weather turns on you. With 43 acres to play on our dog was in heaven. We even had 2 doe and a fawn for daily visitors. And, yes we kept the dog in while they were there.
The owner is a dream to work with and most accommodating.
We are already booking our next visit to Mendocino, here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words, Dick! I feel lucky too, every time I go there. I love the total silence...just the sounds of the birds sailing above and the ocean in the background. I also enjoy not seeing any other houses (other than the one in the distance) but being able to get to the grocery store within 2-3 minutes and the beach in 5 to 10 minutes. I agree that is is a very special place to be And I'm so glad you found the accommodations so comfortable. We can't wait until your return so we can share it with you again. Till then, all the best, Kelley

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Private & Peaceful

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We just spent a week at the Mendocino Manor...it was very private, peaceful & relaxing! Waking up to the awesome view of the lagoon every AM was wonderful. We enjoyed exploring different beaches in the area like Scooner Beach, Pt. Arena, Irish Beach and Glass Beach. The Chowder House serves great clam chowder! The house is fully equiped, the kitchen had most everything we needed, and the BBQ works! We enjoyed the hot tub with beautiful sunsets! We highly recommend this home for a couple or family to enjoy a nice get away! The owner is very pleasant and easy to work with. Thank YOU!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks to you as well, Terry! We just love hearing from our guests and finding out what they enjoyed about Mendocino Manor and the surrounding Mendocino area. It's exciting to experience vicariously the adventures and discoveries folks like you and Larry come across. We're so glad you were comfortable, and thanks for your kind words. we hope to see you again soon! Till then, all the best to you and yours! Kelley

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Secluded, Secure and Romantic

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had a great stay at this home. The house was comfortable and clean. There was a lovely view of the ocean as well as a freshwater lagoon. The property was quite large, and fun to get out and walk around exploring. The owner has a bench situated in the perfect spot for watching the sunset. We also saw some deer walking about.

The kitchen was well accommodated. It was very quiet and restful. Access to the public beach was a short drive down the road, maybe five to ten minutes. The local grocery store is only minutes away.

A definate find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A taste of Ireland in our own backyard.

Review submitted: October 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this lovely property for our anniversary, and it was everything we were hoping for! The peace and quiet was so relaxing, and the scenery was absolutely beautiful. There are trees and animals everywhere, and the lagoon and ocean views were stunning, especially while sitting in the hot tub!! We enjoyed walking around the 43 acres, and the beach was a great place to explore and wile away the hours. Inside the house, the rooms were large, spacious and filled with light, and the furnishings were very comfortable and homey. It was great to find the kitchen so well stocked with everything we needed, and there were suggestions at the house of where to eat and things to do. We will definitely go back again and would highly recommend this location for a rejuvinating getaway!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Mendocino Manor

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

We stayed for 3 days and it was great. The setting is open yet very private with a nice private drive to the house which is set in a meadow like setting with a view of the ocean and wonderful trail to quite reflective area to sit and enjoy the view. The house is bright and cheerful with a nice deck, hot tub. We will definitely go back again. The location is also good with a store close by. My dogs enjoyed running around the meadow.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review