reviews for: listing #15464 - Sonoma, California House rental

Cinque Terre Wine Country Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $1,300 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Rustic Getaway at its Finest

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This property is a quintessential California 'mountain' property--natural setting, amazing views, close to world-renowned viticulture areas. My fiance and I (plus our pack of dogs) spent a relaxing weekend there and will most likely return at some point. Although it feels remote, it is very close to popular wineries and accompanying towns. It has everything you need in the kitchen, just bring food and any spices / condiments. The weather was cool and damp during our stay, which meant we got great use of the wood-burning stove in the cucina house and the space heaters did the trick in the other rooms. It was a little tricky to only have 40 gallons of hot water for the 2 bathrooms, but not a huge deal since the hot tub was much more appealing than the bath. The layout is very cool--it gives you total privacy in each respective building, but also the room to be together when you want to. The finish, sinks, decorations, and homemade soaps (and don't forget the teepee) give this place so much character. Our dogs had so much fun running around, smelling the natural scents, and laying by the fire. We will definitely stay here again next time we want to do a weekend in Napa/Sonoma with our dogs. (Also, the stone floors, simple layout, and cleanliness means that if you don't have pets, there is no odor or anything to worry about.) We definitely felt 'at home' at Cinque Terra.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy cabins on a rainy weekend

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

It was torrential rain but we still managed to have a very lovely time at Cinque Terre! It was quite a novelty having to put on wellington boots and a raincoat to get to the bedrooms and bathroom but actually, it's all part of the charm of the place. Very cozy, clean, well equipped and nicely decorated. The owners knew it was going to be cold so gave us extra heaters and plenty of firewood. Would love to go again in the summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bliss Out Indeed!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

I almost don't want to write this review. Selfishly I'd like to keep this place a secret, so I can come here as often as I like!

My friend and I came here for a weekend of relaxing, wine tasting, hiking and various forms of self indulgence. Cinque Terre fit the bill on all fronts. The property was exactly as described, I'd call it cozy comfort in a rustic setting. The property is utterly charming, you can tell that they've put a lot of care and personal touches in to the space. The owners could not have been more helpful and accomodating. They promptly answered all our questions and provided clear, concise instructions.

The space would be perfect for two couples, or a group of friends who don't mind sharing beds. The property has 3 large beds (one is a loft in the bed house) and you could really sleep six comfortably, though I believe there is an additional fee if you go above four guests. The outdoor hottub was perfection, you can sit under the trees in the warm water and watch the stars. One night we had a little frog friend come perch on the edge of the hottub and sing us his song, it was pretty awesome!

It's a bit of a drive up and down the hill to get places, but really not too bad. Still, you're not going to want to be going back and forth in to town a lot, so I'd highly recommend this place for those seeking a bit of peace and quiet in a place that truly feels like a retreat.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Our troubles seemed to melt away as soon as we walked into Cinque Terre. The good energy just took over. We made some amazing meals on the grill and enjoyed our breakfast on the quaint little porch in front of the bedroom house, wandered around checking all the different casitas and trails. At night the sky is littered with stars and they even have a tent you can stargaze from. We didn't really ever want to leave the grounds during our stay, but did make it down to one of the wineries at the bottom of the mountain. Overall, it was a lovely getaway. We had everything we needed, our two pomeranians didn't want to leave and we can't wait to go back! Thank you Maureen for a lovely vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unique. Exactly what we wanted.

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

We arrived in the evening and were a little confused at first as there are many buildings/developed areas through the property. After looking around we discovered all we really needed was located close together and all the other spots were just extra buildings. We settled in and loved the Cucina area for cooking and hanging out together. Our feelings were that we felt at home there. Very comfortable. There is fun, carefree artwork all around the property. Get groceries and anything you will need from town before heading up there. It is easy to settle in and not want to leave.

Pros: Dog friendly, no neighbors, private, quirky, spacious, far from town, lots of outside space to explore and hang out, perfect for cooking meals at home. unique.

