reviews for: listing #15459 - Yosemite, California House rental

Yosemite Country Cottage~Clean~Quiet~Spa~No Smokers/No Pets
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $149 - $199 /nt
    $950 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

Peaceful, Comfortable, Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

We were very pleased with the cottage, which is a fairly new 3 bedroom house with quality features. It was very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the peace and quiet the location offered. We enjoyed the hot tub one evening under the stars. We went to Yosemite twice, and coming home to this house was wonderful. It was very comfortable and had a nice kitchen and bathrooms. It was a great fit for our family of 4. We liked being close to the town of Mariposa for the grocery store and restaurants. We had dinner one night at Charles Street Dinner House. It was very good, and we decided to order our Thanksgiving meal from there. The meal was perfect. I highly recommend the Yosemite Country Cottage. It exceeded our expectations. It is the perfect place for a quiet, relaxing, and comfortable visit. If we go to Yosemite again, we will definitely stay here. I have already told several friends about this gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We thoroughly loved the cottage! It is beautiful

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

The cottage is beautiful and has all of the amenities! Hot tubbing under the stars was incredible! Charles was very helpful in all things and gave us great tips on what to see in Yosemite. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this wonderful cottage.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Delightful Get-away Cottage & Base Camp for Yosemite & Sierra Nevada area ...

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

We three wahines (ladies) from Hawaii enjoyed our one week vacation at this cottage, and, the Yosemite and King's Canyon & Sequioa adventures that we experienced while here. The cottage is spacious and very thoughtful - it had all that you could ask for and need for a comfortable, peaceful, relaxing stay. The hot tub at night was fantastic, especially after long days of venturing in Yosemite and nearby areas. The stars at night were simply GORGEOUS. Charles - thank you for the great tips and advice. Our adventures included seeing and experiencing Yosemite Valley by shuttle, walking and biking. We drove to the Mariposa Grove on another day and then tooled around Mariposa in the late afternoon - and indulged in a "Happy Frappucino" espresso shake at the Happy Burger Restaurant (YUM). And one day we ventured all the way to King's Canyon and Sequoia National Park ... which are beautiful as well. We enjoyed the General Grant tree (2nd largest tree in the world) and surrounding forest, and, Boyden's Cave. The entire vacation was memorable for the three of us and the delightful cottage as a home base made it possible. Much aloha, Esther Leilani, Rene & Julna

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Location and Great Property

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

Located a close drive to Yosemite, this house is ideal for 4-6 people to explore the area. The property is maintained to a very high standard and the owner is helpful and and knowledgable about the park.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would gladly return for a second trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

The perfect family retreat in Yosemite!

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

My family, friends and I have been coming to Yosemite annually for the past 15 years. Our year is not complete without a trip to this gorgeous area. Normally we stay in the valley, but now that we have a little one, priorities are different! We knew that cramming everyone into a hotel room would be uncomfortable, so we found this lovely property on VRBO...Where can I start raving? The property is so pretty and secluded, nestled on a hill up a gravel driveway with sweeping views. The house itself was built with great attention to detail- hardwood floors, beautiful stone fireplace... And it was impeccably clean and organized! The owner was extremely hospitable, even bringing over his own personal lanterns upon our arrival, just in case we lost power (it was raining that evening). The details were so appreciated - there were even toys and movies for our 14 month old daughter! The kitchen was fully stocked, allowing us to cook most of our meals, thus saving money. This was exactly what we wanted and more. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stargazers' paradise

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

From the friendly welcome and incredibly helpful guide to the area provided by owner Charles on our arrival, everything was absolutely perfect.
The house is simply gorgeous - located away from the road, which makes it very quiet and peaceful, in lovely countryside. It is all in fantastic condition, with all the facilities you could possibly want (and certainly as described). Beautifully decorated, and everything excellent quality.
We enjoyed taking Charles' advice on sightseeing trips in and around Yosemite (including the insider's tips on where and what time of day to get the best views and photos). And we certainly enjoyed soaking tired muscles under the stars, in the hot tub at night.
I would certainly recommend this holiday home to others who love the peace of the countryside and stunning views.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

