reviews for: listing #15351 - Moosehead Lake, Maine House rental

Beautiful Home on the Lake
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  AppalachianTrailhead
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $225 /nt
    $895 - $995 /wk

sort by:

Absolute perfection!!!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

All I can say is THANK YOU to the home owners for sharing their little piece of heaven with the rest of us! My family & I came up for a family wedding & stayed the week leading up to that special day. We planned to help with the wedding but also take some time to "vacation." We did do some things I had never done before, like taking the tour of Moosehead Lake on "The Kate" & going to see the crash site of a B-52 bomber that hit the side of Elephant Mountain back in the early 60s. Of all the things we did, our favorite times were at the house! The house is comfortable and clean. Very well kept. Everything you could need is there, & more. There were 2 members of our group needing handicapped accessibility & that was not an issue! The beds were very comfortable, & even though at times there were as many as 14 of us staying there, there was plenty of room for everyone. The extra space provided by the spacious back deck & the HUGE enclosed porch add to the area in a way you wouldn't expect. The porch isn't just any porch...it is an extension of the house, like a large L shaped room. With the large open windows, multiple ceilig fans, furniture & decor, & cross breezes the house was always comfortable in temperature & in feel! If it did get a tad warm upstairs there were air conditioners in two of the bedrooms & a window fan that cooled off the third room just as well-sometimes better. The owners have taken so much care to make this a comfortable place not only for themselves but for others as well!!! The personal touches of local, scenic places, & especially the art work that I can only assume was done by one of them are such a nice touch! We had people from the ages of 3 up to almost 70 & it would be impossible to tell who had the best time or who liked it the most. My favorite times, personally, were in the morning, sitting at the kitchen table with the 3 huge windows open & the breeze coming in. The view of the lake just down the hill with the loons popping in & out of the water and singing their lovely songs and the hummingbirds humming just outside the windows. I NEVER would have imagined we could have felt as at home as we did. THANK YOU so much to the owners for sharing this wonderful place! All 14 of us can't wait to go back, whether together or as individual families. I would recommend this vacation to EVERYONE! I don't know how the owners ever leave. I surely wished I could have stayed longer, we all did!
The Moorby family, Warwick, RI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A wonderful and well needed vacation!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

I had an absolutely fabulous time in this house. Rob and Bob were very thoughtful in their consideration of making sure the house is well stocked, beautiful and clean. Their family, Rich and his wife, lives in the area and were more than helpful to me and my friends who were visiting. The lake is beautiful to watch during the day, perfect for canoeing to have some relaxation. The firepit was used at least half the nights during our stay. A real treat that's fun to make and have long conversations by. The televisions--while I wasn't expecting to use them so much were actually great to keep my friends busy while I had work to do.

And yes, I had to work while on vacation and was very, very concerned about the internet situation. However, the internet did not disappoint! I was able to complete all my work and deliver large files within a reasonable amount of time to my clients.

The market and surrounding area are quiet and kind. Traveling to Greenville and Bangor is also quite fun (even if it's a long drive in the car but the scenic drives are amazing!).

And the trails around the area were my favorite part. Climbing Borestone (which is essentially in the backyard, it's five minutes up the road and then another fifteen up the mountain by car!) was the highlight of the trip. I did it twice!

If you'd like to have a beautiful, very quiet spot to relax away from everything--this is the place. I'm definitely considering coming back with a small group of friends for a possible writers retreat! A lovely place for such a stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

great family vacation

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We loved this place!!! My family of 10 from all over the country (and 1 Canadian) thoroughly enjoyed our week here and none of us wanted to go home. We had a group of mixed ages from 5-64. We rented both the house and apt, great for the 20 somethings since they liked to stay up later, no noise to disturb us older folks. The home is fabulous, well supplied, organized and has everything you could want or imagine to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Spent most of our time on the deck looking out at the lake and ate dinner outside every night.
Weather was perfect all week long, lake temperature much warmer than expected! and so much privacy.... Owners were fabulous to deal with and everything was as promised! We hope to spend some time here next year as well (And my highlight, saw a moose!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing your experiences! I am glad you mentioned "we kept he place well supplied" because we do try hard to keep up with any and all needs that we imagine could arise. If something is missing, we replace it as soon as possible. If something breaks, we get it fixed or buy a new one! It is important to us that your stay is as comfortable and as memorable as possible, and we hope one day you will come back. Thanks for recommending us, as we appreciate it with all our hearts.
Bob and Roberta

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We love this house!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We have stayed at a few rentals in Maine over the last 10 years, but this is the best one by far. We have a large family, with several children, and there's plenty of space for everyone. It's become an important family tradition, something we look forward to all year long. We just finished up our fourth year here, and have already signed up for our fifth. Scenic, quiet, and conveniently located (only 20 minutes from downtown Greenville, a fun place to eat & shop) we never run out of things to do here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We were thrilled to be able to book your family for next year already, and it is a good idea for everyone to secure your favorite week(s) as quickly as possible. We are grateful and happy to accommodate our return guests, and this review was proof that our rental is worth coming back to again and again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Rental