Cons: Far from town (if needed groceries or something of the like), the second bedroom is actually a bully barn and feels a bit unfinished (specifically the floor).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sanctuary for man and his best friend

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

If you want to get away from it all and also have the option of visiting some of the best wine country in the world and bring your dog with you this is one of a kind. It can be a sanctuary with all of its charm and whimsical art to a party place with its own stage and dance floor. You are in a mountain retreat yet you can spend all day in wine country then relax in a hot tube with no one insight, surrounded by only the sounds of nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sanctuary for man and his best friend

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

If you want to get away from it all and also have the option of visiting some of the best wine country in the world and bring your dog with you this is one of a kind. It can be a sanctuary with all of its charm and whimsical art to a party place with its own stage and dance floor. You are in a mountain retreat yet you can spend all day in wine country then relax in a hot tub with no one insight surounded by only the sounds of nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best time ever

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

My roommate stayed here a few years ago, and in her words, it was "the best time ever". Well, her words were perfect. My tribe only got to stay for two nights, and all any of us wanted to do was stay at least one more. The rooms were spectacular, and the cucina couldn't have been better. And even though the drive up Cavedale Road is a bit treacherous, it sort of adds to the ambiance of Cinque Terre. The best review I can give Cinque Terre, is that as we were leaving, we were already planning our next trip back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect mountaintop retreat

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

An eclectic collection of buildings on a secluded plot near the top of a mountain, with breezes, hummingbirds, scents of cedar (and a hot tub) made for a wonderful escape. Comfortable, with a wonderfully responsive host, and - windy roads notwithstanding - a great location between Sonoma and Napa valleys.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous retreat

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

We didn't know what to expect when we drove up the beautiful road to Cinque Terre in Glen Ellen. The pictures do a certain amount of justice, but until you are there, you can't appreciate the beauty. This is not your average accommodation for getting away from it all. It's perfect for the extended family retreat...allowing for privacy in separate sleeping houses. It's very rustic and that's just what we were looking for. I would highly recommend this property for anyone wanting to be in a more natural environment, allowing one to disconnect from all the trappings of modern life. Bliss....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review and for leaving the place in such good order! You really get what this property is all about!--Smiling Eyes Tribe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Had a great weekend with my wife, baby, and dog. If you're looking to get away from everything and everybody, but still want access to wine country, this is a perfect escape. Amazing views from various locations on the property, along with a personal hiking trail, which my son and dog loved!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

complete retreat, not far away

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

cinque terre is a charming and beautiful retreat. located on a wonderful hilltop just outside sonoma and short drive from san franciso. we loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wine Country Woods Getawar

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

It was absolutely phenomenal. Everything was well-maintained and taken care of. Full kitchen, great vibe. little trinkets everywhere giving the property a unique personality and life of its own. hand-painted tables, toilets, and benches. swings, a teepee, a star-gazing deck. every other turn i felt like i discovered something new.

and after a day of mtn biking the area, the jacuzzi was much-appreciated! and they even give directions to a local star-gazing meadow for late-night adventures. all around fabulous time spent here. i would definitely recommend this to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Wine Country Woods Get-Away

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

It was absolutely phenomenal. Everything was well-maintained and taken care of. Full kitchen, great vibe. little trinkets everywhere giving the property a unique personality and life of its own. hand-painted tables, toilets, and benches. swings, a teepee, a star-gazing deck. every other turn i felt like i discovered something new.

and after a day of mtn biking the area, the jacuzzi was much-appreciated! and they even give directions to a local star-gazing meadow for late-night adventures. all around fabulous time spent here. i would definitely recommend this to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing retreat!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Cinque Terre was incredible. My girlfriend and I cannot wait to come back next year and enjoy the peaceful and beautiful setting. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to truly get away.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved Cinque Terre

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

I was so pleased with this property. Not only was it located in a beautiful part of California, Glen Ellen, but the property itself was so charming. The suite was fantastic with a great shower and hot tub right outside the door. I loved the kitchen/living room; very comfortable, a great place to prepare and share meals in, then hang out it after words with your fellow guests. The deck at the bottom of the property offered a nice place to look out at the great views and relax under the sun and the stars. It was also, incidentally, a great place to bring my dog along to. Living in the city, the retreat offered him a safe place to roam free and enjoy nature. I would go back in a heart beat and highly recommend it to any one wanting to get away for a relaxing and fun few days!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Honeymoon!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

This is a perfect place to escape to solitude and refresh. Beautiful views all hours of the day (especially sunset and early morning). As soon as we walked in the property we felt right at home. Very very cozy and fully loaded with anything you could need for cooking, comfort, relaxing and enjoying yourselves. We experienced absolutely no worries during our entire visit and would highly recommend this location to anyone who wants to get away and still be able to take a short drive to anywhere in either Napa Valley or Sonoma. We took a day to go down the mountain to Spain St. in Sonoma to have lunch and have a nice walk through a beautiful little town. The property owners are very accommodating and very prompt to make sure that you are taken care of. Our overall experience can not be described in words! Very pleased!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for gracing Cinque Terre with your presence!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Views, great location - A wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

This was actually my wife and my second visit to Cinque Terre. We loved staying at the property ( I call it a property because it is not a house, it is instead a compound of sorts with several casitas) so much that we went back just two years later. In fact, it is the only destination vacation that we have made a return visit to (we live on the East Coast). We stayed for one full week, unfortunately our only regret was to not spend more down time on the mountain. We did quite a bit of touring and wine tasting again as it is all around you and hard to ignore.

