reviews for: listing #15400 - Phoenix, Arizona House rental

Historic Downtown Phoenix Luxury Guesthouse
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Los Olivos Historic District
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Guest Home in Secluded Historic area of Phoenix

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

My husband and I just returned home after a month long stay at this lovely guesthouse. The home is very spacious, the yard expansive and secluded. A hammock in the mature back yard was perfect for bird watching and enjoying a good book. We walked in the historic neighborhood everyday and found many good restaurants, museums and coffeehouses. The owner, Linda, was very helpful.She made sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves at all times. She even refreshed the home with fresh flowers! On our arrival there was a large bowl of drinks and snacks to tide us over until we became acclimated and found a grocery store. the home was stocked with numerous guidebooks about the area. The property was very clean and comfortable. I hope we can return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Relaxing Property

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

A month stay in this property was a peaceful and relaxing time, enjoyed immensely by my husband, myself and a third member of our family, Coco (chocolate lab). The outside of the property is quiet and secluded and perfect for basking in the sunshine with a good book. Because it is centrally located, it was easy to find our way around to the many attractions in the area. The owner of the property, Linda, is a lovely hostess and provided us with suggestions and ideas of what was available to us. A day at the Botanical Gardens to see the Dale Chihuly exhibition was one of the highlights.
We would definitely like to return to this guest house and would not hesitate to recommend it.
P.S. Hello to Don, Randy, Maya and Bubba, miss you all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely oasis in the heart of the city!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

My husband and I have our own consulting business and found ourselves in the Phoenix area for an extended period during Sept-Nov 2013. We were able to settle in to Linda's beautiful guest house for several weeks--so much better than hotel living! It worked perfectly for us and we enjoyed the convenience, comfort and beauty of the property. Every evening when we pulled into the driveway we felt like we were truly "home". We had our own parking space in the garage and there was a very private patio off the back of the guest house. The house itself is much larger than we imagined from the pictures and the decor is stunning. Linda is such a considerate host and went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The property graciously accomodates pets and had a large, beautiful yard for our furry travel companion to run and play. The proximity to downtown Phoenix, museums, restaurants, etc. was fantastic. We felt so safe tucked away in our own beautiful little oasis in the city. We've stayed in many hotels, rentals, and extended-stay accomodations for business and pleasure--this one is easily among the best. We had a fantastic stay and will definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

My husband had a stroke at our home in Northern Arizona and was flown to St Joes Hospital. I found myself in a city that was completely foreign to me at some of the worst days of my life. Then I met Linda, my angel. Linda provided a place where I could regain my strength for the next day to be at my husbands bedside day after day. When I would pull up the driveway at the guesthouse the stress of the day would diminish by the warmth of Linda's smile and concern for the long days I was enduring. I would be greeted many times with fresh flowers waiting for me. The guesthouse has the most wonderful feeling of a home. The bed was so comfortable with top notch linens, a kitchen that has everything you could possibly need to cook great meals. What I found incredibly wonderful was the private green backyard with flowers and birds all around to sit and have a glass of wine and not even know you are in a big city. Absolutely paradise! I will be forever grateful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay and host!

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Linda has built a beautiful, calm oasis located right in the heart of mid-town Phoenix. Her guesthouse is very nicely done, spacious, quiet and serene. It's even better than the photos would indicate, and what a great, central location. She had drinks and food items arrayed in a gift basket, waiting for us upon arrival. The entire guesthouse was fully furnished, very clean and every conceivable item one might need was provided. Our last night at the guesthouse we got to talk with Linda in more detail and found her to be a very accomplished and interesting host. I am sure we'll want to come back again...but maybe not in August next time Highly recommended and a great value.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning Property

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful home for a month in February. It was perfect. The photos do not do it justice - very high end furniture, accessories and bedding. The beds were wonderful - even the sofa bed was as nice as a regular bed.
There was a beautiful patio and garden to come home to every day - so private, you did not know you were in the city once you closed the gates and also on a lovely tree-lined historic street. The home was close to all attractions. You could walk to the Heard Museum, starbucks and grocery shopping.
Linda was especially kind, leaving flowers, answering all our questions,. When we arrived there was a basket of goodies and several binders filled with info.
we had friends and relatives visit and they were very complimentary also.
This is a property we would return to without question.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a month at this delightful historic property. The photos do not do the home justice - absolutely stunning interior, high quality furnishings and accessories. The beds were beautiful - even the sofa bed was as good as the bedroom.
The owner was superb - leaving binders of local info., a basket of welcoming goodies. Linda gave us many suggestions during our stay and often we would come home to find a bouquet of flowers waiting - special.
This property is perfectly situated. It is near Starbucks, the Heard Museum, and shopping ( all within walking distance). It also is central to all other phoenix area activities.
It was wonderful to come home at night to our own garden and patio ( very private and quiet). It is on a tree-lined historic street. We brought a pet with us and she was so relaxed here.
Linda was very accommodating and made our stay even more special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, great owner = great time!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the casita this summer.
It was a great central location close to everything!