McGarry family, Suffolk UK

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This cottage is clean, well equipped and in a great and peaceful location with easy access to Yosemite (approx 40min drive to park entrance). The hot tub is a bonus and great to relax in after a day exploring all that Yosemite has to offer. The owner Charles is a park guide and so his tips are invaluable when planning your days activities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you Charles!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This cottage was exactly what we needed for our hike to Half Dome. The house is located a short drive to Yosemite and was a great home base for our group. The cottage is new, clean has everything one would need for a visit and the hot tub was just what we needed after a long days hike. The owner was exceptionally helpful both with the accommodation and with information and tips about Yosemite. It was a perfect place for us to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome service!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Charles was so helpful in planning our trip to Yosemite (even mapping our best routes to get there). He was extremely knowledgeable of the area and very friendly.

We were really looking forward to the trip but due to an unforeseen event we were not able to make it this summer. Again, Charles was great to work with. Based on his policy, because he was able to rent the cottage due our scheduled time, he even returned our deposit.

I am really looking forward to renting this cottage in the future. Based on the serve received during the planning process, it will definitely be on the top of my list.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

What a wonderful find! House was very clean & well equipped with everything needed after long days in Yosemite. Star gazing while relaxing in the hot tub was indescribable. The master shower was also a favorite.
Reminder that it is about an hour from the park, which we didn't mind. Charles gave us great ideas for hikes & helped us plan our days well. So glad we stayed here & are definitely planning to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful and Relaxing

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days and relax. The Yosemite Country Cottage was beautifully kept and the perfect location to offer the solitude and scerenity we were looking for. The night sky from the spa was absolutely amazing and the perfect way to relax. Charles is such a huge help in planning a wonderful trip to the park. We will definately return to the cottage for an extended stay with the whole family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Yosemite Cottage - Just Perfect

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

What a wonderful place to relax after hiking in Yosemite and enjoying the spendor of the area. The cottage was very clean and nicely appointed. And relaxing in the hot tub under the stars was wonderful. Charles was extremely helpfull in making our stay productive and fun filled. We could not ask for a better host.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Location for Yosemite and Surrounding Area

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

Yosmeite cottage is a beautifully built and managed property. After traveling all around Yosemite and the surrounding area including all three western park entrances, Yosemite cottage is in the best location. Charles is extremely helpful with park touring, photography and hiking tips in the park. Also provided guidance for groceries and restaruants. Had a great vacation even with snow in the afternoons! Just enchances the beauty of the park. Highly recommend this property for visiting Yosemite.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Fun Time was had by All

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We just returned from a long weekend (4 days) at Yosemite Country Cottage and had a blast! My husband and I wanted to take our kids up to Badger Pass for skiing and to wander around Yosemite Park. The house is fully fitted out with equipment and supplies. It was extremely neat, clean and very cozy to boot. Charles and Lisa were both great to chat with and get ideas of where to go and what to see. We went skiing at Badger and it was great. My husband and younger two children were able to take ski lessons for most of the day and my older kid and I hit the slopes. We ended up skiing in our longsleeve tshirts and no gloves so check the weather beforehand! Then back to the house, a glass of wine and soaking sore muscles in the hot tub under the stars. We will be going back when we want a relaxing family weekend again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

If you are looking for a place to stay on the west side of Yosemite, this is it. Private, immaculate and extremely livable are just a few of the adjectives that describe Charlie's wonderful home. He provided us with everything that we needed and even gave us some great hiking tips for our days in Yosemite. You just could not ask for anything more.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ultimate vacation getaway

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

I along with three other family members (adults) recently stayed at the Yosemite Country Cottage. I would give it an A+. It is extremely clean and luxurious. I think my favorite being the spa bathroom.
The location is very private and star gazing here is incredible. The owners are extremely helpful. One works at the park and shared his wealth of knowledge regarding the park and area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful cottage west of Yosemite

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

The cottage was very clean, had a great kitchen, nice outdoor grill, good space to relax, and a wonderful hot-tub. Additionally, the owner was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in planning our days in the park. The only less-than-ideal aspect is that it is a good 45 minute (or more) drive into the park each day (and then an additional drive depending on where you want to go in the park). Otherwise, we had no complaints!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Dales & Parkins Glossop UK