If you are looking for a place to stay that is in a convenient location where you can easily access shops, etc, this is not where you would want to stay. If you are looking to escape and really, truly relax, this place is wonderful. To get to Cinque Terre, it is a 15 minute drive up a one lane windy road. When you pull up the driveway, you have the first main casita to your right where you will find a adequately supplied kitchenette and living area. To the left is the bedhouse. The bedhouse has a comfy king bed, 2 sinks, a toilet and shower. Off the bathroom area is a walkout to a patio with a hot tub.

Up a small hill is both a barn house with 2 queen beds and the bath house. The bath house has a claw foot tub and toilet inside. Outside is a shower head. One of my favorite showers to date - bathing while gazing into the woods.

Now, there are a few trails leading off of the main garden area. If you follow one, it will take you down to a small stage where the owners put on a music festival every year during the summer. Past that is a patio that brings you to an old camper from the 60s or 70s. They built a giant deck around the camper facing west there and it is glorious for sunsets.

Would I recommend staying here? Absolutely. We love it and cannot wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing... The Perfect Woodland Retreat

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

My wife and friend and I found this vacation rental property at the last minute before the 4th of July weekend. We were looking for a quiet place to decompress and escape from the noise of the City, dog friendly, within a 2 hour drive and not too expensive.

This place was absolutely perfect! The natural beauty of the hills between Sonoma and Napa valleys is astounding. Its just a short 15 minute drive from either Glen Ellen in the Sonoma valley, or Yountville in the Napa valley, but we found ourselves completely isolated on this seemingly endless forested property. The owners have done an amazing job at turning the land into a rustic retreat, with just enough amenities to keep us happy. There is no wi-fi, and very little cell phone service, so don't come here expecting to be "plugged-in." To the contrary, you should come here to "unplug." The whole place has a rustic, but well-maintained feeling that clearly is the result of the caring love of the beautiful people who own the land.

The vacation rental consists of 3 main buildings: 1) the main house with the kitchen (decently appointed, but bring your own spices and necessities if you plan to do much real cooking, which we did) and living room (flat screen tv, comfortable couches); 2) The master bedroom, with a luxurious king size bed, spacious bathroom/shower, and connected hot tub -- nice; and 3) a barn-style guest bedroom. Everything is well maintained -- despite the rustic atmosphere, nothing feels dingy or cobwebby.

The gardens, patios, outdoor sitting areas, and pathways connecting the buildings are all gorgeous. They clearly put a lot of work into making this a perfect woodland getaway retreat. I'll be coming back as soon as I need to unplug again and get back into touch with nature.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

amazing... the perfect woodland retreat

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

My wife and friend and I found this vacation rental property at the last minute before the 4th of July weekend. We were looking for a quiet place to decompress and escape from the noise of the City, dog friendly, within a 2 hour drive and not too expensive.

This place was absolutely perfect! The natural beauty of the hills between Sonoma and Napa valleys is astounding. Its just a short 15 minute drive from either Glen Ellen in the Sonoma valley, or Yountville in the Napa valley, but we found ourselves completely isolated on this seemingly endless forested property. The owners have done an amazing job at turning the land into a rustic retreat, with just enough amenities to keep us happy. There is no wi-fi, and very little cell phone service, so don't come here expecting to be "plugged-in." To the contrary, you should come here to "unplug." The whole place has a rustic, but well-maintained feeling that clearly is the result of the carving love of the beautiful people who own the land.

The vacation rental consists of 3 main buildings: 1) the main house with the kitchen (decently appointed, but bring your own spices and necessities if you plan to do much real cooking, which we did) and living room (flat screen tv, comfortable couches); 2) The master bedroom, with a luxurious king size bed, spacious bathroom/shower, and connected hot tub -- nice; and 3) a barn-style guest bedroom. Everything is well maintained -- despite the rustic atmosphere, nothing feels dingy or cobwebby.