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

My husband & I have stayed at this home twice. Our first time was several years ago in September & last year we stayed during the Thanksgiving holiday. We enjoyed our first stay there because it was clean, reasonable & exactly what was described online. We decided to stay there the second time even though it wasn't as close to our daughter because we knew we could rely on the owners. The house is so warm & inviting with all the amenities you could ever ask for...Greenville is not that far away & has wonderful places to shop & eat plus in the right season you can go moose hunting with a couple of different groups. I would highly recommend this rental!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a wonderful and surprising gesture to find this review this week, even months after your stay! We thank you for your kind comments even after all this time, you still remembered your experience here - and it meant enough to you to write a review!! We now realize that it really doesn't matter how much time passed - what matters are the meaningful, unprompted words of folks we barely know, sharing their thoughts publicly. Thank you so much!
Bob and I were talking about the fact that we have owned this home now for ten years, and have rented it out for the last nine years, using the VR site only, and word-of-mouth as out only means of advertizing. We have never experienced a bad group or family; never had a problem with any of our guests or house; wow - we feel so blessed! All this makes us want to keep on offering this place to share with all of you who want to stay here. This camp/house only gets better each year as we continually upgrade.
Our appreciation and thanks to everyone.
Bob and Roberta

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend here. Eight women from all walks of life, had plenty of room, privacy for a nap or to read a book. There wasn't anything we needed, everything was there plus extra! Nice and quiet area, great view of the lake, we had a great time and would very much like to spend time here again- want to try summertime to kayak!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you all had such a good time! Thanks for the encouraging tip about "Song in the Woods" a local dog-sledding company in Abbot that you all used while you were here...well, after talking with you we (Bob and I) got up the courage, and we are going to give it a go for a wedding anniversary gift to each other! Can't wait for our fun in the snow! Love this place year 'round! A group of snow-sledders are coming up soon too. They are sure to have a great time there's plenty of snow for all of us :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Just returned from our week vacation in Maine. Stayed in Monson at this wonderful home. The house was perfect! Exceptionally clean and well kept. After one day the house felt like home. Plenty of room for the family.

The home owner was a delight to work with and everything was as stated.

Great back yard and view of Hebron Lake. Spent at least an hour or two every day sitting on the dock enjoying the lake.
Made a campfire one evening which was fun.

If you have a kayak, bring it, as Hebron Lake looks like the perfect lake for relaxing time in a kayak. My one regret is that we did not have a kayak.

The house is in a great location for many activities. We spent considerable time in Greenville. Be sure to visit the "Stress Free Moose" for one of their great sandwiches. Also try Auntie M's for breakfast or lunch. Both places were wonderful.

We were able to travel to Baxter State Park ( saw a moose there), Acadia State Park, Lily Bay State Park, took a cruise on Moosehead Lake aboard the Katadhin, and visited the B-52 crash site as well. There is so much to do and this house was in a perfect location to allow us to travel and experience so much.

It was especially nice to come home each evening to this house. I really appreciated the satellite TV, as I was able to watch the Little League World Series each night.

This was our first trip to Maine and will without a doubt not be our last.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so happy to know that our guests feel this way! We also feel that our place is situated in the perfect location, central to so many activities and possibilities on Lake Hebron. We never tire of this area and it seems we'd run out of time long before we run out of things to do. I can picture anybody sitting on our dock and enjoying the tranquility of the lake, as much as driving up the road to Greenville to the enormous Moosehead Lake,(a little more active...)enjoying either setting depending on what mood you're in. Thanks for your post(s) and encouragement.
We strive to please!
Bob and Roberta

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We just returned from our week in Monson, and had a lovely time. The house was immaculate upon arrival, and was wonderfully warm, comfortable and inviting, with every reasonably expected amenity. We were traveling with 7 children and Bandit, our Siberian Husky-- imagine our delight when we found the deck had a locking gate to secure the dog! These owners have thought of everything! We were able to spread out-- and never felt cramped. This truly felt like a home away from home.

The property has wonderful privacy, with a beautiful yard and breathtaking lake access. View from the deck is lovely, especially with a cup of coffee in the adorable loon mugs! Kids kayaked, fished and swam from the dock. Water shoes are recommended-- slippery rocks. Lake is quiet and beautiful-- occasional jetski and motor boat. Very kayak/kid friendly.

The public beach is a very short drive away, and was a lot of fun especially for my 3yo-- easier water access for him than from the dock at the house. Lovely floating dock to swim to and from which to jump or dive. Not a "sandy" beach-- instead more of a crushed up slate, with a grassy area to sit just beyond. Very pretty. Kids had a blast.

Monson is a very sleepy, residential town. It didn't hold much interest for my 16yo son after he'd had his fill of kayaking and fishing. We were on a budget, so really couldn't look for more activity beyond the lake-- but nearby Greenville has more of a resort feel to it. We did our grocery shopping there, and dined at the "Stress Free Moose." The name alone thrilled me. :) Food was good. Our only regret is that we never saw a moose!

These owners are a delight to work with. They are wonderfully responsive, and made themselves available to us by phone or e-mail. Their home is decorated beautifully, and they are lovely people. We can't thank them enough for sharing their home with us. We made memories that will last a lifetime for our children.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We so very much appreciate our very first online review with their honesty, thoughtfulness, and thorough evaluation, and are pleased to be able to fully satisfy this large family who took their vacation at our home on Lake Hebron in Monson.

We are thankful to be part of this community of homeowners at Vacationrentals which helps us all when searching for a credible site whether we're a renter or rentee, and we were not even asked to say that!

We are committed to always be striving to surpass all our renters expectations now in the future, to always change it up, keep up with the care of the property and keep our costs as low as possible. This gives everyone peace of mind and allows all enjoy a stress-free vacation.

Thank You so much!
Bob and Roberta

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review