reviews for: listing #1536 - San Diego, California House rental

Adorable Beach Cottage in Mission Beach-Footsteps to Sand
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $229 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Clean and comfortable

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

We had a great stay in the cottage. It was clean, bright and had a very comfortable bed. Everything we needed was in the cottage and we enjoyed being so close to the bay.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this beach cottage. Location was great - easy access to ocean and the bay. Restaurant's near by were wonderful. We had our 2 kids with us - age 4 & 10, they were comfortable on the futon and we had the bedroom. Plenty of room. Lots of towels, everything we needed was there. Kids enjoyed sand toys, bikes, playing in the ocean. It was safe and quiet. We will stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couples retreat

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

My husband and I wanted to go to San Diego and wanted the comforts of home. We just loved this cozy older home. It was conveniently located to the beach. Debi's notebook on the home and neighborhood was very useful. Would love to live closer so we could visit again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Little Cottage!

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

My son, daughter and I just returned from our vacation and were very pleased with this cottage. Debi, the owner, was very sweet and helpful, and the place was nice and clean. We loved how close it was in proximity to both the ocean and the bay, and within walking distance of restaurants, bars and little shops. We really enjoyed the tasty food at Chop Shop, which is located right at the end of the alley!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

I miss Mission Beach so much! The atmosphere of the area is exciting and yet relaxing. We were really glad that we took our bikes. We rode 3 hours every morning that we weren't out being a tourist; the zoo etc. and we were able to cover the neighbourhood quite well. We preferred the ocean beach, but our last day was cool and extremely windy, so we spent it at the inlet beach. Our cottage was perfect for 2 people. It was exactly as presented in the photos. Very clean & bright & comfortable. We made good use of the deck & BBQ and loved the privacy of our own place.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

We had a very nice time at the cottage. The location is perfect, with a calm bay on the side of the road with the cottage is and the ocean and boardwalk on the other side of the road. It was nice to be able to wash our clothes in the washer & dryer. The leather couch was very comfy and there is a TV in the living room and bedroom, which is also a nice amenity.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Everything about our stay at the cottage on the beach was wonderful! The cottage was perfectly suited for my husband and I and our 11 month old daughter. The kitchen was very well stocked, the extra towels and fluffy pillows were unexpected and a delight and the cozy fireplace came in handy on one very chilly morning. The owners were very accommodating and we appreciated every aspect of our stay. Definitely a perfect first family getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family San Diego Trip

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Very enjoyable cottage between the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. We arrived late at night on Friday, and access to the cottage easy. Everything was clean and as expected. We travelled as a family of one couple and one teen age son. There was enough room for all of us. Also, the parking was very convenient.

Our stay lasted 5 days. We did the short walk to Pacific Beach each day, and were able to walk to a multitude of restaurants and stores in the evening. Driving into San Diego and the other attractions, such as Torry Pines, was simple and relatively quick from the Cottage.

If in San Diego with a small family or group of people, I would whole heartily recommend looking at this cottage as a base for your trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Mission Beach Cottage-close to anything you might need

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Mission Beach. The cottage was sparkling clean with tasteful décor which really made you feel you were in an ocean location. We were close to everything we needed. But even more importantly, we had great attention from the owner Debbie. She was extremely accommodating and helpful. We will definitely return to this adorable cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

We absolutely LOVED this place. Perfect location. Mere feet from Mission Bay, and 3 blocks from the Pacific Ocean. Took a cab from the airport instead of renting a car. We were here for 5 days/4 nights, and never needed a car. You can walk or bike ride to everything, no matter day or night. The unit itself is adorable, comfortable, and absolutely has anything you need. The bed (KING!) is super comfortable, and seriously, there is no lack of a clean towel!) We had coffee/breakfast every day at Swell Cafe, which is literally a block away, and seriously, they have the BEST coffee (which is saying a lot, since we are from Seattle)! Rented bikes from the place next to Swell, and they are very reasonably priced and have good quality rental bikes. We had friends there stay at a different unit because they had 3 couples and needed more room. They all LOVED ours, and would use it if they were by themselves. LOVE the location. Pretty much right in the middle of either way you would want to go in Mission Bay/Pacific Beach area, with lots of stores/restaurants/markets, etc. within blocks.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Pacific Ocean is 100 yards from the beach cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute house & great location

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

All the comforts of home. Very clean and great location. Great food by the local cafes and restaurants that were in walking distance. My husband and I would definately stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Lehman

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

We loved the cottage. It has a homey feeling, very clean. After walking the area and looking at other places. This cottage was the one we liked most. My next trip I would stay here again. Thank the owner she let us check in early.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved our stay.

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The cottage is delightful; it is well appointed and equipped, very clean, comfortable, beautifully updated and so conveniently located. It has a wonderful king sized bed with first class linens and towels. We loved the front porch. One is able to walk everywhere from this location - to the bay and ocean, the boardwalk, the market and some really great restaurants. But that said, we loved having the two parking spots for our sightseeing excursions, as parking in MB can be a challenge. The owner is very helpful and caring, and made sure we enjoyed our stay. Try Woody's for coffee, Mission Cafe, World Famous, Saska's, Pacific Beach Fish Shop, The Catamaran for happy hour and the Boardwalk. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time at the Mission Beach cottage

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

This cottage was just perfect for our San Diego visit. It was clean, had great towels and it was well supplied in kitchen and bath. The cottage is situated so that bay & ocean are just steps away. We walked to the grocery store & enjoyed walking the beach board walks morning and evening. It has a washer & dryer, which was a big plus. The cottage is small, but is so tastefully decorated and supplied, that the lack of space becomes irrelevant. The owner was wonderful to work with & made the trip worry free. The king sized bed in the master bedroom is so very comfortable, sleep was dreamy. The Swell Cafe - just around the corner from the cottage has the best coffee I've ever tasted & their breakfast menu was fantastic. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to enjoy some time away at Mission Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place in a great location!