The gardens, patios, outdoor sitting areas, and pathways connecting the buildings are all gorgeous. They clearly put a lot of work into making this a perfect woodland getaway retreat. I'll be coming back as soon as I need to unplug again and get back into touch with nature.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cinque Terre Brings Me Great Joy

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

My husband and I have had many wonderful extended weekends at Cinque Terre. We always stay for at least three nights, because we feel so comfortable, relaxed, and at peace. Sometimes we never even leave the mountain to go wine tasting. We enjoyed seeing lizards bathing in the sunshine as we took long walks along the trails. Each building on the property is charming and hand-built with pride and enthusiasm. Sweet and whimsical messages can be found painted on the cucina walls, the barn loft, and the tranquil bathhouse. I would recommend Cinque Terre to anyone who enjoys communing with nature. Whether you're getting tickled by bubbles in the jacuzzi, or taking a relaxing outdoor shower, this rustic retreat has it all. And it's so private, it's "clothing optional." We love it, and I'll bet you will, too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pleasant, dreamy, rustic romantic getaway

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

I love this property. It felt like a real getaway from the rat race. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The property is situated on a mountain. It is refreshing, artistic and very relaxing. I recommend this getaway place for anyone! I took my sketchbook up here and made wonderful drawings of the funky furniture and took great photos too...treat yourself....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weclome, relaxing and comfortable stay

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We loved our stay here, it was exactly what we were looking for-- a very welcoming place that felt relaxed, very private, not uptight, where we could spread out and enjoy the company of friends.

We loved the open layout of the Cucina, with its cheerful decor and plenty of spaces for us to play instruments and lounge and talk while making our meals, with a wood-burning stove, tons of windows, and a gorgeous view of fog over the mountains in the morning. The Bed House was comfortable and prettily decorated, and we had a great night's sleep there after enjoying a late-night hot tub.

During the days, we enjoyed hiking at Hood Mountain Regional Park while our friends went wine tasting in Sonoma. The best part of the property was just feeling that we could fully relax in a beautiful place with complete privacy. Our dog LOVED being able to join us and run around to his heart's content, and we were so happy to be able to bring him. Definitely will stay again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this place!

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

I've been staying here for several years now every time i go back they have made really sweet improvements. Love the hot tub and the peacefulness here. I've come here with friends, lovers and also enjoyed this little slice of heaven all on my own. Go enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and creative retreat spot

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

I have stayed there and held company retreats and training programs there. The host are very accommodating and the property and furnishings are comfortable and artistic. A wonderful alternative to the bland hotels in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A major disappointment/Wouldn't recommend

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

I was shocked to pull into this property as I felt I was vacationing at "Sanford and Son". There were approximately 10 discarded and overturned chaises, benches and chairs littering the yard with other assorted junk. We found mouse droppings in the drawers and the hot water did not work in the bath shed, located about 30 feet from our bedroom, a converted shed . Getting to the bathroom outbuilding facility was very inconvenient in the pouring rain. Reaching the property is a difficult drive as it is 5 miles up a very windy narrow road. Personally, I feel the property needs to be cleaned up extensively prior to be considered rentable to most potential tenants. I was shocked to have to pay the requested amount after seeing the property. It reminded me of a flashback to the Woodstock era,

Owners response: These guests came in right after a major storm. It's true, our place is not ideal when it's raining because there are detached casitas. Sorry, can't do anything about overturned chair in yard after a storm like that! If they would have called us from the house phone we could have reminded them what we send in the email...that you must turn the hot water on in the 2nd Bath House. Mouse poo? we have found some too and have taken steps to remedy this temporary problem, but this is a country place, folks, filled with all the bliss and reality of nature. It's not for everyone, so I leave the above negative review as a reminder to the timid! with smiling eyes, Maurine & Dan

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

You’re right! We did not want to leave! Our last minute decision to stay turned into a great surprise when we arrived and saw how beautiful your property is. We loved the detail and thought put into every piece of this beautiful place. What a beautiful place to wake up to the New Year! We would love to stay again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2008

What a magical place! We loved it. We spent a belated Valentine’s together. Could not have found a better gem. This is truly a little haven…and only one hour from our busy city life. Thanks much. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2007

A slice of heaven! Such an inspirational spot to connect yourself. You made our 7th anniversary very special. We cannot wait to return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2007

April 2007
Too unreal to be true when we found Cinque Terre on the internet…but it is true.
Great paradise
Great place
Great sun deck
Great room
Great cucina/living room
Great bathroom
Great and Best Place in the Wine Country…what else to say? Come back and recommend to our friends.—Boureau Tribe, Montreal Quebec, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 24, 2005   Date of arrival: June 24, 2005

What a great spot. An oasis all to yourself in the middle of the wine country. We would definitely go back.

Owners response: Thank you for your great review. We hope you will come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review