reviews for: listing #15401 - Black Lake, Michigan House rental

Crist Island Rental Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $850 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Vacation

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Excellent location, shallow water provided safety for 4yr old adventurous daughter and she was able to catch numerous fish,"did not get to swim due to temp but would be perfect for kids or getting a nice cool down for adults". Saw a lot of bigger fish cruising in the river, the canal in front of cabin and main lake. Cabin was clean and comfortable with all firewood provided, large enough inside and outside to accomodate big family. Peaceful with a lot of winged wildlife around always. Caretaker came over and introduced herself upon our arrival very nice and helpful with local food, boat launch info etc. Excellent food short distances away. Would and have recommended to family and friends at work and hopefully returning next year when temps are warm.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Fourth

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We loved our time at Crist Isle on Black Lake. We swam, fished, boated, floated rafts on the river and barbecued. The house was perfect, lots of room and very clean! We could not have asked for better weather and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Crist Island Escape

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

We had a wonderful week on Crist Island. We loved the view, the
beach was sandy and safe for our 4 year old grandson. We had a boat
and canoe for our use. We caught Sun Fish in the river and Bass and
Perch in the lake. We fed the ducks, caught and released frogs. We
loved sitting by the firepit at night, roasting somemores and telling
stories. Sitting on the porch swing, looking out at the lake in the morning with fresh brewed coffee, was the best. Everything we needed was there, we
will definately be back! Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

unhappy

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

old kitchen appliances no Freezer in Kitchen To many rude visits from the owner aking who was staying there how many why we had a motor home parked on the property when our stay was approved by Carol. Owner showed up very angry did not identify himself and was very rude telling us he had a very old septic and well and we could not all shower and do laundry. Some friends stopped by on there way to their vacation and the owner shoowed up at the door and said" How many are here now" very rude. We will never go back and will not recommend this house to family and friends. He ruined our entire week. Lake was so shallow we had to walk our 24 ft boat out to middle of lake.

Owners response: Frige was old, just put in a new one. Contract states 8 people max, they brought in 11 at one count and many more a few days later. Anyone who lives on water knows just how sensitive the sewer and septic are. We have no control over the level of the lake, its all controlled by dams, but walk to the middle of the lake, come on, the lake is 3 miles wide. There is a sandbar at the mouth of the river and if they have no tilt on the motor, they did have to walk it across. Sorry, again we have no control on the water level.

Helpful votes: 13 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review