We were in the process of moving from Goodyear to Phoenix so we put everything in storage and moved into the "vacation rental" while we searched for a permanent home. It did feel like a vacation for us. It has everything you need and more. It is a very quiet and peaceful location but right in the middle of town so there are plenty of restaurnats, movie theatre, gyms, etc.

If you are looking for a great place to stay you found it here!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The IDEAL Corporate Stay!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Our company had a need to accomodate a very important client from out of town and we were looking for upscale lodging. We didn't want the impersonal atmosphere of a hotel and decided to try a guest house.This property was highly recommended by an employee and turned out to be just what we were looking for.

Not only is it walking distance to the Light Rail but it is in the midst of the best of Phoenix nightlife, museums, restaurants and sporting events. It is over the top luxurious, very well kept, and exceptionally quiet. I immediately noticed the fabulous furnishings, and the attention to detail specifically the ironed sheets and the complimentary bottle of wine and snacks.

When making the arrangements for his stay the owner was not only professional and organized but very helpful going out of her way to find surrounding services and accomodating our requests.

We have opportunities to host clients through out the year and I know that we have found our home away from home for our VIP clients in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Phoenix lover

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

I have spent five winters at this wonderful vacation rental. It is absolute perfection. The location is wonderful...walking distance to the light rail(for those without a car), the Heard Museum, the Phoenix Art Museum and many very good restaurants. The house itself is just beautiful. It has soaring ceilings with a gas fireplace in both the great room and the bedroom. A bonus is the fully equipped work out room and a garage for your car. Outside, there is a private patio with a grill for your use only.
Linda, the owner, has thought of everything. She is extremely helpful if you have any questions. The home is furnished with a contemporary flair which adds to its charm. It is located in a beautiful landmarked neighborhood.
I certainly would recommend this perfect home for a vacation that you will not soon forget.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I will be BACK!

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Typically I don't stay in guest houses when I travel because I like my privacy. However, I chose this property because it was so appealinhg with close public transportation, restaurants and the Suns! To my delight the owner was very responsive to my requets but respected my privacy. As a solo traveler I felt secure since the property had monitored cameras, a garage and electronic gates. even though it was located downtown it was extremely quiet and secluded.

Normally when I travel I have to find a gyn to work out in but this guest house had a large one on-site. It was great! The welcome basket was yummy and much appreciated. I would highly recommend this guest house and I already booked my reservation for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Escape!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Recently my wife and I and our two dogs had the pleasure of spending three months in Linda's guest house.  It is beautifully decorated and filled with all the conveniences of home.  The location is perfect for checking out downtown Phoenix and allows easy highway access to the rest of the valley.  We feel fortunate for our time at the guest house and can't thank Linda enough for her hospitality. We would highly recommend staying here while visiting Phoenix!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Escape!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Recently my wife and I and our two dogs had the pleasure of spending three months in Linda's guest house.  It is beautifully decorated and filled with all the conveniences of home.  The location is perfect for checking out downtown Phoenix and allows easy highway access to the rest of the valley.  We feel fortunate for our time at the guest house and can't thank Linda enough for her hospitality. We would highly recommend staying here while visiting Phoenix!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet Oasis in the heart of Phoenix!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

My numerous stays at this propertry never disappoint! It is so quiet and serene, inside and out. I can walk safely to fabulous restaurants, my morning 'designer' coffee or new boutiques on every visit. The Light Rail is a great addition to this historic neighborhood - only 2 blocks away and you are 8 minutes into downtown for ballgames, fine dining or upscale art galleries and shopping.
This home is filled with top of the line guest amenities, from the pillow top Queen mattress to the fully equipped granite kitchen and two fireplaces! Whether inside or out, you will feel pampered your entire visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review