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

As a party of four, we stayed at Yosemite County Cottage for eight days - it was not enough. As mentioned in previous reviews I can confirm that the cottage was organised, beautifully clean and extremely comfortable. After a long day exploring the beutiful Yosemite it was a pleasure to come back have a gin & tonic, relax in the hot tub and cook a meal in the extremely well fitted out kitchen. Charles & Lisa made us feel very welcome and Charles's advice on hikes and how to view the park were better than any guide book. If you can, get on Charles's tour to Glacier Point, it was so interersting and informative, with facts that we shall never forget.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Review Overdue

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

We stayed here twice with visiting relatives and have booked again for April when more family arrive. This cottage looks even nicer on the inside than it does in the photographs. The personal touches that Lisa and Charles have provided make this very comfortable and homely. Upon our 2nd stay we were extremely pleased that it looked no different than our first visit, that is, that there was little evidence of any damage or abuse to the property and that Charles and Lisa had been maintaining it with care and attention. We are confident we will find this to be the same next visit. Charles is fastidious with his non-smoking policy and very clear on what he expects from his guests, in return we receive the joy of staying in a lovely clean and inviting property as it shows that all guests visiting respect the property and therefore it keeps the place nice for everyone. Charles has always been excellent with his email with answering questions and prompt when returning security deposit something highly appreciated. Charles and his family are very friendly and professional hosts.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

A wonderful cottage, great for small families or multiple couples. In addition to Yosemite, the nearby town of Mariposa is fun to explore, too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

My family just stayed at Yosemite Country Cottage for a relaxing long weekend. My parents are elderly and this was a perfect place -- it's well planned, 1 story, clean, well appointed, and a great place to just hang out and talk. The owner, Charles, is a good resource for what to do while visiting Yosemite -- I'm always amazed at what a beautiful park it is.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

Our stay at Yosemite Country Cottage from July 20 to 25 was definitely one of the hghlights of our trip. After long days hiking and sight seeing in Yosemite it was a pleasure to return to YCC.The cottage is extremely clean and well appointed and everything we needed was available to us. We have stayed in other rental homes and we would definitely rate Yosemite Country Cottage a 10. We loved gazing at the stars while soaking in the hot tub.

Charles is a wealth of information regarding all things Yosemite and the surrounding area. You couldn't ask for a better tourguide/host.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing vacation home - 10******

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

We stayed at Yosemite Country Cottage for 3 nights from 8th July to 11th July 2009. We had decided to travel all around California and started at Yosemite - we didn't want to leave. The cottage is so wonderful - as you open the front door you feel straight at home and the high standard of decor, furunituure and cleanliness is clear to see - credit to Charles and Lisa for maintaing such high standards.
Every photograph on the website is true to form.
Yosemite is so vast we could only fit in a small part of the wonderful park - Charles is a fantastic host providing lots and lots of valuable information and tips on getting the most out of Yosemite.
We will definately return at some point in the future and can't tell enough people how wonderful this cottage is and how worthwhile it is to stay there.

Thanks Charls and Lisa - you set a very high standard for all the other places we then moved on to in California.

Maria, Ivan, Gemma & Sophie - Accrington, Lancashire, UK

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 4, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Delightful cottage furnished to a very high standard, within easy reach of Yosemite. Peaceful location complete with all the comforts of home. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This cottage is exactly like the pictures on the website - very clean, comfortable and peaceful! We have stayed in many vacation rentals and this is by far one of the best. Sitting in the hot tub in the evening is a wonderful way to gaze at the stars and relax after a day of hiking in Yosemite.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 28, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

What a wonderfull cottage! We've travelled a lot
through the States and many many other country's.
This is our number one. Very well equipped, very nice
decorated. Beautifull surrounding. Pretty people. What
can you desire more?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Yosemite Country Cottage was a perfect home away from home. It is new and so clean. We enjoyed how well furnished it was; couldn't think of anything else we could have needed. The owner was very helpful as to making sure we enjoyed our visit. Our party of 6 stayed a week. We would definitely stay again if we visit this area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review