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

I was in town for a week-long conference in Mission Valley but wanted to stay somewhere other than the hotel. This was the perfect option. Very close to Mission Valley (10-15 minutes) as well as just next to Sea World (5 minutes) and Pacific Beach (5 minutes). A rental car is very handy to go to the local grocery (Ralph's). While this is not ocean-front (it's not worth paying double or triple for this), it is 30 seconds walk to the Bay (a great walkway next to the beach) for running/walking with a fantastic sunset) and 2 minutes walk to the beach. There are plenty of lovely restaurants, coffee shops, and rental shops (bike, boogie boards, etc) just around the corner. The cottage is well furnished ( 1 bedroom) with a large, comfortable king-sized bed, a good-sized living room with couch AND pull out comfortable futon. The kitchen is well-stocked with all the utensils and coffee maker, etc. The wi-fi worked great; the front patio is a great place to relax in the evenings with a grill. The two bonuses were use of the new washer and dryer as well as TWO parking spaces (one is average size and one is compact size). Parking in this area without a parking spot is challenging. This area is also very safe; it feels like a little bohemian enclave with a mixture of young professionals, hippies, surfers, and middle-aged adults as well.
I will definitely come back in the summer to enjoy the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

your place was GREAT

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

Debi,
Your place was GREAT! Will come back when it is warmer and I have some free time, but I was there for a very busy medical conference, so I didn't get to enjoy it as much as I had planned to. Great and easy access to Mission Valley.
Great place and great location!
Brian
Austin, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We were lucky to stay at this property. Great location! Only a few steps away from the Bay side and just a few more to the Ocean side. Real close to Pacific Beach, which has plenty of restaurants, bars, grocery, etc. House is in great condition with lots of amenities. Full kitchen including microwave and dishwasher and all the dishes and utensils that you would need. Washer and dryer. Loved the fact that they had wi-fi! Also loved that there were 2 parking spaces. The front porch was a great place to hang out and relax after a hard day at the beach :) Used the BBQ a couple of times. Outside shower to wash off sand after the beach. TV with cable was nice to entertain the kids. Owners were awesome to deal with! I would definitely recommend this rental! It's only a one bedroom, but it worked out fine for our family of four. Parents slept in the room, older son slept on couch and toddler slept in the pack and play that we brought.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly "Adorable" Beach Cottage

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Gail and Richard (Deep River, Ct)
Thank you. We had a wonderful time in San Diego...and your cottage was a major part of that. What a wonderful place it is. Truly "adorable". We had a great Thanksgiving with family and had a chance to remind our granddaughter who her "best and most fantastic" grandparents are.
Your cottage was fantastic, supremely clean and very comfortable. Also found a new (for us) sushi place...Saska's. Excelllent,
Again...thank you very much,
Dick

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

I'll be back

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

This was an excellent little place in an excellent location. You have your choice of ocean or bay beaches a few steps away, bike and kayak rentals right nearby and walking distance to a lot of restaurants as well as the store for groceries. The hosts were very helpful and it was a pleasure doing business with them. We spent lots of time out on the deck, which has nice chairs, tables, umbrellas and a as grill. I would recommend this place highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Comfortable cottage stay

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Older, remodeled cottage in Mission Beach located steps from both ocean and bay. Has everything you need. Lots of towels. More comfortable than staying in a hotel. Perfect for two people, but has a futon in living room for additional person. Bayside walk was nice for morning and evening walks. All San Diego sites are easily accessible from here.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Completely remodeled beach cottage, better than new.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Not Enough Time!

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

"Adorable" is exactly the right word to describe this house in San Diego. We stayed for just two nights, but the place immediately felt like home. Even with two small children, the space was comfortable. Everything was as described, and immaculately presented with loads of kitchen utensils and fresh clean quality towels and linen. The location is excellent too, and the owners are brilliant on the communication and follow-up.

Avoid another ho-hum hotel room and stay here. I would absolutely recommend this house to anyone traveling to San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Beach House is just a 15 SECOND WALK to the bay front and a ONE MINUTE WALK to the ocean front!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Adorable, well-appointed, and just ideal

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

The entire experience with this rental was incredibly smooth. The owners always replied extremely promptly when contacted. Upon arrival, everything was as described or even better. The appliances and cookware are all top-of-the-line, especially the gas grill on the huge deck. Literally seconds from the bay and just a couple of minutes from the ocean makes this a perfect get-away spot. Grocery store is within walking distance, as are many restaurants and shops. It was just a quick drive to Old Town, which was definitely worth checking out. When someone down the street got a little loud one evening, I called the owner, and the situation was resolved in less than 15 minutes. I hope all of my rental experiences are this good.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Lovely and fun

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Your cottage is a well designed and thought out home with numerous amenities. It is a great getaway place for singles, couples and families with young children. Our kids loved the bay just steps away, walking to restaurants and being close to the many San Diego attractions. We enjoyed playing games by the fire, watching movies from the double recliner and eating on the porch. You were extremely efficient to work with throughout the booking process, check-in and departure follow up. Our family hopes to return again and again. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review