reviews for: listing #15360 - Truro, Massachusetts House rental

Hedgebound of Cape Cod - A Private Estate
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $7,000 - $12,700 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Wedding on the Perfect Property!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

We hosted our wedding ceremony and reception on the property during our four night stay in June of 2013 and I am happy to say we literally had the perfect wedding. This review is centered around those looking at it as a potential wedding venue. For those looking to rent the property for a family vacation or group gathering, I would highly recommend it. Many of the comments below apply to either case.

Highlights:

- Grounds are beautiful and well kept with a large diversity of flowers and plants. Back garden slopes downhill into the lawn and makes for a very picturesque background for a wedding
- The house is charming with modern conveniences. Between the main and guest house, our entire wedding party was able to stay comfortably
- We had our ceremony and cocktail hour in the front and reception in the back, we had perfect weather and this plan worked great!
- Kitchen area was the main attraction for us, it’s a large open room with a living and dining area and opens up to an enclosed porch. Great room for gathering in
- We thought the location was great. It's about 10 miles from Provincetown and near some really great beaches. We booked a block of rooms at a hotel in Ptown and arranged a bus to shuttle guests back and forth. Winds up being an added expense, but made life easy and enjoyable for our guests who loved the whole experience
- Owner was flexible with walk throughs and is quick responding to questions

Planning Tips:

- Parking will be a bit of a challenge. We worked with the local school district to secure parking for the day and they were great
- You will need a bathroom trailer on the driveway, which is a short walk slightly uphill from the backyard. Probably only an issue for elderly, but something to keep in mind
- Neighbors don't seem to respond well to weddings in the neighborhood. The owners hired a police detail to be proactive, which turned out to be a good idea and all went well
- The properties day of wedding cooridinator did a great job for us, just make sure you understand your contract in advance of the event
- The owners, understandably, do not want vendors driving all over the backyard, so it's a bit of a logistical challenge to deliver equipment. Our vendors made it all work, my advice is to conduct walkthroughs so they are prepared

Hedgebound is a special property that I would highly recommend to those looking for a family vacation or small wedding in the Outer Cape area.

Jeremy K

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Week for Our Perfect Wedding

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

We did quite an extensive search trying to find the right place on the Cape where we could have the wedding we wanted - casual elegance, beautiful setting, a place where friends and family could be together, elegant, not stuffy and initmate, we did not want a triple digit guest list. It was tough finding a property which was beautiful and well maintained. Several looked okay but during our visit you could tell they had quite a bit of use and were getting run down. We felt very lucky when we found Hedgebound. We rented the space for the week and had our bridal party join us. We had a very small, low-key rehearsal on Friday night. On Saturday we had a beautiful dinner on the deck overlooking the gardens. It was simple, elegant and everyone had a perfect evening. Hedgebound is a very special place and after our extensive search I'm pretty sure there is no other place like it on the Cape.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Hedgebound at Cape Cod

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

This is a beautiful property and exclusive area of the Cape. I loved the privacy of the secluded estate - and yet we were not far from great restaurants and shopping. Great place for a family gathering. Plenty of activities to do to keep all ages happy! We had teenagers and grandparents - so when the weather wasn't perfect - we had fun in the house with the downstairs gameroom. The main house has plenty of room to "spread out' and allow privacy yet large dining room to accomodate family meals. In the past we've rented several places to accomodate everyone - this one location does it all. We'll be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Hedgebound pf Cape Code

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Cape Cod is a beautful place to visit and this is the ideal location for a family reunion, wedding or girls' getaway. The home and grounds have everything that you would need for one of these events! From a large sloped backyard with beautiful views to a picturesque front yard (especially in the Spring when I was there with all the flowers blooming). The living facilities are unique in their historical character and their modern conveniences. It seems like our every need was thought of and taken care of. The surrounding area provided us with great recreational opportunities - the ocean front to the bay were just minutes away. It was so convenient to get around by car, bicycle or walking. We enjoyed the bicycling and walking on the less travelled roads.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Thank you so much for providing a great place for our family to come togehter and celebrate our mother's 70th Birthday! It was a week long of family fun and relaxation. Hedgebound had wonderful space for us to enjoy and Truro is a gem!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fantasy Wedding Week

Review submitted: September 17, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Hedgebound is a luxurious and majestic property that provided the setting for our small wedding. We got married in the gardens and spent the week enjoying the home. There are so many amenities to the property - our guests were very comfortable and impressed with everything the home offers. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast on the porch looking down into the garden. It was helpful to have the plenty of space for our families to spread out. For our wedding we were able to accommodate our caterers with the catering kitchen and store our wine in the wine cellar. Our nieces and nephews thoroughly enjoyed the play-house in the back garden and the play area in the family room downstairs. The beach is a five minute drive away and home convenient to everything Truro, Wellfleet and Provincetown have to offer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review